|Rental type||Apartment / Condominium|
|Minimum Stay||3 nights|
|Living space||1000 square feet|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
|Theme||Historic, Luxury, Romantic, City, Downtown|
Description from the owner
A luxurious retreat minutes from Pragueâ€™s Old Town Square
Looking for a quiet apartment in the heart of Prague? It would be difficult, if not impossible, to find a more perfect place than this.
The White Swan is just a few steps away from some of Pragueâ€™s finest restaurants, and only two blocks from its historic Town Square. In a matter of minutes, you can walk to a number of attractions, including the Old New Synagogue and the Prague Astronomical Clock. History buffs should also take note of the streetâ€™s illustrious pastâ€”physicist and mathematician Christian Doppler lived here, as did painters Josef and Antonin MĂˇnes.
"The White Swan" Old Town Luxury Double Apartment
Prague, Bohemia, Czech Republic
Additional Location Information
Wonderful neighborhood setting only two blocks from Old Town Square and close to all the major Prague must see sights but perfectly peaceful away from all the tourist crowds.
Location Type City, Downtown
Rates shown in $ USD (Rental listed originally in EUR) (change)
|Rate Summary||$179 - $393||$179 - $393||$1,067 - $1,180||$3,749||3 nights|
|Mar. 28 2013 - Apr. 2 2013
|May. 1 2013 - Sep. 30 2013
|Oct. 1 2013 - Apr. 30 2014
|Dec. 23 2013 - Jan. 6 2014
Christmas and New Year
|All Other Dates||$179||$179||$1,071||$3,749||3 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the owner|
- Damage deposit - $453 / stay - Security Deposit
- Cleaning - $65 / stay - Fee - Cleaning fee is 1 200 CZK for stay 5 nights or less. Can be paid by credit card and cash.
- Additional person - $32 / person - Fee
Additional notes from owner
Minimum number of nights over Christmas/New Year and Easter periods is 5. There are no taxes or other fees except cleaning for stays of 5 nights or less. NOTE: Under no circumstances do we rent to groups of young people. Number of guests is strictly limited to those noted in your reservation.
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 22, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
San Clemente, CA
Perfect apartment in the perfect location
We stayed at the White Swan apartment for a week with family and friends. The kitchens and bathrooms were gorgeous. And the location was perfect -- a 5 minute walk to the main square. Easy access to the Metro, the river, and all the cool sites.
What a beautiful apartment in a lovely location. The apartment is so close to the Old Town Square - only 5 minutes walk. We stayed in the apartment whilst the temperature never rose above freezing and at no point were we cold due to the central heating, the lovely gas fire and the incredibly thoughtful Monika, the apartment representative, who had warmed the apartment before our arrival.
The 2 bedroomed apartment is ideal for 2 couples and we will be going back later this year with friends. The main bathroom is stunning, my fiancee now wants us to have a bathroom exactly the same. The kitchen has everything you would need.
Earlier reviews talk about The James Joyce pub across the road as possibly being noisy in the summer when windows are open. We were there in winter and can only say that this Irish pub was fantastic, great food, lovely atmosphere, friendly staff with the only issue finding a table.
The apartment is without doubt the best we have stayed in and we will return.
Wonderful apartment, great city
Booked this apt after looking at reviews on Trip advisor and we were not disappointed. The photos don't really do the apt justice and we were amazed at the size and quality especially in view of the price!
Apt is managed on behalf of the owner by Bohemian Estates who were quite superb in every way (thanks Monika!). Emails were promptly responded to and they even arranged for the taxi to pick us up from the airport (driver was there with a board when we arrived) and take us back (arrived exactly on time). A delightful young lady from Bohemian met us at the apt and showed us around which was a nice touch.
Apt is actually a large flat and a smaller flat combined but they can be shut off by dividing doors to create two independent living spaces. Both have double beds, well equipped kitchens, TVs and bathrooms. The large flat also has a sofa bed in the lounge which is big enough for 2 hence the 'sleeps 6'. Me and my brother stayed and had one flat each which was great.
Top of the range aEG appliances (fridge, freezer, dishwasher, coffee machine, washing machine, tumble drier, oven, hob and microwave) but need a bit of working out how to use. Could really have done with an idiots guide for each but only a minor point as we worked them out and we are blokes!! Also has ironing board and iron and everything else you can think of to make your stay perfect.
Big LCD TV in lounge in large flat and a large LCD on the wall in the small flat. There is wif-fi throughout (very good) and satellite TV but no dvd player which is a bit surprising seeing how well equipped the apt is. However, we always take a portable dvd so not a problem.
