|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
On a quarter acre of redwoods on a quiet street, Sweet Dreams is a tasteful yet vibrant contemporary home with great views of the redwoods. More info below... 2 Night Minimum EXCEPT
Summer: 1 week mid-June through August. Turn Day: Monday. Short Bookings List (starts in March): http://www.rrgetaways.com/shortbookings.htm http://www.rrgetaways.com/shortbookings.htm
-3 Nights Memorial Day to mid-June, Labor Day thru September, Christmas, New Year's
-4 Nights Thanksgiving
Pool Table; Central Heat, Hardwood Floors, Wood Stove; Updated Kitchen w/Granite Countertops. Pac n' Play, Baby Gate, Seasonal Hammock, Loung...Read more
Russian River, California
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$259||$259||$0||$0||2 nights|
|Jan. 1 2010 - Dec. 31 2015||$259||$259||-||-||2 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 21, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
This house delivered on everything from the sweet location to th
This was a very comfortable stay and for a few moments I almost didn't want to leave. We've stayed at other rentals in the area and had a great time as well; however, what sets Sweet Dreams apart is that the house has everything you could want or need. It actually feels like a home and "it doesn't feel like a vacation rental..." was a common phrase coming out of everybody's mouth. The kitchen is well stocked with anything someone who likes to cook needs. The home is tastefully decorated, updated and in working condition.
If we had to make any critical comments it would be that the neighbors are awfully close and that the hot tub smells like chemicals. Now, the neighbors aren't so much of an issue because the trees block them out, so it's not an issue unless you're loud. As for the hot tub, considering that others do use the hot tub - we're not totally opposed to making sure there's some cleaning agent to sanitize things.
In short, this house is super comfortable and big enough to give people their own space. Kids can hang out in the play room downstairs or the play ground out front, dogs could also wander around the enclosed front area or gated deck. Adults can bounce back and forth between the hot tub on the deck or cozy great room next to the wood stove listening to music or watching movies. Another bonus is that the house is equipped with Wi-Fi so everyone can still stay connected in this otherwise remote location. Sweet Dreams was an awesome house and we definitely look forward to the next visit.
Amazing weekend at Sweet Dreams!
We were at Sweet Dreams for President's Day Weekend; Two families, all together 4 adults, 3 little kids, and two large dogs.
The place was perfect! Clean, beautifully decorated and furnished.
The kitchen had more utensils and in better shape than i have at home (and we cook a lot!).
The game room is a very nice extra, though with our young children we did't use it that much.
The "backyard" is lots of fun, but could be kept a bit cleaner in terms of the little playground.
The deck + BBQ + hot tub were perfect!
The one small thing I need to note is that the living room itself is a bit small. It connects with the dining area to a pretty large area, but with small kids + dogs ( :) ) - you might need a bit more space.
All in all a perfect getaway - warmly recommend!
South San Francisco, CA
Relaxing under the trees
Wonderfully well equiped home. Nice home to relaxin. Our family had a wonderful time here even during a power outage.
New York, NY
Great house for a long weekend !
We were in town from NYC for a wedding and used Sweet Dreams as our base camp for multiple outings including wine tasting, hiking, and kayaking the Russian River. The house has an excellent location. Inside the house, everything was perfect - excellent kitchen, great wood burning stove, and very comfortable beds. The deck outside was awesome as well. Our only complaint was that the hot tub water could have been a bit cleaner and warmer. Overall though, and excellent choice for the area and we would rent Sweet Dreams again for sure.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 10/18/2012
We'll check out what might have happened with the hot tub. The hot tub controls should allow you to adjust the heat. The hot tub gets does get cool the longer the top is off, so perhaps that's what happened. In any case, we'll check to make sure it's working well. -Rachel, general manager
It was OK to stay
The house itself was in good shape. Our complains are: beds are too soft. Size of quen size feels small, king bed makes wood noise every time you make a turn, parking spot along the road is good for average size car only, towels are not good, second bathroom door has no lock and in average condition not all dust was cleaned, kitchen is good, not too much sun during the day due to the deep forest location, play room is real plus for adults and kids.
This house was perfect for our four day getaway. The house is clean and easily laid out. There was not anything I would do to improve it. The location is beautiful. In the forest, quiet and close to everything!
We went to the ocean, did some beach combing, layed in the sun, kayaked on the river and the ocean, shopped, ate great meals, both at home and at the great restaurants available with gorgeous views.
Even the teenager in our group had a great time.
Being outside on the deck was the best, just enjoying the view and having meals and being in the hot tub.
