|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Decorated by a noted San Francisco artist and his partner, Heartsrest is a secluded retreat featuring an art collection of great interest and beauty amongst a pleasing mixture of contemporary and antique furnishings. More info below... 2 Night Minimum EXCEPT
Summer: 1 week mid-June through August. Turn Day: Sunday. Short Bookings List (starts in March): http://www.rrgetaways.com/shortbookings.htm http://www.rrgetaways.com/shortbookings.htm
-3 Nights Memorial Day to mid-June, Labor Day thru September, Christmas, New Year's
-4 Nights Thanksgiving
Idyllic Sunlit Cottage Nestled against Redwoods. Spacious Interi...Read more
Russian River, California
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$219||$219||$0||$0||2 nights|
|Jan. 1 2010 - Dec. 31 2015||$219||$219||-||-||2 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: June 13, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Loved this place!!
Heartsrest was the perfect place to stay for my birthday weekend. The hot tub was perfect. The rooms were beautifully furnished, well-maintained, and comfy. The kitchen was great & stocked with most of the cooking items one would need. I absolutely loved all the tables inside and outside to enjoy drinks or meals. If it's nice weather, there are four chairs perfect for laying out. The beach and stores are a short drive away. The only downside was that at first there did not seem to be room for more than one car to park, but you can open the side gate & park two cars inside. I will definitely return!
Response from Russian River Getaways - 05/22/2013
Heartsrest is its own little private hideaway. Like you said, it's close to shopping and the river beaches. It's the perfect getaway from the world. We're so happy your birthday weekend was enjoyed in one of our homes. See you again!
Russian River Getaways
cindy and gary
mission viejo ca.
private and cozy
this place was a cool place to stay. it was very private with a great yard, BBQ and hot tub to relax and enjoy. we enjoyed all the windows looking out to the nice yard. we ended up washing them to see the full beauty of the outside. the wood burning stove made the cabin feel very cozy along with the nice decor. the bed was a little hard for me but it had nice bedding. the office people were very friendly and helpful with finding us the right place for our needs and wants. thanks ladies. thank you to the owners for sharing your cabin with us. we enjoyed our stay. cindy and gary
Pete and Sean
Guerneville Gem for Oaktown Boys
This home was perfect for us! Totally private and fenced bordered on one side by literally, a moat!...that'd be the seasonal creek that meanders past the house. And sunshine, not one of the overlay shaded Russian River getaway spots. Creative, comfortable, clean, peaceful, well-equipt, interesting and dog friendly! Super nice kitchen! My partner, pooch and I are seasoned vacation home renters and after experiencing many stinkers, this one is in the winners category...and, I guess, we're picky ;)
In a perfect world, if I had to comment on something, I guess I'd say to make the bathroom a half bath and create a second full bath on the adjacent wall in the jumbo bedroom...Not a complaint, just a suggestion. Loved the place!
Wine Tasting Vacation
At first, we weren't sure about the house and location being a first timer to the Russian River area. All the hustle and bustle of main street Guerneville spooked us! But after a day of relaxation at Heartsrest we were ready. The house worked out great. The fencing around the house provided a wonderful private vacation that allowed us to enjoy our daily "capture" of wines and treats. The house became our home base for daily excursions into the Russian River Valley, Dry Creek, Sonoma and even Napa. The jacuzzi ended each day with a relaxing wind down that was perfect. The kitchen had appliances that we wish we had at our house! Everything worked out wonderfully!
Response from Russian River Getaways - 07/24/2012
It's great that you had such a great time at this wonderful home. Please do come back soon. -Rachel, general manager
Beautiful house, well equipped, comfortable, well stocked kitche
Fantastic service from Russian River Getaways, very helpful at all times and lovely friendly staff, especially Josette! Only 1 small complaint about the house is that the upholstry smelt of dog! otherwise loved it. Thank you Rrgetaways.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 07/15/2012
You are so welcome! We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back soon. We'll check out the smell and take care of anything that needs it. -Rachel, general manager
Family from Bay Area
We loved a little creek behind the house.
Great place! We had some coffee and tea over a little hill and watched a creek. The landscaping was done beautifully, and the house inside was organized and decorated well. All of my family loved everything. The spa was great also. The office people were very friendly and helpful. We will be back!
Response from Russian River Getaways - 06/25/2012
We're so glad you enjoyed this lovely home and its fantastic gardens (and of course the hot tub). Please do come back soon. -Rachel, general manager
Strange fully concreted outdoors!
Hi Heartsrest was a strange stay because:
1.the whole outside was poured concrete, which takes away the beautiful Russian River nature experience.
2.The gate system was crazy, you have to go out one gate with lock and key and the other gate you cannot leave from because it locks from inside, it was very impractical.
3. The bathroom was awful, the sink doesn't drain and the shower head is too long so you have to smash up against the shower door to get the stream of water.
4.The bedspreads are old and funky and the pillows smell like unwashed hair.
5. It is very difficult to park there should maybe be a warning about the small dimension of the entrance to the car park.
6. we could not get the wood burning stove to work, and we are pretty proficient.
7. The instructions to drive there were not accurate, it says when you turn on Cazadero Road that it is the 1st house when indeed it is approx. 1 1/4 mile down the road.
8. The re-done kitchen was fabulous, love the red granite counters.
I know I've been quite critical, maybe I am spoiled by the beauty and attention to detail that Oar House and Wicker House provide. Really the shower is a problem.
We had a very relaxing time. The house was wonderful and we were very pleased with everything.
