Luz y Sombra, deluxe villa steps from the beach.
|Minimum Stay||3 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyYes
Description from the owner
Indulge yourself with luxury and privacy in this beautiful custom made designer villa made of exceptional tropical hardwood. One of the few luxury places on the Caribbean coast. The magical beauty and pureness of the rain forest is reflected in the handmade furniture and luxury materials. Nestled in the rain forest at the Caribbean Coast of Costa Rica, just a couple of minutes walking distance to the clear blue waters and white sanded beach of Playa Chiquita. Ideal for those people who appreciate luxury being surrounded by the fierce beauty of nature.
The villa consists of two floors and is 200m2 and has 3 bedrooms. The first floor of t...Read more
Luz y Sombra, deluxe villa steps from the beach.
Puerto Viejo, Limon, Costa Rica
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$140 - $210||$210||$840 - $1,260||$0||3 nights|
|Dec. 31 2011 - Jan. 1 2013||$155||-||$930||-||3 nights|
|Jan. 1 2012 - Jan. 1 2013||$210||-||$1,260||-||3 nights|
|Jan. 1 2012 - Jan. 1 2013||$175||-||$1,050||-||3 nights|
|Jan. 1 2012 - Jan. 1 2013||$140||-||$840||-||3 nights|
|All Other Dates||$210||$210||$1,260||-||3 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the owner|
Additional notes from owner
other rates apply for Christmas and Easter weeks. Please inquire..
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: April 10, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Wonderful place to relax and be secluded
We stayed at this wonderful house for a few nights in July. It was great for the relaxing time it provided us and the other couple we traveled with enjoyed it as well. Plenty of room to spread out and relax. I loved the hammock and the common rooms allowed us to just enjoy being on vacation. There were more rooms than we needed, as the place is very large. The main reason I didn't rate it five stars was that it wasn't as close to the beach as we expected from the description. It's not far, but it takes a bit of a longer walk to get there. We were definitely happy to have the rental car we had, not only to go to the beach but to also allow us to try lots of different restaurants in town that would not have been walkable. Our hosts were top notch though and definitely helped with anything we needed. Their service was excellent.
Robert B and Family
big Flats, New York
Great place for a restful vacation!
The house of Luz Y Sombra was better than the photos indicated. The breese that sailed thru the hous needed some added coolness with additional fans- But we are used to the NY winters!
The peace and tranquility of the place was manificent Many thanks for finding our lost luggage
Southampton, Ontario, Canada
Delightful residence in the heart of the rain forest.
Very large, unique home set well into the jungle. Loved the constant visit of howlers and capuchians. Property Manager is extremely efficient and reacts promptly. Playa Chiquita has a vibe and a community aura. Great restaurants. Minor constructive complaints: Microwave would be nice as would chairs on the sundeck. Grounds need a little TLC.
Beautiful home excellent location
Wonderful stay at Luz y Sombra, beautiful architecture and lovely grounds. Great proximity to everything but also very private, located in one of the best neighborhoods of Playa Chiquita. Gorgeous home and gardens but the beds could use new linens. Overall enjoyable stay, special thanks to the property management company for being so helpful and considerate...pura vida!
San Diego, CA
A bit of paradise
Luz y Sombra is a nice and open house with the necessities and some luxuries as well. Close to the beach and off the path, the house was perfect for our family of 5. No bugs to speak of, and without aC you need to open up the house to get some relief and it would have been terrible if there were mosquitoes. Please note that while there is a washer and dryer in the house, it's not for your use. In addition, one of the ceiling fans in the bedroom needed to be fixed as it was loud enough to keep you up.
We were very happy with the house and Costa Rica is always on top of our list. One thing I will say is that you should never rent from Thrifty as they will extort you when you arrive. We had absolutely valid insurance for the car when we arrived but was forced to spend another $500 for their insurance or we could not take the car. Even when I complained back in States I got nowhere.
However, if you get to this house without the frustration from Thrifty, you will love it.
Response from Emmanuelle Pinto - 11/02/2010
thank you for your comments. for car rental, I always recommend Budget or better Poas as we have an agency here in Puerto Viejo which is convenient when your rental car has a problem.
Great house in a jungle setting
We had a great time in our home. Very spacious and beautiful. Our kids are 3 and 5 and they had a good time.
More than your money's worth!
The house is even more beautiful in real life then in the pictures, and those pics are really nice-looking. It has abundant space and lovely common areas (quite necessary in such rainy weather).
Playa Chiquita, the closest beach is great and only a short walk away.
Caveats - there are only two showers in the house and they are both connected to two of the four bedrooms which means that coordination is necessary and sharing a must.
