|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Zen House is located up a hidden valley road, a haven of light, lush garden, and Asian art under the redwoods. More info below... 2 Night Minimum EXCEPT
Summer: 1 week mid-June through August. Turn Day: Friday. Short Bookings List (starts in March): http://www.rrgetaways.com/shortbookings.htm http://www.rrgetaways.com/shortbookings.htm
-3 Nights Memorial Day to mid-June, Labor Day thru September, Christmas, New Year's
-4 Nights Thanksgiving
Large Ironwood Deck; Hot Tub. View of Garden and Redwoods from Every Window. Open Beam Ceilings with Skylights; Gas Fireplace. Separate Meditation/Reading Room with TV. WI...Read more
Russian River, California
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$229||$229||$0||$0||2 nights|
|Jan. 1 2010 - Dec. 31 2015||$229||$229||-||-||2 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 18, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Zen House is a gem
Our trip to Sonoma County was exceptional and the Zen House was a big contributor to that experience. The house is very comfortable, clean and had all the things we needed to cook up some wonderful meals, including fresh herbs in the garden! Guerneville is centrally located if your travel plans include hiking, viewing the ocean and sampling the many wineries in Sonoma and Napa. The Zen House was our oasis after long days spent touring. We enjoyed the calm of the garden, the ease of grilling on the deck and, of course, the views of the beautiful natural surroundings while relaxing in the hot tub.
There are only 2 reasons I didn't give it a 5 star review. One - I almost never give anything a 5 star review...I just don't, and Two - the road to get to the house is very narrow and windy and the town was working on the water lines while we stayed so it was a bit of an inconvenience to maneuver around the construction workers and barricades on a daily basis.
Overall, you will not be disappointed if you stay at Zen House. It's a gem in the woods!
Santa Barbara, CA
couldn't be better
Wonderful, well equipped cook's kitchen, even great knives! Loaded iPod with great music. Peace, quiet, and great environment. We will return.
Nice home, poor management company, unconcerned owner.
The home was advertised as having two cable TVs. Went up with some friends specifically to watch the baseball playoffs, have a bbq, etc. Upon arrival, found the TVs had not been upgraded to digital cable and therefore there was no TV or baseball for us all weekend. Called and emailed Russian River Getaways Management Company numerous times and we were eventually told by staff that the problem could not be resolved and that they would speak with the owner about a fair compensation due to inaccuracy in advertisement of the home. This was the last we ever heard from the management company or the owner. We have tried numerous times to contact them since, including the company's manager Naomi, and they have avoided responding to us at all costs. When we were in the process of booking the home (before they had our payment) we received full service and would get immediate responses at any time. The minute that they had our money, Russian River Getaways disappeared into thin air.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 10/18/2012
Your disappointment is understandable, but the tone of this review is not. Sometimes things do go wrong, but we did the best we could with the cable, and no one has avoided you. We have responded in as timely a manner as possible, and the refund was processed earlier this week. We were not able to fix the conversion problem, as it was a week-end, and we are sorry for that. There was no "inaccuracy in advertisement" as we did not know about the lack of cable. My hope is that you were able to enjoy this wonderful house and surrounding area despite the lack of cable. -Rachel, general manager
This was the perfect place to relax after a wedding. And also a great jumping off spot to touring the wine area and the coast. Home was very clean and beautifully decorated.
Nice house; Cold Hot Tub; Not Marketed Properly
We liked the Zen House and found it quite comfortable with great beds and amenities. However, there are two things that need to be addressed. The hot tub was anything but hot. We also noticed that others commented on the same problem in the guest book, so this clearly isn't a new problem. Also, the house is marketed as private, which it isn't. The hot tub is fully visible from the street and the windows are viewable from both streets.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 05/12/2012
The house is lovely, thank you, but we take exception to the charge of not being marketed properly. Privacy is totally a matter of opinion. Most people find this house, located far back from a very quiet street, local access only, surrounded by woods, to be quite private. The hot tub is not surrounded by opaque walls, but it is not right on the road, on clear view to even the few local residents. We've checked out the hot tub and cannot find anything wrong with it. The spa tech says that she thinks guests must be turning the heat down by pushing the wrong buttons, so we will figure out how to let people know to stop doing this - either with a sign or instructions in the house binder. --General Manager
From S.F.,Calif to Johnson's Beach Guerneville,Ca. Jazz/Blues Fe
Russian river. Jazz/blues festivaly
Other than the stains on the rugs and the broken garbage can and broken hot tub. The place was really nice, the only bummer is that it says it's pet friendly and fenced in. It was not fenced in at all ,our dog could easily get lost. Great well stocked kitchen , everything you could possibly need. Great fire place with the flip of a switch. House is very much off the beaten path and kind of in the middle of nowhere .
