|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Jade House is a newly remodeled, Asian-inspired home fronting beautiful Drake's Beach, consisting of two independent flats (with no interior connection). More info below... 2 Night Minimum EXCEPT
Summer: 1 week mid-June through August. Turn Day: Sunday. Short Bookings List (starts in March): http://www.rrgetaways.com/shortbookings.htm http://www.rrgetaways.com/shortbookings.htm
-3 Nights Memorial Day to mid-June, Labor Day thru September, Christmas, New Year's
-4 Nights Thanksgiving
55" Flatscreen TV with Blu-Ray DVD; iPod Dock. Three Decks with Dining Set, Gas Grill, Hot Tub, Outdoor Living Room, Teak Loung...Read more
Russian River, California
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$450||$450||$0||$0||2 nights|
|Jan. 1 2010 - Dec. 31 2015||$450||$450||-||-||2 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 23, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Amazing house, had a blast.
The Jade house was great! It was beautiful inside and out. Beds were very comfy and the bedding was cozy...a big plus in my eyes. I loved that dogs could come and had there own yard to play in. It was clean and well kept. Would rent again.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 05/22/2013
And let's not forget the access to the river right off your backyard! It's a great spot and we're so happy you enjoyed your stay. See you again!
Russian River Getaways
I recently organized a cooking contest at Jade House. 5 teams of 2 people. It was an excellent setting with 2 full kitchens and great big room for eating and socializing. Lots of out door space for privacy or group gatherings.
Rustic yet homey
The house is adorable. There is a good amount of room and the deck area is awesome with a great view of the lake behind the property. Watch when you have the windows open in ealy September though- it gets really chilly! The master bathroom has some issues for the tub with water damage and it being rather small. But each bedroom is good size and has nice linens, the kitchen is decently equiped and the couches are comfy in the living room. Careful of garbage cans in the area...they are everywhere and can make backing out of the driveway a challenge at times. It's pretty sweet with the flat screen TV, blu ray player and ipod dock. The house is literally dropped in the middle of the woods and it's an adventure getting out of the neighborhood at times, but the view and ride is beautiful and who can resist getting a chance to see so many stars in the night sky?
Response from Russian River Getaways - 09/25/2012
We'll check into the water damage, but sadly can't do anything about the size of the tub. Thanks for the heads-up. Also, just to be super clear, it's the Russian River you're seeing from the house, not a lake. -Rachel, General Manager
San Francisco, CA
Amazing house right on the river
We had a great time at this house. It has a 3-tiered deck and a provate walk through to the River. Nice kitchen upstairs and a second kitchen in the smaller unit on the ground floor. Couldn't have asked for a better experience and would definitely book a stay here again. Thanks!
Great weekend getaway house
I went with a group of 10 guys to have a relaxing weekend up in Guerneville, and overall the house was a great place to stay. There is plenty of outdoor space and the beach access was a nice plus. The hot tub shutting off at 10 pm was a bit of a bummer but that seems to be the norm in this neighborhood because of noise restrictions. The only other drawback to this place is that on a hot day it gets pretty unbearable on the top floor, even with all the fans on. The downstairs stays much cooler though!
Response from Russian River Getaways - 08/28/2012
Just to clarify, the hot tub itself does not shut down at 10pm. It's just the jets that shut off on a timer. This is because, when the jets are on, people talk more loudly to compensate, and this disturbs the neighbors. -Rachel, General Manager
We spent a long weekend at Jade House and all the family loved it. The house itself, the outside grill and dining area..the hot tub... and mostly the beautiful peaceful river right down the path. Hopefully we can repeat the pleasure again.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 07/15/2012
I'm glad you had a great time at Jade House. We hope you can come back as well. This house now allows dogs, so if you have a pup, you an all come next time. -Rachel, general manager
We had a great time at the Jade house for Memorial day weekend this year. The house was exactly as advertised. The hot tub, bbq and appliances all worked well and the location right on the river was perfect. The furniture is modest but clean and comfortable. The top apartment rooms are nicer than the ones in the downstairs apartment which is a bit basement like but it was still clean and comfortable, not dingy, We loved the town and the little mini golf place a mile or two down the road, we also went to the nearby korbel winery for tastings. We would definitely stay there again.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 06/25/2012
We're glad you had such a great experience at Jade House. The advantage to those partially sub-grade rooms is that they're generally cooler than the upstairs. Those at Jade House are particularly nice. Please do come back and stay again! -Rachel, general manager
Modern Bungalow nesstled among the trees on the River!