Decor is superb and it is obvious that the owner has spared no expense. Flat is situated on a quiet cobbled street about 5 mins walk from the main square so location is great. Previous reviews mention about noise but I can honestly say that apart from a rubbish collection early one Monday morning, we didn't hear anything. There is a nice Irish bar opposite but no noise at all. Flat is very secure with 2 security doors (inc front door) and phone/Cctv entry system.
Fantastic apartment and probably the best we have ever stayed in on our travels so would highly recommend to anyone travelling to this great city.
Beautiful apartment and fantastic location
We spent four days at this lovely apartment over the Easter weekend and had a great time. It is even better than it looks in the pictures, really spacious and nicely 'decked out' with everything that you need: comfy beds, great bathrooms/showers, lovely kitchen with espresso machine and coffee beans provided, washer/dyer (we didn't use), TV and digibox etc. The communication from Tomas (who has now left) and then Vojtech at Bohemian Estates was excellent, very prompt and they both answered any questions we had prior to arriving - the whole process ran very smoothly.
We arranged airport transfers through the rental agent too, but the driver had a flat tyre on the way to the airport. I had been given his mobile number so texted him and then called Vojtech when I didn't get a reply (we were worried we'd be stranded at the airport!). Bearing in mind this was 10pm, he called back within a few minutes and explained the situation so we were happy to wait a few more minutes once we knew what had happened.
The location of the apartment was excellent - just 5 minutes walk from Old Town Square and from the Jewish Quarter. It's in a quiet street but just around the corner there are plenty of bars and restaurants,and a corner shop, so it's really central for everything that you need. There is an Irish bar opposite but we didn't get any noise from it - maybe it would be different if you had the windows open in the summer but I guess you would just put the air-con on instead if it bothered you.
Overall there wasn't anything we didn't like about the apartment. It's great if you go with friends as it's essentially two self-contained apartments if you need it to be. This was a present for my boyfriend's birthday so I'm so pleased we all enjoyed it so much and had such a fantastic time!
Wonderful apartment in central Prague
Mt wife and I recent spent a weekend in Prague and stayed in the studio apartment at the White Swan. The location is very central yet on a quiet back street away from the hustle and bustle of the touristy areas (there is an Irish bar directly opposite but that was very quiet when we stayed - suggest avoiding St Patrick's Day!).
The apartment is well appointed with all the mod cons for a medium length stay and is just perfect for a couple on a short stay. The management agency was responsive over the weekend (we lost hot water at one point and they had that fixed in a few hours) and the airport transfers worked well.
I have no hesitation in recommending this as a great place to stay when visiting Prague, and we lived in the city for 6 years, until recently!
Loved it - Highly recommended!
We just returned from a 10 day stay in The White Swan over the Christmas holidays. We rented both the main and studio apartments and we loved the apartments and the location. We walked most everywhere we wanted to go. After walking through Mala Strana, a big tourist area, we were very glad to be staying where we were - it really is a nice, quiet area that is close to the Old Town Square and away from the tourist crowds. There is a small convenience store nearby but we did most of our grocery shopping at alberts near Namesti Republiky - about a 10 minute walk.
We were pleased with the quality of everything in the apartment. Granite countertops in the kitchens, beautiful bathrooms. They had even placed a small wooden Christmas tree on the mantle! The only thing I would have liked was another casserole dish in the kitchen - there was one casserole dish and lots of pots and pans. But that was a very small issue that we were able to deal with!
We visited the Irish pub across the street from the apartments twice and we enjoyed it much! When reading others' reviews about there being an Irish pub across the street, I was a little worried about whether it would be noisy. Not so at all! If you did not look over there and see the sign, you might not even realize there was a pub across the street.
Zdenek, the driver who drove us to and from the airport, was very prompt in picking us up at the airport and in taking us back. He does not speak English and we don't speak Czech but he had cards written out in English to show us sites on our way to the apartments. On our way back to the airport, we did not know which terminal our flight left from. He was able to quickly figure it out using his phone.
Tomas was prompt in communicating with us as we made inquiries. He also met us at the apartments when we arrived to make sure all of our questions were answered.
We highly recommend The White Swan as a place to stay. We felt very comfortable there and plan to stay there again!
Response from Monika Tomanova - 12/30/2011
Thank you very much for your kind remarks and for confirming that this apartment is in a nice quiet location. We will acquire another casserole dish based on your experience. Again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you to the Whtie Swan again.
Central but very noisy at night
I was disappointed because we had contact with Tomas and then I noticed when he was on holiday someone in another country (UK from memory) responded to my emails. We never heard from or saw Tomas once we arrived.
