ARTISAN HOUSE COMPOUND
|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
On a 1/3 acre, a short walk across the bridge to the Monte Rio Beach, movie theater, and downtown Monte Rio, Artisan House is a splendid Craftsman lodge composed of a main house and granny unit. More info below... 2 Night Minimum EXCEPT
Summer: 1 week mid-June through August. Turn Day: Sunday. Short Bookings List (starts in March): http://www.rrgetaways.com/shortbookings.htm http://www.rrgetaways.com/shortbookings.htm
-3 Nights Memorial Day to mid-June, Labor Day thru September, Christmas, New Year's
-4 Nights Thanksgiving
Two Wood Stoves and a Gas Fireplace, Master Suite with Claw-Foot Tub in main house, an...Read more
ARTISAN HOUSE COMPOUND
Russian River, California
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$599||$599||$0||$0||2 nights|
|Jan. 1 2010 - Dec. 31 2015||$599||$599||-||-||2 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 15, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Rustic and very Roomy
I loved my experience here. The Master Bedroom was amazing and the Granny Flat was huge. The house was well stocked and clean. I hope to visit again. I will say that the neighbors are very close and if you have a large group you need to go inside early to avoid calls about the noise.
Beautiful and functional space for a small getaway
This was a delightful house that worked out perfectly except for the size of our party. For my 30th birthday I invited 13 friends up to the cabin because the max occupancy says 14. It's a good thing that someone brought an inflatable king sized air mattress though, because there were definitely not enough spots for 14 - the ad said something about additional futons but the couches were not pull out couches at all so the house really slept 11 comfortably, not 14. Otherwise, it was an amazing space - great kitchen, open living room and dining areas; the deck was awesome to hang out on, and the hot tub was a hit, though we had to take turns as it could only hold 6 people at a time. There were plenty of towels and blankets, as well as fire wood. It's very close to a beach area of russian river where we went to play frisbee and skip rocks - a nice relaxing addition to the area. The house is fully fenced in so you feel like you have privacy. The internet also worked well. All in all we had a great trip and I would do it again, though with fewer people due to space constraints (for sleeping purposes; the house easily entertains more than 14 people though).
Fabulous time; great place
Customer service was great. When I called to request an extended check-out it was easy. The house was grand and cozy. There wasn't really anything negative I could complain about. There were enough space heaters to keep us warm. The hot tub was nice. We enjoyed Bbqing one afternoon too. Walking distance to the beach and 10 minute into town.
I'll be back
This was a wonderful location, and an excellent house. The main unit has great ambiance. The granny unit is functional, but not as charming.
There are two simple things that hopefully the maintenance guy takes care of before I come back, both are in the showers of the main unit. One shower has a terribly oriented showerhead, which only points straight down, right next to the wall. The other shower has unweighted curtains in a wrap-around. Since there are no weights or magnets on the shower curtain, the convection caused when running hot water in the shower sucks the curtain in. It touches you while you're trying to shower, and that's gross.
The deck was fabulous. The hot tub is well screened from the road, and with the huge square footage of the deck and yard, it still has a very open feeling.
A very happy Family reunion
The booking went well and rapidly, we appreciated the rapid response we had although the complexity of links on the booking form was overwhelming. Response to queries at the office when we were there was equally good.The house and granny apartment were perfect in size for the 14 who stayed there. The location and amenities were perfect for us with 6 young people and we were especially happy to have such convenient access to the river. It was excessively noisy with traffic from 5am but the gem of a housekeeper you have, told us about the start of the Bohemian club event. (By the way , you are very lucky to have such an excellent housekeeper who is also a charming person and chatted to us as we left which added a warm feeling to a sad goodbye for us as we joined together from the 4 corners of the USa.)
The Plum tree was shedding many many plums on the entrance steps which got tracked into cars and house. The garden was a big asset and we used it a lot for games. This possibility was not mentioned in the description. We particularly liked the space both inside and on the deck . Thank you
We've stayed here a number of times when we needed to get away with our various groupings of family and friends. This property has lots of space for large groups. The deck and other spaces in the main house are great for entertaining. The granny unit is perfect for a low key space for tired children or grown ups. Nice balance. We also love the the access to nearby attractions like the Russian River, Goat Rock, and wine country.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 07/15/2012
I'm very glad you enjoyed Artisan House and its great location. -Rachel, general manager
socals in nocals
The house sits on a corner next to a main road with neighbors on two sides. It's quite large with lots of space but could use more/bigger beds. If you have 14 guests that don't want to share fulls and queens, then you're out of luck. Plenty of kitchen space and a very large deck that's elevated from the yard. The entertainment center is a joke plus one speaker didn't work. It's a quick walk to the river and convenient stores.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 06/26/2012
This home is as advertised: A really cool craftsman masterpiece sleeping more people than most vacation rentals in Sonoma County. The beds are clearly noted on the website. I'm glad you had a good time despite some issues. The entertainment center is what it is, again clearly detailed on the website. There should not have been any surprises outside of the speaker not working. Usually this is a disconnected wire. Next time, call us so we can take of it for you. I'll look into it now and make sure both speakers are working. -Rachel, Russian River Getaways
Everything from the rental process to checkout was super easy. We really loved the house -- it was clean and very spacious, with plenty of Craftsman-style charm. The backyard is very beautiful. I would love to come back in the summer months!
