|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
The Dacha is a gracious, river-front home with traditional wood panelling and river views. More info below... 2 Night Minimum EXCEPT
Summer: 1 week mid-June through August. Turn Day: Sunday. Short Bookings List (starts in March): http://www.rrgetaways.com/shortbookings.htm http://www.rrgetaways.com/shortbookings.htm
-3 Nights Memorial Day to mid-June, Labor Day thru September, Christmas, New Year's
-4 Nights Thanksgiving
River-front Decks with Outdoor Dining, Loungers, Ping-Pong Table, Hot Tub. Gas Fireplace, Hardwood Floors, Home Theater with 46" Flat Screen TV, Surround; Computer. TVs in Every Bedroom. Fen...Read more
Russian River, California
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$379||$379||$0||$0||2 nights|
|Jan. 1 2010 - Dec. 31 2015||$379||$379||-||-||2 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 14, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
relaxing, scenic and family friendly
the facility was lovely and perfect for a family vacation. we were right on the river, the sunrise and sunset were beautiful. it was quiet and close to town. i was however very disappointed with the lack of service from the property manager. the first night we arrived, i called and asked for a call back regarding the ping pong table and dishwasher. i received no call back. one of the attractions was the ability for several of our attendees to entertain themselves with ping pong matches. the table was dirty, covered with dirt and leaves. there was no ping pong balls nor was there a net. definitely false advertisement when you list this as one of the amenities. i would also strongly suggest an upgrade to the current river access. it is dangerous (slippery and hard to find your footing). cut back the shrubbery in this same area to allow occupants to lounge comfortably. dishwasher failed to be environmentally friendly. ran for hours, failed to have a cycle end.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 09/19/2012
If we had received a call, we would have responded, so I'm not sure what happened with that. Messages get lost in this area because reception is spotty, which is why it says on the voicemail message to call back if you don't hear back soon. False advertising is knowingly offering something that is not present, and this is not the case. If the net and paddles for the ping pong table are missing, we were not aware of it. We will check this out and make sure they are present and replace them if they are not. The ping pong table gets dirty because it is outside; it just needs to be wiped down. The river access is shown in the photos on the house webpage in detail, and we agree that people do need to be careful when moving down the dirt path and off the riverbank, especially when wet. We haven't had a problem with the dishwasher in the weeks since this stay, but we'll keep an eye on it.
Name not given
Okay House in Good Location
This house met the minimum needs for our stay on the river. Some things did not work and the management company came to fix the next day except for the oven which did not work the entire time. The store was very old and they said they could not get parts. So we cooked on the large BBQ which was fine except that the distance from the propane tank was so far that the BB took at least one hour to heat up enough to cook anything. You could get to the river from the property but there was not dock or easy access except to step off of the shore from a narrow access point.
The house layout was decent and the house was well supplied with kitchen supplies and cleaning items(like laundry soap. The house was clean.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 09/19/2012
The stove is fixed now, old parts and all. Apologies for the delay. -Rachel, General Manager
The Port Family + Lily
This is the 6th time we have rented from Rrgetaways and again we were not disappointed. Previously renting on a hilltop house that has since been sold, we opted for a river house. Dacha fit the bill perfectly. Completely enclosed front and back yards for the dogs, easy river access ( for those who previously complained of difficult access I say "Woosies"!), fantastic deck views and tons of wildlife. Tough leaving "Serenity" behind but Dacha made it a little easier. Even the craziness of July 4th week did not make the stay any less enjoyable. The Port Family + Lily
Response from Russian River Getaways - 07/15/2012
We're so glad you found a new home away from home (we miss Serenity as well!). Dacha is special, and we hope you'll return next year - or even sooner. Thanks for the great review! -Rachel, general manager
My family and I had such a great time during our three night, four day stay. The house is filled with amenities that we surely took advantage of. The roomy backyard gave us space to play and the quick path to the river was pleasant for everyone. Thanks for sharing this location to us and we'd recommend it to anyone!
Response from Russian River Getaways - 07/15/2012
I'm so glad you had a good visit at Dacha. Please do come back again and let your friends know. -Rachel, general manager
Great place for family fun!
