Cuckoo Clock Lodge - Very Unusual Self Catering Holiday Cottage

Excellent

29 reviews

Call: +44 1244 400413

From $106 / night


Hide Property Details

  • 3 bedrooms
  • 2 bathrooms
  • Sleeps 6
  • Cottage

VisitWales 4* Graded. Swimming pool at Leisure Centre only 3 mins walk from the house.

PRICING - FULL WEEKS

Prices listed are for 3-6 people for 7 nights arriving on a Saturday.

For parties of 1-2 people for 7 nights arriving on a Saturday we offer a 20% discount.

PRICING - SHORT BREAKS

We also offer short breaks for all party sizes.

Option 1 - 3 nights weekend break arriving on a Friday.

Option 2 - 4 nights mid week break arriving on a Monday.

Contact us for prices and availability.

"Cuckoo Clock lodge was immaculately clean and well equipped with stunning views in a peaceful locati...Read more

Map

Cuckoo Clock Lodge - Very Unusual Self Catering Holiday Cottage
Rhayader, Mid Wales, Wales

What's Nearby:

Restaurants Attractions Nearby Rentals

Additional Location Information

Please find below in alphabetical order a long list of just some of the activities, attractions, places to eat and drink and things to see and do in our Mid-Wales area.

The list is arranged by type, location and a web link.

We can offer something for everyone's interest.

Activity Centres

Collosal Activities Capel Bangor Capel Bangor www.colossalactivities.co.uk/
Elan Valley Lodge Rhayader www.elanvalleyleisure.co.uk/
Llangorse Multi Activity Centre Llangorse www.activityuk.com/
Mid Wales Shooting Centre Trefeglwys www.midwalesshootingcentre.com/
Quackers Indoor Play Centre Newbridge-on-Wye www.dayoutwiththekids.co.uk/family-fun/Quackers_Indoor_Soft_Play_Centre/1563

Art Cinema & Theatre

Carad Rhayader Rhayader http://carad.org.uk/
Wyeside Arts Centre & Cinema Builth Wells www.wyeside.co.uk/
Regent Cinema Newtown www.regentcentre.net/
Willow Globe Theatre Llanwrthwl http://willowglobe.co.uk/
Theatr Hafren Newtown www.thehafren.co.uk/
Powys Theatre Newtown www.powystheatre.org.uk/


Attractions

Aberglansey House & Gardens Llangathen www.aberglasney.org/
Aberystwyth Cliff Railway & Camera Obscura Aberystwyth www.aberystwythcliffrailway.co.uk/
Acton Scott Museum Nr Church Stretton www.actonscott.com/
Cambrian Woollen Mill Llanwrtyd Wells www.cambrian-mill.co.uk/
Cardigan Bay Karting, Paintball & Giant Maze Centre Aberaeron www.uk-go-karting.com/tracks/wales/cardigan-bay-karting
Ceredigion Museum Aberystwyth www.ceredigion.gov.uk/index.cfm?articleid=197
Cilgerran Castle (National Trust) Near Cardigan www.nationaltrust.org.uk/cilgerran-castle/
Devil's Bridge Falls Devil's Bridge www.devilsbridgefalls.co.uk/
Dolaucothi Gold Mines (National Trust) Pumsaint www.nationaltrust.org.uk/dolaucothi-gold-mines/
Erwood Station Craft Centre & Gallery Llandeilo Graban www.erwood-station.co.uk/
Gigrin Farm Red Kite Centre Rhayader www.gigrin.co.uk/
Gwili Steam Railway Carmarthen www.gwili-railway.co.uk/
Hall At Abbey-Cwm-Hir Abbey-Cwm-Hir www.abbeycwmhir.com/
Llanerchaeron (National Trust House) Near Aberaeron www.nationaltrust.org.uk/llanerchaeron/
National Botanic Gardens of Wales Llanarthne www.gardenofwales.org.uk/
National Cycling Collection Llandrindod Wells www.cyclemuseum.org.uk/
National Showcaves Centre For Wales Abercrave www.showcaves.co.uk/index_christmas_2.html
Quackers Indoor Play Centre Newbridge-on-Wye www.dayoutwiththekids.co.uk/family-fun/Quackers_Indoor_Soft_Play_Centre/1563
Rhayader Museum & Gallery Rhayader http://carad.org.uk/museum/rhayader-museum
Small Breeds Farm Park & Owl Centre Kington www.owlcentre.com/
Strata Florida Abbey Strata Florida http://cadw.wales.gov.uk/splash?orig=/daysout/stratafloridaabbey/
The Centre For Alternitive Technology Machynlleth www.cat.org.uk/index.html
The Judges Lodgings Presteigne www.judgeslodging.org.uk/
The Rheidol Hydro Scheme Visitor Centre Cwm Rheidol www.eon-uk.com/483.aspx
The Magic Of Life Butterfly House Cwm Rheidol http://magicoflife.org/Prices.html
The National Library of Wales Aberystwyth www.llgc.org.uk/index.php?id=2
The National Wool Museum Llanwrtyd Wells www.museumwales.ac.uk/en/wool/
The Silver Mountain Experience Ponterwyd www.silvermountainexperience.co.uk/
The Thomas Shop Penybont www.thomas-shop.com/museum.php
Vale Of Rheidd Narrow Gauge Railway Devil's Bridge www.rheidolrailway.co.uk/
Tregaron Kite Centre & Museum Tregaron www.ceredigion.gov.uk/index.cfm?articleid=1115
Powis Castle & Gardens (National Trust) Welshpool www.nationaltrust.org.uk/powis-castle/
Welsh Royal Crystal Rhayader http://welshroyalcrystal.co.uk/
West Wales Museum Of Childhood Llangeler www.toymuseumwales.co.uk/

