|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
In a magical, tranquil riverfront location, Amazing Place is a remodeled, contemporary wood-and-glass open plan home featuring an art collection, fine rugs, and lovely paint treatments. More info below... 2 Night Minimum EXCEPT
Summer: 1 week mid-June through August. Turn Day: Friday. Short Bookings List (starts in March): http://www.rrgetaways.com/shortbookings.htm http://www.rrgetaways.com/shortbookings.htm
-3 Nights Memorial Day to mid-June, Labor Day thru September, Christmas, New Year's
-4 Nights Thanksgiving
Art collection, Wood-Stove, Central Heat, Skylights, Solarium with Great River and Mountain Vie...Read more
Russian River, California
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$359||$359||$0||$0||2 nights|
|Jan. 1 2010 - Dec. 31 2015||$359||$359||-||-||2 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 14, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Joan Hamerman Robbins
The cool charm of amazing Place
We had an extended family vacation here for one week. The house and its accomodations were good; the views of the river and hills beyond are lovely. The house is set among Redwood trees, so it was always cool inside. It would be useful to realize this even though it was summertime and be prepared with warmer things.
The kayaks were good, but the entry to the river is difficult. Also some lawn furnture would be great when the sun is out the lawn is very beautiful.
Duncans Mills is a nice walk away, and the Bakery and cafe are very lovely.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 07/24/2012
It's great that you enjoyed Amazing Place, it's wonderful location near the coast with its cooling breezes. -Rachel, general manager
west sacramento ca
Great House, Beautiful Yard!
We really liked the home! the living space & kitchen area were really nice and the kids were able to play in the sunroom, so it didn't feel at all that we were 8 people in the home. The only thing that we didn't like was the bed downstairs (the one that folds out from the couch), the springs on it are so close to the mattress, it seems that you are sleeping on the springs. We couldn't really even use it as a bed. Aside from that the home was great!
Response from Russian River Getaways - 07/24/2012
We're glad you enjoyed this home so well. We'll check out the sleeper. -Rachel, general manager
Relaxing weekend on the Russian River.
We took my Mother-in-law and Father-in-law to the Russian River for my Mother-in-laws birthday. The house is wonderful and has everything that you will need to have a relaxing stay. It is easy to find and close by Duncans Mills and not a too far drive to Guernville, so if you forget something it will be easy to pick up. The lowest temps of the season were going on while we were there. I will have to say it is more enjoyable at the Russian River when it is warmer, but that was not something that could be controlled. The rooms were nice and very clean. This was the cleanest rental house I have ever stayed in. If you have allergies or you are worried about dust from old couches bring a blanket from home to cover the couches with because they are quit old. The only negative that I would have to say about the house is we could not get the wood stove to work properly. The damper does not seem to work correctly (or it is too difficult to operate) and smoke flows into the house. This is one of the best houses that you can stay at on the Russian River. Very nice over all.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 07/15/2012
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Amazing Place. It is an awesome house and location, so close to the coast, and the view is fabulous. I'm confused because most of the couches are actually brand new, but I'll check out the dust factor, along with the wood stove. I will say that usually problems with wood stoves are user error because they are trick somethings. There are instructions in the house binder, but if you have trouble after that, please do give us a call, and we can help you. -Rachel, general manager
Cheesy name, 100 percent accurate
We spent New Years eve here and couldn't be happier. The outdoor hot tub was bubbling when we got there, and there's a redwood tree *in* the backyard, so when you're in the tub, you're looking up at these immense trees. Beautiful! This is a perfect place for a group of friends who just want to hang out.
It's a nice walk into town, although don't expect to do much there. Grocery store (safeway) a few miles away in Guerneville. Go here to be with the people you're with.
Very minor quibbles: we couldn't get the grill to ignite, and the pullout couch-bed in the living room is a little uncomfortable (although there are enough couches to sleep on). Absolutely nothing that should detract from a stay here.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 07/16/2012
We're so glad you enjoyed this fabulous home. Grill is fixed, and pull-out has been replaced. -Rachel, general manager
Stayed over the Thanksgiving holiday with some close friends. We had a great time kayaking, bike riding, walking, hiking & cozying up to the wood burning fire after a night 'swim' in the hot tub. For the most part, it had everything we needed and was the perfect place to get away from it all. On Thanksgiving, as we gathered around the table, the electricity went out. After an hour, we called the emergency number and were surprised to make human contact. He was very reassuring and called to give us updates from PG&E.; A++ in our books.
