You won't find a more romantic or private cabin in the Smoky Mountains than Bear Hugs! This small but elegant cabin is hidden away in thick woods with a small running creek flowing through in front of the cabin. Whether relaxing in the romantic hot tub on the private deck, soaking in the indoor Jacuzzi tub, or just enjoying the wood burning fireplace together you will love the peace and solitude offered in Bear Hugs! Its time to unplug and unwind. (No television services available.) Its the perfect "Getting to Know You Again" cabin. And, you are mere minutes from Pigeon Forge, Gatlinburg or enjoying the Smoky Mountains National Park!
... Additional amenities include: total privacy at cabin, coffee maker, indoor jetted tub, outlet shopping, cd player, nearby grocery, secluded - total privacy, cookware, near creek or pond, wood fireplace (seasonal use), close to pigeon forge, near national park entrance.
Left on 06/20/2013 for a stay in May 2013 | Ashley
This cabin was perfect for our getaway. I choose this cabin mainly because there was no TV! That was the best thing ever. It really allowed us to reconnect which was the main reason for the getaway in the first place. It was private, remote, cozy! Love love love this cabin and will be staying again in the future.
Left on 06/20/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | AJ
The cabin was so beautiful and quiet..perfect honeymoon spot! I love the scenic Smokies and this was the perfect place that was reasonable priced! Great Cabins had great customer service and was there when I had questions. Thank you!
Left on 05/29/2013 for a stay in May 2013 | Cyndy
We were looking for privacy, peace and the "extra" touch to make our week away from work, obligations, etc. perfect. We found it here. Location of the cabin we were in was surrounded by towering trees. We could not see (except for a small area through the trees) the neighbors. We were able to hike through out the area, discovering fabulous views of the Smokey Mountains. Close by (down off of "our" mountain), were unique gift shops and food offerings (boiled peanuts were outstanding). We were in a easily navigable driving distance to golfing, sightseeing and complete enjoyment of our Smokey Mountain National Park. Advice on locating the cabin was friendly and down to earth...our questions were answered without us having to ask. This time away from the daily demands was what we needed and fortunately were able to experience.
not that bad
Left on 04/23/2013 for a stay in April 2013 | Bobby
we really enjoyed our visit to tennessee. The only issues we had were the phone in the cabin was disconnected and we asked them to fix it two times they never did. And we had problems with the fridge blowing breakers we told them about that as well and nothing was done to fix it eather but tennessee is beautiful we will definately be returning this year we just wont rent from great cabins in the smokies anymore
Left on 04/05/2013 for a stay in March 2013 | Matt
My wife and I came to relax and celebrate her birthday. The Cabin was very nice, clean, and cozy!! Only down side was the gravel road getting to the cabin. My wife has a Honda Insight so the deep gravel when you first turn off the main road was a problem. No problems other than that I would recommend to anyone who is looking to get away and relax.
Left on 04/02/2013 for a stay in March 2013 | rene
The cabin was wonderful and quite and relaxing. The hot tub was wonderful after a long day of hiking the trails. It was well maintianed and very clean! thank you great cabins!
Get away Roadtrip
Left on 03/29/2013 for a stay in August 2012 | Bears
We stayed here last august during a roadtrip through the area! It was an amazing 3 days of relaxing and hanging out in Nature! The cabin was spotless, clean and had everything we needed. We loved to sit on the front deck with drinks and just listen to the animals! Would definitely go again!
Jack and Robin
Great Cabin in the Smokies
Left on 03/28/2013 for a stay in June 2012 | Jack and Robin
My wife and I chose Bear Hugs for our 10th Wedding anniversary and could not have been more pleased with the choice. The location was private, but not too far from our favorite sites and Gatlinburg. The cabin was immaculate with everything in perfect working order, and the office staff were very professional and accommodating. We also chose Bear Hugs because it allowed us to include our two Shih Tzu pets in the stay. We highly recommend Great Cabins in the Smokies, and Bear Hugs, and hope to visit again soon.
GERALD & RUTH
Left on 07/09/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | GERALD & RUTH
The service was great ,the cabin was decorated nice ,the place in a very remote area plenty of privacy, we spent more time on the deck than any where. Had a major storm on last night there. Knocked out power. With that in mind take a few candles along,or may an emergency kit along.Or maybe the rental CO. Put in a small kit in case something go wrong they very Careing group to work with what a way to enjoy a vacation the mountains are great. Thank you great cabins.
