Formerly known as Poinciana Plantation, this four bedroom, three and a half bath home is located on a corner lot, just across the street from white, sandy beaches. The interior decor was professionally designed with upscale furniture and soothing colors. The open living/dining/kitchen area boasts warm, hardwood floors and the kitchen offers granite counters and stainless appliances. One master suite has a jetted tub and all other bedrooms have deck access. Multiple TVs, VCR/DVD. Charming wraparound verandas are located on both levels, each with unparalled and unobstructed Gulf views. Only 400 yards from the new St. George Plantation Clubhouse... and community pool. Sorry, the fireplace is not available for use.
Bed Sizes: 1 king, 1 queen, 2 twins, 1 daybed with trundle (2 twins)
Left on 12/06/2013 for a stay in November 2013 | Terry
We normally book beachfront homes but decided this year to book one across the street. We booked Beach plantation based on the rental description of the views on Resort Vacation Properties website. We also had read the previous reviews on the rental and were a bit leery, but wanted to see for ourselves. I am glad we did as we were very pleased with the home.
The home ground level is surrounded by native vegetation but the upper decks and floors provide great ocean views and large decks. The very top floor also has an outstanding view from a smaller look-out type sitting deck.
The home appeared to be clean when we entered. It was very accommodating for a family of four. The kitchen was very spacious. We found the amount of utensils, pots and pans, and dishware were plenty. Previous reviews indicated they were lacking. As for the kitchen the only issue we found was the coffee maker took almost an hour to perk. We found another coffee maker in the cabinet that worked perfectly.
The living room was also spacious with plenty sitting areas and furniture to sit. The two couches should probably be replaced as per the previous review do appear worn.I might suggest for the living area to add either some drapes or blinds for the large sliding doors. During the day it is bright which is great, but not so much when trying to watch football on the television due to the glare.
The only downside to the living area would be the television size. As others have reviewed, the television is quite small for the area.
The bedrooms were nice and roomy. The master offered a very large walk in closet. The king bed was comfy. The jetted tub in the master unfortunately did not work. Not an issue for us. The televisions in each room should also be replaced with bigger ones as they are also small.
We would have no problem staying in this home again in the future.
We have rented through RVP many of times now and the service we receive is why we continue to rent through them.
Spring Lake, MI
Left on 11/14/2013 for a stay in October 2013 | Sammy
We enjoy coming down to St. George Island to vacation every year and up until this year we've always been pleased with the condition of the houses we've stayed in. Unfortunately, this year was a different experience. This house fell well below what we were expecting for the rental amount we paid and compared to our past experiences with rentals in the same price range. It also fell short of what we were expecting based on the write-up and description that was in the rental agency's catalog.
Some of the things that were most disappointing: When we checked into the house, we found there was no ironing board or decent cooking utensils to use, so we had to stop back at the rental office to pick those items up. The walls were scuffed up and dirty and looked to be in serious need of a new paint job. The 2 couches in the living room were very dirty and we had to have the rental agency schedule for them to be cleaned during our stay. One of the couches also had large rips in the upholstery on the back of it. The carpeting in the bedrooms looked worn and in need of a cleaning. Several of the doors on the kitchen cabinets wouldn't stay shut. All of the Tv's were very small (even the one in the living room seemed too small for the room size). There was some old lumber, deck furniture and other items cluttering up the carport area underneath the house.
It was especially disappointing because this house is in a great location with a great view of the ocean. Based on what we experienced during our stay, definitely would not recommend this rental to anyone and definitely wouldn't stay at this house again on future vacations. Read more
Response from Resort Vacation Properties of St. George Island - 11/15/2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at “Beach Plantation.” On behalf of Resort Vacation Properties, let me apologize for the inconveniences and disappointment you experienced during your vacation. We appreciate you letting us know your thoughts about the condition of the furnishings and supplies. This is the time of year we provide our homeowners with a complete assessment of their home to help them prioritize the improvements and/or repairs that are necessary. We will ensure that the homeowner receives your feedback. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future and again, please accept our apologies that your experience with us didn’t exceed your expectations.
