Beit Yosef Bed and Breakfast ,Safed,Zefat,tsfat,
|Minimum Stay||1 night|
|Living space||60 square meters|
Suitable for childrenYes
Suitable for the elderlyYes
|Theme||Historic, Romantic, City, Mountain|
Description from the owner
Beit Yosef Bed & Breakfasts If you are looking for a very high standard bed and breakfast the Beit Yosef selection of zimmers is for you. Scattered throughout the Artists Quarter and the Old City are 8 suites and one 3 bedroom house which sleeps up to nine, decorated and maintained to an extremely high standard. The Suites All the rooms are individually furnished in an antique style, carefully chosen to complement the architecture of the buildings. With dome ceilings supported by exposed stone arches in many of the suites, these zimmers really enable you to feel the special nature of Safed. The Bedrooms Everything is of the highest quality, a...Read more
Beit Yosef Bed and Breakfast ,Safed,Zefat,tsfat,
Safed, Galilee, Israel
Additional Location Information
Beit Yosef in Safed Israel is in the Upper Galil located in the mountain
in Nothern Israel
Location Type City, Mountain
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$180||$215||$0||$0||1 night|
|May. 30 2012 - Dec. 31 2012||$180||$215||-||-||1 night|
|All Other Dates||$180||$180||-||-||1 night|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the owner|
- Additional guests - $35 / person - Per-Person Adjustment - Fee applies to parties of more than 4 guest(s)
Additional notes from owner
The rate show is for two peopel in the studio for the other Suiets please call or contact us
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 01, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Overpriced and disappointing
We stayed in the Rimon Suite. If you're content with just good looks then this may be place for you - the property has been sympathetically renovated and the owners have tried hard with the the interior furnishings - plus the location is great for exploring Safed's Old Town on foot.
However, if you want a bit of functionality then look elsewhere: there is neither wardrobe nor drawers in which to put clothes away (awkward if traveling with a rucksack), it is not possible to make the bedroom dark (there being no curtain over the window), despite being billed as a "Bed & Breakfast" there is no breakfast offered and the cooking facilities are poor. In order to use the microwave we had to move it from it's position on top of the fridge (the cable is too short to reach the socket there), the hotplate seems not to be designed for cooking - rather just for keeping things warm and, until we complained, we were only provided with disposable plastic plates & cutlery and paper cups (it being Passover).
The suite was not particularly clean (somebody's dirty Kippa was lying next to the bed and the rugs seemed grimy), the toilet/drainage smelt badly, my bed sheet had numerous holes in it, the "selection of teas" turned out to be an economy box of teabags with the wrapper half removed and the soap/shampoo in the bathroom consisted of two, half-empty jumbo-sized bottles.
Had we paid half the price we would have been disappointed at all the negative points mentioned above - but, having forked out $215 a night, we left with the distinct feeling that we had been ripped-off. Maybe one pays for the location here - but there are many other B&B;'s in Israel where you pay less and the experience is far superior.
Response from Josef & Micki Gersht - 04/10/2013
We were very upset to read this guest's negative feelings about their stay in one of our guesthouses. We would like to try to respond to some of the negativity. It is true to say that Passover presents a challenge to us. We do have to remove all the regular crockery and cups, etc. and even though we do replace it with plastic plates and cups we would agree that this might not be very esthetic. However, many of our clients are religious and expect this from us. Nevertheless these guests did call me saying it was difficult for them and as it was the last days of Passover and they were the last guests to be there during the holiday it was possible for them to use the dishes and cups that had been put away. We would also mention that during the week of Passover breakfast is not an option, as it is at other times, because of the restrictive menu and issues of kashrut.
They are correct that there is a hotplate for keeping food warm on Shabbat but there is also an electric ring burner for light cooking which they failed to see but was located behind the hotplate. Concerning the microwave, there are two electric outlets close to each other, one for the fridge and the other for the microwave. The plugs just needed to be reversed. It is not necessary to move the microwave from its position on top of the fridge.
Although the unit does not have a standard wardrobe there are wrought iron clothes stands with hangers in character with the rest of the furniture and small cupboards next to the beds.