Andy and Terri Hood
Glen Gardner, New Jersey
Big Hugs for Bear Hugs
Left on 04/18/2012 for a stay in April 2012 | Andy and Terri Hood
My wife and I stayed at the Bear Hugs Cabin and must say that it was the most enjoyable and relaxing experience ever!
The cabin was immaculate, the Management was extremely accomodating. The location was unbelieveably secluded and serene. When we read the description of the cabin and its amenities we were not overly impressed with the presence of a hot tub and never imagined using it. That being said, we enjoyed it every evening after hiking in the Gsmnp. It was a joy to be totally unplugged - no TV and no cell phones. We will definetely be back!
Left on 03/21/2012 for a stay in March 2012 | jalar004
My boyfriend and I went to the Smokies for a romantic getaway at Bear Hugs and from the moment we walked in until we left it was magical! The cabin was spotless! Nothing was dirty. It smelled like wood-something great. We used the hot tub every night even when it was cold. The fireplace was great to cuddle up. We didn't need to take anything but food. Although they have a fully stocked kitchen, their pots and pans are old so your food will stick--that's the only thing I would change. Other than that the place was excellent!!! Read more
Response from Great Cabins in the Smokies - 03/22/2012
We will check those pots and pans and replace them, if needed. Thanks for your feedback!
Best weekend ever!
Left on 03/14/2012 for a stay in March 2012 | Jonas H
My Fiance and I spent our anniversary weekend at this cozy cottage. Everything was clean and the environment was very relaxing. The location is perfect (not too far from either Pigeon Forge or Gatlinburg), and the seclusion was amazing! They are very pet friendly, having only a $50 fee for upto 2 pets. This was a lot less than most other places. We could not have picked a better location and we look forward to spending many more romantic get-aways there! Read more
Response from Great Cabins in the Smokies - 03/29/2012
Thanks for the really nice review! That's what we like to hear!
Ashley and Coleby
A peaceful escape
Left on 03/04/2012 for a stay in February 2012 | Ashley and Coleby
The cabin only being one room, except for the bathroom, and having no TV was was quite a shock to us when we first arrived, but after a night we realized just how peaceful and romantic it truly was. We enjoyed the cabin, but being outdoors people, wet wished that the scenery would have been a little better. But altogether, the cabin was decorated beautifully, it was very clean, and we really enjoyed spending our first anniversary here.
Bear Hugs in Early Winter
Left on 12/24/2011 for a stay in December 2011 | KrOOger
If your looking for a secluded place to reconnect with life and disconnect with modern society, this is the place.
Be sure to stock up at the local grocery when you first get there so you can enjoy the simple life of kebabs on the grill and coffee on the front porch.
Stay away from Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg, they are tourist traps and offer little except a bite to eat, (although there is a local soap shop and natural beef jerky place in Gatlinburg if you find yourself dragged there). Instead, use those groceries to make a picnic basket and adventure through the smokies and take in the natural life most of us are starving for.
This cabin is perfect for a couple to rekindle love around a warm fire and good food. It is clean, well maintained, and furnished perfectly (since there is no T.V.) for reconnecting.
We would use this company again.
Left on 07/21/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | jessica mott
My husband + I were stressed and needing a quiet but romantic get away. Bear Hugs cabin was extremely private, clean and lovely. The kitchen was veryfunctional with everything you needed. The whirlpool tub was great and the hot tub on the front porch made for and great way to start and end each day. A great place to go out on day hikes and adventures and then return home too. We would definetly come again.
Quiet and relaxing
Left on 05/18/2011 for a stay in May 2011 | Monica
Both the cabin and setting are beautiful, secluded, and quiet. I had a wonderful and relaxing time. The amenities are great, and it was nice to soak in the hot tub after a long day of walking around Gatlinburg. Highly recommended.
Fantastic alone time!
Left on 05/12/2011 for a stay in April 2011 | Emotional healing
I was on a solo trip, traveling through the area when I decided last minute to head to the Great Smoky Mt Park. I emailed Great Cabins to find out availability, was greeted pleasantly, given a great rate and was able to pick up my key after hours. The cabin was perfect, although the furniture was cramped (the chair and couch were just too big). Aside from that very minor thing, the cabin was a perfect respite for an emotional healing weekend. The location was remote, no television, a quiet road for a walk with the camera and a run late afternoon. Would absolutely return again!