Our Vacation This Year Was anything But Wonderful!
!st, We arrive at the cabin to find that the bathroom floor is so sticky it is like fly paper. It did not come clean until I washed it 3 times. And then there were some dishes in the dishwasher and there was some standing water also in the dishwasher. We ran it through a cycle. Thank God that it was not backed up. Note:All of the cabins are to be cleaned before a guest enters.
2nd, The kitchen was remodeled recently and not quite finished I may add, the stain was not done on the paneling walls,the stove gill did not fit the stove properly, and the laundry room (which connects with the kitchen) was only half done (half of the walls had been replaced and some not) and the washer and dryer were old. Also there was a huge pile of old concrete, and 5ft x4ft left on the back porch right outside of the kitchen. Not only was this an eye soar but we were not able to use this space to sun bath and we did the year before.
3rd, The hot tub was not working for three out of the seven days that we stayed at the cabin. No one had told us that it was not working, nor did they tell us that two guys were going to show up to fix it. It was really a surprise to see two work men all of a sudden in the back yard in the late afternoon one day!
4th, On our second night at the cabin all of a sudden we notice that there is a wet spot in the corner of the master bedroom carpet. It was too late to call anyone to let them know so we waited until early the next morning to call the office to let them know. They sent someone right away that am. By now the wet spot had grown bigger and it was starting to smell. The gentleman who came was the caretaker of the property. He had told us that the owners knew that there was a problem and that they thought that they had fixed it. They only thing that he said that he could help with it to put some baking soda on the carpet to help with the smell. Over the next 5 days the spot got bigger, more wet and smelled really bad.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 08/09/2011
The issues here had to do with the house not being ready after the kitchen remodel (which is beautiful!). We relied on the construction crew and owner to determine that the house was ready for renters - the crew was in the house after the cleaners - and that was clearly a mistake we won't repeat. We did not know about any of the problems prior to their arrival, as we certainly would have let the guests know, and once we did know and told them someone would be out to make repairs, they should have expected repair people. We did the best we could to get things fixed for them over the July 4 week-end, and refunded them a bundle for their trouble! The washer and dryer are fine; not new, but they work well that the cleaner uses them to wash all the linens on a 4 hour turn around. There is some unfinished wall in the laundry room because the owner is planning more upgrades in the future (which we will inspect before allowing guests to check in, for sure). The cabinets all have stain on them. We couldn't find any problem with the stove grill. -rkl
San Francisco, Calif.
Always nice to leave San Francisco Fog for some Guerneville sunshine. We came up for the Jazz on the River, but spent most of our time at Heartsrest. So serene, and quiet. Not to mention, even our bulldog enjoyed a great time. A great dog beach in Monte Rio, only 10 minutes from Heartsrest. The house was so comfortable and had all the amenities you could possibly need. Can't wait to come back.
Granada Hills, CA
What I liked most about Heartsrest
To begin, one of the reasons my partner and I stay at Heartsrest is because of space. There are three distinct areas outside where one can spend time. And, on a long trip, it's nice to be by oneself in one of these areas from time to time. There is also a washer and dryer, which saves on costs. The living room is full of light with lots of windows, making it feel like you're outside while still inside. And the wood stove adds ambiance while being very effective.
The only one thing I missed was a dishwasher. Oh well, maybe I'll be able to marry mine if Prop 8 is completely defeated.
San Mateo, CA
Russian Rivers Getaways and Heartsrest were just what my husband and I needed!! Great location-darling cabin-nice neighborhood-wonderful rest and peaceful surrondings.
We loved it and would rent it again and again :)
Sheila M. Mabry
Our favorite cabin
The cabin was great. We loved the gardens, the gate and fence that surrounded the house. We felt very safe. The decor is beautiful, like staying in someone's house not a vacation rental. The location was perfect to town and to take long walks. The only negatives were the oven didn't always work and there was mold in the shower. Both issues can fixed. We already rented in for next year :)
Great setting under the redwoods. Beautiful patio areas with extensive rockwork, overlooking the creek. House contained everything we needed. Bedrooms were well appointed and comfortable. Hot tub was great. Can't think of a negative other than we wish it was closer to Reno! Picking up keys and returning was quick and easy.
Visited three wineries and tasted some great zins.
We liked everything about Heartsrest: location, size, layout, price. It is fenced in on three sides(4th is a cliff over a stream) so it was great for our dog. Beds and living room were comfortable, cooking facilities and grill worked fine. It was less that five minutes drive outside Guerneville. We got the winter rate, which was an excellent deal. The minor minus points were: shower head unflexible and aimed too high, there was some noise from the hot tub audible in the master bedroom (could be I didn't completely turn it off, but don't know about this).
There were lots of interesting books on the shelves and on the whole it felt like someone's comfortable summer house - which is just what we wanted.
Our visit was restful, quiet and completely isolated. We enjoying staying places
where we don't have to interact with other people as our business lives are
filled with people and it is wonderful to be alone. The place was charmingly
decorated and filled with light and fortunately sunshine. The location was not
that far from town and the sounds of the creek, delightful. We brought our
own wood and enjoyed an evening warmed by the wood burning stove. The
least positive thing was the parking but not everyone has an oversized truck,
but there was sufficient space on the street by the back gate to park.
welcoming and tranquil
The artistically designed outdoor stone patios surrounding the house made
indoor-outdoor living easy. The interior was comfortable as well, and the
location under the redwoods was magical. The house didn't have the
impersonality that many vacation rentals do; it truly felt like spending a week
in a friends' home.