With regard to the street light shining into the unit, we did check this and we will be happy to provide heavier drapes for the windows to prevent the light from disturbing guests.
It is upsetting to hear people complaining about the units, We do try very hard to make sure that guests are happy and have everything they need. I had spoken several times to these guests during their stay but they failed to say anything to me at the time except to ask if they could use the regular crockery which I said was possible.
Unfortunately, perspective is a very subjective thing. Sadly, it may never be possible to please everyone. We do hope that people reading this review will also take the time to read many of the other very lovely and positive reviews of guests' experiences at our units.
Old world charm with today's comfortabilities
As soon as I walked in the Rimon suite, I fell in love with it immediately, if you know what old Tzfas means, than you will understand what I mean. If you are looking for straight walls and a modern look, check in a newly build hotel (I am referring to the negative comments below).
The rounded stone walls are lovely, the beds were spotless clean and the kitchen and toilet were picture perfect. I will post pictures soon. We had a great time there, would surly hope to come again.
Us 4 from Maryland USA
Brookeville, Maryland USA
A great place Safed
We stayed in the Metzudah Suite. The location was perfect and the rooms were large, nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. We would stay there again with no hesitation.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Very dirty, cluttered and uncomfortable.
We stayed at 27 Kochrak street, called Bougainville. Be very careful with the booking : make sure where you stay. Some pictures in the website look good but these are from the other establishments. This little house in the cave lacks proper care. Many things like the rugs are extremely dirty. The curtains are rags. The bathroom is very cramped. Plastic under the sheets helps to keep the mattress clean but does not make for comfortable sleeping. Awful pillows. 200 $ is an outrageous price for this lodging. How can you call it a Bed and Breakfast when there is no breakfast ?
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Apartment was dark and musty with single bathroom within one of
The apt. was advertised as 2 bedrooms and one bathroom. The single bathroom was inside one of the bedrooms so that during the night, the occupant of the second bedroom would have to pass through the first bedroom to get to the bathroom. The apt. was dark and musty smelling, and felt like a subterranean space. We decided that we couldn't stay there, and the owner charged us for one night only and offereed us a place elsewhere in the city of Safed.
Response from Josef & Micki Gersht - 07/27/2012
The Rimon suite is a historic building, 400 years old, complete with all its original stones and fabulous vaulted ceilings. However, it is equipped with every modern convenience so that guests are able to experience the ambience of the old, together with every comfort of the new. In the Rimon suite the bathroom is located in one of the bedrooms and this is stated very clearly on our website. When the two gentleman mentioned they were not happy with the arrangement we did offer them an alternative suite but they declined.
It is important to us that our guests enjoy their experience at Beit Yosef. We do realize, however, that the antique style which is representative of Beit Yosef is not for everybody
We stayed at the Beit Yosef guesthouse for the weekend. The place is located at the heart of the artist quarter of Safed. The surroundings were beautiful and easily accessible to everything. The guesthouse itself was gorgeous, down the the littlest nick-nacks that really added to the ambiance. The place was also fully equipped with everything we could need. The agent in charge was also a pleasure to deal with.
A Marvelous Gem in Mystical Tsefat
We are two couples who have been touring Israel and arranged to stay at Beit Josef for shabbat. The rooms are centrally located a short walk to the old city with its historical synagogues and extensive art galleries. We had 2 separate rooms, both with attached bath and sharing a lovely and spacious patio. The rooms were spotless and beautifully decorated, the beds were firm and comfortable and one room had a refrigerator, microwave and all the necessities to eat breakfast and lunch in the rooms.
The hosts were attentive to our every need and helped to make our visit to this mystical city an unforgettable experience. Thank you to the Gersht's
A little piece of Heaven on Earth"
My room was furnished beautifully with a very comfy bed and ample fresh fluffy towels.
It smelt delicious and the heater worked to warm it up quickly.
The manager, Sharon was very helpful- providing me with all the info I needed while I was in town for the week.
Any problems I had were quickly attended to.
It has a very cosy feel, with attention to detail like candles.
The only hard part was actually walking to the guest house with all my luggage in the rain from the bus stop.
I was extremely reluctant to leave!