We booked a transfer from the train station and were advised by Tomas that the person collecting us would be hearing impaired and we were advised to wait by the Vodafone shop at the station. We did that and finally a lady came along and was about to pull out a sign with our name on it. We thought that was the person to pick us up because she was hearing impaired but that was not the case. We waited at the station for 1 hour before we were finally picked up. There was no apology from Tomas or the driver. We contacted Tomas by email to book a return to the station on our departure and we said we would appreciate it if the driver was on time otherwise we would miss our train. When the driver picked us up, it was the same person and he had a piece of paper written in English asking why did we complain and tell Tomas he had his sister with him. Once we said we didn't complain we just didn't want to miss our train, he calmed down.
The downside to the apartment was the noise. Rubbish trucks collect rubbish from the Irish Pub across the narrow cobbled street. They arrived in the wee hours of the morning almost every night. One night it sounded like they were crushing all of the bottles as they went into the truck. Even the sound of the car tyres is loud. I guess in winter it is probably ok because the windows will be closed.
A suggestion would be for the property managers to compile a book of useful information like where the nearest large grocery store is. Where to dispose of rubbish etc etc.
The shower clogged up on one of the nights we were there so we pulled out all the sludge and hair from the grate and flushed boiling water down and it appeared ok.
The location is great. The bed is comfortable.
The bath had a rim of scum around it and had to be cleaned before use.
I wouldn't recommend this apartment, because I am disappointed that there was no acknowledgement from Tomas apologising for us having to wait an hour at the train station when we could have walked in 20mins.
Response from Monika Tomanova - 12/02/2011
We are truly sorry to hear of your unpleasant stay in our apartment. We work hard to ensure that travellers have a wonderful stay in Prague and in the apartment and thus take the management of apartments professionally and seriously. We thank you for your comments and are earnestly addressing this issue so that it does not happen again.
To address the issues as per your comments:
My colleague, Michaela, who responded to you during my absence on holiday, was not from another country or the UK. We, including Michaela, are based directly in Prague so that we can tend to and resolve any issues, requests, emergencies that may arise and are familiar with the apartments. It is very important that we are based locally to be able to provide the level of service as expected by clients. As you know, your emails were responded with open information and details.
I sincerely apologise for the driver, Zdenek, being late. I enquired why he was late and why was another lady with him and he informed me that she was there to ensure that she could meet you on time while Zdenek navigated the traffic. As I had no complaint upon your accommodation of that Zdenek was late, we could not address this directly, there would have been of course no cost for the shuttle. The reason why we have chosen Zdenek, is that it is difficult for people with disabilities to be accepted into our society and by providing him the opportunity to provide this service we are enabling him to be a productive member of society. Our clients and travellers have been fond of him with some even taking photos together for their trip and he is enjoys meeting new people and helping them, and our returning travellers ask for him. However, it is obvious that in this case he has failed and we are addressing the his further position in the shuttle service, as it cannot happen that he behaves in the manner as you experienced. I have spoken to Zdenek and explained the situation to ensure that he understands what happened and what went wrong.
I also had a look through my correspondence as to why I did not address your complaint for late arrival as this complaint was not brought up at the beginning and I found that I had overlooked the mention of the late arrival in your departing email when arranging your return shuttle with you. My apologies for overlooking this and for not being aware of Zdenekâ€™s late arrival when you arrived to Prague to address the situation immediately upon arrival.
As for the cleaning service, the state of the cleaning as you have mentioned cannot be acceptable due to the high standard we expect the apartments to be in. We are contracting new cleaners in place for the apartments.
With regards to noise, any building particularly located in the centre of town will experience some level of noise. The apartment is located on a small residential street on one of the quieter streets away from traffic and the tourist crowds. The degree of noise which you had experience is not common as we have return travellers who stay in the apartment in summer for longer periods and need the apartment to be quiet for their work and stay purposes and have found the apartment ideal with minimum noise level, this includes other travellers who have stated they are light sleepers. I do not know if the recycling trucks arriving in the early morning are something new that has been enforced by the municipality to uphold the clean status of the city and the countryâ€™s high reputation for recycling. As for general noise levels, under Czech law, public/civic quiet hours are between 10pm to 6am. The cobble stones are a unique gem of the Unesco protected historical Old Town and the removal of these would change the character of the historical Old Town even further.
With regards to the location of the rubbish bins, this is directly available for all tenants in the apartment by means of a photo document showing their exact location in the building including the use of the respected colour coded bins for recycling.
I would like again express our sincere apologies as our service and apartments are well-known for their professional and high standard. You should not have had the experience that you indeed had and hence our offer to you for the full refund for your entire stay as well as a full refund for the shuttle service as we are serious about the way travellers experience their trip and their stay in the apartment. We are taking measures to ensure this will not happen again.
Thank you for your comments and taking the time to review.
