|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
In a spectacular river-front setting, Harmony House is traditionally furnished with antiques and home-made quilts. More info below... 2 Night Minimum EXCEPT
Summer: 1 week mid-June through August. Turn Day: Saturday. Short Bookings List (starts in March): http://www.rrgetaways.com/shortbookings.htm http://www.rrgetaways.com/shortbookings.htm
-3 Nights Memorial Day to mid-June, Labor Day thru September, Christmas, New Year's
-4 Nights Thanksgiving
Fireplace, Grand Piano. Dining Deck with Gas Grill. Lower deck with seating. 1 Single Kayak; 1 Double Kayak. Fenced to Road. Please read detailed house amenities:...Read more
Russian River, California
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$229||$229||$0||$0||2 nights|
|Jan. 1 2010 - Dec. 31 2015||$229||$229||-||-||2 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 25, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Great spot on the river, house needs help.
We really enjoyed the easy river access and the kayaks, but the house itself is in kinda sad shape. Many of the dishes and pots/pans in the cupboards were damaged and/or dirty... The keys they gave us were new and no one had tried them out- took us a long time to get in the first night and we had a hard time with all the locks for the rest of the trip... The deck furniture is mostly broken and really nasty... The garbage was full when we got there and the raccoons got in the first morning and made a terrible mess. We were told that they wouldn't provide shock cords for the garbage cans because the locals will seal them... nice! The downstairs bedroom is really only usable for kids as the mattresses are super short. We made the best of it, and the location is nice, but we wouldn't stay in this house again.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 09/24/2012
This is an expensive home for a reason. However we will check out these issues and correct what needs correcting. -Rachel, General Manager
Russian River getaways is super nice and easy to deal with.
We had dogs and found the house perfect for pets.
The frond yards is fenced so we didn't have to worry about them. While the house was nice we didn't have to be concerned with the dogs making too much mess. The only thing we would like to see in the future is the brush cut down so there is a view of the river.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 11/09/2011
We appreciate your kind words for our staff, and we're glad you enjoyed the house. Because this home has a large rear yard with lawn, then an embankment (drop) to the river, cutting the trees back would not gain a river view. -rkl
San Carlos, Calif
Great Location but the house could use some work.
This place a has a couple of great beaches right behind it. The house needs some sprucing up. The windows in the living area are fogged up and need to be replaced. An umbrella on the deck would help also. We had a great time but this house needs some TLC.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 11/28/2011
We're glad you enjoyed your stay in our area. This is an older home, which is why it's less expensive than other riverfront homes that sleep six. The windows do get some condensation sometimes. The owner is looking into replacing them. There should be an umbrella on the deck, so we'll let the owner know it needs to be replaced. -rkl
Great location, House not in rentable condition
We stayed for 3 nights here with our kids and another family. It is a sweet house with loads of thoughtful features. Wonderful location, great views from the deck and living room and kitchen!
It is obviously a home with a lot of history and many good times. The furniture includes many antiques. The dining room table for great for art projects and big meals. The kitchen was cozy without being crowded, and the chairs were very comfortable.
Unfortunately, the house is in need of some major attention. I don't believe it should be rented out without addressing the moldy smell in the bottom floor. No one felt comfortable sleeping in that lower bedroom. Maybe it has flooded in the past, or does not have a true floor (just concrete?).
The bed linens need to be upgraded to meet a basic level of cleanliness. At first I thought the sheets had not been changed, but it turned out that because there is no pillow case liners or extra pillow cases, many people apparently just sleep on the bare pillow. Result: Many pillows stink of body odor. There are no mattress pads on the beds.
Finally, we had two major safety concerns for small children: The gate at the top of the stairs is not properly mounted. (It must be screwed in, not just pressure mounted as this one was). Our one year old could easily push the bottom of the gate open--very scary! We had to watch him every minute by the stairs.
The deck slots seem too wide for current code. We could not let the toddlers alone on the deck.
