Casa Buena Vista
|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Classic San Francisco Victorian
Casa Buena Vista is a finely appointed 2-level Victorian flat. Within an Asian theme, d?Šcor efforts have been made to maintain classical style while still providing maximum comfort and a spacious living room. The master bedroom is large and features a working fireplace. The second bedroom includes a full bathroom and both rooms have views of the well maintained garden. The lower level of the unit has a well-stocked kitchen with eating area and the second full bathroom. The yard is large and professionally landscaped with a gazebo and BBQ. Located in the Haight Asbury neighborhood near Central and Bu...Read more
Casa Buena Vista
San Francisco, California
(Property location is approximate)
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$265||$265||$1,785||$6,000||2 nights|
|General Rate||$265||$265||$1,785||$6,000||2 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 22, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Mediocre Vacation Rental in a Great Neighborhood
My family and I stayed at this rental over the summer for about a month. So we got a pretty good feel of the place. My first impressions were: old home with victorian charm, beautiful garden, however not thoroughly cleaned and dirty bed linens (smelled of body odor).
*Great neighborhood close to Haight St. (shopping, food, grocery)
*Near bus lines that go to downtown San Francisco
*The place wasn't thoroughly cleaned upon arrival. We had to clean it on our own in order to feel relaxed about using the facilities. I couldn't sleep very well because the bed linens were used and not washed (we actually had to wash them ourselves at a laundry facility so that we could get a good nights sleep in clean linen).
*Price for rental was a bit high for what we got.
*Loud noises during early morning and late at night. During early morning hours you can hear footsteps from upstairs on the hard wood floors and the garage door opens at odd times in the middle of the night.
*Kitchen is downstairs and dining room is upstairs. You have to carry your food up steep steps to the dining room.
*The door to the stairway leading down to the kitchen & 2nd bathroom could not be locked. This created some uneasiness because when you think about it, any one of the owners or their employees could walk down there. It made me feel nervous about using the downstairs bathroom in the middle of the night. I feel like my fears were confirmed because one morning muddy footprints were in the bathroom which wasn't there the evening before. We had to clean up the footprints and looked a little like human or dog feces.
*Casa Buena Vista's office is connected to the kitchen, separated by a door.
There's lots of room for improvement. A little more cleanliness, new locks, and new sheets could do wonders for this place. If these things were addressed regularly, I may consider renting this place again.
Response from Casa Buena Vista Rental - 05/15/2013
Thanks for your comments. We have replaced all linens and this is done regularly. We have made installed a lock on the door that previously did not have one.
We also have installed coin operated washer and dryers for the unit.
I was swindled by this agency.. to avoid .. not to undergo scamm
The staying was correct. Not seeing my future security deposit required, I called the agency and I learned with amazement that they accuses me of having deteriorated a cold jammed water tap and seized despite my explanations, explaining that we had found like this and we did not have cold water but just used the warm tip as it was not so hot ,so good enough and clearly, despite good faith, this remained a dead letter and I had to pay the $ 225 repair. They blamed me for not having called to complain. This method does not return detestable expensive for the agency to maintain its locations accusing tenants despite evidences to make them pay for maintenance at low cost .. flee these crooks without any scruple.. It is ashame..
Less Modern Than Expected
Comfortable stay but having the kitchen downstairs and the dining table upstairs was not very convenient. There was no laundry facility on site. Owners were friendly and helpful. Location was further away from downtown than I expected. Parking was easy and free on the street. The furniture and linen were a bit dated and could do with being replaced.
About as bad as it gets...
The worst experience we've ever had in thirty years of travel. We spent most of our stay trying to get someone--anyone--to help us resolve a series of problems with the unit:
1. The frame of the fold-out sofa was so mangled that it would not stay open, so our children had to sleep on the floor. It took two days and numerous phone calls to get anyone to come and look at it. When someone finally showed up, they walked in without knocking, scared our daughter and left after handing us two inflatable mattresses.
2. The pocket door in the bedroom only closed half way, so there was no privacy.
3. The upstairs bathroom adjoins an atrium. When my daughter came out of the shower one morning, she looked up to see someone from the owner/manager's apartment above looking down at her from an upstairs window.
4. The furnishings are old and worn, very uncomfortable and dirty/undusted.
The mangement was unresponsive and unapologetic (they charged us full price); the unit needs a total remodel; and we'd suggest you find somewhere else to stay.
