|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Beach Retreat is a riverfront home, enjoying the most beautiful of natural settings, with a wall of glass looking out to trees and gardens. More info below... 2 Night Minimum EXCEPT
Summer: 1 week mid-June through August. Turn Day: Wednesday. Short Bookings List (starts in March): http://www.rrgetaways.com/shortbookings.htm http://www.rrgetaways.com/shortbookings.htm
-3 Nights Memorial Day to mid-June, Labor Day thru September, Christmas, New Year's
-4 Nights Thanksgiving
Open Plan with Fireplace. Fenced Front Deck with Hot Tub (Private from Neighbors); Gated Rear Deck with Outdoor Dining; Landscaped Rear Y...Read more
Russian River, California
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$329||$329||$0||$0||2 nights|
|Jan. 1 2010 - Dec. 31 2015||$329||$329||-||-||2 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: June 18, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Just The Mom
Los Alamos, NM
Comfortable place and fun location for an active family holiday
Our little family of 3 couples had fun together cooking, sitting in the nice hot tub on a private deck, cycling into town for groceries, and walking along the river. Our dogs were very secure in the yard and fascinated to have a balcony level view of squirrels in the trees. We really enjoyed touring local wineries' tasting rooms, hiking in the redwoods parks, and beach-combing along the Pacific shore. Five almost perfect days went too quickly. One person was even able to work remotely with her team in SF, using the table on the deck and the excellent WiFi connection while enjoying fresh air. The only issues were that the dishwasher isn't really useful, a few light bulbs were burned out, and we had not expected to provide our own toilet paper and paper towels (not a problem to run into town to buy). A little local store called "Food for Humans" had everything for us to be able to make a gluten-free, lactose-free, happy camp for a most wonderful Thanksgiving that pleased our most sensitive member.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 03/03/2013
Beach Retreat is getting a new kitchen this winter, so the dishwasher issue will be solved. We do provide a starter supply of of tp and pt, as we describe in detail on our booking policies page. If this is ever missing, we are just a phone call away.
Very Relaxing Time
I first want to say that working with Russian River Getaways was great. We have rented homes for vacation numerous times and we found Russian River Getaways very professional, easy to work with, incredibly organized and helpful. It was nice not to have to worry about a deposit, would we get the deposit back, etc. Thank you for that. The house was adorable and plenty for the 5 of us and 2 dogs. The dog run was perfect. The house really had everything to accommodate us. I would recommend.
Fabulous Retreat among the Redwoods!
we recently returned from the Russian River, staying in the cozy Beach retreat - we are a family of four with two small boys age 3 1/2 and 20months and the house was perfect. Short walk to the river, fenced in small yard and gated deck. The kitchen needs some updating though - the dishwasher is portable and had started to leak upon our departure, and the stove range probably needed an upgrade. Plus for any families, there did not appear to be any plastic dish ware so perhaps bring your own for small kids? We would definitely stay again!
Tom and Jeanette
This home was fantastic!
We loved staying at the Beach Retreat! This home at everything you could dream of on a vacation. Even some deer coming into the backyard to eat berries. Great place to bring your dogs with the nice backyard. We will be back for sure! Thanks for everything
Exactly what we wanted !
Our family of six - and two dogs -had a fantastic time. House seemed to have everything we could ask for. Very clean, close the beach - where both kids and dogs could play. We will definitely be back. Thank you so much
Response from Russian River Getaways - 07/15/2012
You are so welcome. I'm so glad you are satisfied with your stay at Beach Retreat. Please do come back and enjoy again. -Rachel, general manager
Busy Family seeks break
Santa Rosa, CA
A Mother's Day Weekend to Remember
This close to river front house was just ideal for a family of four plus one five month old lab/sheppard mix pup. Bedrooms, baths, kitchen & just about everything else was perfect for a nice family getaway. With an expansive deck that wraps front to back, nice sized hot-tub, good view from back deck, privacy, and a short walk to a large Russian River beach, this property has all the qualities for a fun and relaxing stay. The dog enclosure feature was much appreciated. Cozy is the best word for description. The only not so cozy thing about the place were a few of the paintings on the walls. I think our youngest child might have been a little worried at first. Other than this we had a wonderful stay and would love to return in the near future.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 06/25/2012
I'm so glad Beach Retreat was a treat! Please do come back and visit again. -Rachel, general manager
San Ramon CA
Great relaxing weekend!
