Located adjacent to the Julian Bruce State Park, enjoy the best of both worlds on the white sand beach at this fabulous Bayfront home or take a short walk to see the majestic dunes along the Gulf. Take advantage of the perfect opportunity to kayak or paddle board and the easy access to the warm Bay waters is perfect for small children. Two tandem (two-person) kayaks are available for a fee. The large yard provides privacy and the views of the colorful sunsets from the sundeck are spectacular. The sundeck also overlooks the pool area. This recently renovated home has two bedrooms on the first level and a spiral staircase leads to a loft upstai...rs that has a king bed, a double bunk bed and a sleeper sofa. A garden tub is located in the master bath. The large living/dining/kitchen area has wood floors and a gas fireplace. Multiple TVs/DVD players, DVD library, books and a stereo, pack-n-play, plus extra beach towels are provided.
Bed sizes: 2 kings, 1 queen, 1 triple bunk bed (double/twin), 1 queen sleeper sofa
Left on 10/13/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | Brenda Bedenk
We have a few concerns about the property. Mosquitos were horrible. You can't even go outdoors to enjoy the pool or the dock. The dock light and boat lift power source shorted and no one came out to fix the problem. It was reported and even the management property called to see if we reported a different property and it was not related to our rental. We also had outlets in the home short. They sent a tech to fix the house outlets but not the boat dock.
Televisons were outdated and the stereo system did not work. Read more
Response from Resort Vacation Properties of St. George Island - 10/16/2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We apologize that Ambitions at Bay did not fully meet your expectations. This property has recently sold and the new owner is updating the home as time permits. We apologize that the boat lift could not be repaired during your visit. Because of our remote barrier island location, contractors often have to travel from out of town and parts have to be ordered, so what is routine at home can often be an adventure here. The good news is that the boat lift has been fully repaired as well as the light at the end of the dock. We apologize that the mosquitoes were bad during your stay. Mosquitoes do flourish at certain times of the year, especially when we’ve received an abundance of rain, which occurred this summer due to the two tropical storms we experienced. Many of our guests find that a DEET based insect repellant can be a very helpful tool in combating these pests. With regards to the stereo system, we have received no additional reports of problems with the stereo system, so we will be sending someone to check it. Again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. We have forwarded your comments on to the new homeowners for their review and consideration. Thank you for your patronage. We look forward to having you back as our guests again soon.
Resort Vacation Properties
ouch that hurt
home sweet home
maintenance ambitions kept at bay
Left on 10/08/2012 for a stay in September 2012 | ouch that hurt
We have been visiting St George Island for ten years now an average of twice per year. This home has great potential but, then there are the "issues". From broken cabinet doors, broken toilet seat, crooked lights and pictures, doors that won't stay closed, to the front door knob I had to fix every time it was used. An audible beep occasionally from a fire alarm or? In case we were hungry there were treats in the couch that had been there for who knows how long. The fish cleaning station at the dock not so inviting with the broken shards of glass and plastic from what used to be the light above it. The plumbing long gone so your feet get wet when you turn the water on and rotted out boards hanging down where the sink is. A crab trap in the water with dead and dying fish in it. We found 2 out of 12 skillets that could be safely used the rest should have been thrown away a long, long time ago. You could tell they used to be teflon coated by the pieces that were still hanging on. Dirty dished in the cabinets so we washed everything before use which is probably a good idea any time but really shouldn't have visible crustys on the dishes. We noticed as soon as we got out of the car upon arrival the sweet smell of a weeks worth of trash. This is without any doubt the most ghetto with great potential house I will never stay at again. This reflects the probability that the owners never spend time at the house and makes us question staying with resort vacation properties(usually our #1 choice) in the future. A perfect example of how not to maintain what could be (but currently isn't) a great vacation home. Any time you rent a vacation home you take a gamble and I guess we had been lucky in the past ten years but our luck ran out on this one. We have one word of advice to anyone interested in renting this one; don't. Read more
Response from Resort Vacation Properties of St. George Island - 10/10/2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we apologize that Ambitions at Bay did not meet your expectations. This home has recently sold and the new owners are steadily making repairs/improvements but they are having to work around previously scheduled guests. The good news is that the boat lift has recently been rebuilt and the fish cleaning area at the end of the dock has also been fully repaired. The damage to the dock was a result of one of the tropical storms that came through our area shortly before your arrival. It was scheduled for repair prior to your stay but was unfortunately not able to be completed until after your departure. We are very pleased to announce that new decks will be installed this winter, too. We appreciate your willingness to report the beeping noise to us during your stay and we wish we would have known about the other items mentioned in your review. It's important to us to be able to correct any deficiencies during your visit in order to make your stay more enjoyable. The broken cabinet door has been scheduled for repair as well as the toilet seat. The full garbage was most likely the result of the can not being placed by the curb for pick-up. This doesn't happen very often but when it does, our normal procedure is to remove the full one and deliver a fresh can. The kitchen was restocked prior to the summer season, but will be reassessed soon and any necessary items will be added. Should you ever require additional cooking items, please don't hesitate to contact us because we keep a number of items in stock and are happy to supply whatever is needed. Finally, we apologize for the cleanliness issues you experienced. We have forwarded your comments to our housekeeping department so that the problems you describe can be corrected. Again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. We hope you understand that this experience is not typical of a stay with Resort Vacation Properties and we hope you will give Ambitions at Bay another chance. We feel sure you'll be pleased with the improvements. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to having you back as our guest again soon.