J & C Williams
Pure Heaven on Earth.
Left on 04/04/2011 for a stay in March 2011 | J & C Williams
We had a wonderful weekend. We loved listening to tree frogs and crickets after nightfall. We also enjoyed hearing the turkeys coming off of roost in the mornings. I love the fact that there was no TV. We hated to leave come Sunday morning.
Pamela and Ray
Secluded escape in the Smokies
Left on 03/30/2011 for a stay in March 2011 | Pamela and Ray
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bear Hugs cabin. It is perfect for 2 and everything you need for a romantic getaway. It was a wonderful blessing to get away from the internet, TV and phone for the weekend. The cabin was nicely decorated and furnished. We loved the wood burning fireplace and hot tub. We will definitely be back next year.
Fantastic time in the mountains!
Left on 01/27/2011 for a stay in January 2011 | Elizabeth
My significant other and I met for a mountain rendezvous between two hectic schedules. This was the perfect place to relax and rejuvenate. We built fires, cooked, and drank wine with nothing to interrupt us. Close enough to Pigeon forge or Townsend if you forget anything at the grocery, but out of the carnival scene. Great experience!
A Wonderful Thanksgiving
Left on 11/28/2010 for a stay in November 2010 | Diane
Yes, the cabin is small, but what more do you need for two people? We prepared an entire Thanksgiving feast in the kitchen with no problems. It's always been a dream of ours to have a fire in the fireplace over the holidays and it all fell in place perfectly. We especially liked how remote the location was. No TV and the Mifi was too slow to load pages but it really didn't matter. A refund for the Mifi would have been nice, but other than that everything was perfect! Read more
Response from Great Cabins in the Smokies - 11/29/2010
Thanks for your honest comments! Glad to know you had a wonderful time in Bear Hugs. oh, and we will be sending you out a gift card to cover the cost of the mifi!
Alot Smaller than the Pics online appear
Left on 09/24/2010 for a stay in September 2010 | Sandy Dickey
The number one complaint is that the cabin is much much smaller than what is shown online in photos. They photos are altered so the cabin appears larger and this is false advertisement. We were very cramped in the small space all weekend.
On the first night that we were there, the hottub stopped working and we had to have someone come out and fix it. And the lights on the hottub never came on or worked.
Finally, the towels...we were given 4 cheap, white and thin "walmart" towels to last two persons the duration of the 4 days we were there, which was not enough!!! I check my back account a few days after checking out and a $210 charge had been taken from my account without any notification. They charged me twice for the balance I had already paid when I checked in and said they charged me $11 x 2 for two towels that were damaged during our stay. I requested proof because I know that the towels were not damaged and they management said it would be another $30 if he emailed me pictures for proof of damage. I feel like Great Cabins stole money for me and I will never stay with an cabin they manage. They are unprofessional and their ethics are lacking. Read more
Response from Great Cabins in the Smokies - 09/24/2010
You certainly have listed quite a lot for me to address but I'm going to take the time to address these things and then people can judge for themselves who has the lack in ethics.
While you were with us, you called to report a problem with the hot tub and we immediately dispatched maintenance out to the cabin to check on the hot tub. We repaired and adjusted the jets and made sure the hot tub was working for you. No, the light on the hot tub did not work and the maintenance man told you that we had to order parts before that could be repaired.
The reason you were 'cramped' was that, as you admitted to me in our phone conversation, you had 4 to 6 friends or family come to visit you. You admitted that they brought a dog with them. This cabin is advertised to accommodate 2 adults - not the group that you had in the cabin.
Finally, you are ultimately upset that we charged you $75 upon departure - $50 for a pet fee and $25 for replacement of 2 bath towels that were used to wipe or clean up something and were totally ruined. As I told you during our phone conversation, I stand by our decision and our charges. Im very sorry for things to come to this but I do not feel as though we are in the wrong for charging for the damages done and the pet we were never notified about.
Left on 08/29/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | honey mooners
This was a nice cabbin it needs washer and dreyer other than that it was verry beautiful out off the beaten path and no rel nows. made for a great getaway.
Left on 07/29/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | traveler
While the house was well decorated and secluded with a beautiful view...it was overpriced for the amenities (or lack thereof) and the bed / mattress was uncomfortable...
