This charming, rustic A-frame cabin is cozy and comfortable; perfect for a small family. It has a nice deck that is great for summer barbecuing. It is walking distance to restaurants and shops. Great value!
Minimum Nights: Regular and Off Season (2-nights), Holiday Season (3-nights)
Left on 04/30/2014 for a stay in April 2014 | Big Gordie Soto
this cabin was great for our sons 7th birthday party, he had a blast. along with the great location, came a weekend well spent. the service was great. some will say that the rooms were small and that there was no room to move about, well I say, a room with a bed is for sleeping not moving about.. beside with all the things to do at shaver like why would you want to be inside your cabin. We look forward to are next visit... We would most defiantly say at the Mozdir Cabin again...
Quaint & cozy cabin very close to town
Left on 01/15/2014 for a stay in January 2014 | Theresa
My family & I (2 adults 2 children) stayed here on my Birthday weekend with an extra day added so it was great for the "short stay." The owner was kind enough to also allow our small dog! (Thank you!!) We chose to pay for the linen service so that we would have it available upon arrival or else we would have had to take it all with us~They provided a lot of towels & wash cloths! They also provided 2 rolls of toilet paper. It was stocked with kitchenware, though you have to provide your own napkins & paper towels. The stove is electric & fortunately we only used it to boil water & bake cookies. The stairs leading up to the two rooms are very steep with short steps so thankfully there is a rail to hold on to. I would suggest that the owner change out the shower faucet as it definitely needs a new one that would provide a pleasant shower. In the evening we plugged in the tube lighting along the outdoor patio rail which gave it a happy feeling~ We loved that the cabin was so close to town so that we could walk there if we chose to- My daughter & I collected acorn caps & pinecones! All in all we had a very nice stay & it suited our weekend needs~ It was a perfect Birthday!
G De Anda
Not only is old but is super dated!
Left on 01/10/2014 for a stay in December 2013 | G De Anda
One thing is renting your place for a cheap price when it should never be available for rent if the owners don't want to spend some money in new bed covers.
this cabin even if it's old could be so cute with potential if they put a little effort in it.
The place had a smell like it was never ventilated.
Sorry but I will never stay again unless the pictures inside show a little renovation. Read more
Response from Shaver Lake Vacation Rentals - 01/10/2014
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our survey request. We are sorry to hear that your stay in the Mozdir cabin wasn't so pleasant. The cabin is a bit outdated which is why it's priced so low. We will be sharing this review along with your recommendations with the owner. We appreciate your business and hope that you will come up and stay with us again so you can see that this is not the norm for Shaver Lake Vacation Rentals. Thank you again for staying with us. We hope to see you up here again soon…
Not too bad
Left on 07/23/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | Kim H.
The home was ok. I didn't mind the dated look, however there were a few things that need to be fixed. The dining room table is slanting, not sure if that side of the house is slanted or what. The shower needs to be remodled badly, I cut my hand on the shower bar and the shower head sprayed so hard I had to wrap a wash cloth around the head so I didn't get a beating. The upstairs never cooled off, my daughter had to sleep on the couch. In the kitchen the pots/pans need to be checked, I could hardly find anything to cook with. The deck needs to be updated as well, boards are warped and paint peeling, and the raililng was very wobbly. The location was great, the neighborhood was quiet, and the downstairs bed was very comfy. Other than the items mentioned above I would have to say it was a good visit.
Left on 03/18/2013 for a stay in February 2013 | Jeff Gilin
We loved the cabin it was perfect for a Weekend Stay, and only about a 25 minute drive to China Peak, the shops and stores are within walking distance as well. This was a great place to stay and I'd definitely stay again.
Left on 01/31/2013 for a stay in January 2013 | CaymanSomm
The Mozdir Cabin was excellent for our needs but any avid cook will have a tough time in the kitchen, The rooms are also a bit on the tiny side. The beds take up most of the floor space so there is not a lot of room to manouver.
We were a party of 6 and not looking for anything fancy. I was a little upset at the lack of basic condiments, Salt and Pepper, Hand or dishwash soap and toilet paper. For the price I was hoping for at least the basics.
Fortunately Bob's Market is a 5 min walk and carries all the usuals. Read more
Response from Shaver Lake Vacation Rentals - 02/07/2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our survey request. We are so glad that you had a great time staying in the Mozdir property. We do apologize in regards to your concerns to the kitchen needs. We will be sharing this with the owner of the property. Toilet paper is usually provided by us and should have been in the cabin so we will be following up with housekeeping department. Once again, we do apologize and hope you will come up again soon and stay with Shaver Lake Vacation Rentals once more.
Left on 12/06/2012 for a stay in December 2012 | Melissa Craft
The whole process was easy and the cabin was very nice!! Perfect for a family vacation. Nice outside area also!!!