We rented this house for the weekend with another couple and had a great time. The house has everything you need (except bath soap :) ) and the fact that the deck and yard are fenced means, as an over protective dog mom, I could relax on the deck without having to watch her every second. The house also comes with everything you need to have a fun day at the river - inflatable tubes etc... which is what we chose to do. Its a very short walk down the path to the river. You can then come back and just throw all your towels etc. in the wash. The house is clean and there is enough distance between the two larger bedrooms for privacy. We would definitley rent this house again. Thank you for a lovely fun weekend!
Response from Russian River Getaways - 06/25/2012
I'm so glad that Beach Retreat had everything you needed (sorry, we don't provide bath soap for sanitary reasons). Please do come back soon. -Rachel, General Manager
wonderfully relaxing trip with the dogs
the cabin was exactly as described. we had a great trip with our dogs, who love to swim. the fenced in area of the yard was perfect. and the river was just a short walk through the yard-- close enough to get to in a minute, but far enough to not drive my dogs crazy. it would have been nice if there were more places to hike along the river from the property, but all in all a great place to stay.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 05/12/2012
We're so happy you enjoyed your stay at Beach Retreat. Please do come back again! -general manager
We had to book last minute and we were unbelievable lucky to come across the Beach Retreat thanks to Julz. It was perfect! It felt like it's own universe. The beautiful trees, the private hot tub, the deck, the lawn and the dog run which was very convenient for our old pooches. This is going on our list of best places to stay in Guernville and the house itself is so lovely with all the wood. Reminded me of Tahoe. It could be a cozy romantic getaway or perfect for a family. Flexible and wonderful! And the beach is right there. We didn't even miss a view of the river with all the trees.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 05/12/2012
We're so glad you enjoyed Beach Retreat, and I'll pass your kudos to Julz. Please do come back again soon! -Rachel, General Manager
Great place, beautifully done, spacious, not enough kayaks.
The house was wonderful, beautifully done, well outfitted. Hottub and decks were perfect. Night view of the stars was awesome. River access was good. Not nearly enough kayaks for 6 people. Had only one tandem and one single. Should have enough for full crew of 6. Playing on the river is one of the reasons we were there. Left our own kayaks at home because there were more boats available. Next year we'll bring our own.
Overall the experience was very good and would rate it 4 of 5 stars.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 10/06/2011
So glad these folks like the house. The number of kayaks are listed on the webpage, and is exactly what they described, so I'm not sure why they were surprised. -rkl
San Francisco, CA
Rrg is a great company and provided excellent service outside of just a wonderful property. Would rent from them again anytime.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 10/06/2011
Thanks for the kind words. Come back soon! -rkl
Great vacation spot
My family stayed at Beach Retreat for a week this summer and we fully enjoyed it. There are short beaches walking distance that are private and nice for little kids. There was a lot of broken glass though so make sure you wear shoes. The property has a great view from the living room, kitchen and porch. It's nice to sit outside and grill as well. We used the hot tub few times and it was very relaxing. The house gets pretty hot but since it gets cold at night, just leave your windows open. The only thing that could be improved would be cleanliness. There were bunch of spots on the carpets where dogs peed and also the bed covers looked pretty dirty (not sure it they were just washed out but could be updated). Also i wish they provided some beach towels, chairs and beach toys.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 09/21/2011
Wonderful that these folks liked the house and location so well. The spots on the carpet are not dog pee (no smell). The cleaner has been working on getting them out between bookings, to no avail, so the professional carpet cleaners have been called in. This carpet will be replaced by bamboo flooring this fall. The bedding has a sueded finish that sometimes looks like there are stains from certain angles, if it's not brushed the right way. It's not dirty and is pretty new and in good shape. Beach stuff can be bought inexpensively in town. -rkl
Pleasant Hill, CA
Beach Retreat Stay
Had a great stay. The place is medium-sized for a three-bedroom but certainly adequate for us. Comfy seating, big windows onto the rear deck, wonderful spa. Pretty view from back deck and wonderful back year, perfect for lawn games. The house is well-equipped with an endles supply of water toys and floats. Very short walk to the river, either Drake's Beach or the smaller, sandy beach just downstream. It's one of the best places on the river, we think, because of the proximity of a rope swing and the only island I know of on the river. We especially liked the fact that there is now a place on the beach where you can secure your kayaks, so no more lugging them back to the house every day!