Great rental house
Recently stayed at Sweet Dreams during a wine country vacation with two other couples. Loved the home and the location (even though we originally thought it might be out of the way).
Stayed at Sweet Dreams for 3 nights. Had a great time. The pool / entertainment room downstairs was a bonus. The beds were all very comfortable. The backyard was great for the dogs once you got them in side it since it is separate from the house. There were four adults and one child for our visit and the house was a little on the small size but still comfy. The two drawbacks were the hot tub, the water was gross and not very warm. Also there is no classic Cazadero beach access to the house. You must use the public beach in Monte Rio. Again cozy and nice.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 04/29/2012
We're so glad you enjoyed this wonderful home. The hot tub is serviced weekly, so it should have been fine, but in the future, if there are issues, please let us know so that we can fix them. In any case, we'll look into this. This house is not on the creek, but there is creek access walking distance from the house. -General Manager
M & T Cairns
30th Wedding anniversary - Honeymoon
We celebrated our 30th anniversary in Russian River. The booking and check in process was very simple through Russian River Getaways. Sweet Dreams had everything we could have wanted. We appreciated the attention to detail which made our stay especially relaxing and romantic. We enjoyed the well equipped kitchen where we had a country breakfast and dinner every night of our stay. We only ended up using the bottom portion of the house since our friends were not able to make it. We spent our after noons touring around the area to Jenner, Fort Ross, all the small towns in the area and visiting wine country for the barrel tasting. Our evenings at the house we spent relaxing in the hot tub and playing pool after dinner.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 03/31/2012
We're so glad this home made your special occasion even more special and that you enjoyed the location. Thanks for the compliment on our service, and we welcome your return. -General Manager
The house is well equipped with a kitchen that has everything you need. Master bedroom was comfortable. Game room was nice and the house is situated in a nice area surrounded by redwoods. It rained the entire weekend, so we didn't spend to much time outside. Our dog did like the fenced in backyard, which is not connected to the house, so you have to walk the dog there. Not far at all, but just not an open the backdoor deal.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 02/08/2012
Thanks for this nice and detailed review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. -GM
Fun game room
Cozy feel to it all
Perfect for family members of all ages.
The house was great, the play structure for the kids was nice too. Having the game room was great except for the pool sticks (not sure of the correct term, cue?), the tips were very worn and uneven and only two of the sticks were usable, the other two had no tips. Not a big deal but would have been nice to have better equipment. Over all the house was clean except for some of the pots and pans. We had to wash them before use, looked like they had been put away dirty. The deck was wonderful, I loved that there were gates at every entry point. Made it easy to let my toddler hang out with us without having to worry about him wandering off. The hot tub was nice too!! Oh and all of the beds were comfortable! Would be nice to have larger towels for the hot tub, but again - not a big deal - just a "would have been nice" kind of thing. Over all I would stay here again and would reccomend other families to stay here as well. Keyless entry is awesome!!!
Response from Russian River Getaways - 09/21/2011
Glad these folks had a good time. We're sorry about the pans. We do rely on guests to do a good job washing the dishes, and they don't always. Housekeeping spot checks the dishes, but they don't have time to check each and every dish between bookings, so sometimes, if there's no obvious dirt, they miss something. Guests can always call us, and we'll send someone to do the dishes. Guests are supposed to bring their own hot tub towels; the ones in the house are for bath/shower use only. The owner is replacing the pool sticks. -rkl
Great Weekend in the Redwoods
My family stayed here for 4 nights in august, it was a great trip! The house is very nice, the deck is beautiful and the amenities in the house are great. Everything was spotless when we got there, and the check in process couldn't have been easier. The only difficulty we had was when we arrived, we got there late in the evening and it was very dark, there were no lights on so it was hard to find our way to the front door, which is around the back down a ramp. I would bring a flashlight with you if you're arriving after dark. Otherwise, it was a good location, a beautiful house and a wonderful trip!
Response from Russian River Getaways - 10/30/2011
There are motion lights that should have come on and rope lighting on the path to the house. The owners will check this out and make sure any lights not working are fixed. -rkl
Quiet retreat in the redwoods.
Very good for a week. Remote but comfortable and very nice for some focused time with the family. If you need days packed with activities other than hiking and nature this may not be the right choice for you.
SweetDreamer From OR
Pleasant and Relaxing (some maintenance notes too)
Enjoyable location and a peaceful home to visit. Great location for walking and bike rides along a country road.