Response from Casa Buena Vista Rental - 07/23/2012
While we definitely feel badly about the guests experience, the comments made are not entirely truthful. The previous guest damaged the pull out sofa so it could not be used. We had no idea this had taken place as they pushed the sofa back in. We managed the inflatables, which was our only solution, the same day. We appreciate that they were not an ideal solution. On Monday, a new sofa was provided but unfortunately, this was after the guests departure.
There was no party upstairs so we think this comment was simply an error. The pocket door does close all the way but may require a bit of effort. We apologize and will attend to that.
We made numerous and generally unsuccessful attempts to reach this guest. We spoke to them several times in an effort to resolve all issues.
Roomy space for the money
Loved this Victorian house. We have grow to love renting condos or houses when we vacation. It is so nice to have a space that is more like home. We were in the downstairs with two bedrooms, dinning room, living room, two baths, and kitchen. Lots of charm. Good location for us in that we wanted to play in Golden Gate Park. The host and hostess were very charming and friendly. I liked the little gazebo in the back. All in all, my family was happy with the stay. What would have made the stay much better was if they replaced the bed in the second bedroom with a king size bed and the second bathroom was not downstairs(both bedrooms are second floor and the bathroom was on the third floor). The Queen size bedroom in one room was comfortalbe, the second bedroom has a day bed with a roll out that makes the bed a gueen size, but it is noisy and not comfortable. If it wasn't for the bed I would have rated this as very good 4 stars and the value and comfort would ave been upgraded to four stars.
Spring break in San Francisco
The house has a lot of charm and character but the accommodations themselves were not very comfortable. The upstairs bathroom could only be accessed from within one of the bedrooms (not even the master bedroom)so it made it very inconvenient for our family at night. The second bathroom and kitchen are downstairs which is ok but the door to the hallway connecting the upstairs with the downstairs does not lock from the inside so did not feel secure and made it very inconvenient to use the downstairs space with kids and at night.
The beds themselves were not very comfortable either.
The location and neighborhood were excellent though.
The unit has a reserved parking space which was convenient but the person who checked us in gave us the wrong key to the front entrance so had to call the on call person the first night when returned from dinner and could not get in.
Overall the stay was ok but have stayed in much more comfortable rentals in SF for same or less money.
Nha Trang, Vietnam
characteristically lovely stay in 2 Buena Vista properties
The Noe Valley Suite has become our home away from home (Vietnam) for each of our visits with our infant twin sons. A comfortable home in a great neighborhood. Co-residents are friendly and helpful. Parking a little annoying if you have a car, but public transportation is very convenient.
When our last visit was involuntarily extended and the Noe Valley Suite was unavailable, Jan helped us get into another appropriate property on short notice.
Good location, and good price for a family of 5
Small hotel rooms in good locations in San Fran are expensive so to get two levels of a house near Haight ashbury and with a kitchen included (for 5 of us to use) meant it was perfect for our needs. It made a good base for going out and about around town with public transport conveniant (Carl and Cole street station was only a 5-10 minute walk away) and cheap ($2 each) for us to get to Union Square and elsewhere.
The appartment is big and comfort, however there were 2 things that need to mention - laundrary - there is no laundrary in house for those who rent first floor
Parking in the street and recieved fine due to parking not as need
St. George, Utah
Would definitely come again
We stayed in this beautiful home for three nights. It was build in the late 1800s, and the owners tried to keep it authentic. It smells a little old, but that just makes the experience better. ;-) The rooms are big, everything was working well, the kitchen is well stocked, and overall the apartment was very clean. The kitchen and the master bath are downstairs which was no problem at all.
The bathroom to the second bedroom (which has basically two twin beds) has one quirk, though. It has a hot water and a cold water spout, one on each side of the sink. So you either wash with extremely hot water or ice cold one (or "mix" it in your hands first) - this was not very handy at all...
That's the reason why I am not giving this place five stars.
One other thing: we had rented for four adults, a preschooler and a baby. Unfortunately, we had no bedding set up for the sleeper couch in the living room and I had to work my way through several closets (one in the garage) to be able to find enough bedding to make a bed). Also, I had to call to find the portable crib which I had requested (which was also in the garage).
But this was not a big problem; I am just mentioning it for the next guests that they should call ahead to make sure that all the bedding is being provided.
To sum it up: we loved it, would absolutely recommend it and would come back! Thank you!
The apartment was used for a family function while we were out!
We stayed for 3 nights with friends. The owners live above the apartment and have an office beside the kitchen on the ground floor. On the second morning (around 7.30am) without warning, the owner came through the connecting door and told us that the family were having a function during the day and would be using the back garden. The kitchen to the apartment faces out to the garden. While initially surprised at the intrusion, we didn't think anything more of this until we got home from our day.