Our only complaints about Beach Retreat are 1) the dishwasher is a very small portable unit, and it does not do a great job of cleaning. This is exacerbated by the fact that the plates have very high edges and so do not position well in the unit. Second, two of the three beds have overly hard mattresses; some people may like this, but we didn't.
Overall, though, it's a very nice place to stay!
Response from Russian River Getaways - 09/29/2011
Glad these folks had a good time. We've never had a complaint about the dishwasher before. When we checked out the dishwasher, we could find nothing wrong the way it cleans dishes, but we'll keep an eye out for issues. People have all sorts of opinions about beds; we just can’t please everyone. I don’t recollect any other complaints about the beds at this home, so we’ll chalk this up to personal taste. -rkl
Relaxing weekend retreat
We stayed at the beach retreat and had a great time. Super family and dog friendly house/community. The river is a short walk from the house and we basically spend most of our days on the river with our kids and dogs. The house was clean and very spacious for a family of 4. Everything we needed to cook was in the house. Great for entertaining too.
Thanks for a wonderful time.
Dogs Dig this place!
The Beach Retreat was amazing! Location was close to the River, with canoes available. Loved the set up of the house... Great Deck with a hot tub. Great place for the Dogs, lots of space. We are deffinately coming back!
The beach retreat was a comfortable home with a great location for our vacation. My husband was participating in the vineman race and the house was a perfect location for all of the activities we had to do. We also enjoyed being able to walk to the river and swim with our son. The house was small but had all the amentities you need. I wish the kitchen had been cleaner, but other than that is was great.
Easy River Access!!
The house was charmingly decorated, and it's neighborhood was pleasant and quiet, just perfect for our daily walks. The bed in the master bedroom was very comfortable for both of us. Access to the close-by beach was easy and our water-loving dog super relished her twice daily trips down to the river. We enjoyed the large deck and spent some lazy hours on it and on the beach, soaking up the October sun once the morning mists had evaporated.
However, two amenities advertised as coming with the house were missing. The expected kayaks, which we would certainly have used, were nowhere to be found. Also, internet access was down, which stalled the plans of two of the four adults in our party to work on-line during our visit. That was a real disappointment and a call to the rental agency did not result in a repair while we were there.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 10/26/2009
Hi, thanks for the feedback. Sorry you didn't find the kayaks; the instructions for finding them are in the binder. They are in the basement underneath the house. There are also instructions for resetting the modem for the Internet access. We can't repair the Internet access, but the reset is a simple process.
great place for kids and adults
perfect for families or a group of 3 couples. big wrap around deck with safety
gate for toddlers. 5 min walk to beach (bring the jog stroller --rough terrain)
or 10 min drive to town. it was a perfect place.
the only weird thing about it was the master bedroom has very little privacy
from the hot tub and front deck area. you might want to bring a queen size
dark sheet to put up over the very sheer curtain on the picture window next to
the bed, and another smaller dark sheet to put over the all glass door to the
bedroom, that looks right out through the all glass front door!
other than that we had no complaints and would go back in a heartbeat.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 09/29/2011
We're so glad these guests enjoyed this wonderful house. The owner has made it even better by installing black-out curtains on the windows in the master bedroom and added a curtain to the glass in the door. Presto, privacy! -rkl
San Bruno, CA
A wonderful getaway!
I was at the Beach Retreat with my husband, my 65 year old parents and my sister and her husband - we all loved it! The house is not huge but the rooms are very comfortable and everything was very clean. The master bedroom shower is wonderful. There was plenty of room for the 6 of us to watch movies on the DVD player in the living room together. There are a LOT of stairs - both in front and in back - so the house would not be good if you can't take stairs.
It was great to be able to have my little dog with me during vacation - thanks to the owners for allowing well behaved dogs.
The back porch is an oasis and the beach within walking distance was perfect. The kitchen was well appointed and - well - we just loved it. If you want to relax and enjoy doing very little this is the place to be!
We had a fabulous time at Beach Retreat. Loved the hot tub, access to the beach, kayaks and tubes. The back patio was great for grilling, dinner, and relaxing. Love the common space too--great expansive windows make it bright and nice view of the trees. A great place to relax!! The location is perfect, close to town but with a little privacy too. Would definitely stay here again. Only issue was that the bathroom for the 2 bedrooms was a bit small for sharing by 4 people and both bathrooms could use some bleach or re-caulking at the base...there's a bit of mildew.