The only two things I would suggest they fix to get to 5 stars are:
1. Some of the lights were burned out. Make it a habit of checking in between guests.
2. The door code to get in/out of the house changed the day we were checking out. Thankfully, we found a piece of wood to keep the door ajar so we wouldn't be locked out while packing up our stuff.
We would definitely return!
Response from Russian River Getaways - 12/22/2011
We so glad you had a great time and sorry that we have no control over god or PG&E :-) We do have some great people running our emergency services, and I'll pass along to kudos to the guy who was on Thanksgiving. We do check light bulbs between guests, but sometimes they do go out or we miss one. We do our best. We'll also put new lightbulbs in for you, if you give us a call. The door code changes at 11am because that's when check-out is, so we won't be fixing that. We need people out at 11am so that cleaning and maintenance people can come in and do their magic. -rkl
Smelly and Dirty
I was really looking forward to our stay at Russian River, this was our first trip to Russian River. From the advertising of this place we though we were going to have a great get away. It was horrible from the minute we stepped in, the place smelled horrible, musty, moldy oder. The place was old and dirty, spider webs covered the lamps and every corner you turned. We had to wash all the dishes before we used them because we were afraid of mold. The sheets were not clean, there was spiders and hair in the tub where I had to give my 1.5 year old son a bath. We coulnd't even sit outside the patio because it was so dirty. We didn't have a great view of the River because there was over grown bushes and srubs covering the view. My husband had to purchase light bulbs just so we can have some light. We purchased candels so we can get some of the oder out. It was a disappointing stay and I would never stay here again!
Response from Russian River Getaways - 10/30/2011
While we try to give guests the benefit of the doubt, this review is brutally inaccurate. I'm the general manager of this business and happened to visit the house myself shortly before these folks arrived. The cleaning was fine. The sheets may be a little worn, but they were certainly not dirty. I saw no hair in the tub (and yes, I actually looked!). I was there to photograph the view from the deck and solarium, so I had particular reason to note that there is not brush blocking the incredible view. The bulbs were checked prior to arrival and there were none burned out at the time. They don't say the dishes were actually dirty, so I don't know why they washed them. If there were any mold (which there wasn't), it would certainly not have been on the dishes. There are occasionally spiders because this is a heavily forested rural area that has wildlife, but I saw no cobwebs. An inspection following this booking yielded no moldy smell. However, when we were in the house just prior to the booking, I did notice what I thought was a musty smell - which it turned out to be from a carpet cleaning a few days before (apparently carpet cleaner is not so sweet smelling). When we opened the door, it started to dissipate. People there earlier in the day doing landscaping didn't notice it at all, so I figured it was just me being sensitive. In any case, this is not the norm for this house, and we're sorry it affected these folks so strongly. I wish they'd called us. We might have moved them to another house, or at least gotten some strong fans to blow the smell out! -rkl
Wonderful house. Some issues.
The house is beautiful. The location wonderful. We spent some very nice times on the river, in the hot tub, and exploring the amazing parks nearby.
The issues: the house sits in a (beautiful) redwood grove and gets little sun, so we were surprised that we needed to turn on the heat.
The carrying handles for the largest kayak were broken, so transporting it to and from the river was a challenge.
The kitchen had several broken implements (we couldn't get either can opener to work, for instance).
Response from Russian River Getaways - 10/30/2011
They kayak has been fixed. The broken implements have been replaced, and there's an electric can opener now on the counter. -rkl
In the big picture we had a great time. But on arrival we had to remove food from the refrigerator from the previous people. Trash space was also and issue. it was almost full when we got there. The trash can should be the largest can offered. A safety issue came to light when I fell down the stairs that lead to the back. There is a light, but we could not figure out how to turn it on. There should be a motion sensor light out there. Most important, there should be a hand rail, had there been a hand rail I would have not fallen into the burn bush. Other than that we had a blast...