Response from Russian River Getaways - 01/25/2012
We're so so glad you loved this amazing home. Please do come back soon! -rkl
Comfortable family Thanksgiving vacation
The office people were very helpful, we were able to preview the house which enabled us to decide what sleeping arrangements would work best. We needed xtra chairs for Thanksgiving. I called and asked ahead of time and the folding chairs were provided with the units. Kitchen and open area were great, plenty of space for folks to spread out and be together too. Heating and lighting were very good. Going from house to house so easily was really good. Showers in bathrooms are not very strong and could be replaced.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 12/22/2011
We strive to provide a great getaway experience, and holidays like Thanksgiving are especially important to us. So, we're very glad that this home worked out so well for you. We'll pass on the info about the showers to the owners. -rkl
Large but troubled home
The home is not well maintained and was dirty upon arrival...needs a deep cleaning. we found several little varmits in the kitchen, lights burned out, TV not working, windows cracked. Location is ok (near the river) but a heavily trafficed area...the bus to Santa Rosa goes by (noisily at 5:30am)...city noises abound, crowded area. House is not well heated with loose fitting doors (many gaps to let the wind in)...definitely needs some attention and cleaning.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 07/16/2012
This is a vintage home, so it's a little quirky, but it was not dirty. The "little varmits" were a few dead bugs. We are in a forested rural area where there is a lot of wildlife, including bugs, which occasionally have the ill grace to come into a house and die in inopportune places. The best cleaning in the world can't stop this. The lights were all fine when inspected before arrival. We've had no other report of the TV not working and inspection showed it to be fine. These folks did not call us, so I'm not sure what happened there. There are instructions now for the TV to help avoid user error. There is a window cracked in one of the many many glass paned doors. These are vintage wood doors so not as airtight as vinyl, and they need special treatment. The windows are scheduled to be repaired and weather stripped in November. This is a very quiet area with little traffic, despite the occasional bus, but it is in a neighborhood - like almost all the homes in this area. -rkl
The windows have been restored. -Rachel, general manager
What a beautiful house...
We had a great time in the artisan House. Beautiful location and all the details one would need for a great stay...
We stayed at the artisan House, there were 5 couples and 6 children all 3 or under. We usually go away as a group and it is really lovely to find a place not to far from home that fits us all comfortably. We used both houses and it worked perfectly. We were able to use the main house for our dinners and grown-up time in the evenings. We especially liked its location as we did not have to get in the car to go to the local playground or to see the river. We spent a lot of time in the house which was warm and cosy and well suited for our group.
We had a lovely walk on a local beach and generally just enjoyed ourselves.
The only issue we had was the toilet became blocked and we had not realised that we were responsible for getting it un-blocked. Russian Rivers Getaway ultimately sorted it all out for us, however I would like to make sure that others are aware that when they call the emergency number for a blocked toilet it may be better to call a local plumber.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 07/17/2011
So glad these folks liked the wonderful home. Just a note that we test the toilets before each booking, so if there is an issue, it's almost always user error - this is why we ask the guest to get it fixed. However, our service techs can fix most toilet problems, and they're generally less expensive than a plumber. -rkl
The perfect getaway for a family get-together
Artisan House was attractive & comfortable for our family gathering of eleven (including two young children). We liked the combination of privacy for sleeping arrangements and open gathering space -- living room, kitchen, dining room & deck all distinct but merging comfortably. The location of the house in Monte Rio was ideal for easy access to all the various activities the area has to offer! Thanks for providing us with this great house!