Too many flies
We liked the Beach Retreat, this was our second year there. My husband and I shared the 3 bedroom house with my daughter and her husband and their two children ages 3 years and 6 months. The house is nice, big living area/kitchen, nice bedrooms back deck, etc. It's sweet because you can walk to the beach and the beach there is pretty nice. The big problem we had was the flies. There was no screen door so when you wanted to leave the back door open you were beset with flies. We have pictures of the six month old napping with flies on her. We complained about the problem but nothing was done about it while we were there. We kept being told that the owners were not responding to email and that they had to sign off on a screen door. At one point someone at RR Getaways told my daughter to go buy fly paper and keep the receipt for reimbursement. Ultimately, after many calls, someone was sent to try and give us a screen door, but not until our last day, and he was not able to install the door.
Also the dishwasher is way too small for a cabin which is probably ok for 6 or so persons. Other than that it was great. But please.....do something about a screen door! The whole point is to enjoy indoor and outdoor living with that big deck. Having to keep the door closed to avoid flies, or keep the door open and get a house full of them, was a downer to our much anticipated family vacation.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 08/28/2009
We're so sorry about the flies; this must have been a major hatching event as we've never had this problem there. In any case, this was mis-handled by the staff person who was at the office the day you complained and she has since left our employment. Delivering fly strips was fine, but you should have gotten a screen door right away. The screen door, which unbeknownst to us had been taken down and stored in the locked garage by the owner, has been re-installed. So we hope you come back and enjoy a future no-fly vacation.
FEARLESS FOURSOME PLUS TWO
SAN DIEGO, CA.
ADEQUATE WITH A TWIST
ENJOYED THE HOUSE AND HOMEY FEEL. HOWEVER, WHEN WE ARRIVED:
AC DID NOT WORK: HAD TO HAVE BREAKER FIXED
JACUZZI(VERY NICE) WAS DIRTY; HAD TO HAVE IT SERVICED
BBQ WOULD NOT HEAT UP; HAD TO HAVE IT REPLACED
THIS ALL TOOK TIME AND PH. CALLS. HOWEVER, RESPONSE WAS WONDERFUL & timely. EVERYTHING GOT FIXED.
SUGGESTIONS: KITCHEN NEEDS UPDATE, E.G. CUPBOARDS, DRAWERS, ETC. WHERE TABLE IS UNDER WINDOW, SUGGEST BUILT IN SIDE- BOARD/CUPBOARDS FOR MORE STORAGE & POSSIBLY BETTER PLACE FOR MICROWAVE. SML. BATHRM. ALSO NEEDS UP DATE.NEED LIGHT OVER TABLE.
DECK WAS FABULOUS(WITH GATE) AS WELL AS GRASS AREA AND SHORT WALK TO RIVER. KAYAKS WONDERFUL.
SUGGEST FENCE ON ONE SIDE, ESP. IF DOGS ARE ALONG.
LAUNDRY ROOM WAS GREAT AND CONVENIENT.
ESP. GOOD PLACE TO STAy if have pets.
San Franciso, CA
Beautiful, well-kept house
This is a gorgeous house - nicely decorated and very close to a wonderful neighborhood beach. Not a "party house" as there are very clear instructions about cleaning up and it is pristine.
THIS PROPERTY WAS SO MISLEADING IN THE PHOTO'S, THE SPA IS IN THE FRONT OF THE HOUSE AWAY FROM THE BBQ, THE TRAIL TO GET TO THE RIVER WAS HORRIBLE, IT DID NOT HAVE A RIVER VIEW, THE RIVER SMELLED HORRIBLE, THE HIGHWAY WAS ACROSS THE STREET FROM THE RIVER ON AND ON I CAN GO. IF YOUR LOOKING FOR SECLUSION FORGET IT. WE SWITCHED PROPERTIES WHEN WE GOT THERE. THE ONLY GOOD NEWS WAS THE CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT!
Response from Russian River Getaways - 05/22/2009
Unfortunately, this is an instance of a guest not reading the very accurate description of this home posted on our website. This river beach is right by my own house and the river certainly does not smell bad--it's just gorgeous there--and we tell everyone that they will have road noise if they rent on the river. It's just the way it is for almost all the river-front homes. The house webpage says there is no river view because there are trees and shrubs between the house and the beach; otherwise, there would be no privacy. The path to the beach was overgrown and we immediately sent the yard guy out to trim back the foliage. This is a lovely home with very positive guest feedback over the years. There's nothing wrong with the house or the beach or the river; it was just the wrong house for these guests.