Bird Watching

Gigrin Farm Red Kite Centre Rhayader www.gigrin.co.uk/
Dyffryn Wood Rhayader www.birdforum.net/opus/Wye-Elan_Woods
The Elan Valley Rhayader www.elanvalley.org.uk/nature/wildlife/birds/

Radnorshire Wildlife Trust Reserves

Abercamlo Bog Crossgates www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/abercamlo-bog.html
Bailey Einon Llandrindod Wells www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/bailey-einon.html
Burfa Bog Kington www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/burfa-bog.html
Cefn Cenarth Pant-Y-Dwr www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/cefn-cenarths.html
Cnwch Bank Llangunllo www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/cnwch-bank.html
Cwm Byddog Clyro www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/cwm-byddog.html
Gilfach Marteg Bridge www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/gilfach.html
Gorse Farm Llandrindod Wells www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/gorse-farm.html
Llanbwchllyn Lake Erwood www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/llanbwchllyn-lake.html
Mynydd Ffoesidoes Bleddfa www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/mynydd-ffoesidoes.html
Pentrosfa Mire Llandrindod Wells www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/pentrosfa-mire.html
Pwllpatti Bird Hide Glasbury www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/pwllpatti.html
Rhayader Tunnel Rhayader www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/rhayader-tunnel.html
Sideland Penybont www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/sideland.html
Tylcau Hill (Flossie Brand) Lanbister www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/tylcau-hill.html
Werndryd Franksbridge www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/werndryd.html
Withybeds Presteigne www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/withybeds.html

RSPB Reserves

Carngafalt Elan Valley www.rspb.org.uk/reserves/guide/c/carngafallt/index.aspx
Gwenffrwd-Dinas Near Llandovery www.rspb.org.uk/reserves/guide/g/gwenffrwd-dinas/index.aspx
Ynys-hir Near Machynlleth www.rspb.org.uk/reserves/guide/y/ynys-hir/index.aspx

Bowling

Crown Green Bowling Rhayader www.rhayader.co.uk/index.php/rhayader/communitydetail/bowling_club#.UqicmfRdWSo
UStrike Ten Pin Bowling Newtown http://ustrike.co.uk/

Canoeing, Kayaking & Sailing

Clywedog Sailing Club Llanidloes www.llanidloes.com/clwedog_sailing_club/
Cardigan Bay Watersports New Quay www.cardiganbaywatersports.org.uk/
Elan Valley Lodge Rhayader www.elanvalleyleisure.co.uk/

Classic Cars & Touring

Cambrian Safaris Devil's Bridge www.cambriansafaris.co.uk/
Coed Trallwm Café - Great Touring Café Near Beula www.coedtrallwm.co.uk/91.html
Great Location for Touring all of Wales Everywhere! www.bestbikingroads.com/motorcycle-roads/motorbike-rides-in-united-kingdom-/mid-wales--___670.html
Knighton Historic Vehicle Club Knighton www.knightonhistoricvehicleclub.com/
Higgins Rally School Carno www.higginsrallyschool.com/