Resort Vacation Properties of SGI, Inc.
We wouldn't rent Poinciana Plantation again.
Left on 06/04/2010 for a stay in January 2010 | Mary
The Poinciana Plantation is in an excellent location in the Plantation. Beautiful views of the Gulf. It has two big, lovely decks and is a very pretty house from the outside.
We stayed for two months, January and February 2010. It was our third trip to SGI and our first stay at PP. We would not stay there again for the following reasons:
-The shower in the master bath leaked badly. Water would pool up across the bathroom floor from the leak. Now, let me say that Resort Vacation Properies offered to have the shower re-grouted and re-caulked while we were there, but we didn't want to have to clear out of the master bath for a week to accomodate this repair. So we lived with it, but it was a pain having to keep rolls and rolls of paper towels in the bathroom to mop up after every shower. I'm assuming the leak was fixed after we left, but I'd check if I were you.
-There is not a comfortable chair or good reading light in this house.
-The main TV is so small and in such an awkward location as to be unusable. If you don't watch TV it doesn't matter, but we were there for two months and my husband likes to watch sports, so it mattered to us.
-Note to owner: for the love of Pete, get a king size bed in the master bedroom. The antique queen bed is pretty, but comfort is more important to us.
-My last peeve is that the kitchen is poory equiped: warped pots and pans, dirty pot-holders, no place mats, a can opener from 1968...that sort of thing.
I firmly believe that if the owners would spend a few nights in their rental homes, these problems would be obvious to them. All that said, SGI is heaven on earth and we love it there. Read more
Response from Resort Vacation Properties of St. George Island - 02/15/2012
: Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your vacation rental feedback. We are delighted that you find St. George Island to be "Heaven on Earth" but apologize that Poinciana Plantation did not suit your needs well for your two month stay. We’re sorry for any discomfort or inconvenience this may have caused. Thank you for the thoughtful suggestions of items you’d like to see changed/added to the home. We will pass your comments on to the homeowners for their consideration. We are pleased to report that the bed for the master bedroom has been recently upgraded with a king size bed. Upon a search of our records we found that you requested a number of kitchen items & those items you requested were brought to you. Should you have required any additional items, we would have been more than happy to supply them. Unfortunately, with regards to the shower leak, we have not been able to replicate the problem you experienced but we are actively monitoring the situation. There have been numerous guests in this property since your visit and none of them have experienced this same problem with the shower. Again, we apologize that Poinciana Plantation did not meet your needs in several ways. Should you choose to visit St. George Island again this winter, we hope you will allow us to find a home for you that exceeds your expectations. Sincerely, Resort Vacation Properties
Left on 06/03/2010 for a stay in April 2010 | peggy allison
The Tv in the family room is small & not in a good location Read more
Response from Resort Vacation Properties of St. George Island - 01/21/2011
Thank you for providing feedback on your stay at Poinciana Plantation. We are delighted you found the visit to be “peaceful.” Thank you for your feedback about the TV. We have passed these comments on to the homeowners for their review. Should you choose to visit St. George Island again in the future, we hope you will allow us to serve your vacation rental needs.
Cordially, Resort Vacation Properties
Poinciana was a Pleasure
Left on 12/14/2009 for a stay in November 2009 | Tutularue
The house is very nice, beautiful furniture and the hardwood floors are lovely. The view was fantastic. I would definitely rent this house again.
Wesley Chapel, FL
Left on 01/19/2009 for a stay in November 2008 | O'Neil Family
My family and I have stayed on the Plantation for several years for our annual vacation. This is the first year that we stayed in this property. We were very pleased with the layout and cleanliness of the home. It had great views of the water and was only a short walk to the beach access. The only problem that we had with the property was the television in the living area was in an odd space and was very small. We stay in the fall and were very disappointed the the fire place was not in working order.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.