Crystal's condo is located in "SEE THE SEA" Oceanfront Complex right on the boardwalk.
There is nothing between this building and the ocean except for the famous Pacific Beach/Mission Beach boardwalk and the white sand beach. This is the perfect place for taking a stroll along the ocean or riding one of our provided beach cruiser bicycles.
Located in the heart of Pacific Beach at Crystal Pier, you are surrounded by a myriad of restaurants with almost every ethnic choice you an think of; plenty of stores, coffee houses, vintage clothing sho...ps and Belmont Park in Mission Beach and the Saturday morning Farmer's Market. Plus - fun nightlife is all around you. SeaWorld is only 2 miles away, Old Town is about 3 miles and the downtown GasLamp district, Embarcadero with it's floating museums and SeaPort Village is only about 8 miles. The upscale village of La Jolla has shopping & dining and nice walks along the cliffs. The location is perfect for enjoying the beach and all the sights and Amusement parks that San Diego has to offer!
At the condo, relax in the lounge chairs in the common area which are behind a glass wall that cuts the wind off the ocean and provides a privacy barrier while still allowing you to enjoy the sight and sounds of the waves. There is also a Jacuzzi to help you relax after a long day of sightseeing. This first floor condo is just above the gated parking garage. There is an elevator for your convenience.
The partly wheelchair friendly condo was partially remodeled in June 2010 with an all new kitchen, granite counter tops, and lovely hardwood cabinets. It has 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with showers, one of which you can roll a wheelchair right into. There are tile floors throughout.
The California-style kitchen opens to the dining and living room areas, is fully equipped with everything you need to cook and enjoy dinner at home! There is an electric grill on the balcony (gas and charcoal are not allowed). We installed NEW wall mounted LCD HDTVs in each room, plus DVD players and an iPod docking station. Of course, we also provide Cable TV and internet with WiFi.
From the balcony (this is not an Ocean front facing property) you look out to Crystal Pier on your right with a peek of the ocean through the well known and often painted Crystal Pier arch. Enjoy the ocean breeze and the relaxing sounds of the Pacific Ocean. Kono's very popular restaurant (breakfast and lunch only) is right across the street.
We have listened to you, and know that you prefer a king size bed in the master bedroom and the second bedroom has a double bed with a pull out single trundle bed. We also know that you prefer Murphy beds to those uncomfortable sofa beds, so we installed a double Murphy bed in the living room. Minimum of 300 count quality bed sheets and comforters on each bed.
Both bedrooms have private baths, flat screen TVs mounted on the wall and roomy mirrored closets with plenty of space to keep the condo looking orderly.
Enjoy the beach with beach cruiser bikes, beach chairs, beach towels, an umbrella, boogie boards and children's beach toys.
For your convenience, there's a coin op washer/dryer right across the hallway and free parking in the gated garage under the condo building. You have the option to leave your car parked and walk to everything you need and just enjoy the wonderful temperate climate that San Diego is famous for.
Left on 04/24/2014 for a stay in March 2014 | Aussie Traveller
This place was the perfect location for us and having bikes was the best (the bikes weren't fantastic but one phone-call to the lovely staff and they had them fixed up for us within the hour)! It was clean and close to absolutely everything! we had a wonderful week in San diego and would not hesitate in staying here again!
This was amazing!
Left on 04/11/2014 for a stay in April 2014 | Spring Break!
This condo was clean and efficient and the proximity to the beach and boardwalk was spectacular!
The Dalles, Oregon
Super Location in very nice condo!
Left on 02/24/2014 for a stay in February 2014 | Ritzymom
I rented this condo for my son, his wife, and three children and the layout was perfect. This is a very roomy condo. The amenities provided were excellent; kitchen had everything one needs to cook any type of meal including crock pot! The location of the complex is perfect for its proximity to shops, Ralph's grocery, CVS, restaurants, and Crystal Pier and the ocean are right outside your door. There is a peek view as this unit is on the Garnet side of the building. That is the only down side to this condo or it would be 5 stars. Even though it is across from a bar, there was no noise unless you opened the balcony door.
Left on 01/13/2014 for a stay in December 2013 | Kerri
The condo we rented was a terrific location. I have many friends who live the pacific beach area and have traveled to the area many times over the years, this was the closest I have ever stayed to the ocean! In fact, most of my friends said they would recommend this place when they have family visiting in town. The unit was clean, well stocked with basic needs and the beds were super comfortable. Bonus that they allowed our dog to come along and stay with us. Having Kono's for breakfast across the street and Fat Fish Cantina next door were major pluses! We really enjoyed lounging on the deck over looking the boardwalk every night to watch the sun go down. We only hopped in our car once in 5 days (to visit Coronado), everything worth doing was within walking distance. I would definitely go back and stay here.