If these issues were addressed, which we hope they can be, we would change our recommendation to Highly Recommend, and return here again and again.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 07/16/2011
We're glad these guests enjoyed the many amenities at Harmony House and regret the issues they mention. The downstairs room is sub-grade and does sometimes have some odor, although many people do not notice it. We have a dehumidifier/air filter down there to help as much as it can be helped. We have also ordered mattress pads and pillow covers (the pillows, of course, are not "bare," each has one pillow case); these are typical in our homes but were missed when we ordered new bedding recently. This house is rented by families with small children all the time, and the gate and rails have been fine. Upon inspection, the gate is the pressure mounted type, designed to have the tightness adjusted to create a barrier so it just needs to be adjusted and tightened in place, if it's loose. It also can only be opened into the room, not down the stairs, so it's not a risk of falling down the stairs. The deck rails are to code. -rkl
Santa Clara Visitors
Morgan Hill CA
Wonderful vacation experience with reservations!
Beautiful setting on the Russian River, a spacious, quiet retreat for a family. The double bed and twin beds were horrible and need replacement. Worn furniture inside and outdoor moldy cushions. Windows need washing. The location was great and kayaks lots of fun but attention to refreshing and cleaning this vacation home necessary.
San Francisco, Ca
Great time at Harmony House
We had a very pleasant stay there. Will definitely come back!
"Red -Riding Hood"
Over the River and Thru the Woods!
"Harmony House" is a nice size summer home that has not seen lttle up dating since the 60's. The beds were comfortable and linens clean,the kitchen was clean and accomodating. This house has private beach access, a big plus if traveling with children or pets. The patio was another story!
We arrived on Fri. evening and spent 2 1/2hrs.
Sat.morning cleaning off the pine sap and dirt of the out-door dinning furniture. We rolled 150ft.
of hose left strung out on the rear lawn,pushed a rusty lawnmower out of the middle of the yard and picked up after someone elses animals! Kind of like
being at home....
Once we settled in we really enjoyed ourselves.
A note to the "Owner" of this lovely old home,
the plumbing could use some updating. The people at R.R. Getaway responded quickly to the problem.
If someone has a family of older children or simply older pets this is a fabulous place, not so nice that you run around policing every little thing they are doing and pleasant enough to relax and kick back.
Relaxing river vacation and fun for the whole family
The house is very spacious and in general well-furnished (however, the kitchen eqipment could use some updating). Having a piano was a blessing for our family as we all love to play. There are two decks, although we used the upper one only as it was airier and had a better view.
Location is great - in a quiet, redwood-forested part of Monte Rio with its own beach (kayaks and other river toys were provided). Walking distance to 2 restaurants, an internet cafe (important - see below), and 2 general stores.
Our only complaint (and the reason I give it 4 rather than 5 stars) was the lack of Internet access. We really missed that. Not for work things, but for personal email, looking stuff up, checking on restaurants, plane schedules, etc. Also, the limited level of cable access restricts your choices for TV viewing.
Overall I would recomment Harmony House for a family that enjoys music, loves the river, and just wants to relax!
A very relaxing and fun week
Harmony House was a nice house in a perfect area of the river. It is right on the river and 10 miles from the ocean. We had a wonderful vacation and will definately come back again. If you need to get away for a quiet, relaxing vacation this is a great place to stay.
San Diego County, CA
Location, Location, Location
House was exactly as described. The location is right on the river and the view from the house is great.
We were there with our 3 young adult sons, so everyone had their own bed. The only negative is the downstairs, but we were given the heads up on it on the site. I guess my sons froze the 1st night as there is no heat down there. The second night our son found a heater in the closet and used it---much better. The lighting is hard to find (switch) and irregular. Also there was a little mildew smell downstairs. They did say that it is suitable for children--probably because adults would complain too much!
Otherwise we found the upstairs living space very good and roomy and the kitchen fully stocked. Lots of glasses and dishes so we could wait to run the dishwasher.
We are huge Laker fans so the TV was very important--and it was small, but we were able to watch the NBA playoff games. We did not expect a media room or anything!
San Francisco, CA
I rented this house for a reunion with two college roommates. We had a lovely time. We enjoyed having access to a piano and a large deck. We wished that there had been more overstuffed comfy chairs especially for watching DVDs. The downstairs bedroom was very cold. The heater was extremely noisy which woke the occupant of that room repeatedly throughout the night. We wouldn't recommend cooking at Harmony House. The kitchen pots and pans are not very clean and have been ill used.