Resort Vacation Properties
I think we have found our new home away from home on St. George!
Left on 05/24/2012 for a stay in April 2012 | S. Alred
We have been making annual visits to St. George for over 25 years. First with our children and now including our grandchildren. We took a vote and it was unanimous...this is our favorite rental of all time!
First of all you have the best of both worlds, a pier over the bay for fishing in the back yard and the pristine beaches of St George just a short walk from the front of the home.
Secondly there is room for everyone in the spacious open floor plan of this beautifully appointed home. The views of the bay that this home afforded were spectacular. We cooked most of our meals in, and were blown away with the amenities. I don't think there was anything we needed that the kitchen wasn't equipped with. The extra refrigerator was an added bonus!
The pool was immaculate and well maintained by the pool crew who showed up almost every day during our visit to check the chemical levels and make sure that the pool was clean. This was the grand kids (ages 4-10)favorite hang out.
All of us enjoyed the great fishing that the bay offered and the grand kids had fun finding hermit crabs on the small beach beside the pier.
The only things that I think would be an added benefit would be a cabinet with drawers in the master bath for toiletries etc., hooks in the bathrooms for clothing/robes, and maybe side railings of some sort on the pier (the smaller grand kids made me nervous walking out to the end of the pier). A bench at the end of the pier would really be a plus as well.
It has been almost 2 months since our visit and we are still talking about it. We can hardly wait for our next trip to this amazing home on Florida's most incredible beach! Read more
Response from Resort Vacation Properties of St. George Island - 06/20/2012
Dear S. Alred,
Nothing makes us happier than hearing one of our guests say they have found their “home away from home.” We are delighted that you found Ambitions at Bay to be your favorite rental of all time. We thank you for the thoughtful suggestions on the items you’d like to see added to the home. We are pleased to report that towel hooks have been recently installed and we’re currently on the hunt for a storage piece for the master bath. Your comments about the dock railing and bench have been forwarded to the homeowners for their review & consideration. Thank you for your many years of patronage. We know you have made some fabulous family memories and we hope that will continue on unforgettable St. George Island.
Resort Vacation Properties
House is in a great location and very comfortable.
Left on 05/23/2012 for a stay in May 2012 | Lizzie Ann
We chose this house because it was on the bay (for fishing) and just across the road with direct access to the beach. We were unable to fish much because of the bugs in the evening. If we visit St. George again we will probably rent on the gulf side.
The house was adequate and comfortable, but it was smaller than we expected. It was just my husband and me so we had plenty of room, but a family would be cramped. There are only 2 baths, and the master only has a pedestal sink, which we solved by using the sink in the guest bath. There is everything you need in this house and the location is good, but don't expect luxury.
We did use the pool more than we expected. It was a nice amenity.
Anderson, South Carolina
First time on the bay!