Loud and dated
Left on 10/13/2013 for a stay in October 2013 | Julie
The location was great as was the ease of checking in and out. The kitchen was well stocked and the best part of the rental.
Bathrooms are dated but are supplied with shampoo, body wash and conditioner. However, there were no bath mats and not enough towels.
There were great beach chairs but the umbrella was broken. We were told a new one would be brought on our second day but it never arrived. Plenty of beach toys too if you have small ones.
The bikes were a joke. The man's bike has a wobbly back tire and the woman's seat falls off! They are ready for a dumpster!
The unit sits rights near the pier across from a sports bar and Kono's. While we knew that we didn't have a beach view, I didn't realize that the master bedroom is on the first floor above the back alley. It was too hot to close the windows and the noise kept us up or woke us up each day of our stay. Ceiling fans would have been helpful so at least we could close out the noise..
We would not choose to rent this particular unit again. Read more
Response from Nancy's Vacation Rentals - 10/13/2013
We did try to find another personal beach umbrella but there just aren't any this time of year at the end of summer. I believe the owner plans to remodel the bathrooms this winter. I have written the owner that we are going to replace the bikes this week and that it would be helpful to have ceiling fans installed in the bedrooms. There are already portable fans in each closet. This not a quiet location due to the sports bar across the street but we provide white noise machines in each bedroom and definitely took the noise into consideration when setting the price of this rental. Nancy
Our experience was magic!
Left on 07/30/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | Bernard
This condo is very well situated at the heart of PB. It is closely situated to every kind need (food, ocean, music, ) so perfect rental to stay in.
El Paso Texas
Hot and noisy, but Great Location
Left on 07/10/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | Kelly
I drove in from El Paso Texas and the weather was 106 deg. When we arrived in San Diego we didnt realize the condo has no air conditioner. The fans provided were noisy and barely worked. The temp. of the condo during the day was ok, but at night it was hot. Couldnt use the fans because they were tooo noisy. Couldnt open the windows at night because the windows face the street and alley. Car noise all nite long. Trash trucks start at 6 am. Other than hot and noisy the condo has great location.
Salt Lake City,UT
Great, but not enough sun!
Left on 06/14/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | Janet
place was clean, and close to everything, beach, food, shopping
Everything it was advertised to be and then some!
Left on 06/05/2013 for a stay in May 2013 | Irish Clan
First of all from the very beginning the staff at Nancy's were all excellent, I only wish I toke note of the names so I could mention them personally. All question we politely answered and they even accomidated us with an early check-in. The condo was exactly as it was described. The location could not have better, close enough to come back from beach for snacks or restroom break. The unit was actually larger than it looked in pictures, and stocked with more than everything need for beach vacation. I could have brought much less than I did. They really have anticipated every need. There are so many shops and restaurants so close really no need to drive anywhere. However because one in our party loves to cook, we ate most meals in. The chef amongst us said this was the best stocked kitchen he has ever seen in a vacation rental.
Now for the not so great- the unit is noisy at night due to the bar outside window, Nancy' has attempted to remedy that with white noise makers, which did help. The Murphy bed in living room is quietest place to sleep. It would have been nice to leave windows open as apart from the bar it was a quiet location. My only reason for not giving an "excellent" rating, was the unit could have been cleaner. When in search of an outlet I noted quite a bit of dust under the bed. But all the important areas seemed fine. Also one shower head was leaking and eventually broke completely. That should have been reported by previous renters.
All and all we were extremely satisfied and will definitely book with Nancy' again! And can confidently recommend to others.
San Diego Vacationer
Pacific Beach Vacation
Left on 05/27/2013 for a stay in May 2013 | San Diego Vacationer
The condo is fine and the location cannot be beat in terms of easy access to the great beach. It is a first floor condo on a busy street across from a bar that advertises live music Wed-Sun and they delivered. The noise was a problem that kept us awake most nights. Also, random things like a car alarm going off for an hour at 5 am and a nightly sax player on the street contributed to the noise. These issues are in no way the fault of the property owners/managers and we enjoyed our time there, but if you are traveling with small children and/or go to bed before the bar closes, the noise might be a factor. Otherwise, nice location with great access to beach and easy trip to SeaWorld and other local attractions.
