Take a family vacation in the Pacific Beach/Mission Beach/Mission Bay area without paying a fortune! This fully furnished vacation rental doesn't have the view of a place on the water, but it doesn't have the price tag either! And the beach is only 4 blocks away! Centrally located and very near the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown Gas Lamp District, Old Town, Sea World, Mission Bay & of course the BEACH!
Enjoy this spotlessly clean, comfortable, family-oriented apartment with oak hardwood floors. Beach cruiser bicycles, beach towels, ch...airs and umbrellas, body boards, sand toys, a gas BBQ, and 2 laundry rooms are all included. Park your car in the private garage and walk to local grocery stores, shops, restaurants, and beaches.
Unlimited phone calls within USA and Canada, cable TV (DVR and premium channels), and internet with Turbo speed WiFi. All 3 bedrooms have queen beds and a double sofa-sleeper in the living room to sleep all your family! Coming here in a large group or for a family reunion or graduation? We have 3 more 2BR apartments in this 4-plex and 20 more nearby!
Left on 02/14/2014 for a stay in February 2014 | San Diego Getaway
Our annual ski trip came into a SD beach trip since aZ has no snow. Stayed at your place because we know the area and you had bikes available so we did not have to bring all of ours. The condo was adorable and met all of our needs. I liked the best is that you literally had everything down to blow dryers and laundry detergent. I would definitely stay there again
Great time in San Diego
Left on 01/13/2014 for a stay in December 2013 | MJ
The apartment was great. I had only two complaints. The water heater needs to be replaced. It is very old and runs out of hot water with only one person showering. The level of noise coming from the bar next door is very loud. Luckily the bar does shut down around 1:30am so you can get some rest after that. I was able to turn the floor fan on high to drown out some of the noise.
Besides the bar issue the location is great. The beach isn't that far and there is plenty of shopping & dining on the street behind the apt. The little 24 hour taco stand next to the garage is a must to try. It's cheap and very delicious.
Would I recommend this apt? For sure!
I also loved that you didn't need to meet up with anyone, go to an office, or get a key to get into the apartment. It has an electronic key pad. Nancy's Rentals sends you the code for your stay in an email! love it!
Dirty and noisy
Left on 12/05/2013 for a stay in November 2013 | Carlos
Apartment was dirty and old, two hot showers at same time was not allowed because the water turn cold. The location is noisy with many bars open until late in the night. Check-in information was good. Read more
Response from Nancy's Vacation Rentals - 12/06/2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay. The Felspar Apartments are our most affordable units out of our 50 plus properties. We factor the age and the noise into the price of the unit, and try to inform all of our guests on the location of this property. It is located on Felspar Street - just off Garnet Avenue, which houses most, but not all, of the bars/restaurants of Pacific Beach. We know that it can be on the noisier side, so we have taken the extra step of providing 2 White Noise machines for each unit. We have heard from past guests that these machines work really well and are a nice touch to the unit. If you visit San Diego again, we would love to hear from you and one of our highly trained Reservation Specialist's can find you and your family the perfect vacation rental. Happy Holidays and thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Left on 10/09/2013 for a stay in October 2013 | Francois
The location is good, with a good ratio quality/price.
All the necessary equipements are provided: laundry, garage with 2 bikes, which is really pleasant.
The rooms and the beds are in good shape, which is pleasant too.
Some parts of the apartment could just be more clean -especially the bathtub, the kitchen's floor and ventilator system-
Finally, I recommend this place: a convenient, equiped and well located apartment.
Wonderful family time
Left on 08/15/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | Virginia
My son recently got back from afghanistan and wanted to spend sometime on the beach. This vacation rental was perfect for us. Walking distance to the beach, grocery stores and minutes away from Seaworld and San Diego Zoo. My Grand children had a wonderful time and wanted to stay there forever! So glad I got to meet you Nancy. Thank you for all your help. It was so nice having access to the beach cruisers,beach chairs,umbrellas and boogie boards. Thank you again. God willing, will see you again next year.
Family of 6
Apartment was located in a convenient and accessible area.