Cycling

Elan Valley Trail Rhayader www.sustrans.org.uk/ncn/map/route/elan-valley-trail-rhayader
Bicycle Hire at Clive Powell Mountain Bikes Rhayader www.clivepowell-mtb.co.uk/thebikeshop.php
Bicycle Hire at the Elan Valley Visitor Centre Elan Valley
National Cycle Collection Llandrindod Wells www.cyclemuseum.org.uk/
Tour of Britain - Stage 5 runs through Rhayader Rhayader http://thetour.co.uk/tourofbritain/news/5847.php#.Uqid5_RdWSo
Sustrans Route 8 Rhayader www.sustrans.org.uk/ncn/map/route/route-8
Sustrans Routes 81 Rhayader www.sustrans.org.uk/ncn/map/route/route-81
Sustrans Routes 825 (The Radnor Ring) Rhayader www.sustrans.org.uk/ncn/map/route/route-825

Food & Drink - Most establishments within a 15 min walk max from Cuckoo Clock Lodge

Cafes

Coed Trallwm Cafe Near Beula www.coedtrallwm.co.uk/73.html
Elan Valley Visitor Centre Rhayader www.elanvalley.org.uk/visiting-elan/visitor-centre/cafe/
Penbont House Elan Valley
Polished Patisserie Rhayader
The Halt, Restaurant/Cafe and Gardens Llanwrthwl www.thehaltatdoldowlod.co.uk/
The Old Swan Tea Rooms Rhayader
Ty Morgans Rhayader

Pubs & Restaurants

Black Lion Hotel Rhayader
Cornhill Inn Rhayader
Elan Hotel Rhayader
Elan Valley Hotel Elan Valley
The Bears Head Rhayader
The Crown Inn Rhayader
The Eagles Inn Rhayader
The Lamb & Flag Rhayader
The Royal Oak Rhayader
The Triangle Inn Rhayader

Evans Plaice Takeaway & Restaurant Rhayader www.evansplaice.co.uk/
Spencers Bar & Brasserie - Metropole Llandrindod Wells www.metropole.co.uk/dining/spencers-bar-brasserie/
Spice Cottage, Indian Restaurant & Takeaway Rhayader https://plus.google.com/116332640685138910435/about?gl=uk&hl;=en
Wings Chinese Takeway Rhayader
Turkish Delight Kebab Rhayader
Ty Morgans Bistro Rhayader

Falconry

Hawksdrift Rhayader www.hawksdrift.co.uk/

Fishing

Elan Valley Elan Valley www.elanvalley.org.uk/visiting-elan/recreation/fishing/
Permits from Elan Valley Visitor Centre

Llyngwyn Lake Rhayader www.rhayaderangling.co.uk/llyngwyn.htm
River Claerwen Rhayader www.rhayaderangling.co.uk/rivers.htm
River Elan Rhayader www.rhayaderangling.co.uk/rivers.htm
River Marteg Rhayader www.rhayaderangling.co.uk/rivers.htm
River Wye Rhayader www.rhayaderangling.co.uk/rivers.htm
Permits from D. Powell, Newsagents, West Street Rhayader

Fungi

Fungi Forays Around Rhayader www.fungiforays.co.uk/

Horse Riding & Pony Trekking
Bridleways - Oodles Of Them Everywhere!
Lion Royal Trekking Stables Rhayader
Underhill Stables Dolau www.underhillridingstables.co.uk/
Heart Of Wales Stables Penybont www.heartofwales.co.uk/
Stabling For Own Horse - Contact Us. Rhayader

Golf

Aberystwyth Aberystwyth www.aberystwythgolfclub.com/
Brecon Brecon www.brecongolfclub.co.uk/
Builth Wells Builth Wells www.builthwellsgolf.co.uk/
Caersws Caersws www.welshgolfcourses.com/mid/maesmawr.php
Capel Bangor Capel Bangor www.colossalactivities.co.uk/Capel-Bangor-Golf--Club.html
Cradoc Cradoc www.cradoc.co.uk/
Kington Kington www.kingtongolf.co.uk/
Knighton Knighton knightongolfclub.co.uk/
Llandrindod Wells Llandrindod Wells www.lwgc.co.uk/index.php
Llanidloes Llanidloes www.stidloesgolfclub.co.uk/
Machynlleth Machynlleth www.machynllethgolfclub.com/
Newtown Newtown www.stgilesgolf.co.uk/
Rhosgoch Golf & Leisure Club Rhosgoch www.rhosgoch-golf.co.uk/