Great Beach Front Rental
Left on 04/15/2013 for a stay in March 2013 | The Zs
We had a lovely time at the condo with our two granddaughters. Everything was convenient to the condo including the beach, a grocery store and many restaurants. Althgough it was a little cool for the grandparents to go swimming the girls did.
The condo was great as it had a lot of kitchen items and the beds were very comfortable. The garage parking was a real necessity and much appreciated as there is very little street parking for extended time.
Information on how to operate the TV in the living room would have helped as we struggled to get it to work at times!
Nice vacation, but we happened to have cold weather.
Left on 04/04/2013 for a stay in March 2013 | Wes
I would go back again. The accommodations were good. We happened to be there when it was kind of cold. Low 60's during our stay. It was just to cold to lay out or play on the beach.
The location is good. It is within walking distance of nice restaurants and very close to the beach.
Smoke and Mirrors
Left on 11/09/2011 for a stay in October 2011 | Dude Disappointed
Nancy's Vacation Rentals says their goal is to exceed their guests expectations. Man were we underwhelmed.
First, there is a nightclub right across the street that stays open late and is loud. In a review I read on them earlier today (after we stayed there) someone else complained about this and Nancy's responded stating there are double-paned windows to keep out the noise. You could quadruple pane those windows and it wouldn't matter a bit... its loud! Besides, if you want cooler air, you have to open the windows as there is no a/C!!!
Second, the windows are very close to ground level, which add to the noise of the drunken disorderly and random passerby. The one bedroom has a window that opens up to an alley! Oh yeah, give me more of that So Cal alley I was so excited to see out my window! (that's sarcasm, for those of you not picking that up)
Third - no ocean view... Nope, none, zip, zilch, nada.
Fourth - the homeless factor. I'm not heartless, I do feel for anyone who lives on the street... I just don't want to be inundated with them during my family vacation! Another tough one when traveling with kids.
As you can hopefully appreciate, we were not impressed, nor did we enjoy our time inside this condo. Fortunately, there was enough to do outside the area, beaches, parks, zoo, Lego Land, Sea World, etc to make up for it. If we had to do it all over again, we would not have stayed in this unit nor this location.
I honestly wish I could be more positive regarding our stay. Read more
Response from Nancy's Vacation Rentals - 11/13/2011
We are very sorry to hear that this guest did not enjoy their stay at Crystal's Condo. Unfortunately, they had a lovely ocean view condo reserved in a very quiet area of South Mission Beach. The Condo Association decided to do a renovation on the outside of the building and they did not finish on time so we had to move this guest to the only other property we had left for their dates that accepted pets (we did offer them a full refund in lieu of this option as well). We're quite sure they would not have liked being in the middle of a noisy construction zone either with scaffolding in front of their view! We definitely try to exceed all of our guests expectations and never like to hear that someone did not enjoy their time at one of our properties. We wish they would have called us but we did not hear a word from them. Unfortunately, this quite simply sounds like it was not the right location for this family and they were disappointed not to be able to be in the place they had reserved, and rightfully so. We do not advertise this as an Ocean View condo and clearly state whenever someone emails us for information regarding this property that there is no view from the condo but you are right at the boardwalk and the sand and the ocean. We are aware that this is a noisier and busier area due to it's location right on Garnet Ave and Mission Blvd, the main streets of Pacific Beach and that is definitely factored into the pricing; this particular condo is $500/wk less than our similarly located Ocean View vacation rentals a few blocks away. We sincerely hope that the multiple 4 and 5 star reviews for this property reflect that many families and previous guests have quite thoroughly enjoyed their stay at Crystal's condo. We also encourage all potential and prospective guests to contact us via phone or email prior to making a reservation as we are always here to help identify the best property and location match for our guests. In this unfortunate situation, we simply had no other pet friendly rentals available for them. They did get a refund of the price difference. As for AC, none of our beach rentals have AC. It's just not common in the beach area in San Diego.
Great location, good facilities.