Left on 07/31/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | Family of 6
The apartment was very nice with ample room for 6 people. Bedrooms were comfortable with adequate pillows, bedding, and places to store personal items. Several fans in the bedrooms helped to keep rooms cool. Bathrooms were clean and well stocked with towels, soap, and toilet paper. Kitchen was also well equipped with cookware, dishes, and utensils and small appliance. Everything was clean and in good condition.
Apartment was close to many shops and a few blocks from the ocean so it was easy to walk to most places. When there were no parking spaces on the street, access to the garage made parking a breeze. The only "minus" in our stay was that proximity to so many shops and bars made the late evenings and nighttime noisier than normal. Sounds from bars and people walking around late at night often continued on until the early hours of 2-3 am.
Wonderful and helpful staff, great location and great comfort!
Left on 12/20/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | Dijana
We rented the Felspar apartment for our semester abroad (we are from Denmark), and we were very satisfied with our stay, and the service we received from Nancy's Vacation Rentals. The home was very comfortable and spacious. There are excellent opportunities for grocery shopping with a Sprouts and Trader Joe's almost across the street and a Vons just a bit further away. The beach is five blocks away and it takes about ten-fifteen minutes to walk there.
We experienced great service with the staff and they were always very helpful, if we needed something. Once our drains were clogged in one of the bathrooms, and we called, and Nancy's sent a plumber right away.
All in all, we have received excellent service as well as enjoyed a great stay in a lovely house. We onlt have positive things to say about our stay.
Clean and convenient, but noisy
Left on 08/16/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | Jami
We liked the cleanliness of the home. We enjoyed being so close to the shopping and beaches in Pacific Beach. We enjoyed the free wi-fi and being able to watch the Olympics on such a nice TV. The beds were comfortable. However, the location was so noisy at night (being also quite close to a few local bars) that it was hard to sleep. The weather was warm and we needed to keep the windows open in order to have air flow. It felt like we were right in the middle of a few bar brawls. Thank goodness we were on the second floor or it would have been quite scary!
Wilbraham, MA 01095
Left on 08/02/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | Mike
Everything was fine the only hiccup was the trash in the alleyway. I might suggest a clearer method to dispose of recycleables.
We have just put a lock on our large trash dumpster so others can not access our dumpster. There are two Recycle bins on the opposite side of the gate about 8 feet away. Nancy
Stay here---It's a great place
Left on 06/21/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | Miller Family
This apartment is a great deal. You are close to the beach, to grocery stores and to the "action". The only downside is that you are very close to the nightlife which can be a bit noisy if you are trying to sleep. It is not a huge deal but should be considered if falling asleep to noise is a problem for you. Everything you need for a vacation stay is provided...and I mean everything!!!
Enjoyed our Stay!
Left on 11/22/2011 for a stay in October 2011 | Vegas Travelers!
The apartment was very clean and had everything we needed. It's within walking distance to shops, restaurnats, and also a Starbucks which was great for us. The apartment is located near the local nightlife and can get pretty noisy from 12am-2am. We were traveling with small children and eventhough it didn't seem to bother our kids, this apartment may be better suited for a younger crowd. All in all, we had a great time and our accomodations met our expectations!
Exactly what I expected
Left on 11/09/2011 for a stay in November 2011 | Bob
Stayed here a few years ago in a different unit. Location is perfect for pacific beach night life. It can get noisy but that's the price you pay for being close.
The unit was clean and well stocked we had 6 people plenty of towels, dishes, cups and most of all hot water ( we never ran out).
2 problem areas 1. Couches were horrible time for new ones. 2. Garage was tough to get into and seperated from all the other ones so we had no hope of using bikes or other amenities.
I would rent again because I love the location and value.
