|Minimum Stay||3 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Divine Porpoise is a grand, Beach-Front home, privately gated with elegant landscaping and a tremendous bricked driveway. Multiple families can enjoy the huge pool, covered decks and boardwalk to its' beach gazebo. Snuggle in front of the wood-burning fireplace or watch for playful porpoises from the patios. The home features deck access from beachfront bedrooms, multiple TVs, DVDs, VCRs, and an outdoor shower and a park-style charcoal grill for the day's catch: All the makings for a memorable beach vacation.Sleeps 12: 4 Queens, 2 Twins, 1 Sleeper sofa.Standard rental fees and taxes will apply (Processing Fee - $75 - $135; Damage Protecti...Read more
Saint George Island, Florida
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$503 - $1,087||$503 - $1,087||$2,775 - $6,000||$0||3 nights|
|Apr. 15 2013 - May. 24 2013||$633||$633||$3,500||-||3 nights|
|May. 25 2013 - Aug. 4 2013||$1,087||$1,087||$6,000||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 5 2013 - Nov. 3 2013||$633||$633||$3,500||-||3 nights|
|Nov. 4 2013 - Nov. 22 2013||$503||$503||$2,775||-||3 nights|
|Nov. 23 2013 - Dec. 1 2013||$633||$633||$3,500||-||3 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Dec. 2 2013 - Dec. 20 2013||$503||$503||$2,775||-||3 nights|
|Dec. 21 2013 - Dec. 29 2013||$633||$633||$3,500||-||3 nights|
|View all 7 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: June 13, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
A week of relaxing at a wonderful island.
Thank you for asking about our stay. I think St. George Island is a wonderful hidden treasure of Florida and we plan to return. The beach is not crowded, with great views. The property, Divine Porpoise sets in a perfect location. It has a wonderful pool. Our only critical remark is that it could be a little cleaner; bathrooms and such seem to need greater care. All in all we had a wonderful time. Thank you for sharing your little bit of paradise.
We had a great time on Spring Break!
There were 10 of us and we had plenty of room. We cooked all our meals, even the fresh fish the kids caught. The large kitchen made it fun for us all. The sink and extra counter space across from the washer dryer was very convenient. The gazebo at the end of the private boardwalk was also a great place to set extra beach supplies. We brought our two small dogs and they loved the beach! They also loved all the fresh air while roaming around on the large decks. It was fun for us all to sit around the fire on the beach and cook hot dogs and smores. There was lots of room between this house and the others which afforded everyone great privacy. All in all we had a great time. We were disappointed in the lack of deck furniture. There were only 4 chairs and one completely fell apart and the others were on their way. We let the management company know about it though so hopefully they will be replaced soon. Also, I didn't realize the pool wasn't heated which would have made a difference for that time of year. We had warm days but not enough to jump in the pool. Lastly if you have a difficult time going up and down stairs that would be a consideration too. It was a great work out for us though. The island was beautiful and quiet with no high rises. We will definitely be heading back soon.
House great - management company was terrible.
The management company was unfriendly, unhelpful, and unprofessional.
The house was great, the pool was great.
The location is awsome, there's a lot of parking and the board walk to the beach with gazebo was nice.
Our experience with the management company would keep us from renting this home. The house is too expensive to recieve such poor service. Sorry. Sharon
Response from St. George Island Vacation Properties - 07/25/2012
To be honest, I am completely shocked to read this negative review. Unfortunately, Tropical Storm Debby arrived the same date as these guests on June 24th. The island was issued a mandatory evacuation and we were without power until Thursday afternoon, all of which was beyond our control. Our On Call personnel stayed in constant communication with a member of this party to address their questions and concerns and keep them updated of the situation regarding power restoration. Upon departure, we were contacted to request the return of two pillows that were left behind. These were mailed back to the guests over two weeks ago. It is my understanding the pillows have not yet been received, but our staff acted within the scope of our responsibility to return the items. We strive to provide excellent customer service and maintain positive relationships with our guests. It is unclear to me what we could have done differently in this situation.
