Great House with Hot Tub - East Cliff Drive
|Minimum Stay||3 nights|
Suitable for childrenYes
Suitable for the elderlyYes
Description from the manager
A Santa Cruz Delight, 2-2425 East Cliff Drive is a fully furnished 2 bedroom - 1 bath duplex across the road from the 26th Avenue Beach. This dog friendly property sleeps 6 comfortably. Relax in the hot tub in the private back yard! This home is perfect for a family retreat or romantic get away. A short drive to the famous Santa Cruz Boardwalk or the quaint Village of Capitola by the Sea. 2 Parking Spaces ~1100 Square Feet
Check-In: 2:30 pm
Check-Out: 11:00 am
Great House with Hot Tub - East Cliff Drive
Santa Cruz, California
(Property location is approximate)
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$350 - $400||$0||$1,400 - $1,900||$0||3 nights|
|Aug. 1 2012 - Aug. 1 2013||$350 - $400||-||$1,400 - $1,900||-||3 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 20, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Grass Valley, CA
Great house-Great location! Buzy street to cross to get to the b
We had the pleasure to stay @ this location for a week. In our group we had 2 11yr old children, 2 @ 15yrs old, 2 dogs, and 2 adults. For our group the house was perfect! Despite the lack of privacy in the living room the younger two girls loved sleeping in front of the tv, & even said the sofa bed was pretty comfortable. The washer/dryer option (though shared)was awesome especially being so close to the beach. There was only 8 large bath towels in the house which is understandable but inconvenient for a wet sandy group. Luckily I had read my reviews already and brought beach towels, I suggest you do the same! Map quest gives very misleading directions & beach house rentals gets you a little closer, but they also have their directions wrong! The house is located on the corner of 24th st & E. Cliff dr. E. Cliff is a very buzy road and where this house sits people are driving quite fast. For our group this was literally exactly where we wanted to be. Inbetween capitola and Santa Cruz and right along the beach, for us it was perfect! When we first arrived we drove around for about fifteen minutes trying to "guess" where the house could be since we got two different addresses and neither one of them were right. This can lead to some frustration after a four hour drive. Along with this frustration arriving @ a house right along a buzy road was a bit dissapionting. After the first day all frustration dissappeared. This house is so central once you drive in either direction you will be glad you stayed there. There is a perfect beach just accross the street and down a very short walk. Sc is beach fire friendly & it was awesome to have a beach fire @ night & be able to walk back to the house to get things we forgot or use the restroom. The beach accross the street doesn't have a curfew so plan on at least one night staying out late on the beach. Overall I would definately recommend this house and would stay here again on our next visit!
Response from Beach House Rentals - 04/03/2013
Thank you for this great review! We really appreciate your feedback and we are sorry to hear that the directions were misleading. We will take this into account for future guests. It sounds like you really enjoyed the location regardless and we can't wait to have you back again!
Our Wintery stay
We spent a cozy week here in December. some days we had heavy storms with local flooding and some days were as beautiful as a person could desire. We always felt warm and comfortable in this place. The kitchen was well-supplied, the beds were comfortable, and everything was well-designed to be dog-friendly. We walked one block to a dog-friendly beach, with friendly dog lovers, one of whom told us we should be sure to visit the beach in Carmel with our Corgi. We had two great visits to Carmel, walking through town and on the beach.
Response from Beach House Rentals - 01/10/2013
It sounds like you and your Corgi really enjoyed this home and location to the fullest. We're happy to hear that it met all of your needs. We hope you can visit Santa Cruz again soon!
Kid friendly house steps away from beach
We enjoyed our stay at this beach rental. The house was as described--a good size,lots of books and board games in the closets which our kids enjoyed, and we found everything we needed in the kitchen. The beach was literally just steps away with great views and little crabs. The hot tub wasn't working properly but when we called the property manager they sent someone out to repair it within 24 hours. The only negative experiences we had were 1) blinds badly needed replacing in second bedroom. The room smelled strongly of disintegrating plastic--probably not a good thing to breathe! It was ok as long as blind was rolled up and window open but should be fixed. 2) Closet in second bedroom was full of very smelly linens and blankets--I assume used for pets. Should be marked for animals and washed or at least stored in closed containers. Other than that, an enjoyable stay for the whole family.
Response from Beach House Rentals - 09/17/2012
Thank you so much for this review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the nearby beach. We have addressed the issues that you encountered and we hope that you come visit Santa Cruz again next year.
Close access to the beach = nice stay in Santa Cruz
We very much enjoyed our stay in this rental and found the location to be ideal. Our family enjoyed many afternoons at the beach nearby and quick access to shops in Capitola. The house is comfortable, bright and decent sized enough for a small family although the single bathroom was a bit cramped for four people. The backyard is a nice private escape and the kids enjoyed taking dips in the hot tub to warm up after spending time at the beach. Value-oriented vacationers will need to keep in mind the price of this rental when booking their stay. It's not fancy and could use some updating but that is reflected in the cost. We did find it somewhat disappointing to see that some past reviewer's complaints continue to go unaddressed. Specifically, the musty odor in the front bedroom which, as we discovered, is related to a decaying vinyl blind that needs replacing. This is a simple fix that would greatly improve one's first impression when arriving to the rental. We also found some pet hair that had not been cleaned away and some dirty area rugs. Overall, a good value for the money considering the close access to the beach and we would stay again.