From check-in to check-out our stay at Dacha was a breeze. The house is incredibly well-cared for and it's location amentities are as good as it gets on the River. I rented this house with my family and we all had a great time. The balcony is a litle narrow, but very peaceful and scenic. The hot tub was warm on arrival and using the kayaks was simple and easy. The stairs to the beach are tricky for older guests, but not unmanageable. We brought our two dogs and they had a great time playing in the fenced-in lawn area. We were so pleased with our stay and we all agreed to try and do it again next year!
Response from Russian River Getaways - 06/25/2012
It's so awesome that you enjoyed so many things about Dacha. It is a great place, and we do hope you will be back next summer. Book early to make sure you get the dates you want! -Rachel, Russian River Getaways
San Francisco, CA
Home for the Holidays
This was our second Christmas staying at Dacha, and once again we had a wonderful time. It is a great house to use to gather family for a long weekend. It has all the amenities while keeping it's rustic country feel. The gas fireplace was a definite plus and the outdoor hot tub was enjoyed early in the morning and late at night. We would definitely return again.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 01/25/2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Dacha is great for family gatherings. Please do come back soon. -rkl
Fort Bragg, CA
Bachelorette Weekend Getaway
I rented this house my sister-in-law's bachelorette party and I got compliments on the find all weekend! The house is in a great location! It's right on the river-the views from the kitchen and living room windows are amazing! It is also only a $8 cab ride from downtown Gureneville (Dylan who owns Bill's cab service is awesome too!) There is plenty of room for room for large groups and unlike most pull-out sofa beds, I was told that these ones were comfy, especially with all of the extra pillows and down comforters and blankets that were provided. We stayed in the room with the Queen bed and although the sheets were super soft as was the bedding, the mattress could have used an upgrade, but that's a minor issue compared to how great the house is. The combination code for the hot tub that they gave is did not work, which was a total bummer. Make sure you check that as soon as you check in-we didn't realize it wasn't opening until after the office was closed on the last night. We also couldn't find where the paddles were for the ping pong table, so if you want to play, I'd ask where those are stashed as well. Overall, this place is amazing and we all said that we'd like to come back once a year together, and this was a group of ladies that had just met most of each other for the first time! I highly recommend this place.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 10/05/2011
We're so glad these gals enjoyed this house. The problems with the hot tub lock and the paddles could have been easily solved if they had called us. If it's after hours, we have an emergency line (the number is given on the office phone outgoing message and all over the paperwork). -rkl
The Bennett Family
Great family vacation in a beautiful setting.
The Dacha was very clean and very well stocked with everything you could possibly need. Loved having 2 two man kayaks. It was nice being able to take family kayak trips on the river. We also took our dog and was very pleased the home was completely fenced in the front and backyards. Our hot water went out twice but after a quick phone call maintenance was there withing minutes to take care of the problem. If we had to find one thing that could be improved upon it would be some weed and brush clearance would be nice on the path down to the river. We had a fantatic time and will be back in the future.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 07/16/2012
I'm so glad you enjoyed this home and the boats and river. The hot water heater has been replaced. The brush has been cleared. -Rachel, general manager
Fun Summer Getaway for my son
Our family chose the Russian River as an end of summer finale for my son and his friends who are all leaving for college. It was a terrific house for us. Well supplied and perfectly located on the river. The kids loved the hot tub and ping pong table...and of course the Xbox. We kayaked upriver to Johnson's beach every day. We enjoyed the BBQ and deck - which is very private and tranquil. House suited our needs perfectly and the group had a great time. Would definitely stay there again.
Great home, beautiful views
It was a great house with the most amazing views. They had everything we needed:a washer and dryer, kayaks, plenty of dishware, tvs, stereos, even internet. Great restaurants and wineries nearby. My favorite thing was the balcony along the entire back side of the house. We thoroughly enjoyed our week at this house.