Although the staff was very friendly and waited for us until midnight for check in (we were stuck in a traffic jam for 8 hours), we were not apprised beforehand that there is a 20 dollar late check-in fee after 7pm. I understand the need for such a charge but the rental company should have let us know that it applied beforehand.
All in all, a great place to stay.
Response from Emmanuelle Pinto - 08/25/2010
It is true that I didn't sent this info to you. I usually do when I received the deposit from a client but as you paid direcly the owners I didn't sent you all the info necessary. You were supposed to arrive by 3pm but I do remembered that day as I was expecting other clients and they arrived at 2AM....Sorry for the inconvenient.
Northern Virginia, USA
We absolutely love this house!!!
My husband, adult son and I stayed for almost a week at Luz y Sombra. The house is gorgeous with wood floors upstairs and is all open (with screens) to the beautiful gardens and rainforest outside. The covered outdoor deck is an awesome space for relaxing, enjoying a meal and good company.
We had no running water several times during our stay, which, to my understanding was no fault of the property the management service, etc. The whole neighborhood was apparently out of water. Our only complaint was that the management company could have sent someone over, offered us to shower at a different property (Puerto Viejo had water) perhaps, or offered some assistance. The last time we had no running water for almost two days. We heard that this used to be a regular problem in the Puerto Viejo area but that it has gotten much better over the years.
During our stay the phones (cellular and land lines) were also down due to the burning of a tower in Limon. This also created logistical problems for us, particularly with regard to transportation- so I would recommend renting a car if staying at this property- transportation is tricky when there are no phones- like at night if you wanted to call a taxi.
We definitely learned something about how it might be for people to suffer water shortages and about living without a car or phone. Good lessons for us- it was a true adventure! We laughed our way through it and reminded ourselves about the true necesities in life.
All of that said, we had a wonderful time, the staff were friendly and we love this house!!! I would not hesitate to rent this house again but I would also rent a car.
Response from Emmanuelle Pinto - 08/21/2010
Yes Susan, you came at a challenging time! All communications [ phone, cell, internet] were off for several days. Then the city decided to cut the water and still is and as we are in a dry season , the wells are too low to supply enough water. As you said it it was not our fault ....you laughed of the sitiuation and it is the best you could do.
Chicago, IL USA
Great value and service
The staff was very helpful and responded as quickly as possible to a few issues we had when staying at the house. Beautiful house and property, well-maintained. I wish the cleaning crew would have come out more often, but our stay fell over a weekend. Had a fantastic time here and would gladly stay there again!
Pender Island, BC Canada
Amazing villa surrounded by wildlife and steps to the beach
We stayed at villa Luz y Sombra for two weeks this spring and it was amazing. As soon as we booked the villa online, the staff was extremely helpful in assisting us with transportation from the airport and they were there to greet us at the villa upon arrival. The villa was immaculate and they came every couple of days to clean the entire villa and restock the bottled water. The villa also has high speed wireless internet access which was important since we had to work some while we were there.
The villa is surrounded by beautiful tropical jungle and within 10 minutes of arriving we saw toucans, butterflies and frogs. The howler monkey's hang out in the trees just feet from the deck. It truly exceeded our expectations. The villa is huge, with an indoor garden, two huge decks for relaxing and a well stocked kitchen. We ended up spending much of our vacation hanging out on the deck and enjoying the scenery and sounds of the surrounding jungle.
The beach is a short stroll along a path surrounded by hibiscus and once there you can walk for miles along the beautiful coast line. Just steps from the villa are half a dozen restaurants and bars as well as two grocery stores and a bakery. Puerto Viejo is a short bike ride or taxi ride if you are looking for more amenities.
We will definitely be going back to this area of Costa Rica would stay at villa Luz y Sombra again - it has everything you need for a perfect vacation.
Response from Emmanuelle Pinto - 05/27/2010
Thank you so much Sarah It was a pleasure to have you as guest!!
The white Costa Rican
We were very late arriving to meet the guide to take us to the house and he still waited.
The house was gorgeous, close to everything.stores, restaurants, beach.
the agents at the agency where very helpfull and answered alot of questions,that made us feel alot more relaxed.
We can hardly wait to return.
John & Mary Kay
Costa Rican jungle Shangri La
Beautiful home with all the amenities, surrounded by jungle. We ate on the deck and watched beautiful butterflies, hummingbirds and listened to the howler monkeys. The home is spacious and stunningly beautiful, very open to the outdoors. Just a 5 minute walk to beautiful beaches. Nice little places to eat also within walking distance. The only negative was a yapping little dog in the house next door that awakened us a few times, but that didn't happen the whole time. We (2 parents and 3 teenagers) had an outstanding time. Green Management (especially Emmanuelle and Shialo) were very attentive to our needs. We were highly satisfied with the house and Green Management, and have no reservations recommending it to others.