Tucked away at the end of a quiet street, this secluded beach front property consists of only (4) four townhome residences. There is a heated swimming pool which faces out to the Gulf of Mexico capturing the warm breezes and spectacular views. Each townhome residence has approximately 2,000 sq. ft. of living space for everyone to spread out in and a private garage to safely store your vehicle and/or beach and fishing equipment.
Unit # 1
3 bedrooms, 3.5 bathrooms, Sleeps 8.
You will walk into the first living level where you will find an open living room/dining room/kitchen floor plan. White tile floors, rattan furnishings, w...ith splashes of yellows, blues, and greens gives this residence a warm Florida feel. It has a newer kitchen with solid surface counter tops, light wood cabinets, tray ceiling with recess lighting, and a breakfast bar with stools. The living room features a sleeper sofa, remote TV, DVD/VCR, CD radio, and wall-to-wall sliding doors to the screened balcony which you can open to let in the wonderful Gulf breezes. There is a half bathroom also located on the main living level. Go upstairs where you will find the 3 bedrooms, and 3 full bathrooms. The first guest bedroom has two twin beds and the guest bathroom has a tub/shower combo. The 2nd guest bedroom suite has a king size bed, remote TV/VCR combo, and a private bathroom with a walk-in shower. The 3rd guest bedroom suite has a king size bed, remote TV, and a private bathroom with a tub/shower combo. Both of these suites have wall-to-wall windows providing sparkling beach views. This owner provides high speed wireless internet, beach chairs, a beach umbrella, beach towels, charcoal grill, and a hair dryer for your convenience. This is a "pet friendly" property and the owner will allow you to bring your family dog for an additional fee. SORRY, NO CATS.Read more
Left on 01/16/2014 for a stay in January 2014 | The Shellers
Island Vacations provides a clean and attractive rental for this family. The view from Golden Beach #1 is a million dollar sight on the Gulf of Mexico and shell strewn beach. The accommodations are more than large and offer three bedrooms and a well lit first floor with a balcony and stairs to the boardwalk to the Gulf. A large park nearby makes for a more private sense of place, as does the size of Golden Beach, only 4 units, including dog friendly #1. While some aspects of the unit suggest a need for updates, the unit itself is serviceable, spacious, and dell placed geographically on Sanibel, with ample parking for our two cars. Sanibel Island needs no promotion--if you like preservation, civility, good food, and friendly locals, good weather, shopping, and lots of leisure time, then I recommend a week in Sanibel over the winter, especially for you Midwesterners (we came all the way from Miami, and our neighbors came from Tampa). While shelling is optional, it seems to be addictive, and provides a source of entertainment and excitement not available elsewhere, and it is literally down the stairs from your home. This was our third visit to Golden Beach #1 and it may not be our last. One view from your living room or bedroom and you will congratulate yourself on your decision.
Sub-par compared to previous rentals on the Island.
Left on 10/21/2013 for a stay in September 2013 | Sherry
Looked great on the website and again at first inspection. However, the air conditioning had been poorly maintained - there was water leaking from the ceiling vent in the upstairs bath, through the wall and down through the ceiling on the lower floor. Previous damage to the walls/ceiling were evident. Had to call a.C. guy out twice. Lid to blender missing. Knives dull. Linens didn't fit king beds. Decking boards right in front of condo on Gulf side needs replacing - rotting boards, nails & screws scattered about. Pool not cleaned first week. Small, older TVs throughout. Couldn't park in garage due to owner's storage. Few beach towels. Washer/dryer not working well - had to run clothes through several times to get dry. Fridge (newer) froze everything in back. Very small closet/bath in second King room. Gulf front vegetation very overgrown (with snakes) right against decking. No use of first floor cabana - just empty room with no access.
Good things: great location (end of private street, right on Gulf, only 4 units total), close to Jerry's and other shopping/restaurants/etc, boardwalk out to beach in good repair, beautiful view, spacious, nice furniture, private pool just for the four units, rapid response from Island Vacations to our issues.
We booked through a third party (Coast to Coast)and found out we paid almost $2,000 more for two weeks than if we'd booked directly with Island Vacations. We do intend to go with Island Vacations again and will probably rent another Golden Beach unit (other three in much better condition and only #4 is more expensive #3 also had a.C. issues). We had specific needs - at least 2 of 3 rooms w/King or Queen beds, pool, grill (ours was brand new!) and pet friendly (just rescued a boxer) and had #1 been better maintained/outfitted (owners live abroad), we would use this one again.
Overall, this unit met our needs though and we had a great, relaxing vacation despite these issues! Amazing Sanibel sunrises!!! Read more
Dear Sherry, Thank you for your comments on Golden Beach #1. We are contacting the owners regarding your specific concerns, as well as the property manager about the deck and pool. As a rental company, we welcome all feedback and will do our best to make things better. We're happy you will return to Island Vacations and Sanibel Island!
Here 3 more rentals located nearby.
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 240,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.