Left on 09/26/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | Yvonne
We are an australian family and spent 8 nights in Unit 7 with our 2 kids. It was a time for a bit of respite after 15 days on the road around the USa. We were pleasantly surprised from the word go. A keycode entry meant we could arrive anytime on our first day and not worry about locating/meeting an agent. Both rooms had an ensuite so finally Mum and Dad had their own space! The wi-fi reception was good as were the choice of TV channels in all rooms. The kitchen was superb. There was enough equipment there for us to make our own meals, cocktails and coffee if desired! No shortage of cutlery and crockery. Then there were games and Dvds to chose from if needed. (We were too busy enjoying the San Diego sights). And beach equipment too including beach towels, which is heaven when you're on the road. The laundry was right across from this unit which was great for me (the mum) as I had 2 weeks of washing to catch up on!
In terms of location Mission Beach was perfect. There is a Ralphs down the road for groceries and plenty of dine-out options and bars. The bus service was just around the corner too.
The only downside was the lack of view of the beach but we liked people watching as the crowds gathered each day for breakfast at Konos. Also we were right near the elevator and fire stairs which meant some noise at certain times. Not enough to bother us but we couldn't leave our door open (with screen door locked) to catch a breeze.
Nancys themselves were great with addressing any maintenance needs promptly. Always cheerful, polite and quick. We felt very welcome.
steve & jan
missouri valley ia
Left on 05/26/2011 for a stay in May 2011 | steve & jan
the condo was nice--only issues were no common bath-had to go through bedroom to get to bath.
would be nice if tv had instructions on how to use remote--seems like it takes a bit for it to start up.
really like the bike availability.
kitchen accomodations were great overall
the bar accross the street had loud music-bass --especially at times -luckily it wasn't too bad with the windows closed
the directions for the keys & passcodes was very easy to understand.
liked the veranda to sit and watch the ocean
was a bit confused about the numbering system in the garage--but found our spot ok
also liked the laundry accomodations-nice to go home with clean clothes &
easy trash disposal site as well
Spring Break gettaway
Left on 03/31/2011 for a stay in March 2011 | Mark
The condo was extremely affordable for the week. It was easy to book and pay for, and get checked in. It's located at a perfect part of the beach, with shops, restaurants, and bars all around - perfect for everyone and anything you are looking for. We had the maximum capacity and there were more then enough beds to appease everyone. It was not overcrowded, and you had a good sense of privacy. A luxurious condo that was one of the best vacation decisions I've ever made.
Nice Condo close to Pacific Beach
Left on 03/14/2011 for a stay in February 2011 | Tucson family
This is a nice condo with bikes, beach chairs, and beach towels provided. Very close to the beach. There is a great place to sit on the patio of the condominiums with a close view of the beach.
Our door code didn't work and we had to wait around for about 15 to 20 minutes before we could get in. There's not an ocean view from the balcony. There's a coffee maker and tea pot, so some coffee and tea bags would have been appreciated greatly.
The Nelson Family
loved the area and the weather was great.
Left on 02/14/2011 for a stay in January 2011 | The Nelson Family
the condo it self was very nice. Bathrooms not as clean as I would of liked. The kitchen could have a hand mixer. The noise from the night club was not a problem because the windows had to be closed at night . Just a short walk around the corner to the beach. Grocery just a few blocks away, and lots of other stores close by.All and all had a good time .Just a note to the rental co. the fire alarm is hidden in behind the murphy bed. went off the Mon. night we were there and did not hear it. Could be a real big problem if there was a real fire.
Jean & Family
Calgary, Alberta Canada
Left on 01/26/2011 for a stay in December 2010 | Jean & Family
My husband and I shared the condo along with our son, daughter, and son-in-law. Our son is in an electric wheelchair, so having an accessible condo was a very important feature. He had no issues with getting in and out of the building/condo and we found there was enough space for everyone to sit comfortably to eat, play board games, or watch tv.
The beds were comfortable and the kitchen was nicely decorated and equipped with all the necessities. We mainly just used it for breakfast and snacks.
We enjoyed being right on the beach and went for a few walks along the boardwalk. The overall location in relation to sight-seeing activities was great. It was a short drive to downtown and not far from the highways. There were many different restaurants within a short walk of the condo and some interesting shops too.
We found it took a few tries to enter the code into the keypad for the front door, but we always managed to get in.
Family from NY
Left on 12/09/2010 for a stay in November 2010 | Family from NY
The service that Nancy and her team provided was excellent. The home had plently of sleeping space and the living room and kitchen area were comfortable. The bathrooms were not cleaned well and could use some updating. The location was right at the pier which was good for walking to restaurants,groceries and shopping but also had the noise and vagrants. Comes with the territory I supose. Hard to say that what I like best - close to beach,restaurants etc but with this closeness comes what I liked least which was the noise and vagrants. So if you choose this place you have to now what you're in for.