Rest and Relaxation
Left on 07/29/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | Terri
This was the first vacation my Husband and I have had together in about 6 years. We were able to relax and enjoy each other. Loved drinking our coffee on the porch each morning in the quiet peace. What a beautiful place.
We are already talking about returning again.
Left on 04/29/2010 for a stay in April 2010 | jnic
My wife and me spent our honeymoon here and had a greta time. It was
private and just the right size. The one thing that really stood out, is that the
place was so clean!! I own a log cabin, and they are impossible to keep clean,
and this one was! We were really impressed and would like to come back again!
Back to the Basics
Left on 04/14/2010 for a stay in April 2010 | Griggs
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bear Hugs. The service at the leasing office was top notch. We arrived late Sunday afternoon, but they had everything waiting for us in the night drop box.The home was immaculate with all of the essentials. The location was far enough from the hustle and bustle of Pigeon Forge and Sevierville but it was only a 10-15 minute drive to get there (depending on how many turkeys we waited for to cross the road). We enjoyed the solitude the most and we didn't mind that there was no television.
The only negative aspects of our stay were; the chemicals in the hot tube were too strong (it turned my husbannds wedding band brown and caused us to cough even when we opened the top to let it air out for a while before we got in, someone kept calling the cabin looking for someone else - the calls started at 8am - we told them this was a vacation cabin, but more than one person was calling for this same individual. Other than those things, we truly enjoyed our stay overall. Read more
Response from Great Cabins in the Smokies - 04/20/2010
Thanks for your great comments! Sorry about those pesky calls and the strong chemical smell of the hot tub. We have been trying to fix this problem and are monitoring this very closely before each arrival to try to correct the amount of bromine going into the water daily. We're very sorry it was still a problem for you.
Birthday Weekend-Good and Bad
Left on 03/05/2010 for a stay in February 2010 | Eagle
The location was great. Fairly secluded with great amenities. The firewood provided was a pleasant surprise upon arrival. The home was fantastic and we loved the fact that it was without a T.V. Our favorte part of the enitre trip was playing Sorry in front of the warm fire.
Despite the fantastic amenities and location we suffered a fairly serious chemical burn from the hot tub. This put a slight kink in out plans since we had to run to the store to buy aloe vera and triple antibiotic to treat the burns.
All in all a good trip save the strange chemical burns. The rental place was notified so the issue should be resolved! Read more
Response from Great Cabins in the Smokies - 03/08/2010
We were alerted to your situation you had with the hot tub via your email sent to us a couple of days after you departed, and we immediately contacted you to apologize and find out what could have caused the skin irritations.
We're still not really sure what happened to cause the skin irritations, as the hot tub was cleaned, refilled and checked prior to arrival. But, again, we do apologize for this problem. Glad to hear that everything else was enjoyable for you.
Cozy, simple, relaxing!
Left on 01/12/2010 for a stay in December 2009 | smokyreviewer
My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon in chilly December. The weather put no damper on our experience. The staff was friendly, the cabin was impeccably clean, the fire was warm, and there were no outside disruptions. Completely secluded and exactly what we were looking for. The cabin website was spot on with our expectations. We would love to come back!
Left on 12/08/2009 for a stay in November 2009 | s.wykaconnell
My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here in this cabin! It was perfect for the two of us and our small dog. We enjoyed a fire in the fireplace every night, a dip in the hot tub, and the peaceful quiet of the mountains. I have been telling every one I know about Great Cabins! in the Smokies.
Left on 11/05/2009 for a stay in October 2009 | nettie
the only thing to improve the stay would be s tv to watch videos in the evenings or a rainy day.I have recommended to several of my friends. we had to leave 4 days early due to a family illness in Illinois.
needs new hot tub
Left on 11/05/2009 for a stay in October 2009 | Lisa
cozy, quaint, isolated, all this describes this cute little cabin away from it all. Our only disappointment was that the outside hot tub on the porch was not usable. The water temperature never got warm enough and the unit was very old, had staining that was permanent, we even had to have their maintenance person come out to reset the motor to get the jets running. I think the only reasonable advertisement for this place is without hot tub until it is replaced. I read earlier reviews that stated similar concerns and thought (my mistake) that maybe it had been fixed. Read more
Response from Great Cabins in the Smokies - 11/06/2009
We are very sorry for your disappointment in the hot tub. As you noted, our maintenance staff did come out and immediately get the hot tub running again for you. And the good news is that we have now replaced the electronics which was the cause of the current problem.