Lake Havasu City Arizona
Good for younger people
Left on 09/15/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | pam
This apartment would be ok for much younger people, 20 to 35 years old. The furniture is old and dirty. Kitchen had little cooking utensils, and what is there is old and gruby. The beds were comfortable. Nancy was very responsive, and helpful. Thank you for that. Read more
Response from Nancy's Vacation Rentals - 09/20/2011
I have replaced the pots and pans and kitchen utensils (none of which were older than two years) and the coffee maker is only a month old. I get the furniture (which is NOT old) cleaned every 6 months and it's time after summer to do that again so I will call to have that done. I clearly state in every description that this location is right next to the main street of Pacific Beach with bars and restaurants all around it and that it is not a quiet location. I have white noise machines in each bedroom to combat this. If it was in a quiet, upscale neighborhood I would charge a lot more for it, like our other three bedroom places! This is our least expensive 3 bedroom and is, in fact, cheaper than most all of our two bedroom rentals and many of our one bedroom rentals. I'd be happy to rent them one that is twice the price next time in a very quiet location. As you can see, other people think it is a good value for the price. I try to keep some budget-priced locations in our mix of properties because not everyone with large families can afford the higher priced rentals. Nancy
Really great accommodations, worth every penny!
Left on 09/14/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | Elise Schexnayder
The accommodations were great, and the value couldn't be beat! Everything was exceptionally clean upon arrival. I only have 2 complaints. The first is that when we arrived late the first night, the pack-and-play that we reserved was not in the house, so we had to figure out where to put the baby until we located it the next morning, in the garage. The second is that the bars were pretty loud, but if you came to be part of the night life, it is perfect! Oh, and there were noisemakers in the closets, so the owners do everything in their power to compensate.
I must say, because of our great experience, I will make it a point to look up vacation rentals as an alternative to hotels. Oh, all the bikes, beach gear and kids toys in the garage were superb! Well done!!!
Lots of noisy partying in nearby bars
Left on 08/10/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | mds
The noise was a real problem, although the white noise machines did help. Not as clean as I would have liked or expected the apartment to be. Good location, but not really suitable for families. One morning we found one spike heel in the alley behind us!
Santa Barbara CA
wonderful family reunion time
Left on 08/06/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | happy non-camper
We underestimated the party culture--all-night noise but the whire noise machines were a tremendous help for all of us. It really wasa very special time and a good place.
Pb is not your hoity-toity beach, but it's great!
Left on 05/25/2011 for a stay in May 2011 | Kelly
Being one block from Garnet, we know there is night life in Pacific Beach every night until 2am (when the restaurants/bars close), but that is part of the ambiance. The 4 blocks to the beach is an easy walk; if you had small children &/or older adults, you might want to be a little closer. The 1179 Felspar apartment slept 6 adults comfortably (8 adults would be crowded, because 2 would be in the family room on the sleeper sofa). We liked the low key atmosphere of PB - plenty of restaurants & shops & grocery stores & stuff within walking distance, and a bicycle puts you on Mission Beach within a few minutes. We will definitely come back.
A bargain, but noisy
Left on 10/13/2010 for a stay in October 2010 | NorCal visitor
Overall we were satisfied with our stay mainly because we were on a budget and the price was one of the cheapest in Pacific Beach. There were pros and cons to our stay:
Pros: In Pacific Beach, wi-fi, reasonably priced, comfortable beds, lots of towels, 5 bikes and several boogie boards available, a rice cooker, close to grocery stores, not too far to beach-about a 5 minute walk, nice hot water in showers. Gas stove, and a dish washer.
Cons: garage too small to fit a SUV, very noisy location-one short block from Garnet(Great if you are into partying-which we were not), the evenings were very noisy until 2am even with all the windows closed. No airconditioning (it got stuffy at night with the windows closed), Parking was challenging in the evening, several lightbulbs were not working. I'm sure I could have asked for them to be replaced.Some of the dished were grimy and I had to wash all the dished before we used them which was not a problem because there is a dishwasher.
We would probably stay here again only if we could not afford somewhere farther from the strip. Most of our complaints relate to the noise. If that doesn't bother you this is a great place to stay.
Left on 09/08/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | Pat
The apartment was located at an ideal location; near bars, restaurants, and a few short blocks to the beach. Unfortunately, it was so close to the bars that it was sometimes difficult to sleep at night. However, I still loved the apartment.
