When you're looking for a place for your St. George Island escape, ''Gone Coastal'' is the ideal home away from home. With bright furnishings, tile floors and an open living/dining/kitchen area, this beachside retreat offers an abundance of amenities for everyone. The kitchen is a chef's dream with plenty of solid counter space for meal prep. The living area decor boasts bold colors and plenty of sunshine is invited in by a full wall of windows. Four bedrooms, including one king master suite, are located on the main living level. A second master suite can be found on the second level. The second level bath contains a shower only. The covered... deck is nicely furnished as is the area around the private pool. Multiple TVs/DVD players. Two pets under 50 lbs. each welcome. Sorry, neither the fireplace or widow's walk is usable.
Left on 07/13/2014 for a stay in June 2014 | Tom K
This was the second family reunion at SGI and by far the best!! I will continue booking with Resort Vacation Properties(RVP) for 2 reasons: 1) Extremely easy check-in (once online registration is complete a code is sent and you simply go straight to the property. 2) Exceptionally clean and well stocked home. Also, when we discovered that the coffee maker was struggling to make coffee (45 min. for a full pot) RVP was very fast to respond with a brand new (and nicer) coffee maker. Enough about RVP.
This home was absolutely beautiful and incredibly spacious. The enormous front deck provided a fantastic (across-the-street) view of the gulf, was a perfect vantage point for watching the SGI Fourth of July Parade and turned out to be a perfect setting for an all day guitar jam session. This home provided a great space for family gatherings for dinner and playing games, etc. The pool is a wonderful addition to have both during the day and especially at night. There was always a slight breeze at night which did keep any bugs to a nil. This was a very memorable place and SGI is a very beautiful and minimally commercialized island We will definitely be back!
Here are some mentionable maintenance items:
1) The air conditioning really struggled to keep the place at 73 to 74 degrees and I'll explain. During the day while we were at the beach it ran all day just to keep it at 74. This would cause a problem when we came back to clean up and would reduce it to 72. By the evening you could tell it had frozen up and had to be shut off for at least 20 minutes. The freezing up could be due to low freon, but I also believe it to be from a very under-rated HVAC system for that size home (there is only one main unit). There is a much smaller unit for the upstairs bedroom. At night it would have to be shut off again for 20 minutes before going to bed at which point it had no trouble keeping the temp at 71 to 72 for a comfortable nights sleep. This would not keep me from returning, but I would suggest checking the freon or changing out the unit with a much larger capacity unit (which would be more efficient all around). The upstairs bedroom has a separate small AC unit which (if it is capable of handling the room during the day) leads me to wonder why the main AC vents are not closed off in order to provide more air on the main floor
2) Washer/Dryer-Dryer was very noisy and struggled to dry even minimal items. Could be a simple drum belt replacement and vent cleaning
Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend?
A very cold but Happy Thanksgiving!
Left on 12/06/2013 for a stay in November 2013 | MomMom
I booked online for a different property but my reservation didn't go thru! When I called I was told the property was booked!! But they did place us in Gone Coastal and it worked well for our family. It was very cold and the heat struggled to keep up. There was not enough hot water for 12 people and cooking Thanksgiving dinner! No corkscrew in the kitchen!Ugh... 10 towels/12 people/3 nights...more towels please! Minor issues...we had a wonderful holiday there, lots of beautiful sunsets,beach walks and 3 members of our family joined the Polar Bear Club by swimming in the pool...for about 20 seconds! It is a great home, lots of room...agree with other reviews...updates are needed. We would certainly book again:) Read more
Response from Resort Vacation Properties of St. George Island - 12/06/2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Gone Coastal! Let me first apologize for the housekeeping issues! We always urge our guests to call our office immediately so that we may correct issues quickly! Extra linens and towels are a phone call away and we stock a complete selection of kitchen items in our housekeeping department. Thank you for letting us know about the hot water heater, we will have maintenance check it out. We hope to see you again soon!
Resort Vacation Properties of SGI, Inc.
Mark & Sheila
A well deserved time together with family.
Left on 11/03/2013 for a stay in October 2013 | Mark & Sheila
We have been coming to St. George for 12 years. This is the first Fall trip we have taken. Enjoyed it very much since it seemed to be less crowded. The house was very nice and had alot of room. We loved that it was also dog friendly. The house is in a great location just across the street from the beach but it was only 250 feet from the beach access.
You just can't beat the service you get from Resort Vacation Properties. We took care of all the details online and never had to call or check in. Just drove right to the house after visiting the blue parrot first and had some Fried Oysters.
The house does need a little sprucing up. There is no real landscape and the weeds were growing over the walk to pool and front stairs. The ceiling in the kitchen area looks like they have had a leak before and had a poor attempt at fixing the sheet rock. Kind of an eyesore. The deck and stairs seem to have a few years on them...like I said earlier...just needs sprucing up and tightened up.
We loved the short time we spent there and would stay again.
Thanks. Read more
Response from Resort Vacation Properties of St. George Island - 11/07/2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Gone Coastal. We are pleased you enjoyed the home and the location. We did have a leak in the kitchen during the Summer so we had to make quick repairs to the ceiling and match it as best we could since the home was booked back to back. The homeowner is aware of the repair and when they repaint the interior in the future, they will address the ceiling. The property also receives lawn care services, but additional landscape is at the owners choice. We appreciate your report of the condition of the decks and stairs. For the safety of our guests, our maintenance department has performed an inspection and any issues found were corrected. We hope to see you on the island again soon!
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.