Santa Rosa, CA
nothing worked quite right
This home was large, and would have been perfect if the outing had been for a bunch of college friends for a reunion party or something like that. As it was, with extended family, the house didn't work. The internet access didn't work. One of the washers didn't work. The second unit was overrun with spiders, and was stuffy. The whole house smelled musty and uncomfortable. The television was really small/hard to see from the sofas/chair. The jacuzzi and the deck were nice. The house is on a corner lot, and the trucks started barreling past at 7 am and didn't stop all day/evening. I wouldn't stay again, especially for an entire week. Really expensive for what you get.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 07/18/2011
We wish we had known about the issues with the internet and washing machine while these folks were here, so we could have fixed them. We did not have subsequent complaints about these things, so we're not sure what happened. We do have some wildlife here, including spiders, but "overrun" is not really possible in a house that's cleaned thoroughly once a week. Upon inspection, the house is not musty or stuffy. Sounds as though it was just hot while these folks were visiting. The TV is 32". The road near this house is normally very quiet, so there must have been some event that caused there to be more traffic than usual. -rkl
Pics Don't Do It Justice
Photos on the Getaways site don't hold a candle to how pretty and impressive this place is, inside and out. The deck seems bigger when you get there, and the kitchen's unique set up is very striking when you walk in. Items of note: The highest room in the main house has an extremely loud air conditioner that goes off and on all night. The loft in the side unit has a sun roof that would stun anyone awake in high summer. The master bedroom has a very tiny mirror, so we ended up sharing the other bathroom when girls wanted to wash faces etc. As far as futons, they are nice and there is space to put them in other rooms than those they started in. The housekeeper was there when we arrived, which I didn't like, but I bet this is uncommon.
Some more pros: Don't miss the little walkway to the bench in the garden! There's lots of closet space everywhere. The master bedroom is much bigger than it looks online. The seating areas are comfortable. Previous guests usually leave random amenities in the pantry. There's plenty of street parking. It's just a stone's throw to the beach. We thought the price was a bit much when you consider paying that price for someone to sleep on a futon, but when we all arrived, even the futon sleepers were very impressed and had no regrets!
Response from Russian River Getaways - 09/29/2011
Glad these folks liked this house so well. We have no idea what the "loud air conditioner" is. There's no air conditioning at this home, and when we looked, we couldn't find any other machinery that would account for this problem. We've had no other complaints about it. -rkl
Artisian's House, Our Home Away From Home!
I believe this is the 8th year we have stayed at the Artisian's House! It the perfect home base for wine tasting, going to the beach or kayaking down the river! We love the open floor plan and the space to all be together, all 14 of us!!
Great Big House is Perfect Location.
The Main house is fantastic blend of open space and cozy comfort. The kitchen
was well stocked and the space appointed very well. The best place for
everyone to hang out. The in law unit tends to be less inviting or intimate.
The location is also a great mix of close walking distance to groceries, coffee,
movies, dog park and river access. But feels remote and wooded.
RRG is always helpful and accommodating. I find their service and policies
consistent and thoughtful. I like the keyless entry.
The Main house seems to have a dishwasher problem. Never actually cleaned
The in law unit has a dark and hard to use kitchen.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 09/29/2011
We're so glad these folks enjoyed their stay. The dishwasher has been replaced. You can see pictures of the cottage on the website, so you can see it is neither dark, nor hard to use. -rkl
We love this place!
We've stayed in this home twice, and love it for our large group. The kitchen is great for group meal prep, and the rest of the house is so inviting for hanging out, socializing, relaxing, or ducking out for rest and respite from all the activity. I can't wait to go back!
The Central Coast of California
The cleaning crew was 40 min. late getting done. They said the former people left very late. 'had to buy batteries for the remote, dish washing soap and some toilet paper. Smoke from the fireplace drifted up to the master bedroom. The sound from the kitchen is bad in the master with no wall over the closet area. The place, however, was charming and I would stay there again.
San Leandro, CA
Great house for groups
We stayed at this property for a 40th birthday celebration. We had several people with us (14 total, including 2 toddlers) and everyone enjoyed the stay. It was nice to have a separation of space in the 2 houses; the main deck is huge and receives full sun for the majority of the day. The kitchen in the main house is centrally located so that even if you're cooking, you can still be a part of the mix. It was nice to relax in the hot tub and a river beach and playground are within 2 blocks. The men enjoyed a later morning round of golf at Northwood (5 minutes away) as well. Everyone's expectations were met. We would definitely return to this property.
Nice holiday weekend despite some rain
This is a great house for a gathering of family and friends. We were
looking for a place with large, open seating areas including a dining
table that seats 10 and a large kitchen. Artisan House exceeded my
expectations, and I would definitely consider renting again in the
summer months to take full advantage of the large deck. The
house was very clean, and the furnishings were more than
adequate for an enjoyable weekend. We found the bed in the
master bedroom to be extremely comfortable.
Our only issues amounted to minor inconveniences (keyless entry
code did not work initially, internet service went down temporarily,
hot tub controls locked up temporarily) that required service calls
but after that were resolved very quickly by the management.
Also, the house took awhile to warm up initially but then was very
warm and cozy once the wood-stove was heated. Probably not an
issue during the summer, I'm guessing.
Keep in mind that mobile phone service is quite limited (Verizon
worked ok, but AT&T did not), and the loft sleeping area in the
main house has limited privacy.