Left on 10/28/2009 for a stay in October 2009 | misty
We had a great time at Bear Hugs. We loved how secluded the property is, and how cozy. The only thing we would have liked to have seen in the cabin was a television with a DVD player. It would have been nice to have been able to rent a DVD on one of the nights during our stay. But overall, we had a great time! Very relaxing!
Asheville North Carolina
it was wonderful
Left on 09/24/2009 for a stay in September 2009 | stephzc2
We had a short mini vacation. To get away from the rat race. The cabin was very clean and comfortable. We were so relaxed when we were there. We sat on the front porch and listened to the rain, which was so peaceful. We would recommend this cabin to anyone who want to get away for some peace and quiet. To see the stars and listen to the crickets at night, and have the cool breeze blowing it was Wonderful. Thank you
Nature Lovers X 2
Tucked away and Room for Two !
Left on 09/17/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | Nature Lovers X 2
Bear Huggs is a nice but small cabin tucked away in the Smokies. It was located off the main paved road about 300 to 500 ft. down a rocky dirt path off the main paved road and our Honda CRV was put to good use.Once there, a small climb to the door and your in with some panting after unloading. Nice clean cabin, but no room for extra luggage. No cable or Sat TV but lots of DVD's to watch on an LCD TV. The "Hot Tub" was small and in need of some real maintenance. No special view from the porch and without nature's breeze, it can get uncomfortable outside. We used the Jacussi tub inside to store our luggage. That said,it was comfortable overall and we had a nice stay. Look for a larger and more accessable place if you want free space and easy access. The staff were very nice upon arrival and offered their help if needed. Be aware 4 wheel drive would be necessary during inclemant weather. Read more
Response from Great Cabins in the Smokies - 09/23/2009
Bear Hugs is a small 1 bedroom 'couples cabin' offering great privacy and is promoted as such on the website. That's why we have the great nightly rates of $89 and $99 p/night available for it!
We wish we could have recommended some other cabins for your stay, as you apparently needed something a little larger - and any of our other 1 bedrooms would have provided you with more living space and satisfied you a little better.
Small, clean and quiet
Left on 08/20/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | Ted Smits
We really enjoyed our stay in the cabin. It sounds like a TV won't get reception, but some type of stereo would have been nice...we rocked the clock radio.
Overall the cabin was clean, quiet and comfortable. Read more
Response from Great Cabins in the Smokies - 08/21/2009
That's a really great idea! We'll get a stereo put in the cabin within the next couple of weeks. Thanks again and glad you enjoyed Bear Hugs!
Loved the privacy
Left on 02/13/2009 for a stay in February 2009 | Vicky
We loved the cabin. It was cozy and private. The one issue we had was the outdoor hot tub was not hot at all and had a lot of chlorine. This may have been a wintertime issue. We would definitely recommend.
A nice weekend get a way
Left on 01/21/2009 for a stay in January 2009 | mbishop
Very nice for two people, no way could you fit anyone else in there. The only complaint that I have would be there is not a lot of room to store you bags, and coats. A great deal if you are just wanting to have a nice romantic weekend.
Left on 12/02/2008 for a stay in October 2008 | Nita
It was pleasant to stay at Bear Hugs. We had so much fun. If 2 people want a relaxing place this is the one that you should get. Hardly any traffic. The office staff was very helpful.
Bear hugs review
Left on 10/02/2008 for a stay in September 2008 | Chris
Smaller than expectided (approx 35'x25').No cable,ant.or sat.so bring movies to watch on there 19" not 35" tv like the ad says.No radio or alarm clock either so bring that also if you want to find out what's going on in the world around you or need to get up for any reason.Had a tree company grinding a stump off the property at 9am the first morning (so much for sleeping in and a relaxing morning)that STUNK bad for rest of the 7 day vacation.Also the clorine in the hot tub is so strong it would choke you to take the cover off so forget getting in there.Besides that a nice little cabin and private.Nicely keep up and is a good place to get away from it all literally.
Strawberry Plains, TN
Heaven on Earth!
Left on 09/29/2008 for a stay in August 2008 | flintgapantiques
This place was absolutely wonderful. We hated to leave, it was that good. It was so private and peaceful that it felt like you were in the lap of luxury. If anyone rents this cabin, you will not be disappointed. We've told all our friends and family about it. A+, above and beyond!
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.