Great location, but home needs updating and deep cleaning
We loved the location!! Great time at the river and fun with family. The linens in the home need to be replaced - old sheets and stained towels. The home could use screens and a "deep" clean in the bathrooms. The home had a distinctive "smell" like unwashed laundry.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 07/10/2011
We're so glad these guests enjoyed their stay. The linens did need to be replaced, and they have been. Unfortunately, the windows are a type that cannot have screens. The bathrooms have been thoroughly cleaned and will stay that way. Our inspector could not detect any smell in the house. -rkl
Peaceful and Serene
I espescially liked being near the river. The living room set up was great. I loved the fireplace. I wish they had swept the leaves off of the deck is my only complaint. Someone said they smelled mold but I was not affected by it. I recommend this cozy riverfront property.
River access misrepresented & dangerous
We checked property before renting. Disappointed to learn that "beach" was flooded by dam in summer, but was assured by RR Getaways (according to my notes) that "there was 120' river front access", "the lawn extended down to the river in summer" "yes, you can set up chairs by the riverside & just walk into the river." Unsolicited, was told that a dock was installed in summer. None of this was even remotely true. Actual "riverfront" was about 10' x 10' dirt patch. No room to set up chairs. Overgrowth only allowed view of river directly in front of the the dirt patch. Getting into river was very dangerous. 2' drop didn't allow getting into river (dirt was crumbling). Dug out stairs into river were only as wide as an adult's foot, slippery with river mud, nothing to hold on to for balance & blackberry bushes overgrowth over the stairs scratched people trying to get in & out of the river. Very dangerous. The challenge of getting into & out of the river kept us out of the river for most of the week.Respectfully suggest that if guests' safety isn't a concern, should consider liability issues associated with unsafe situation. Dacha is a great house, but only for those who aren't interested in the river. Terribly disappointed with the false information provided by RR Getaways. I thought I'd covered all my bases and done due diligence.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 08/26/2010
This guest is seriously confused and we take great exception to this slanderous review. The river access at The Dacha is exactly as shown in the photos and text on the house web page and we have not had a complaint about it all summer except for this guest. The access is fine and certainly not dangerous. No one on our staff told this guest there would be a dock at this house. She looked at many houses and must have confused information as she was asking about all of them. The person she spoke with is our receptionist, not a booking agent, and she is very careful to explain that river conditions vary every year. Our website is accurate and no one on our staff would ever contradict the information we present there. We regret this guest's confusion, but we stand by our integrity and our accuracy in portraying our homes.
Great vacation on the Russian River--we would do it again.
The Dacha was a great house for our family and friends that stayed with us. The layout was really nice and the house had most things you would need for cooking and living. Really overall a great vacation, very comfortable and a fabulous spot on the river and close enough to town to walk or bike easily. It was a really good week. House felt very secure. Fireplace was awesome! And so were all the couches and chairs in that room! Deck was totally pleasant--great place to hang out.
Just a note, if they are going to advertise that they have 2 kayaks they need to get some more good paddles. We had to tape together 2 mismatched paddles and couple of broken ones in order to use both kayaks--thought you would want to know.
We lost hot water twice but the maintenance man (Jim, I think) was great. He showed up right away both times and fixed the water heater pilot. Please thank him again.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 08/04/2010
Wish these guests had called us about the paddles; we would have brought new ones out right away. The owner has replaced the paddles several times; we can't figure out what people do to damage them but it is a problem. At any rate, the newest replacements are now at the house.
San Francisco, CA
Cozy weekend at the Dacha
4 of us stayed at the Dacha for a long weekend. We found the house comfortable and cozy, particularly the gas fireplace which kept everything nice and warm, and the heated floors in both bathrooms.
Nice views of the river from the living room, and a great hot tub from which was spotted a large red tail hawk sitting in a nearby tree until it was run off by a posse of loud blue jays.
The gas barbecue had not been used for quite a while and wouldn't light, but we were rescued from our BBQ emergency by a very nice weekend "emergency" maintenance man who got it working beautifully and saved our dinner.
Very comfortable beds and nice linens and towels. Kitchen could use a bit of re-organization and some updating of cooking tools, cookware and dinnerware. We made very good use of the large TV in the living room with cable access for Winter Olympics and DVD watching. All in all a wonderful, quiet, restful weekend.
