Crystal's See the Sea Condo at Pacific Beach Pier
|Rental type||Apartment / Condominium|
|Minimum Stay||4 nights|
|Living space||960 square feet|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
* Property Type: Condo
* Sq. Ft.: 960
Pacific Beach, San Diego, California
Crystal's condo is located in "SEE THE SEA" Oceanfront Complex right on the boardwalk.
There is nothing between this building and the ocean except for the famous Pacific Beach/Mission Beach boardwalk and the white sand beach. This is the perfect place for taking a stroll along the ocean or riding one of our provided beach cruiser bicycles.
Located in the heart of Pacific Beach at Crystal Pier, you are surrounded by a myriad of restaurants with almost every ethnic choice you an think of; plenty of stores, coffee houses, vintage clothing sho...Read more
Crystal's See the Sea Condo at Pacific Beach Pier
San Diego, California
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$199 - $329||$199 - $329||$1,299 - $1,999||$3,699 - $7,999||4 nights|
|Apr. 7 2013 - May. 21 2013
|May. 22 2013 - May. 26 2013
Memorial Day Weekend
|May. 27 2013 - Jun. 6 2013
Early Summer Special
|Jun. 7 2013 - Jun. 21 2013
|Jun. 22 2013 - Aug. 17 2013
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Aug. 18 2013 - Sep. 1 2013
|Sep. 2 2013 - Nov. 22 2013
|Nov. 23 2013 - Nov. 30 2013
|Dec. 1 2013 - Dec. 19 2013
Early Winter Getaway
|Dec. 20 2013 - Jan. 4 2014
|Jan. 5 2014 - Feb. 12 2014
|Feb. 13 2014 - Feb. 16 2014
Valentine's Day Weekend
|Feb. 17 2014 - Mar. 13 2014
|Mar. 14 2014 - Apr. 5 2014
|Apr. 6 2014 - Apr. 16 2014
|Apr. 17 2014 - Apr. 19 2014
|Apr. 20 2014 - May. 20 2014
|May. 21 2014 - May. 25 2014
Memorial Day Weekend
|View all 18 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 17, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Great Beach Front Rental
We had a lovely time at the condo with our two granddaughters. Everything was convenient to the condo including the beach, a grocery store and many restaurants. Althgough it was a little cool for the grandparents to go swimming the girls did.
The condo was great as it had a lot of kitchen items and the beds were very comfortable. The garage parking was a real necessity and much appreciated as there is very little street parking for extended time.
Information on how to operate the TV in the living room would have helped as we struggled to get it to work at times!
Nice vacation, but we happened to have cold weather.
I would go back again. The accommodations were good. We happened to be there when it was kind of cold. Low 60's during our stay. It was just to cold to lay out or play on the beach.
The location is good. It is within walking distance of nice restaurants and very close to the beach.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Not so much
If you want to take a bunch of college kids partying, this is a great place. The bar is right across the street and will keep you up all night. Nancy claims it is quiet luxury. That is not at all true. This is an old building full of termites and wood rot. Several of the decks are falling off the building and when the City inspects it may be condemned. They have an old hot tub with no view and two old Saunas. The facilities are non-existent and there is no onsite management. While we were there, there were constant repairs and raw sewage everywhere. You can do better.
Smoke and Mirrors
Nancy's Vacation Rentals says their goal is to exceed their guests expectations. Man were we underwhelmed.
First, there is a nightclub right across the street that stays open late and is loud. In a review I read on them earlier today (after we stayed there) someone else complained about this and Nancy's responded stating there are double-paned windows to keep out the noise. You could quadruple pane those windows and it wouldn't matter a bit... its loud! Besides, if you want cooler air, you have to open the windows as there is no a/C!!!
Second, the windows are very close to ground level, which add to the noise of the drunken disorderly and random passerby. The one bedroom has a window that opens up to an alley! Oh yeah, give me more of that So Cal alley I was so excited to see out my window! (that's sarcasm, for those of you not picking that up)
Third - no ocean view... Nope, none, zip, zilch, nada.