Response from Russian River Getaways - 01/26/2012
We don't typically leave food from previous guests; this food was an unopened container of ice cream the housekeeper left, thinking the next guests might like it. Easy enough to throw away. The can at the house is the largest available and adequate for the size of the house. Sounds like the previous guests left a lot of trash. The light is motion sensor, but it was switched off at the lamp itself. It has been switched back on now. The back stair has been blocked from guest use; the easier-to-access front stair now has a handrail. If these guests had called us, we could have helped them with these things. -rkl
The house was as expected. Similar to other rentals in the area.
Great for Gatherings
I spent a weekend here with 7 girlfriends and it was a comfortable stay where no one had a desire to leave the property. Our dogs loved the grassy area and keeping them in front of the property was no problem as it's quite large. We did wander through the neighboring yard to access the river (no beach this time of year) and had no issues.
The sleeping arrangements worked out wonderfully and we spent the vast majority of our time on the deck and in the hot tub.
It was a great stay and we all wished we could've stayed longer. Better river access would be important for future rentals in warmer weather, but for a cooler time of year the hot tub suited us just fine.
The place is lovely. Wish we could have used the kayaks but the river was too dangerous... The place is lovely. The people running the operation were fabulous, easily available to answer questions and take care of issues.
Only problem might be that you have to go through a bedroom to get to the 2 bathrooms... but that wasn't much. Kitchen is well equipped.
Not long enough
Loved the place, very open floor plan that allowed us to really enjoy both preparing and eating meals as a group. The views were stunning and having the large lawn was great. We didn't get the kayaks out, but next time...
West Lafayette, IN
Comfortable but dark
Comfortable roomy house, with very quiet location - nice walk to Duncans Mills. In the redwoods, so somewhat dark. Generally well equipped kitchen (though could do with sharper knives!).
Good for families and children
We felt comfortable with young children and enjoyed our time by the river.
San Francisco Bay Area
It was ok
I have mix feelings about staying at the amazing Place house. The house is situated in a nice secluded and quiet area. It was clean and the house was functional. However, because the house is built by the river and in the shades, the house was freezing even in the day time when it is very hot outside. It was so cold that we had to turn on the heat to 90 degree to keep the house warm due to the high ceiling. The house has no insulation either. The kind of cold I felt was moisture or damp coldness especially on the main level's room. It's not your regular kind of cold. We left the heat on all day and night, and we were comfortable. The area rug in the living room has that sheen of sticky feel to it. Like food or drink have been spilled on it many times and just got wiped up or air dried. It really needs a good wash and scrub or replaced. Although the house is walking distance to the river, but you cannot access the river and play there like a beach. The high grass prevents you from accessing the river. There is a small pathway, not kid friendly. We went to the nearby Casini Campground and it was absolutely fabulous there. It was only a five minute drive and so we played on the river there for two days. There is a little town closeby, but it wasn't much at all. We drove to Guernville's Safeway for food and coffee. It was a nice drive through the forest trees. I really enjoyed the drive. It is about a 15 minutes drive. Not far. Nevertheless, everybody enjoyed the stay at the house and Duncan Mills. Would I recommend this house to other people? Well, getting on to the river is not easy. The policy states that it's only to get on your kayak since the river access area belongs to the next door property, so you can't stay there. You enjoy the river more at Casini Campground. So if you're ok with this, this house is good.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 06/24/2010
There's a misunderstanding here. We ask you not to hang out on the lawn in front of the neighbor's property, but the beach where the river access ends is public and you can certainly hang out there. The comments about the house being cold in June are a real surprise--we've had this house for years and this is a first! The living room area rug is pretty new and we had the cleaner check out its condition. It's clean, with no stains, no sticky anything, just a nice short weave rug.
Mom from Oakland
Peaceful and welcoming
We were able to spend a beautiful weekend at amazing Place, May 2010, with friends and dogs. The house was clean and welcoming, with 3 nice bedrooms plus a sunporch. Particularly fun were: biking to the end of the road for pastries and lattes, playing softball on the large meadow, and kayaking and hottubbing. Great weekend!! Thanks so much.