Good family time
Left on 09/08/2010 for a stay in September 2010 | Debbie
We have stayed in vacation rentals and time shares in several states. This one is typical of of the quality we have seen, clean and comfortable. The big plus was the price. I am convinced after hours of searching that this is the least expensive accomodation in the downtown/beach area of San Diego. The kitchen saved us more money, cooking meals with groceries from Trader Joe's which is a block away. Advantages were the table in the eat in kitchen, with corner windows, and another table in the living room, again with corner windows. With all open there was good airflow and light. The teens played games at one table while the other served for laptops. The wifi service was great! We had several computers connected at once with no problems. Likewise, the flatscreen Hdtv was excellent for movies. We expected a master bedroom ensuite, but there are actually just three bedrooms and two bathrooms, one off the living room and one off the hallway. This set up was actually a better arrangement for our needs. There is a door to shut off the hall, which helped with late night teen TV time. The beds were comfortable. The downside is the noise. It is not just city noises which we expected, but loud drunken conversations; there was a fist fight in the alley behind the apartment. Makes for great stories, but the couple in the alleyside bedroom got very little sleep. Closing the double paned windows did help. The garage was sufficient for our minivan, a big help with parking and security. We had no trouble of any kind, although we came in a bit intimidated with the check in rules and threats of fines. Overall, it was a good place to stay, and suited the needs of two generations.
We were comfortable but the nights were a little noisy.
Left on 09/08/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | Steve Ashton
Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much. The location was great for beach access and for being within a mile of where our daughter lives. However, the Pacific Beach downtown was a real party place at night!
House is not for a family vacation.
Left on 08/13/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | Yolanda Acuna
The house is old upstaris apartment, ther is no aC so you must have windows open to cool house. Unfortunately its right behind a mexican resturant open 24 hours and a bar. The nights were so loud with so much noise, but it was too hot to shut windows. The kitchen was not a full kitchewn, it had old pots and pans, odds and ends. There was not a blender, the knives were so dull, would not even cut a tomatoe. The gas stove had to be lit. This was a place for college kids to have a party vacation. These accomodations by no means were for a family. The beach bikes offered were not in garage as promised, we had to call to find them and there were in various garages. The bikes were old and not well maintained. The boogie boards that were there were old and broken. Not enough for accomodation for 8. There were stand up fans in home that were so filthy and full of dust, I did not want to use them. Read more
Response from Nancy's Vacation Rentals - 08/14/2010
I'm sorry this woman did not enjoy her stay. I think I make it perfectly clear in my FAQs and description that this is not a quiet area as it is right near the main street of Pacific Beach. The rest of my three bedroom rentals are $2700-$3700/wk and this one is $1700/wk. Big difference! I have tried to minimize the noise with double pane windows, fans and a $65 white noise machinein each bedroom so perhaps she didn't know what they were and didn't use them. Also, we do have many rentals in much quieter neighborhoods. These are our lowest priced rentals. The building is about 40 years old but we have fully remodeled it and bought new furnishings. Yes, there is no AC but AC is very rare in the San Diego beach area and even the ones for $2700-$3700/wk have no AC, just fans. While the kitchen is not large for a 3 bedroom, it IS a full kitchen with a full size stove, oven, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker and if the provided blender has disappeared, one phone call to us could have gotten her a new one right away. It is fully equipped for cooking and eating at home. The knives might need sharpening, I don't usually know that unless someone tells me. She called us about the stove and we went over expecting the pilot light to be out but it was working fine. I'm replacing all the stoves and this one is next.
Mostly families stay here, not college kids, and they put up with the neighborhood noise to save a lot of money. There are 8 bikes and 16 boogie boards and we try to keep them distributed between the 4 garages but guests always move them around so they can use more than what is provided in their garage and people with extra large vehicles move them to other garages to have more room to park. She called us and we helped her locate the bikes. Some might be old (if 2 years is old) but we are constantly replacing them and we try our best to maintain them but we are not a bike shop and don't always have time between guests in the summer to inspect them and take them in. Like the bikes, sometimes you have to hunt them down in the other garages (she was looking for 8). We bought three new fans just last summer for this apartment and I will tell my housekeepers to be more diligent about checking and cleaning the fans in the closets. Nancy
Family of 5
Lots of room for a hotel price!