Great place to stay!
Left on 10/28/2010 for a stay in October 2010 | T
Loves the location and the apartment. We just had some problems with the pipes (one of the toiletts and the disposer). Could really recommend this place! Easy to check-in, the code systesm is really great! Will defenetly contact Nancy's next time we're going to SD.
Left on 10/20/2010 for a stay in October 2010 | Jason A.
I must first begin this review with a few words about Nancy's Vacation Rental. Having reached out to many brokers, I noticed a common trend...they all wanted to get you reserved in the first place possible so they could move on to the next person. They didn't ask one question and preferred all communication be over email. Listen, I'm a busy person too so email's usually fine but sometimes a few pics of a place doesn't cut it. This was not the case with "Nancy's". I was overwhelmed by their professionalism and the level of detail they offered in knowing exactly what it was I was looking for. Melissa and Nancy were great! Thank you for making a sometimes blind scenario, clear!! Now on to Crystal's Condo. As we pulled up, we were pleasantly surprised by it's central location to everything! Situated at the very west end of Garnet, a CVS store was 1 block away, Gringo's restaurant (great rib-eye) was next door and a dozen addt'l eateries/bars were within walking distance..Oh, did I mention the sand was 50 feet away!
Upon arrival, we were taken back by how clean the unit was...Spotless in fact! We soon noticed all the little extras left to make sure every detail was covered with our stay: beach chairs, boogie boards & beach towels sat in the closet, clean fresh linens on the bed and extras in the closet, bikes were locked in the garage...even ipod clock radio docks sat in the bedrooms allowing us to enjoy our own personal fave tunes. I'm taking a little extra time writing this not to better serve Crystal Condo's (although it most certainly deserves it) but moreover to speak to all you other consumers out there that appreciate when money's well spent. I'd highly recommend this unit to all out there and will absolutely pass along the good word to my friends. I'll be back for another visit soon! Aaaa+ experience from start to finish. Enjoy!
New Braunfels, TX
Wonderful Vacation - loved every minute!
Left on 10/08/2010 for a stay in September 2010 | SDSU Mom
The location couldn't have been better. The condo unit was very comfortable and had everything we needed. We walked almost everywhere but appreciated the secure garage parking for our rental car. The developement has a beautiful ocean front patio. You are in the heart of Pacific Beach here so expect some street noise if you have windows open at night. We would love to stay here again.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Left on 10/02/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | D.Thurston
Apartment was clean & comfortable. Nicely decorated and all amenities were there as stated. Had an electrical failure that was promptly looked after. My one major complaint was that the balcony faced a sports bar that was very noisy at night and forced us to keep closed. Could not open front door (privacy) so poor ventilation (hot).
Left on 09/10/2010 for a stay in September 2010 | lynzcox
The condo itself wasnt bad, but the lack of description would have helped that their was no direct view of the ocean from here, and it is directly across the street from the very loud Beach Club. The pics show that is has great views, which is false, your view is of the club that will keep you up until 2am every night. You have to walk out to the courtyard to see the ocean, so the lack of a view was a poor thing as well. Read more
Response from Nancy's Vacation Rentals - 09/10/2010
If this condo had an ocean view rather than a street view, it would be $200 more per week in the winter and $500 more in the summer and we would certainly advertise "Ocean View Condo," but we don't. There is a fabulous white water ocean view from the common area lounge chairs and as soon as you exit the building you are right on the ocean boardwalk. Yes, there is a club across the street but they have double pane windows and so do we and we have provided white noise machines in each bedroom.
Left on 09/02/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | RLM Arizona
The condo was newly remodeled,furnishings were comfortable,both bedrooms and baths spacious,pull out murphy bed in living room also very comfortable. Patio at complex had a wonderful view of the ocean. The condo is close to shopping and nice restaurants,and entertainment. Nancys vacation staff was very accommodating if something was needed. We loved it and we would come back again
Left on 07/16/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | Fabulous
Sensational vacation. The unit we rented sounded like it faced the ocean, whereas in fact the condo complex faced the ocean, but the unit faced the busy street. Otherwise all was sensational. Nancys service was simply wonderful. Provided bikes were new and nice, a service rep came down on a sunday to remedy a stubborn internet connection. Location was incredible, though the room, facing the busy street seemed a bit pricey.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.