Motorcycling

Coed Trallwm Café - Great Touring Café Near Beula www.coedtrallwm.co.uk/91.html
Dave Thorpe Honda Off Road Centre Llanwonno www.davethorpehondaoffroad.com/
E T James - Garage & Motorcycle Dealer Rhayader www.etjames-sons.co.uk/
Great Central Location for Touring all of Wales All Wales www.bestbikingroads.com/motorcycle-roads/motorbike-rides-in-united-kingdom-/mid-wales--___670.html
Mick Extance Off Road Centre - Kawasaki Llangynog http://mickextanceexperience.com/
Off Road Skills - BMW & Husqvarna Glynneath www.offroadskills.com/
Trail Rides Wales Nant yr Arian www.trailrides-wales.com/
Visit Wales On A Motorbike Everywhere! www.facebook.com/VisitWalesOnAMotorbike
Yamaha Off Road Experience Llanidloes www.yamaha-offroad-experience.co.uk/index.htm

Mountain Biking

Bridleways Around Rhayader
Coed Trallwm Mountain Biking Centre Near Beula www.coedtrallwm.co.uk/
Clive Powell Mountain Bikes - Guided Tours Rhayader www.clivepowell-mtb.co.uk/allevents.php
Clive Powell Mountain Bikes - Local Events Rhayader www.clivepowell-mtb.co.uk/event.php
Elan Valley Trail Rhayader www.sustrans.org.uk/ncn/map/route/elan-valley-trail-rhayader
Nant-yr-Arian Mountain Biking Centre Nant-yr-Arian www.mbwales.com/en/content/cms/centres/nant_yr_arian/nant_yr_arian.aspx
The Rhayader Round Around Rhayader www.mtbbritain.co.uk/rhayader_round.html

Narrow Gauge Railways

Bala Lake Railway Bala www.bala-lake-railway.co.uk/
Brecon Mountain Railway Merthyr Tydfi www.breconmountainrailway.co.uk/
Ffestiniog Railway Blaenau Ffestiniog www.festrail.co.uk/
Llanberis Lake Railway Gilfach Ddu www.lake-railway.co.uk/index.php/en/
Snowdon Mountain Railway Llanberis www.snowdonrailway.co.uk/
Talyllyn Railway Tywyn www.talyllyn.co.uk/
Vale of Rheidol Railway Devil's Bridge www.rheidolrailway.co.uk/
Welsh Highland Railway Porthmadog www.festrail.co.uk/
Welsh Highland Heritage Railway Porthmadog www.whr.co.uk/
Welshpool & Llanfair Railway Llanfair Caereinion www.wllr.org.uk/

Nature

Cardigan Bay Marine Wildlife Centre New Quay www.cbmwc.org/boat-trips/

Radnorshire Wildlife Trust Reserves

Abercamlo Bog Crossgates www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/abercamlo-bog.html
Bailey Einon Llandrindod Wells www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/bailey-einon.html
Burfa Bog Kington www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/burfa-bog.html
Cefn Cenarth Pant-Y-Dwr www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/cefn-cenarths.html
Cnwch Bank Llangunllo www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/cnwch-bank.html
Cwm Byddog Clyro www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/cwm-byddog.html
Gilfach Marteg Bridge www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/gilfach.html
Gorse Farm Llandrindod Wells www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/gorse-farm.html
Llanbwchllyn Lake Erwood www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/llanbwchllyn-lake.html
Mynydd Ffoesidoes Bleddfa www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/mynydd-ffoesidoes.html
Pentrosfa Mire Llandrindod Wells www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/pentrosfa-mire.html
Pwllpatti Bird Hide Glasbury www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/pwllpatti.html
Rhayader Tunnel Rhayader www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/rhayader-tunnel.html
Sideland Penybont www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/sideland.html
Tylcau Hill (Flossie Brand) Lanbister www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/tylcau-hill.html
Werndryd Franksbridge www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/werndryd.html
Withybeds Presteigne www.rwtwales.org/index.php/radnorshire-wildlife-trust-reserves/withybeds.html

RSPB Reserves

Carngafalt Elan Valley www.rspb.org.uk/reserves/guide/c/carngafallt/index.aspx
Gwenffrwd-Dinas Near Llandovery www.rspb.org.uk/reserves/guide/g/gwenffrwd-dinas/index.aspx
Ynys-hir Near Machynlleth www.rspb.org.uk/reserves/guide/y/ynys-hir/index.aspx

Tregaron Wildlife Reserve Tregaron www.ccgc.gov.uk/landscape--wildlife/protecting-our-landscape/special-landscapes--sites/protected-landscapes/national-nature-reserves/cors-caron.aspx

Spa Treatments & Pampering

Mid Wales Therapies Rhayader www.midwalestherapies.co.uk/
Polished Beauty Boutique Rhayader
The Rock Spa Llandrindod Wells www.metropole.co.uk/spa/