Fourth - the homeless factor. I'm not heartless, I do feel for anyone who lives on the street... I just don't want to be inundated with them during my family vacation! Another tough one when traveling with kids.
As you can hopefully appreciate, we were not impressed, nor did we enjoy our time inside this condo. Fortunately, there was enough to do outside the area, beaches, parks, zoo, Lego Land, Sea World, etc to make up for it. If we had to do it all over again, we would not have stayed in this unit nor this location.
I honestly wish I could be more positive regarding our stay.
Response from Nancy's Vacation Rentals - 11/13/2011
We are very sorry to hear that this guest did not enjoy their stay at Crystal's Condo. Unfortunately, they had a lovely ocean view condo reserved in a very quiet area of South Mission Beach. The Condo Association decided to do a renovation on the outside of the building and they did not finish on time so we had to move this guest to the only other property we had left for their dates that accepted pets (we did offer them a full refund in lieu of this option as well). We're quite sure they would not have liked being in the middle of a noisy construction zone either with scaffolding in front of their view! We definitely try to exceed all of our guests expectations and never like to hear that someone did not enjoy their time at one of our properties. We wish they would have called us but we did not hear a word from them. Unfortunately, this quite simply sounds like it was not the right location for this family and they were disappointed not to be able to be in the place they had reserved, and rightfully so. We do not advertise this as an Ocean View condo and clearly state whenever someone emails us for information regarding this property that there is no view from the condo but you are right at the boardwalk and the sand and the ocean. We are aware that this is a noisier and busier area due to it's location right on Garnet Ave and Mission Blvd, the main streets of Pacific Beach and that is definitely factored into the pricing; this particular condo is $500/wk less than our similarly located Ocean View vacation rentals a few blocks away. We sincerely hope that the multiple 4 and 5 star reviews for this property reflect that many families and previous guests have quite thoroughly enjoyed their stay at Crystal's condo. We also encourage all potential and prospective guests to contact us via phone or email prior to making a reservation as we are always here to help identify the best property and location match for our guests. In this unfortunate situation, we simply had no other pet friendly rentals available for them. They did get a refund of the price difference. As for AC, none of our beach rentals have AC. It's just not common in the beach area in San Diego.
Great location, good facilities.
We are an australian family and spent 8 nights in Unit 7 with our 2 kids. It was a time for a bit of respite after 15 days on the road around the USa. We were pleasantly surprised from the word go. A keycode entry meant we could arrive anytime on our first day and not worry about locating/meeting an agent. Both rooms had an ensuite so finally Mum and Dad had their own space! The wi-fi reception was good as were the choice of TV channels in all rooms. The kitchen was superb. There was enough equipment there for us to make our own meals, cocktails and coffee if desired! No shortage of cutlery and crockery. Then there were games and Dvds to chose from if needed. (We were too busy enjoying the San Diego sights). And beach equipment too including beach towels, which is heaven when you're on the road. The laundry was right across from this unit which was great for me (the mum) as I had 2 weeks of washing to catch up on!
In terms of location Mission Beach was perfect. There is a Ralphs down the road for groceries and plenty of dine-out options and bars. The bus service was just around the corner too.
The only downside was the lack of view of the beach but we liked people watching as the crowds gathered each day for breakfast at Konos. Also we were right near the elevator and fire stairs which meant some noise at certain times. Not enough to bother us but we couldn't leave our door open (with screen door locked) to catch a breeze.
Nancys themselves were great with addressing any maintenance needs promptly. Always cheerful, polite and quick. We felt very welcome.