Left on 01/24/2012 for a stay in April 2011 | Jackie Walsh
We have been vacationing on st. george for years, and have always stayed on the beach or first tier. This was our first time on the bay and we really enjoyed it. We rented kayaks and the walk to the beach was easy. The place was a bit dated and the kitchen was not equipped for any real cooking(in need of a new coffee pot!) but the place was comfortable and we had fun. thanks,j
Love this house!
Left on 03/29/2011 for a stay in July 2010 | Donna
We have stayed here twice and would love to do it again.
Ambitions at Bay at disappointment
Left on 01/09/2010 for a stay in July 2009 | lstiff
We let the company know before we left how disappointed we were with the condition of Ambitions at Bay. It was in very bad shape inside with stained furniture and worn wallpaper and paint, blinds that no longer worked and a deck in disrepair. Having stayed in this home a few years prior, we were anxious and excited to stay in what we considered a lovely home at the time. This time, if there had been another option we would have asked for our money back. We love the location, love the house but the condition it was in for the price was utterly ridiculous. Hopefully, someone will update it soon. Read more
Response from Resort Vacation Properties of St. George Island - 04/30/2010
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our request for feedback. We apologize that Ambitions at Bay did not meet your expectations. We are presently in negotiations with the owner to update a number of items in the home. Again, we apologize that the home did not meet your expectations. Should you choose to visit St. George Island again in the future, we hope you will allow us to find a home for you that exceeds your expectations.
Cordially, Resort Vacation Properties
Left on 12/15/2009 for a stay in October 2008 | Morley Alexander
Great serevice, good value, great house, would rent
Perfect house to bring your boat
Left on 12/15/2009 for a stay in October 2007 | Mississippi visitor
The home is lovely and with the extreme tides at St. George Island, the boat lift made our stay perfect. The fishing was fabulous and the scenery spectacular. The amenties of both the home and island made for a perfect vacation. Resort Vacation Properties were great to work with and they made sure to answer all our questions prior to renting the home.
Top Ten "Get-around-to-its" for Ambitions at Bay
Left on 12/15/2009 for a stay in August 2007 | Big Gator
Great Island Bay Location. Very Private. Near the fish. Managenent Service was good. Poor with everyday living details. Here they are:
1) A/C in guest bedroom non-functional
2) Difficult to open and operate front door
3) Master Bath had a pedestal sink - needed a counter.
4) Pool should be screened. Bugs will eat you alive.
5) Beds were cheap and unconfortable. Get sleep number beds.
6) Loft not functional for sleeping - no bathroom.
7) Circular stair to loft was not sturdy.
8) No boat ramp nearby
9) No music system for playing CDs or MP3s.
10)Small televisions - old technologies. Read more
Response from Resort Vacation Properties of St. George Island - 02/16/2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your vacation rental experience with us. We apologize that Ambitions at Bay didn’t quite meet your expectations. Since your stay in 2007 a number of these items have been addressed. The A/C unit was replaced, the spiral staircase has been repaired and the front door has also been repaired and no more problems have been reported. We thank you for your valuable feedback and will pass your comments about the remaining items on to the owners for their review. We also wanted to let you know that there are two boat ramps nearby this home, located within the state park. There is also a new ramp located at the base of the fishing bridge at the center of the island. We value your patronage and hope you will give us a chance to find you a home next time that better suits your needs.
Cordially, Resort Vacation Properties
Cheryl & Donnie Moss
Left on 01/27/2009 for a stay in May 2008 | Cheryl & Donnie Moss
There were some issues when we stayed at this home in May 2008--BUT we also had already made reservations for the same home for the last week of September. The issues we had in May (boat lift not working and no a/c in the master bedroom) were resolved before our September reservations. We have stayed at this home "numerous" times in the past and hope to continue. You emailed me for review of the May stay which we did have issues with but they were resolved and we were pleased with our September stay. I would rate the September stay 4 star (recommeded). We always bring our boat and the boat lift is a huge issue with us. Again, hopefully the economy will allow us to visit again this year.
Our stay at the Bay
Left on 01/17/2009 for a stay in July 2008 | Jackie
The exterior of the home does not mirror the interior. The outside is somewhat worn in as much as it is a cedar (or some sort of wood) siding and is getting sun, wind and water beaten. The interior is nice and bright and the furnishings are nice.
The spiral staircase feels a bit shaky/wobbly and I would recommend the upstairs for the younger members of a family; not too young, because although there is a class partion that overlooks the great room, I wouldn't have felt comfortable for a small child to stay up there alone.