Sports & Leisure Centres

Rhayader Leisure Centre Rhayader www.powys.gov.uk/index.php?id=2408&L;=0
Llandrindod Wells Sports Centre Llandrindod Wells http://llandrindod-leisurecentre.powys.gov.uk/index.php

Walking

Rhayader Area

An All Weather Walk Rhayader www.leapingstiles.co.uk/find-a-walk/1221
Castle Hill Circuit Rhayader www.leapingstiles.co.uk/find-a-walk/1226
Cnwch Wood Nature Trail Elan Valley www.leapingstiles.co.uk/find-a-walk/1211
Craig Cnwch Elan Valley www.leapingstiles.co.uk/find-a-walk/1210
Drygarn Fawr Elan Valley www.leapingstiles.co.uk/find-a-walk/1217
Elan Valley Trail Rhayader www.leapingstiles.co.uk/find-a-walk/1227
Gwyn Llyn Gallop Rhayader www.leapingstiles.co.uk/find-a-walk/1224
Nantmel Community Trail Nantmel www.leapingstiles.co.uk/find-a-walk/1418
Rhayader Town Trail Rhayader www.leapingstiles.co.uk/find-a-walk/1220
Riverside Rhayader www.leapingstiles.co.uk/find-a-walk/1219
St Harmon Community Trail St Harmon www.leapingstiles.co.uk/find-a-walk/1420
Valley Vistas Rhayader www.leapingstiles.co.uk/find-a-walk/1223
Y Prysg Rhayader www.leapingstiles.co.uk/find-a-walk/1218
Public Footpaths - Many
Longer Distance Walks
Glyndwrs Way National Trail Near Rhayader www.nationaltrail.co.uk/glyndwrs-way
Offa's Dyke Path National Trail Near Rhayader www.nationaltrail.co.uk/offas-dyke-path
The Wye Valley Walk Rhayader www.wyevalleywalk.org/

THAT'S ALL FOLKS - THERE AINT MUCH TO DO IN THESE PARTS! :~)

More About This Location

Rural retreats

Availability

Last updated on September 16, 2014
Not available for your dates? Check availability for 4 other Rhayader rentals
Check Availability for Rhayader

Rates

Rates shown in $ USD (Rental listed originally in GBP)


DatesNightlyWeeklyMonthlyMinimum Stay
Sep 13 - Sep 26, 2014
3-6 People
Saturday check-in
$8931 Night
Sep 27 - Oct 17, 2014
3-6 People
Saturday check-in
$7311 Night
Oct 18 - Oct 31, 2014
3-6 People
Saturday check-in
$9741 Night
Nov 1 - Dec 19, 2014
3-6 People
Saturday check-in
$5681 Night
Dec 20 - Jan 2, 2015
3-6 People
Saturday check-in
$1,2181 Night
All other dates
$1063 Nights
Enter dates to see your price
Don't see rates for your trip?

Optional fees

  • Pet | $32

Additional notes from the owner

For realtime availability calender with individual weekly and short break prices and online booking go to:- www.bestcottageholiday.co.uk

Full week 7 night breaks start on Saturdays
Short break 3 night breaks start on Fridays
Short break 4 night breaks start on Mondays
We offer a discount for a small party booking (maximum 2 person occupancy) See the 1-2 People rates

New for 2013 FREE Wireless broadband internet connection available along with BT Sport in the lounge area via the Sky box.

We accept up to 2 pets. 1 pet £10 per week/short break. , additional pet surcharge £10 per week/short break.

Our prices are fully inclusive of gas & electricity.

Please note all bed linen and towels are provided.

Amenities

General
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Central heating
  • Soap/Shampoo Provided
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace
  • Alarm Clock
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Local Guides/Maps
  • Linens Provided
Phone / Internet
  • Internet Access
Pool / Spa
  • Shared indoor pool
Property Features
  • Parking
  • Mountain Views
Kitchen
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Refrigerator
  • Blender
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Paper Towels Provided
  • Stove or Oven
  • Toaster
Entertainment
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite or cable TV
  • Books
  • Stereo or CD player
  • VCR
Outdoor
  • Garden
  • Patio
  • Garage
  • Balcony or terrace
Onsite Equipment
  • Swing set or jungle gym
Suitability
  • Pet friendly - yes
  • Smoking allowed - no
  • Suitable for children - ask
  • Suitable for the elderly - yes
  • Wheelchair accessible - yes

What Past Guests Are Saying

Have you stayed here? Write a review

29 guest reviews

Overall Rating

Excellent
22

Very Good
7

Average
0

Below Average
0

Poor
0

Show Reviews