Response from Russian River Getaways - 07/16/2012
We're glad there were so many things you liked about this house. We'll check into the rugs, garbage can. We detected no problems with the hot tub after your departure, so this may have been user error. Next time, call and we'll fix whatever is wrong. Pet friendly does not equal fenced. We don't claim that the yard is fenced anywhere in our literature. Perhaps you're thinking of another home "Absolute Zen," which is fenced. -rkl
The stain have been removed and the garbage can replaced. -Rachel, general manager
The place is 100% as advertised -- amazing woodland setting, plenty of privacy, great hot tub, and perfectly stocked kitchen. This place is perfect for 2 couples seeking to get away from the city for a weekend, which is what we were looking for. Another plus is that the house is a nice distance from the closest town (guerneville), but close enough that you can drive down to the Safeway to pick up more food/wine.
Great vacation, would come back again in a heartbeat.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 11/28/2011
This is just what we like to hear. So glad you had such a great time at this home and enjoyed our area. -rkl
We enjoyed the peaceful ambience of the Zen House. It was so quiet. We were surprised at the well equipped kitchen. We decided to stay in one night to cook and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Everything was thought out and attended to in a very mindful way at the house. It is not too far from town or winerys. My only point to improve upon is one of the bath towels was stained and appeared dirty. Easy to fix.
Overall we would return and have already recommended it to others.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 01/26/2012
So glad you liked Zen House. We'll check out the bath towels and take care of any problems. We replaced the offending towel. -rkl
Peaceful, Beautiful & Close to Fun!
We spent a 3-day girls getaway at Zen House and absolutely loved it! The property is beautifully landscaped and tucked away in a quiet corner of Guerneville. It's quaint, clean, well-appointed and very functional. The two matching bedrooms were perfect for two friends (no awkward arrangements with bedrooms of different sizes). The location is close to town, the river and all the fun the Russian River area has to offer.
Restful and Outstanding
Can not wait to stay there again Was one of the best and relaxing vacations we have been one thank you
peaceful respite among the redwoods
Zen House is a lovely property, inside and out. Clean, comfortable, tastefully decorated and well appointed. Exactly what I was looking for.
perfect to relaxe
i enjoy in company of my girlfriend i never be in caben but i spend one weekend and i enjoy
San Francisco, CA
Zen House is a beautiful property. It was perfect for my ladyfriend and I to cook our own food and have a nice experience in the country.
San Jose, CA
Lovely home, well appointed
Had a great visit at the Zen house with my Dad. Bedrooms are small, but living/dining/kitchen area a gracious size. We appreciated that all the pots, pans, furniture, and bedding were top quality - it made it really pleasant. The location is at the far end of a residential area above Guerneville - no hiking in area, but the 1 acre property feels nicely spacious. Wad a nice visit - there are some great restaurants in the area, and healdsburg was a close, fun outing over the backroads.
Just us girls!
Serenity and Comfort
When we arrived the home was just as it had appeared in the pics online. The house itself was very clean and had all the amenities to make us comfortable. The many windows and skylights made it bright and cheerful. The kitchen was stocked with all the necessary utensils, there were movies to watch on the dvd player, as well as an iPod doc on which we could enjoy our music. The bedrooms were very small but the beds very comfortable. We enjoyed the hot tub and sitting out on the patio having bbq on the gas grill. Within a few miles driving distance there were several excellent wineries and we spent an afternoon visiting them. There was a grocery store nearby so we could purchase anything we needed. The house is very remote and finding the street off the highway which we had to take was somewhat difficult, we had to go up a single lane rode to find the house and while this wasn't easy it did provide us with a peaceful ambience. Unfortunately, the weekend we went there was some construction going on so there was more noise than we would have liked. All in all, though, it was a very nice experience in a lovely, well-kept home. I would like to return sometime in the summer when the weather is better.