Good and Bad...Mostly Bad
First the good...great location, private...now the bad...kitchen was very dated, appliances were old and worn out,small beds in small bedrooms, door handle to the back door was broken,yard needed to be mowed, Tv's were all small and at least 15 years old, remotes didnt work, kitchen table was so sticky that you couldnt lay a piece of paper on it without it being stuck to the table, outdoor pool needs major help...etc
We've been visiting SGI for 10 years and this was our least favorite visit. The island did encounter a tropical storm the week before but that had no affect on the interior of this home. We were so disappointed on top of spending $6500, this was probably our last visit to the island.
Relaxing and blessed!
This house was in the perfect location. The beach was beautiful and the weather was perfect. The house was big enough to hold our family too. The house did not have a TV in every bedroom which I did not like but overall it was awesome. The pool didn't have any lights around it for being out at night and only two chairs but we dealt. The island is relaxed and laid back and there is literally only the beach to do! Which we loved...
The Alexander Family
Fantastic family vacation experience - the huge pool was the cro
We have rented Florida condos and houses from Destin to Sanabel for years and this was absolutely the best experience we've had. The privacy was amazing and the accommodations perfect for the 12 of us in our four generational party. St George Island is not the most convenient to get to by air, but worth the effort. Most favorite features - the huge private pool and beach gazebo. Least favorite feature - the separate living and bedroom levels and the stairs.
Great location, large pool, house needs some maintenance
Great location near the park. Beach wonderful, not crowded. Large pool but the deck is cracking. Air conditioning needs maintenance or under powered, could not keep it cool on the upper floor. We purchased a coffee maker because the one provided was nasty. Nails protruding from the boardwalk to the beach, we hammered a few back in. Gazebo at the beach was awesome! Home was nice.
House was gorgeous-plenty of rooms. Grasses were overgrown and tall. No blankets in the house. Some maintenance issues in the house-sink faucet did not work correctly..
Relaxing Family Getaway
The house is in a beautiful location with an oversized lot and a huge private pool. The upper deck was our favorite spot for morning coffee and evening cocktails. Plenty of room for our 5 adults and 3 kids. The kitchen was fully stocked but some pots and pans were beyond useful lifetime and the stove seemed older than the house itself (although it did still work). There was seating for 10 at the dining table but only 4 deck chairs and 3 at the pool. The extra sitting area was great for added space. Overall, an excellent house and we're thinking of returning next summer.
Great Place !
The house and grounds were wonderful. Hvac, hot water and refrigerator worked really well which is always important. Pool was large adn very clean. Circular drive was great for the smaller children to ride their bikes. The walk right off the deck to the ocean was so convenient. The entire house was well laid out, beautifully decorated and very clean. Probably the best house we have stayed on the island!
This house needs help!!!
There are several things about this house that were disappointing. First of all, it was filthy. I don't mean just a little dusty either. There were bug droppings on the counters, the coffee pots had bugs in them, hairs in the towels and several other things. The beds were like sleeping on concrete slabs. The kitchen needed a good cleaning itself and the sink was a joke as was the condition of the stove. The railings were not very secure. The pool was filthy. I could go on and on but why bother? This house is in need of some major TLC.
Even with all the complaints the location is great. We were all together and that is the most important thing.
I did let the management know about the condition of the house when we left. This was our thrid or fourth stay through Sgivp but it will be our last. I think they should be ashamed to rent this house in its current condition. When I told them about the house all they said was they could have sent someone to clean. But really, this house needs more than a simple cleaning. I did not call during our stay because I assumed with it being a holiday weekend there were no other houses available. I cleaned the major areas we were all in and bought a new coffee pot to make due.
We love St. George Island and I am glad to know there are other rental agencies on the island. We will book through another company on our next visit. Sgivp offered nothing after my complaints and that further confirms my decision not to stay with them again.
Fun at Divine Porpoise
We had fun and a very relaxed vacation. The house was excellent and the pool was well maintained.
Perfect Beach and Pool
We loved this house, and the beach/pool setup could not have been better! We went for a week with 5 teens/preteens and a big dog. The house had plenty of space for us all. We have visited SGI 4 times previously and always stayed in The Plantation, which we love. However, this time we decided to try the East End and were not disappointed. This house had the vegetation and privacy that we were looking for, and with no houses behind it or close on either side, we really had a great expanse of beach to ourselves.