Bill & Donna
San Diego, CA
We rented the entire White Swan apartment from September 29-October 8, 2011. We were met at the train station by a very nice representative of the apartment. It did not take us long to get used to the luxurious nature and upscale amenities of this 2 bedroom suite. We found a grocery store, bakery, flower store, restaurants,& bars very close to the apt. We were centrally located, but not overwhelmed by the tourists in the Old Town Square. Everything was perfect, and we look forward to returning to its luxury, beauty and safety. Many thanks to Tomas Ricar and Zdenek.
Romantic Week Stay in Prague
We just came back from staying at the Studio apartment of the White Swan. Tomas was our contact and he was outstanding in responding to emails, questions, etc. and he even arranged our shuttle rides to and from the apartment with reasonable prices.
The apartment itself, which is on the second floor, is gorgeous, located just minutes from Old Square (Stare Mesto) and within walking distance to all the sites-- Astronomical Clock, Prague Castle, Powder Tower, Charles Bridge, and Petrin Hill. We were also just a tram's ride away from the Main Station of Hlavni and took day trips to Kutna Hora, Karlstejn, and Prague.
It is also close to many restaurants and we would often get breakfast from either the Bakeshop or the Mini Mart around the corner. We ate at the local Bohemia Bagel, Da Nico and Nostress restaurants, and had ice cream/gelato daily around Old Square.
It was spacious and clean and everything we could ask for. We would love to come back again! Thanks White Swan!
Th White Swan
Luxury and location in the heart of history and culture
My wife and I visited the White Swan for 8 days on our honeymoon. We had friendly, fast, and quality service by the property managment staff welcoming us to the apt. and tending to our requests. The apartment was filled with luxury and warmth including a romantic fireplace we used a lot. The apartment was filled with cookware and dishes. Grocery stores were within 1-5 minutes of walking. We walked everywhere as we were centrally located in the heart of Old Town. We explored the city attended cultural events and historic sites. The streets were filled with many restaurants and cafes. This is the place to be when visiting a foreign country. This apartment made traveling simple.
Boston - USA
We stayed at this beautiful apartment while visting our son who was studying in Prague. The apartment was in the perfect location and was stunning. We rented the double apartment and out son stayed in the smaller unit. It is very roomy with a fabulous bathroom and fully equipped kitchen. We were there for american Thanksgiving and cooked a traditional meal and even enjoyed american football on the large flatscreen TV. We have done much traveling around the world, and this is one of the best apartments we have seen.
Gorgeous apartment in the center of Old Town
This apartment was absolutely wonderful. I stayed in the studio apartment while my parents stayed in the master. The appliances are very high end and fairly easy to use once you read the instruction manual. There is a binder that has most of the appliance manuals in English in the apartment, other manuals are in the cabinet in the main kitchen. The fireplace saved our lives because it was so cold when we were in Prague! The bed was very comfortable. The location is superb; five minute walk to Old Town Square but not noisy at all. I recommend James Joyce pub across the street and Kolkavna one street away for lunch or dinner. I don't think you will find a better place than this!
Don't hesitate to rent this one!!
My family and I are currently staying in both apartments. My daughter is in the studio and we are in the main apartment. The location is superb- only a 5 minute walk to Old Town Square. The apartment is state of the art as the above tenants stated- do read the appliance manuals in the binder before using. They are complicated to use. The fireplace is a nice bonus. This is our first time staying in an apartment and I would definitely do it again. Very quiet neighborhood and the Irish Pub across the street has good food- nice , helpful owner from Ireland. Tomas, our real estate agent, was very helpful and arranged for safe transport from the train station and the airport and answered all questions in a timely fashion prior to arrival. You must try this wonderful apartment.
Magical Prague/ the white swan
my husband & i had the fantastic experience of renting the white swan double apartment for one month! there are not enough adjectives to describe our stay in Prague! the location of the apartment was more than we could have asked for...we were able to walk to every site that was mentioned in our book top 10 Prague. the apartment is "to die for"! it's in a 14th century old building that has been completely renovated, with state of the art design, architecture & appliances. it should be featured in architectural digest! it has a totally brand new security system for the whole building, along with a safe in the master bedroom. the neighborhood was extremely exclusive & "classy"...we enjoyed the irish pub just across the street immensely! the owner was more than helpful whenever a question would arise during this past year in the "planning stages" of our trip. i would give this a 10 star rating if i could!
Naples , Florida
I spent time at this apartment between Xmas and New Year. The apartment is stunning and is funished to the very highest standards. The furniture, appliances and the decor are top quality.
The apartments location, only a few minutes walk from Old Town Square, is outstanding. It is convenient for sightseeing,restaurants and some of Prague's best hostelries.
I would highly recommend this accomodation to anyone who is looking for the best that prague has to offer