Response from Russian River Getaways - 05/22/2011
It's so nice to hear that these guests enjoyed this lovely home. We do let people know if we know there's going to be construction. In this case, we were not aware.
We wished we could have stayed longer! We had so much to see and do while we were in the area and would have loved to have at least one day to just chill at the Zen House. It was so quiet and peaceful!! We try to stay in vacation rental properties when we travel and have been very lucky to find some amazing spots! Zen house has to be at the top of the list! We had everything we needed there except our dog, which hopefully next time we can bring him with us. You won't go wrong renting this house!!
Beautiful, restful retreat high in the hills. House was immaculate and comfortable. Master bedroom was particularly nice. A bit far from Russian River wineries but worth the extra time.
mother of the groom
We had a wonderful and lovely stay at the Zen house. I so appreciated the comfort and quiet, especially the peaceful garden, particularly after all of the to-do of my son's wedding.
It would be a courtesy to guests to detail the procedure for setting the TV for dvd's or regular tv. I took a lot of trial and error to figure that out. Also, not so clear about the light switch for the glass enclosed buddah head in the dining area. The hot tub could be a tad hotter.
Great house, Awesome yard!
The house is in great condition with lots of room to move around and enjoy!
The yard is a perfect oasis of redwoods and several seating areas. It stays a
bit shady and cooler than town and in the summer that probably is great.
Definitely recommend and hope to rent it again next year!
west county born
so amazing we constantly walked around in awe! huge spaces, plenty of room to enjoy each others company, or escape to a hidden away spot, ie the secluded garden or double shower head, heat lamped bathroom (wow). wouldn't hesitate to rent again, nothing could be better.
Great time at the Zen
5 of us stayed at the Zen house of labor day. It is beautiful house surrounded
by redwoods. Everything was ready when we arrived, from picking up the keys
to the hotub. Zen has a beautiful new kitchen with all the necessary amenities.
Getting to the house the first night was a challenge as the road is narrow and
not well lit, but we managed. If you are visiting wineries (which we did) allow a
little extra time to get there, because the ride is very beautiful. RRG has a great
website that list many fine restaurants as well as small interesting wineries. We
visited Tarra Bella (appointment only) which was our most memorable visit.
Thinking about booking again next year!
I highly recommend Zen House. We?ve rented from Russian River Getaways for years. We rented with another couple for a week and wanted an upgrade from our usual rentals. Beautiful landscaped garden, master suite, well equipped kitchen, a 2nd bathroom, dog friendly. Quiet location, privacy. Everything we needed was there. LOVED the showers, especially the view from the Master bathroom. We thought the living room chairs were funky and mosquitos were a bit of a bother at dinnertime on the deck, but we managed with a bit of repellant. A separate recycle bin in the house would help to keep it green. The step to the 2nd and 3rd bedrooms was a bit tricky. We had a relaxing week and we can?t wait to book again.
Zen House is adjacent to Angell House and very quiet on the cul-de-sac.
Zen-sational! (I bet that's original.)
Centrally located on Highway 116, Zen House is a perfect retreat in the middle
of everything. We drove to wine tastings in Napa, watched the seals frolic at
Sonoma State Beach, hiked a majestic redwood forest at Armstrong Grove, and
at the end of each adventure we were able to come home, create a glorious
meal shared by all our friends, and relax on the many decks or in the hot tub.
Our only complaint? No chauferred service to the beach for an inebriated
This home and its surroundings are fantastic.
Scenic and Serene
We have been staying in Russian River rentals for years, and this was by far the best home. It felt warm and cozy with an artsy edge. We enjoyed all the special touches, from the fine linens, beautiful plates, stocked tea lights and towel warmer. The outside grounds were just as interesting. We took turns sitting at all the lil "zen nooks", as we called them.
Thank you for opening up your beautiful home to us, we can't wait to go back!
Quiet and Peaceful
Very quiet and restful. Staff was there immediately if something didn't work.