Our apartment kitchen had been used. Dips we had purchased and were in the fridge were gone. To make matters worse, the downstairs bathroom had been used - obviously repeatedly. Our towels were soggy, floor grotty. Our toiletries (including my jewelry) had been pushed aside.
We decided to try and not let this bother us. We only catch up with our friends every couple of years.
We were then sitting eating dinner upstairs and the hallway door opened and 'someone' started to walk downstairs. I approached her and she advised she wanted to go the quick way down to the office!! She was a friend of the owners. I said that we were paying considerable money for this apartment, and felt it was not appropriate for anyone to walk through whenever they wished. she then retreated back upstairs.
Overall, this left a very bad taste in our mouths and I couldn't recommend this establishment to anyone concerned about these sort of issues.
Also, the website states Laundry facilities, there are no such facilities - but there is a wonderful cheap quick laundromat less than 5 mins walk! I did ask the owner about this, he said the laundry facilities are only for week stays??
The location is great, quiet street and near public transport.
Response from Casa Buena Vista Rental - 08/02/2011
We truly apologized for the experience which this guest had at the property and it is truly not acceptable. We have never had a similar experience with this owner in the past. We agree, the experience was totally unacceptable.
We would like to offer this guest one free night at any location we manage on a future visit.
Nice place with lots of space. We were a group of 5 and it didn't feel crowded at all. The kitchen is tiny but we didn't use it much so it wasn't a big deal. It's quite a walk up the hill so people with decreased mobility would be challenged. The owner was really helpful and when we did rent a vehicle we managed to find parking in front. The neighborhood is authentic San Francisco and there was bus service close by.
This place was nice for the most part. However, I don't feel like it was very clear what to expect. There are apartments that are rented out in the upstairs of the building. I knew that the rental office was in the main floor but didn't know about the apartments. The bedroom situation was a little odd as well. It didn't really work for two couples and a teenager. So, I would recommend it more for parents and kids. I think this place could really be great if it was updated and redecorated. There are a lot of dings in the wall and the outside there was good bit of equipment, ladders and such. I would definitely go back if they updated. All and all it's a great price and a nice place, I just think it could be better.
nice location, nice house
great location with buses and supermarket nearby; very quiet; nice furniture. nice garden.
Do not be scarred of stairs because kitchen is dowmstairs and dining room upstairs.
The owner live on 2° and 3. floor, which is convenient in case of problem.
One negative point : cleaning not well done and linen not changed if you stay 2 weeks
60th Birthday Travelers
Shermans Dale, PA
A fine adequate place
The check in process was fine. It seemed a bit strange to have the owners office right there, but it worked out okay. The location is ideal and the place is very spacious.
Excellent alternative to a Faceless Hotel
Usually I stay in one of the big chain hotels when I am on business travel. There you always know in advance what you get, and everything always looks the same.
So be prepared: This is not a hotel. However, if you would like to stay in something with much more charm and get an insight of a real Victorian SF home, this is perfect for you.
Boston Road Warrior
Great option for SF vacation with the kids
My wife and 3 kids (ages 8, 6 and 5) stayed here for a couple of nights in late July. Only downside is we couldn't stay longer. This is a great alternative to a hotel - especially if you would otherwise have to get two rooms. True it's not in the middle of all the tourist attractions but I consider that a plus. Great coffee shops and restaurants just down the hill on Haight St. and easy enough to get to downtown or Fisherman's Wharf. Having free parking and a dedicated spot was a plus along with free wi-fi. I've seen some comments that this property wasn't white glove clean like a 5 star hotel. That's true, but you're not paying 5 star prices. I certainly don't mean to suggest that it was dirty. It was certainly cleaner than most people keep their own house but not so perfect as to be sterile. Keep in mind that this is a flat, not a hotel room. It's like borrowing a friend or family member's apartment while they're away. It's immediately comfortable and feels like home. We couldn't have been happier with our stay.
Perfect answer for our needs; very accommodating people!
Best kept secret for a place to stay in San Francisco!
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Could be ameliorated
Pleasant roomy apartment easily accessible by car. Parking space right in front of apartment. Wonderful. Instructions to get and return key was user-friendly.
Small kitchen situated on a lower level in basement not practical. Table in kitchen too small to seat 5 so we had to bring everything on upper floor back and forth by narrow stairs. Kitchen recently renovated could benefit from a dehumidifier. A good cutting knife would have been appreciated as well as dishcloths to wash and dry dishes.