Maintenace observations: Showerhead holder in downstairs bath is broken... ouch! when the shower head came tumbling down on my head. Comforter in the first floor bedroom needs cleaning - it has either a chocolate or blood spot. One pillow in the same bedroom is musty smelling.
Thank you for doing maintenance on the hot tub asap on Tuesday. The Tub was great!
Love the view in the back, the wonderful deck, and thank you for having a second propane tank on hand.
much needed getaway
Much needed get away
Everything was pretty standard. There was nothing "extra" that would make me "highly" recommend this place.
Likes: location, quietness, wrap around patio, dog friendly
Dislikes: odor from kitchen cabinets, untidiness in kitchen drawer/cabinets, table on lower patio was surrounded by weeds. $100+ for cleaning service is too much for everything it is expected to do before check out.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 09/08/2010
The big extra at this house is a big game room with pool table--pretty special--and the house is very well furnished. We'll take care of the kitchen cabinets and the weeds, but we're curious as to why this guest thought there was so much to do at check-out. All we ask is that you do your dishes and take the trash out which shouldn't be too onerous!
Great place, but horrible customer service. Won't be back.
We thought the cabin was fantastic. Very nice set up. A little far from the river (not walkable), so would probably choose a closer location next time.
The real issue was how horrible rude folks affiliated with the rental were. My husband was walking out of the cabin (with an infant, a 3 year old and a 6 year old) at 11:06am after a 3 day rental. (This is literally 6 minutes after checkout time.) I was putting the last 4 or 5 dishes away. The cleaning woman walked in and yelled at us (scaring my children). "You have to get out now!" I attempted to explain that it was only 5 minutes after check out and I was putting away the last few dishes. She replied "That should have already been done. Get out now or you will be charged. Now!!!"
Never in my life have I stayed in a place where there was not some grace period (usually an hour, minimum 15 minutes), but the real topper is how we were spoken to. She could have accomplished the same thing, but simply stating. "I am really sorry, but you're going to have to leave now. I'll put away the last few dishes. I just need to get things ready for the next guests."
The experience with the housekeeper soured our vie on what would have otherwise been a very pleasant get away.
Kathy of Oakland
A very relaxing experience
Everyone, including the dog, enjoyed themselves. The hot tub was a big plus, along with the high speed internet. The house had everything we could want, the only thing missing were bbq tools and a grill brush, but we made do. It is very comfortable and teenage boy in the crowd escaped to the downstairs for his own space.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 08/07/2010
There were and are barbecue tools and grill brush at this house; they must not have been in an obvious place. We'll make sure they are easily found in the future.
Stephen & Susan
Elk Grove California
We took our two dogs and parents for our 4th trip to the Russian River area. The parents are both 83 so we were a little worried about acess but the woodbridge to the deck was safe and easy. We loved the mini forrest backyard and the gameroom. The beds were super comfy and the kitchen was great. We did not want to leave!
St. Paul, MN
Our experience was very pleasant. Everything from the booking of the house to the day we left was a good experience. We loved the key-less entry as this made "check-in and out" hassle free. We liked the quiet neighborhood and rustic location. The house was comfortable and had all the conveniences of home. Great experience and would use Russian River Getaways again.
We went to Sweet Dreams looking for a cozy comfortable place to spend Christmas. Having some experience renting homes for vacations, we were unsure about how well supplied the house would be, or what shape it would be in. We were pleasantly surprised on all counts. We had everything we needed in the kitchen, the house was immaculate, and we enjoyed a much needed break. Sweet Dreams is in a wonderful setting, and the back yard was perfect for our Lab to sniff. We will return.
San Francisco At Heart
Ode to Relaxation
I have been spending many a vacation up at the Russian River and have felt a
certain amount of charm that comes along with the vacation rental houses with
mis-matched dishes, utensils and garage sale furniture and artwork. I almost
needed a double take when I walked into Sweet Dreams with its first class
design, artwork, towels and bedding. I feel like I truly have now "arrived". The
back deck is sublime and we loved all of the games and movies available to its
guests. This will be my new home away from home.
Los Angeles, CA
Too Many Rules
The house was nice and well maintained. Booking online was easy and the keyless entry made arrival at any hour a breeze.
However, I was quite taken aback by the rule book. I was expecting a welcome book with information we would need to make our stay more pleasant. Instead, it was an almost 20 page set of rules complete with threats of $1000 fines and threats of being banned for not following the rules to a tee.