Definitely an Amazing Place
I've rented tons of houses, however I think this one was the best all around. The common space is warm and large and opens into the kitchen. As avid cooks, we always have to bring lots of our tools to rentals, however this kitchen had almost everything we needed. Waking up in the morning to the sun rising on the hills across the river was a great spectacle for sure. The hot tub was spacious and overlooked a very large lawn which was perfect for our daily croquet events.
The town of Duncan Mills is small and quiet so pack your groceries or plan to take a 20 minute drive. Local restaurant cute, quiet and yummy. The drive to Jenner for sunest is a must.
We'll for sure be back.
Duncan's Mills in August
Location says it all
We had a mini family reunion at Amazing Place in teeny-tiny Duncan's Mills. It was clean, comfortable, and the hot tub was relaxing. The views of the Russian River, expansive lawn, and hilltop with misted treeline from the house were gorgeous. A few of the amenities need to be updated such as the sofas in the sun room, a working vaccuum cleaner, and we had to purchase additional wine glasses and coffee mugs (enjoy them). Beds were comfortable. This is not the most luxurious place but the location can't be beat. The surprise for us was being just 3 miles from the beaches. We just loved the local bakery/coffee shop, Gold Coast, and our dinner a the local restaurant, Cape Fear Cafe, was superb.
Nice location, but needed cleaning
The location was nice, and the views amazing. However we had to clean the whole kitchen, including all dishes and utensils before using them as there was food and stains left on them. Several chairs were broken and marked with paper signs, "broken chair."
Response from Russian River Getaways - 08/10/2009
Gosh, we're certainly sorry the kitchen cleaning wasn't up to par. We have since assigned a second cleaner since one cleaner couldn't do a complete enough job in four hours. The chairs just couldn't be fixed in the four hours we had, so our handyman put a sign on them to avoid injury and they were fixed at the first possible moment. It gets difficult in the summer when houses are back to back, week after week. But all is good now!
The location is great with access to the yard and the river. As it is closer to the ocean it was a little colder than we expected. The house is usable and open. The only issue is that both the bathrooms are off the bedrooms so you have to go through a private space to use the bathroom. It makes the sunroom as a place to sleep (although it has a pull out bed) not very usable. The deck is great as is the hot tub.
Rented this place with my wife and 6 of her family members. We enjoyed every second of our stay. Tons of room for all 8 of us.
Things we enjoyed the most: Having 3 kayaks to take out on the River was wonderful. Huge backyard to throw around the football and frisbee. Wonderfully secluded home away from any noise, very peaceful.
We plan to return next Summer!
The Brothers had a great time on the River
This could be a truly amazing place but frankly we feel it is being allowed to run down. Clearly needs lots of paint, the roof and decks cleaned off, the bbq burner replaced (if it is going to work effectively) and the major window pain replaced so you're not left with the feeling you're going to be held responsible for the crack. Great location however, beautiful views and a great, open floor plan and well maintained hot tub! Would recommend either lowering the price or doing the above maintenance if the name is to be kept.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 05/09/2009
Hello, we very much appreciate your feedback; we had not inspected this home for a while, but we have done so as a result of your review. The owner is moving quickly to remedy all of these items; we do require that our homes be maintained beautifully and this one will not be an exception in the future.
Update: the window has been replaced, the entire interior is being painted and will be completed May 15, the grill has been replaced, and the roof and decks blown. Everything is now A-1.
Not so Amazing
Russian River Getaways has always been over delivering a great service on house rentals of a very high standard, and this is the level of service we are used to. That said, I wanted to share that "Amazing Place" did not live up to our usual expectations. The house was not spotless clean, with especially a lot of spider webs in the sunroom, the garbage can in the kitchen was broken, and not really clean either, and we had to go buy some liquid drainer for the upstairs bathtub, drain issue that could not have been unnoticed at the last cleaning. Besides, not having firewood is one thing, not having an axe is quite inconvenient.
I hope this feedback helps to keep rrgetaways.com the place to organize great week-ends.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 03/29/2009
Lilie, we are mortified about the condition in which you found Amazing Place, a truly lovely home. Our inspector who is in charge of deep cleans had scheduled the home of its deep clean a month earlier and thought it had been done. After your complaint, he contacted the cleaners and found out it had not been done---his fault for not tracking it better. Our homes are generally spotless and this lapse is very embarrassing to us.