Crystal's Condo was the perfect location for our family vacation. Although we visited during "June gloom" and it was a bit chilly, my son still enjoyed sitting on the terrace every morning watching the ocean and the surfers. The condo is within walking distance to several grocery stores, restaurants, bars and shopping. Kono's restaurant is directly across the street and serves a delicious, huge breakfast. The coffee shop next door boasts the best mochas - there were too many to try them all in our short stay, however, those we did try were awesome. The condo was very well appointed. There is no aC, which was fine since the nights are cool, and there are ceiling fans and floor fans provided. The kitchen is very well set-up for cooking, with all the dishes one could need. We had an issue with a broken hair dryer our first morning, however, after we placed a call, we had two new ones waiting for us when we got back from the zoo that afternoon. The condo also has books, movies, board games, beach toys & towels, and great beach chairs and two beach cruisers. The murphy bed is quite comfy - the bed in the second room is a full-size with a twin trundle. The full bed wasn't as comfy, so my husband and I slept on the murphy bed, allowing my son to have a room to himself, and be put to bed earlier than us adults. Most of the condo has undergone a renovation - however, the bathrooms could definitely use a facelift - very adequate for our needs though. The only flaws I can note are the building is an older one, which needs an overhaul. The elevator is the absolute slowest in the world! Also, there is a bar directly across the street which stays open very late, therefore there was some street noise, which made keeping the sliding glass door open during the night impossible. There is no pool, which my son was upset about, but that quickly abated when he learned he could dig in the sand to his heart's content, and better yet with it being steps away from the condo. There is a hot tub, however, it was out of service our entire stay - it would have been nice to soak after a long day touring, but not that big of a deal.
Overall, we had a great stay, and would definitely consider Crystal's Condo again. We also saw a few of the other properties owned by the same group around the area, and will look into those as well since management was so great!
steve & jan
missouri valley ia
the condo was nice--only issues were no common bath-had to go through bedroom to get to bath.
would be nice if tv had instructions on how to use remote--seems like it takes a bit for it to start up.
really like the bike availability.
kitchen accomodations were great overall
the bar accross the street had loud music-bass --especially at times -luckily it wasn't too bad with the windows closed
the directions for the keys & passcodes was very easy to understand.
liked the veranda to sit and watch the ocean
was a bit confused about the numbering system in the garage--but found our spot ok
also liked the laundry accomodations-nice to go home with clean clothes &
easy trash disposal site as well
Spring Break gettaway
The condo was extremely affordable for the week. It was easy to book and pay for, and get checked in. It's located at a perfect part of the beach, with shops, restaurants, and bars all around - perfect for everyone and anything you are looking for. We had the maximum capacity and there were more then enough beds to appease everyone. It was not overcrowded, and you had a good sense of privacy. A luxurious condo that was one of the best vacation decisions I've ever made.
Nice Condo close to Pacific Beach
This is a nice condo with bikes, beach chairs, and beach towels provided. Very close to the beach. There is a great place to sit on the patio of the condominiums with a close view of the beach.
Our door code didn't work and we had to wait around for about 15 to 20 minutes before we could get in. There's not an ocean view from the balcony. There's a coffee maker and tea pot, so some coffee and tea bags would have been appreciated greatly.
The Nelson Family
loved the area and the weather was great.
the condo it self was very nice. Bathrooms not as clean as I would of liked. The kitchen could have a hand mixer. The noise from the night club was not a problem because the windows had to be closed at night . Just a short walk around the corner to the beach. Grocery just a few blocks away, and lots of other stores close by.All and all had a good time .Just a note to the rental co. the fire alarm is hidden in behind the murphy bed. went off the Mon. night we were there and did not hear it. Could be a real big problem if there was a real fire.
Jean & Family
Calgary, Alberta Canada
My husband and I shared the condo along with our son, daughter, and son-in-law. Our son is in an electric wheelchair, so having an accessible condo was a very important feature. He had no issues with getting in and out of the building/condo and we found there was enough space for everyone to sit comfortably to eat, play board games, or watch tv.
The beds were comfortable and the kitchen was nicely decorated and equipped with all the necessities. We mainly just used it for breakfast and snacks.
We enjoyed being right on the beach and went for a few walks along the boardwalk. The overall location in relation to sight-seeing activities was great. It was a short drive to downtown and not far from the highways. There were many different restaurants within a short walk of the condo and some interesting shops too.
We found it took a few tries to enter the code into the keypad for the front door, but we always managed to get in.
Family from NY
The service that Nancy and her team provided was excellent. The home had plently of sleeping space and the living room and kitchen area were comfortable. The bathrooms were not cleaned well and could use some updating. The location was right at the pier which was good for walking to restaurants,groceries and shopping but also had the noise and vagrants. Comes with the territory I supose. Hard to say that what I like best - close to beach,restaurants etc but with this closeness comes what I liked least which was the noise and vagrants. So if you choose this place you have to now what you're in for.