House in a great location with only a short stroll to the beach. It is also fairly quiet neighborhood.
We'll be back...
We plan to return to this rental the next time we're travel to Santa Cruz. It was convenient and very comfortable. We chose this apartment from your listing on the website and it was exactly as promised. We've use rentals like this in the past all over the country and in Europe and this one was better equipped than any other we've used.
Our only problem was actually finding the place. The map provided on the website appears to be seriously inaccurate.
Response from Beach House Rentals - 10/13/2011
Thank you so much for the review!!! It sounds like you really enjoyed the house. We can't wait for your next visit!
A nice time by the beach with our dogs
This house was very close to dog friendly beaches. It was nice to be able to walk them there. It was pretty much in the center of what we like to do when we visit Santa Cruz. Great location. I wish the kitchen was better equiped. No blender, measuring spoons/cups to speak of. Also, I felt the dishes weren't very clean.
Response from Beach House Rentals - 10/11/2011
Thank you so much for your review. We've read your suggestions and will be making changes to better suit our future guests. Thanks again!
Great place to stay
Great place to stay, lovely house in a good local neighborhood. 1 block from beach. Had my parents come over from England to visit and they enjoyed the house and area. Had 2 children with us and the house has movies, board games, books for them which they loved. Backyard was the best, spent a lot of time out there BBQ, relaxing and dips in the hot tub. Close to Boardwalk and downtown Santa Cruz (5 min drive) Would defiently want to stay there again.
Response from Beach House Rentals - 08/18/2011
Thank you for the review! It sounds like you found the perfect vacation location for your family. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
'Old people,' teens, and dogs, love Santa Cruz
I made reservations on-line late at night, on short notice. As soon as I clicked on 'send' after acknowledging that my reservation could not be cancelled, I realized that I had asked for the wrong dates. I was somewhat upset but the nice folks at Beach House Rentals had no problem accommodating me.
I boarded my dogs nearby so that I could pick them up and take them to the beach. This is a dog friendly rental but I didn't want to leave them unattended and I have a puppy that is not quite civilized.
The teenagers loved the boardwalk and Capitola Beach. The only complaints are that the couch hida-bed was small for 2 people (I brought a cot) and there were not enough towels and the WiFi had a weak signal that didn't work everywhere in the rental. The location was great and we were blessed with wonderful weather.
Response from Beach House Rentals - 07/10/2011
Thank you for the review! We are always happy to accommodate our guests, no matter what the issue may be :) We are happy to hear you and yours had a great vacation.
great place, but needed items were missing
The duplex is wonderful; however, since the place is advertised as sleeping six, it should have 1) six chairs for the dining room table, and 2) six bath towels. I had to call my husband-who was to arrive a day later than me--and ask him to bring two of our chairs so that we had enough seats for everyone. I did not catch the lack of bath towels until the second morning. I also found the lack of fitted bottom sheets for the mattresses in the bedroom unsatisfactory--I spent the first night with the bedsheets all tangled up around me--and I chose to remove the waterproof mattress protection (too slippery) the subsequent nights in an effort to keep the sheets on the bed.
In addition, the kitchen was missing some very needed items: a kitchen sponge, coffee filters, additional tea towels (having only three makes one rely way too much on paper), and dishwasher detergent--all items I do not think you can reasonably expect a renter to anticipate needing to bring.
Lastly, my daughter, who teaches community college, was relying on having internet access (she is teaching two online classes this summer), and to not have access prevented her from doing her job.
Response from Beach House Rentals - 06/28/2011
Thank you so much for your review. We have taken your comments into consideration and will improve upon the areas you mentioned. We hope you enjoyed stay!
Huntington Beach, CA
Great vacation in Santa Cruz
The house was everything we hoped for and more. A very comfortable and homey 2 bedroom with everything we needed for a one week stay. It was perfect accommodation for our Labrador Retriever as well, with a fenced in yard. The location is great - it is quiet, yet the beach is a short walk away. Easy to drive to, and parking for 2 cars. Nothing was lacking and a great time was had by all.
Response from Beach House Rentals - 05/04/2011
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the beach house! We're glad your dog enjoyed it too. We hope to see you again soon.
Jim and Jean
One pat and a thought for you.
Strong service kudo's to the owner, who promptly made a call and took care of a (probably unique) potential problem with our dogs: there were foxtails in the back yard, which are dangerous to dogs. A thought or two, the bedroom closest to the front is very musty. We would not have wanted to sleep in it, but the other bedroom was fine. Also, the wireless would be much safer if it was password secured.
Huntington Beach, CA
Absolutely quaint, relaxing and lovely
My husband and I live in Huntington Beach, CA. We live in a beach home and enjoy our livestyle. My husband is a surfer so we wanted a getaway that we could bring our lab with us and he could surf.
This was my first time using Beach House Rentals. What a great experience. The staff is so professional and very kind and knowledgable.
It was a great vacation rental. The unit was perfect for us. Great location, 7 houses from beach. Kitchen with all you needed. Great hottub (but we wished the top was hydralic)...it was hard to remove and replace. The back yard was awesome for our lab!!! We BBQd every nite.
We highly recommend using Beach House Rentals for your vacation needs. We will return very soon!!!
Thank you for a great experience.
Response from Beach House Rentals - 12/09/2010
Thank you for the kind review! We are glad you (and your doggy) enjoyed your Santa Cruz vacation. We hope to see you again soon!