Bathroom in basement was humid, cold and moldy smelling and toilet flush handle was broken so we had to pull trap inside water tank by hand.
Sheets and pillows could be refreshened, particularly for the sofa hide-a-bed that looked pretty tired.
Haven't seen any phone.
Wouldn't take much to make this apartment a 5 stars!
Rachel, Montreal, Canada
HAVEN NEAR HAIGHT ASHBURY
We arrived early from East Coast and after some searching (ie phone calls) gained entrance to our
"home away from home" for 5 days. Delighted with
comfortable and spacious living room and dining room-new kitchen on lower level. Quality of furnishing, bedding, etc made Casa Buena Vista more like a home than rental!
Easy walking distance to several restaurants on Haight Avenue-parking was a BIG plus!
It was lovely to look out at green BUena Vista Park in one direction-and small garden to rear of
Improvment: need to clean up dog poop in garden as one would be reluctant to use the two seating areas!
Host most helpful and accessible
Will recommend to friends and clients!
sao paulo, Brasil
Wonderful option for SF
the location of flat is very, very desirable. The apartment is very spacious and agreeable. The kitchen is downstairs with second bathroom.
I will return to SF and would rent this apartment again.
Lake Tahoe, CA
Easy, Great house, Awesome location
This house was exactly what we were looking for. A perfect location for everyone. We needed a place where a group of friends from out of town and locals could meet up. Central location. Close walk to Haight, which was awesome and an easy place to grab a taxi. The house was comforatble for our short stay. We never come to the city to enjoy the lodging. There is too much to do and see! We were always in and out, but at night coming home to the comfortable beds was all we needed! Thank you and hope to come stay again!
New York City
Low Cost, Hi Reward
A group of 6 six friends, including myself, spent 4 nights at this
beautiful house, located next to the Buena Vista Park and one minute
uphill of all the stores and restaurants in Haight St.
The house if spacious, well equipped and has a cute backyard and
garden to relax in the evenings. To be fair, we did not have the chance
to use the kitchen and spent only the nights there. Everything that we
needed (rooms, bathroom and wi-fi), however, was well maintained
and functioning, and we received a friendly treatment from the owner.
Considering the location, quality of the house and final price we
considered ourselves lucky to find this bargain. If you stay here, you
will feel rewarded with a pure SF flavor coming not least of all by the
fantastic views at the end of breathtaking hills (behave those of you
with physical problems).
While the location was good, I do not think that the accommodation was up to standard. The family had a dog as well that we were unaware of that obviously had freedom of the house. Smelt very musty - not the best for asthmatics
Great place for families
We had a great time at Casa Buena Vista. Location was
good...although not central, a direct bus went straight to the heart of
the city and was very reasonably priced. The apartment was well
furnished and perfect for us with 2 young kids (6 and 2) as there was a
separate sleeping area for them. The owners dog was also a big hit!
The only downside was the kitchen being out of the apartment and
down a flight of stairs. It wasn't a particular issue but we hadn't
realised this was the case when we booked.
Lovely owners live upstairs and were very helpful in suggesting bus
We'd stay here again.
Everything was clean, main bedroom bed comfy, second bedroom
could do with proper beds not sofas that turn into beds. Main
bathroom clean, but no shower curtain. shower dark, no light.
Downstairs kitchen horrible, didn't use it at all. Even got take out
coffee! Downstairs bathroom cold and dark, didn't use.
Liked location, heating adjustable which was great. Nice area.
Response from Casa Buena Vista Rental - 02/25/2010
Since this review was submitted the owner of the unit totally remodeled the kitchen and upgraded the downstairs bathroom. There was always a shower curtain in the upstairs bathroom.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Weekend in San Francisco
Five friends gathered together for a weekend in San Francisco. We stayed at Casa Buena Vista for 3 nights. We were comfortable. The bedrooms were clean and spacious. The common eating and sitting area was pleasant. The owners live on 2nd floor. We rented the first floor. The kitchen is down some steep stairs into the basement. It is small but was adequate for our needs. We were there in March and the back yard was still in winter mode. It must be lovely in the summer. The house is in a great location - only a short walk to public transportation. We bought a "Passport" that enables you to get on and off all methods of public transportation. Using that we were able to take the bus to the cable cars and to Fisherman's wharf and all over. The neighborhood felt safe. It was located close to stores and restaurants so we just left our car parked in its designated spot by the house and walked or took public transportation. If you want to go to San Francisco and have a reasonably priced experience - this is the way to go. We had a wonderful time.