Left on 08/04/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | Family of 5
The apartment was very nice. It was clean and well stocked with everything you would need for a vacation. The location is ideal if you are into the party/bar scene. For our family, it was a little too loud after midnight with all the bar-goers getting ready to go home.
San Ramon, California
Left on 07/11/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | None
We found the house nice enough but kitchen less equipped than other Vrbo rentals. The house is one block away from bars and restaurants, and was noisy until 2:00 am and then at 6:00 am, the trash trucks woke us up when they picked up the partiers' trash.
cozy and cute.
Left on 07/07/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | Manit
Apartment is well maintained.. and the space is well utilized.. its located pretty close to the major SD attractions..
Very nice stay but sleepless night.
Left on 06/04/2010 for a stay in August 2009 | Peri' family
We spent one week in "Brian's Felspar Apartment" in August 2009. and we liked the apartment very much: it was spacious, comfortable, cheap and close to the beach. All was tidy and clean. The two bathrooms and the kitchen were well equipped.
The only problem wasn’t inside the house but it was outside! In fact there was a terrible noise during the night, (sometimes until 3 a.m.!) coming from the near Tavern and from the “Ramones Mexican foodt” that is just under the bedroom windows.
Large, comfortable apartment, had an excellent time
Left on 06/03/2010 for a stay in April 2009 | Mary
Everything we needed was at the apartment. Plenty of bedding, towels, kitchen things, videos, everything. The place was in great shape, is located on a beautiful street, four short blocks to the beach. The service, before and during our stay, exceeded our expectations. One block away is a very lively part of town, so if you like nightlife, it's all here. We stayed in april during a cold spell, so we had the windows closed most of the nights. If the windows were open, however, we could hear sounds from the lively street one block over. Didn't bother us at all, and when it was time to sleep we simply closed to windows and couldn't hear a thing. Overall, we absolutely loved this stay.
one of the best trips I've ever had
Left on 06/03/2010 for a stay in July 2009 | Gabriel
The property was in excellent walking distance to restaurants, bars and the beach. Perfect for the type of vacation we wanted. The apartment itself was in great shape and the right size for our group of friends. Everyone had a wonderful time! We will definitely be using Nancy's Vacation Rentals for our next San Diego getaway.
Close to necessities; groceries and the beach
Left on 06/03/2010 for a stay in October 2008 | Janice
This is a beautiful apartment in a sweet little neighborhood in Pacific Beach. The walk to the beach was very pleasant through a nice neighborhood and past quaint shops. I give the location 4 stars instead of 5 due to the noise level at the bar across the street on Saturday night. Otherwise the location was perfect; close to Sea World, the beach, and the Marine Corps Recruit Depot.
Culver City, CA
Wonderful family vacation for an off-beat family.
Left on 06/03/2010 for a stay in February 2010 | Tiredoldmama
Our family (mom, dad, 12 yo b/g twins and 14 yo daughter) had a great time staying in Brian's Feldspar apartment. There was plenty of space for the whole family and a great Mexican taco stand behind the apartment for those all-important breakfast burritos. Everything was within walking or biking distance. I think we only got into our car once to make a pilgrimage to Hodads. Even though there was a wild college scene happening on the main drag, the apartment was quiet enough for sleeping at night. All in all a great time with plenty of good restaurants, Trader Joes and Henry's Market all within walking distance.
Las Vegas, Nevada
great value, close to the beach
Left on 06/02/2010 for a stay in June 2009 | NancyLV
Great price for a three bedrooms apartment, within walking distance to shops, restaurents and beach. The only thing I have to complain is that the apartment was across from a bar. It was very noisy from the loud music all the way till 2 am. We could not sleep due to the noise. So, I probably would not rent this place since it is too noisy.
Vacation Rental for Lindsay's Graduation
Left on 05/27/2010 for a stay in May 2009 | Lindsay Davis
The Felspar apartment was great. Very clean, had everything we needed in the kitchen (loved the rice cooker) and its in a great location. Nice neighbors! I had friends coming from all over the country and we all loved our stay.
This place was a fun!
Left on 05/26/2010 for a stay in May 2010 | Xochitl Suarez
We really enjoyed our stay. Everything we needed was there or right around the corner. I would definetley stay there again!
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.