I rented the Jade house for my sister's bachelorette weekend. We had 10 girls and the house was perfect! The upstairs is spacious and open with an amazing view of our own private beach! The house is private and surrounded by trees. The decor was modern with a bungalow feel and it had all the amenities we needed. The hot tub was perfect for relaxing. This place would be perfect for two families as there is a completely separate unit downstairs with two bedrooms and a full kitchen and living room. The neighborhood is far back in a neighborhood outside of downtown Guernville which makes it very quiet and peaceful. I would recommend this house to anyone. We had a blast!
Response from Russian River Getaways - 10/02/2011
Glad these gals had such a great time! I just have to note that the beach is not private; it's a neighborhood beach. -rkl
Jade house was great for families. It was clean and great location to semi private river access. Only thing lacking was kitchen utensils/cooking ware. The kitchens were not stocked with some items that makes cooking easy. House was located in quiet neighborhood. Loved the hot tub,kayack and tubes for the river.
Perfect for our family!
My extended family has vacationed at the Russian River for four years, and although we've enjoyed every home we've stayed in, we never found one that fully meets our needs...until we found the Jade House this summer!
The home is beautiful, clean, modern, light, with lovely views of the trees and the river. It's one of the few rentals with 5 separate bedrooms...so no one had to sleep on a sofa in the living room! Note that it has two separate living spaces, one upstairs and one downstairs, with separate entrances. (You reach them by taking the stairs on the back deck.) That gave us options for a little privacy and noise control(my nieces could play in the morning without waking the entire household). And 2.5 bathrooms is great for big families. There are lovely outdoor decks (with hot tub), and it's a short easy walk to a small private beach that's safe for young children.
The only thing that would have made our stay more comfortable would have been air conditioning and a canopy to bring to the beach...we happened to have a few 90+ degree days, so on those days it was too hot to be in the house, and too hot to hang out on the beach. (You either had to be in the river, or we considered hanging out at the local air conditioned Safeway. So bring your own beach umbrellas/canopy if you are going during hot weather.) We appreciated how responsive the office staff was -- they kindly rushed over a new can of propane for the bbq when we realized the one there had run out. We definitely plan to make this our annual vacation spot!
Pluses and minuses
We may have been the first occupants of the season. I say this because, despite the exorbitant cleaning fee ($190), the place was not particularly clean. There were dirty windows, the decks were dirty and needed sweeping, and I had to get some windex to clean the glass-topped tables. There were dead flies on the floor. Now for the pluses: the remodeling was very nice, the floorplan with the two separate flats was great for our extended family, and the river was nearby. Overall, we should ask for a rebate on the cleaning fee since we washed windows and swept, but we would stay there again because of the location.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 07/03/2011
We're glad these folks enjoyed the house and location, and we're very sorry about the cleaning issues. We did refund part of their cleaning fee. The house has been deep cleaned, and we've received reviews since commenting on how clean it is! We wish the guests had let us know while they were at the house so that we could have remedied while they were there. -rkl
San Francisco, CA
Great home with spacious, modern feel!
We stayed at the Jade House for 3 nights for Sonoma's barrel tasting weekend with a group of 10 friends. This house was beautiful! Plenty of comfortable beds and rooms for all. The common area of the living room, dining room, and kitchen are all in one spot, so there is plenty of space to spend time with your entire group. The outside deck and patio was gorgeous and just enourmous! There was almost too much space!
This is an area where residents live year round, which brings me to my only negative point and the reason why i had to deduct some stars from our overall rating. One of the residents felt we were being a bit noisy on our first night. Whether we were loud or not is subject to debate (only 6 of the 10 were there at the time), but the main issue was that this resident took it upon himself to unexpectedly enter the backyard and deck area uninvited and let us know we were being too loud. Of course we were apologetic and were happy to oblige, but certainly did not appreciate the way he went about informing us of our noise level. What if we had mistook him for an intruder? What if we had children outside playing? I understand that it may have been our fault that he was compelled to enter our yard, but the question is mainly security and the feeling that you have some privacy. That was all lost for our group on the first night, and put a bit of a damper on trip knowing that at any moment, someone could walk in on what we were doing.
I think that the residents, in some way, resent those who come to these homes and stay for this specific weekend. I can't blame them given that Barrel Tasting weekend can certainly create a large influx of people into Sonoma County. Nevertheless, be wary of the noise rules or you may have a visitor.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 05/29/2011
We're so glad these guests enjoyed this home so much. As for their experience with the neighbor, this is truly unusual for this area. Most neighbors are very welcoming and will call us if the noise at one of our homes is disturbing them. We, in turn, will call to let the guests know. This neighbor was out of line; he has been warned against entering the property again and given our phone number to call instead. He has agreed to call our emergency line if there is any problem in the future. rkl