The only negatives we would note on the house are that the kitchen is greatly lacking in supplies and the appliances/kitchen sink are very old and need updating badly. We had read this in earlier reviews and didn't plan to cook in much so it wasn't a huge problem for us. Also, there appeared to be a built-in sound system in the house, but we could not find any stereo connected to it. We would have liked to listen to some Oyster Radio with an evening cocktail and enjoyed the great view. We'll know next time to bring our own stereo.
The things we most loved about the house were the wonderful private beach and plenty of room to spread out with two den areas. It is a perfect setup for a dog, with gates on either end of the boardwalk, so if needed we could leave the dog on the lower covered balcony while we were down at the beach. Also, the pool was just fantastic, with beautiful landscaping and privacy. Overall, a great beach vacation and a house we would definitely recommend to friends!
Michele (family of 5)
Exactly the perfect dream beach vacation we wanted.
Our family was seeking a private, secluded beach vacation, with extrodinary beach access and acommodations. We found it. The house was excellent for our three tean age boys, plenty of space and a second living area for them to hang out. The pool provided a great option for our family. The home itself was in excellent condition. If I was an owner, I would upgrade the appliances and electronics. However that was not an important feature to us and did not diminish the wonderful home, landscaping, pool, location, view and vacation we had there. I would highly recommend this property and St. George Island Vacation Rentals to anyone looking to travel to this area. I would highly recommend that you travel to St. George Island as found it to be delightful. By far the island and home exceeded any expectations we had going for the first time. We hope to return many times over.
Nice visit to St. George & return with Parasites from pool!!!
Planned my daughters wedding for this location - GROUNDS ARE BEAUTIFUL...sufficient area for wedding. Wedding was canceled one month prior to visit. Was not able to cancel - did NOT take out insurance... "TAKE OUT INSURANCE - YOU NEVER KNOW"
House was clean, AC on 3rd floor was out of order -property management company repair response was efficient and freon added quickly.
We had 6 people who swam in the pool at the house and six people return to Georgia with severe itching and breakouts on skin... Dr's visits stated parasites from pool. ONLY the people who got in pool got parasites. I contacted CDC and reported. I did not contact Realty company - because I felt they would DO NOTHING!!!!!!
There was also PILES of yard debris on both sides of the driveway; had the wedding still been under way I would have been furious!! Appliances seemed outdated as compared to the house. Old and rusty!!Kitchen pots/pans dishes were not plentiful!!
Excellent location, LOTS of stairs, beautiful home; just could have done with out the aggravation of 11-14 days of skin irritaions, breakouts and itching!!!
great wedding/family reunion event
The home was large and comfortable. Plenty of room for all of our guests.
Great views of the beach and all the dolphins swimming by it.
There were some railings that were unpainted and a ceiling bulb was missing
in the great room. The "open door" alarm was annoying and I think
unnecessary for this home.
Overall experience was good and we had a very memorable wedding/family
We would go back.
House is in need of some tender loving care. It is a lovely home. The weather was questionable.
Nice Location/Needed Work
We had a few issues during our stay.
* We had problems with the cable television the whole time we were there
* I was told that we would have wireless internet. There wasn's any internet and this was important because we own a company and needed to stay in contact with customers. Had to run up to real estate office each day to use their internet
* There were bugs in the upstairs bedroom
* The house had hardly any decorations - looked like it was emptied due to a foreclosure
* Just not very clean
We loved the area, just not the house
Great place for a group
We spent a week in the Divine Porpoise and LOVED it. The top deck view can't be beat - the condo is spacious and full of light. We really liked the living and dining areas on the top floor and having the bedrooms on the intermediate level - it gave some comfortable privacy (for the late sleepers).
Access to the beach is easy and since we had pets, it was nice that the bridge to the dunes had a gate at the end, so we could let the dogs run around freely on the deck without worrying that they'd take off on their own down to the ocean.
My only complaint would be the appliances - they seemed dated and rickety compared to the newness of the condo. The door kept falling off the garbage disposal and the oven/range was a 1970 throwback, but it all worked.