Great place to stay!
Loves the location and the apartment. We just had some problems with the pipes (one of the toiletts and the disposer). Could really recommend this place! Easy to check-in, the code systesm is really great! Will defenetly contact Nancy's next time we're going to SD.
I must first begin this review with a few words about Nancy's Vacation Rental. Having reached out to many brokers, I noticed a common trend...they all wanted to get you reserved in the first place possible so they could move on to the next person. They didn't ask one question and preferred all communication be over email. Listen, I'm a busy person too so email's usually fine but sometimes a few pics of a place doesn't cut it. This was not the case with "Nancy's". I was overwhelmed by their professionalism and the level of detail they offered in knowing exactly what it was I was looking for. Melissa and Nancy were great! Thank you for making a sometimes blind scenario, clear!! Now on to Crystal's Condo. As we pulled up, we were pleasantly surprised by it's central location to everything! Situated at the very west end of Garnet, a CVS store was 1 block away, Gringo's restaurant (great rib-eye) was next door and a dozen addt'l eateries/bars were within walking distance..Oh, did I mention the sand was 50 feet away!
Upon arrival, we were taken back by how clean the unit was...Spotless in fact! We soon noticed all the little extras left to make sure every detail was covered with our stay: beach chairs, boogie boards & beach towels sat in the closet, clean fresh linens on the bed and extras in the closet, bikes were locked in the garage...even ipod clock radio docks sat in the bedrooms allowing us to enjoy our own personal fave tunes. I'm taking a little extra time writing this not to better serve Crystal Condo's (although it most certainly deserves it) but moreover to speak to all you other consumers out there that appreciate when money's well spent. I'd highly recommend this unit to all out there and will absolutely pass along the good word to my friends. I'll be back for another visit soon! Aaaa+ experience from start to finish. Enjoy!
New Braunfels, TX
Wonderful Vacation - loved every minute!
The location couldn't have been better. The condo unit was very comfortable and had everything we needed. We walked almost everywhere but appreciated the secure garage parking for our rental car. The developement has a beautiful ocean front patio. You are in the heart of Pacific Beach here so expect some street noise if you have windows open at night. We would love to stay here again.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Apartment was clean & comfortable. Nicely decorated and all amenities were there as stated. Had an electrical failure that was promptly looked after. My one major complaint was that the balcony faced a sports bar that was very noisy at night and forced us to keep closed. Could not open front door (privacy) so poor ventilation (hot).
The condo itself wasnt bad, but the lack of description would have helped that their was no direct view of the ocean from here, and it is directly across the street from the very loud Beach Club. The pics show that is has great views, which is false, your view is of the club that will keep you up until 2am every night. You have to walk out to the courtyard to see the ocean, so the lack of a view was a poor thing as well.
Response from Nancy's Vacation Rentals - 09/10/2010
If this condo had an ocean view rather than a street view, it would be $200 more per week in the winter and $500 more in the summer and we would certainly advertise "Ocean View Condo," but we don't. There is a fabulous white water ocean view from the common area lounge chairs and as soon as you exit the building you are right on the ocean boardwalk. Yes, there is a club across the street but they have double pane windows and so do we and we have provided white noise machines in each bedroom.
The condo was newly remodeled,furnishings were comfortable,both bedrooms and baths spacious,pull out murphy bed in living room also very comfortable. Patio at complex had a wonderful view of the ocean. The condo is close to shopping and nice restaurants,and entertainment. Nancys vacation staff was very accommodating if something was needed. We loved it and we would come back again
Sensational vacation. The unit we rented sounded like it faced the ocean, whereas in fact the condo complex faced the ocean, but the unit faced the busy street. Otherwise all was sensational. Nancys service was simply wonderful. Provided bikes were new and nice, a service rep came down on a sunday to remedy a stubborn internet connection. Location was incredible, though the room, facing the busy street seemed a bit pricey.