We are well traveled and have leased many multimillion dollar properties around California without incident and have never encountered such an unhospitable welcome or been burdened with cleaning to such an anal degree while being charged a fee of $120 for cleaning. This home was lovely, but the service was awful and I would not rent from this company again.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 09/24/2009
We are flabberghasted at this review. The $1,000 fine is only if guests violate our occupancy limits and we have to be very strict about this. Our rules are pretty standard for management companies and we not require any cleaning before departure, except to make sure the dishes are cleaned and put away and the trash out in the trash cans. All of the rules are in the contract the guest signs, so there shouldn't be any surprise when you get to the house. The binder is full of information about the area and simply contains a copy of our policies which are not only in the agreement but also on our website.
Our rules are indeed such commonsense and there is no reason why a well-mannered guest should have any objection to them.
relax and enjoy the wine
We loved this cute little house. We traveled all day to the wineries and then went back the house and enjoyed our wine. The red woods were lovely, and we were not far from sanfranciso either. Great choice for some R&R and Lots of Wine.
The house, the peace and quiet, the atmosphere, were all extroidinary. Our family had the best vacation in years. The house was perfect as it had all the comforts of home, and then some. what made it especially nice was the fact that we were able to bring out dog with us.
The accomodations were excellent. The beds were as soft and comfortable as our own, and there wasn't a single item we needed that wasn't there.
The highlight was of course the pool table and hot tub. Every night we found ourselves going down for a little pool "tournament" and finishing the night with a nice relaxing hot tub looking up at the stars.
We can't thank you enough and are hopefull to come back next year for a longer stay.
Peace and quiet
We love our stay there, the trees, the quiet, the creek. The neighborhood was very nice with quiet neighbors and such a beautiful setting. On the negative side, just a few more serving dishes and a bath mat for inside the tub would have been useful. We also had a little trouble with the light switches, finding out which one went to which lights, etc. The hot tub, got very foamy even though we showered before. Maybe that is normal with the tub that is there. All in all, it was a very enjoyable stay
South San Francisco, CA
Sweet Dreams was a beautiful cabin. We celebrated our son's 8th grade graduation. It was relaxing and fun. Just what we needed. We would stay here again. We love these properties because we can bring our little dog.
Joane & Mark
Coon Valley, WI
Great times at Sweet Dreams
We had a wonderful time with family staying at Sweet Dreams. We flew into to Reno to spend a night with our son and his wife who we have not seen since they were married in August. Our duaghter was on spring break from college so she brought her room mate from Hong Kong along. They hung out at the house while the rest of us took in the annual Russian River Barrel Tasting event one day.
We chose this house inititally becasue it was located very cloe to the wineries, slept 6 and had a hot tub. We were delighted to learn how close it was to the ocean (10 minutes), Red Wood parks, plus we were only an hour north of San Fransisco, so it was a perfect home base for multiple site seeing activites during the week.
Since our family loves to cook, we were very pleased to find the kitchen well equipped with everything we needed. The grill was very nice. Beds were devine, better than ours at home. Our wine purchases tasted great in the hot tub. The girls hooked a wii to the TV and had lots of fun and plenty of room in the living room with that.
Wish the weather had been a bit more dry and sunny, but having such a comfortable house to come back to each night helped!!
Lovely Home - Great Space
We rented this cute house for my 40th birthday and had a blast! The house has a great layout, and is generally pretty well-stocked. The area is gorgeous, and despite the rain, we enjoyed a lovely walk down to the creek and further down Austin Creek Road. We also loved how close it is the the ocean - a bonus!
A couple of issues:
1) When we arrived, we had the wrong code to get into the home. This is not a problem with the house, per se. But, if someone had not left one of the side doors unlocked, we would have been out of luck. None of our cell phones worked, so we would have had to drive out of there to call or to head back to the rental office.
2) The hottub was low when we got to the house; and, by the morning of our second full day, it suddenly drained itself. That was a major bummer, because the hottub was a key factor in deciding on a house to rent. We were offered a $25 refund to make up for this; but, considering how much we paid in all for fees and such, I think the bumping it up to at least cover our cleaning fee would've been nice.
Again, overall we really like the house, and would come stay again. It was very cute and very clean. The folks at the RR Getaways were also extremely nice and professional each time we interacted with them.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 04/06/2011
We're very sorry about the hot tub. It had a leak, but was replaced with a brand new one soon after this incident. Also, it's unusual for someone to get the wrong code since these are computer generated for the house and guest specifically; more likely that it was entered incorrectly. Had they driven the few minutes to get to a phone, they would have gotten our emergency tech who would have helped them gain entry. -rkl