The sunsets on the bay were spectacular. The colors you would see are not what you typically view from the average home. It was also interesting to watch the tide effect the water levels in the bay in the evening also.
The dock provided alot of fishing entertainment and excitement. A small shark was caught by one of the members in our group. So don't think just because you're on the bay you can't run into one.
Going to the beach was fairly simple, though a good little hike. Not bad mind you, but you had to cross the street and walk by some town homes to get to an access point to the beach. As usual you get to see dolphins coming and going daily, and if you look hard enough you can find some beautiful shells though I didn not find as many as in past visits to SGI.
There is a washer and dryer so don't overpack.
Plenty of room for storing any and everything you might want to bring. The laundry room is huge and only has the washer/dryer and water heater in there.
The master bedroom has two walk in closets.
The only somewhat negative thing I can say about the actual home is it, like most, needs more detailed cleaning. However, I realize that when we go it is the height of the busy season and they do well to get the homes cleaned rapidly for the next renters. Also, unfortunately, some people don't always care and respect others property as well as they should.
One other somewhat negative that no one can really control.....mosquitos!!!!!!!!!!!!!
They were hideous!!! Bring plenty of repellant. I kid you not they would just swarm onto you and you would be covered in an instant. Again that's nature!!!!
Overall it was nice and I liked being at that end of the island also and so very close to the state park which is very pretty.
The pool was a nice size and nice to get into after being at the beach.
dis- satisfied customer
not so ambitious
Left on 01/16/2009 for a stay in May 2008 | dis- satisfied customer
I have stayed at this particular house2 or 3 times prior to this rental. We were definitely disappointed in the house. There were bugs in the pool, the boat lift did not work (our reason for staying there in the first place...so we did not rent a boat), and the house rugs could have used some cleaning or replacement. Stains are on the dining room rug...not too appetizing. We will not rent this house again.
Left on 01/16/2009 for a stay in July 2008 | EMILY
THE POOL WAS NICE. EVERYTHING IN THE HOUSE WORKED FINE; APPLIANCES, ETC. KITCHEN WAS WELL STOCKED. BOAT DOCK WAS HANDY BECAUSE WE BROUGHT A BOAT.
Attractive Setting, very private
Left on 01/16/2009 for a stay in June 2008 | Nancy Miller
We had stayed at the State Park on St. George many times & love the island & were particularly eager to stay near that end. We chose Ambitions at Bay because of the privacy allowed by the spacious lawn, in spite of not having easy access to the ocean side. It is a pleasantly laid out home & was well equipped as far as kitchen supplies were concerned. The air conditioning was not working when we arrived on a terrifically hot sunday but we were pleased when a technician arrived shortly after our call to repair it.
On the downside, the house has seemingly not been upgraded or improved since it was built & could use some cleaning up & maintenance. The layout is so attractive but new furniture & carpeting are in order. Another shortfall for a house that can sleep 10 people is in only having two bathrooms, especially since the one bathroom is in the privacy of the master bedroom. That was a problem for us. Also, there were a lot of stairs to climb to drag up food supplies & luggage--also a problem. The decking is extremly rough on bare feet & could use replacement.
The pool was clean & maintained & very pleasant for our use in extremely hot weather. The pier could be improved by having a seat as we had to drag out lawn chairs to spend any time there. The bottom line is that this is a very attractive house but could use upgrades.
Ambitions at Bay Review
Left on 01/16/2009 for a stay in August 2008 | Bonnie
We stayed at Ambitions at Bay for a week in August. Despite the bad weather and water spout which knocked out power to the Island, we were able to stay 3 days without bad weather before leaving early. This home has a great layout but unfortunately lacked some needed repairs. The shower doors in the guest bath kept coming off the track and falling down. The refrigerator door would not stay shut and we had to use a cooler to keep our meat cold. The repair company did come out and fix that on Day 2. The shower doors were not able to be repaired during our visit. The back sliding doors were very hard to open and shut. One of the doors could not shut the whole way and mosquitos came into the home. Some of the furniture was worn as well. Other than these issues, the home has a nice layout and plenty of space for visitors. If they can make the needed repairs I would recommend this home to rent.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.