San Francisco, CA
Great getaway on the Russian River
Stayed at the Dacha with 4 of my best friends for a girls' trip. The location and layout of the home were great, across the bridge from downtown Guerneville, so very quiet and peaceful. Loved the kayaks and inner tubes, but only found 3 working paddles. Would be nice if there was a dock - as it is, be prepared to haul the kayaks up and down a flight of stairs to launch in the river. Hot tub was great for stargazing. Nice big TV and entertainment center for late-night movie watching. Water in the house is filtered but smells rather coppery - we purchased bottled water to drink. Beautiful balcony for drinking coffee and bird-watching.
Best: Peaceful, quiet home on the banks of the Russian River, surrounded by trees. Serene, fresh air, great birdwatching, and lovely, soothing views. Kayaks and inner tubes for exploring the river. About 30 minutes from some amazing wine tasting.
Worst: Too many rules! Though we generally comport ourselves like adults, we were constantly checking the rules to make sure we weren't breaking any (e.g. if you use more than one towel per person, you must launder and replace it - seriously?). Having to run the dishwasher and replace all the dishes was also unusual.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 09/23/2009
Thanks for the wonderful feedback. Just a note about the rules---they are pretty standard for management companies because, unfortunately, not all guests exercise common sense. Since this house sleeps eight and the housekeepers have to have it ready for the next guests in four hours, they cannot meet their schedule if guests leave excessive laundry. Ditto for the dishes. Some people would leave stacks and stacks of dishes with dried-on food, making it impossible to have the house ready on time.
"THERE IS NO BEACHFRONT .DID NOT MEET MY EXPECTATION"
Review title is "DID NOT MEET MY EXPECTATION"
"We are regular visitors to this area. Come twice a year, early spring and summer. We Really enjoy the nature. However, the house did not meet our expectation. It was not cleaned when arrived. Took 3 people to scrub and dust on the floor from kitchen to every room. The stove did not work. Had to use the lighter to light up when used. This can be very hazard. All cabinet doors need to be wiped down. Couches need to be cleaned or replaced. Some of the towels felt muddy when wet. There was no beach front. Or at least warn the visitors that "there will be no beachfront in the summer". Was VERY DISAPPOINTED because we mainly rent the house for the kids to enjoy the beachfront river. These need to be improved/updated then the house would be a more pleasant place for any family to stay".Jacuzzi is the best thing in the house. The kids reallly enjoyed it. The beds were very comfortable.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 06/27/2009
We very much apologize for the cleaning issues. The owner does his own deep clean and we did not adequately inspect it. All these deep clean issues have been resolved and we will be more conscientious about inspection in the future. As for the beach access, we are correcting the information on our website. The 120' of beach becomes 120' of shoreline after the dams go in mid-June. The water is still quite shallow, 2 feet or less, but the beach itself is largely under water until the end of September when the dams are removed. With reduced flows this summer, there will probably be exposed beach in July and August, but river levels are hard to predict.
So much for the kids to do!
I hosted a weekend family reunion at Dacha for my two sisters and our 5 kids (ages 7 - 13). Kids loved the x-box 360 (though us parents didn't!) But they also has a blast playing pingpong and red rover in the backyard. Kayaking and swimming in the river and then warming up in the hot tub was a hit too. At night we had a bonfire at the fire pit near the beach... very memorable.
The house itself is dated in decor but with kids it was better to know they could not break or damage anything. Great for family but I would probably look for a more modern property if I were coming with friends. The river access was ideal and made up for everything. But bring water shoes since the beach is very rocky and hard to walk on.
Nice place for small children
This was a very comfortable home for all of us-- myself, 3 sons and 2 wives, and my 2 toddler grandchildren.
The gas fireplace in the living room heated the place during the chilly early mornings. The large television in the living room and the internet-accessed computer were added features, as well as the gas barbecue grill.
The kitchen was spacious and had everything we needed. The dining table opened to seat all of us comfortably. And two of the three of the bedrooms were quite spacious. We also made good use of the hot tub/spa.
All in all, we had a very pleasant weekend.