First Experience was Memorable
Left on 10/31/2012 for a stay in October 2012 | Fabby
This was the first time I have ever rented a house anywhere. I loved it. The house looks small from the outside but once you go inside it's a whole other story. It had everything I needed to make sure we felt like home. This is definitely something I will be doing again soon.
made the best of the cabin,despite the uncleaniless
Left on 07/01/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | cabin experience
Staying in a cabin should be inviting experience where you feel welcomed,accomodated as you walk in, to make you want to come back again.This cabin did not it was dirty,blankets were disgusting,mildew on shower curtain and would really make a difference if the owner would take the opportunity to have the cabin deep cleaned and would make sure household items were in neat and clean condition.If your going to rent out a cabin for vacationers, make it a place that you would like to go to vacation, especially on your anniversary and not to worry about cleaning the place your self just to feel a little bit more comfortable.As far as the cleaning fee i think we should get our money back because i think it was cleaner when we left than when we arrived. Read more
Response from Shaver Lake Vacation Rentals - 07/04/2012
Thank you for your feedback. We were surprised to hear of your dissatisfaction in that you were here for a week and never mentioned any issues with the cabin except for the shower curtain on the day before you checked-out. We had the property professionally cleaned then inspected by a supervisor just prior to your arrival. We are sorry your experience wasn't what you expected. I wonder if it is more about the property. Next time you visit, please look at our entire inventory of properties as we have quite a variety of quality and price. I am afraid choosing the least expensive property our company offers wasn't the right choice for your special get-a-way. We hope to see you again soon...
Left on 06/18/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | rg
Really enjoyed our stay in this little cabin. Looks small when you drive up, but is surprisingly spacious and can easily sleep 6, possibly more if you bring air mattress. It is a little older and could use some updates, but for the price it's perfect. Watch out on the stairs going to the upstairs room and loft though, they are really steep and on the verge of being dangerous, not for people with trouble getting around. Wish it was within walking distance of the lake, but it's not too far of a drive to the lake and you can easily walk to local restaurants in the evening if you want. Did not like that their was a separate fee if you wanted linen service, we opted to bring our own sheets rather than pay the fee, felt linen should have been included in the price of the rental.
Average comfort and stocked utilities
Left on 03/14/2012 for a stay in March 2012 | Robert Rossiter
The service received from Shaver Lake Rentals was good. The home was very average. A bit cramped with five people that we had. The stairs to the loft which had sleeping for 3-4 were very steep and not meant for older people. The kitchen was poorly stocked with pots and pans. The location was convenient to food market and dining out.
best time of my life
Left on 02/09/2012 for a stay in January 2011 | Martin Guzman
first time I ever did this and it was all worth it. Our family had a great time and we told all our friends about it and where going to do this again soon. It's better them the city very peacefull and i'm going to become a regular. One day if the price is good I want to buy one of the cabins there, please keep me posted. Read more
Response from Shaver Lake Vacation Rentals - 02/17/2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We are so glad you had a great time. Shaver Lake is a very special place to relax and unwind. We look foward to seeing you up here again soon! Thank you for choosing Shaver Lake Vacation Rentals!
Peaceful, exhilirating get-away from the busy world!
Left on 09/15/2010 for a stay in September 2010 | Savvy Traveler
It was a fantastic time in a beautiful place. The only negative was that we developed a serious medical emergency that forced us to leave two days early. That was quite a bummer.
Left on 07/31/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | AL
Nice place great location relaxing place to spend with family/friends
Left on 07/14/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | Mike Aprile
We had a wonderful time in Shaver. We did lot's of fun things, like horseback riding, being on the lake, or walking to have ice cream. We look forward to doing it again.
not so comfy
Left on 05/04/2010 for a stay in April 2010 | ceecee
its a nice home but there was an infestation of large
ants in all the rooms we all had to sleep in the
front room .
San Luis Obispo, CA
Home needs a little TLC in the snow
Left on 01/22/2010 for a stay in January 2010 | GP
Although the snow had melted, we enjoyed our stay in Shaver Lake this year. The little "Mozdir" A-frame is cute
and perfect for a couple with two young kids. The price is right... However, there were some serious issues:
1. The heater flue was broken and I had to rig a temporary clamp to keep the heater and house from burning up
with smoke and maybe fire..
2. The kitchen was clean on the surface, but could use some "deep" cleaning or new lining in the cupboards and
drawers. Also, the oven-floor-carpet-linoleum area had nails sticking up to cut feet, and it did.
3. The two recliners are old, dirty and a real eye-sore in a such a tiny living room area. The L-shaped sofa is
nice and plenty large for 4 or 5 people. You should get rid of these funky bulky recliners which we had to move
every day to get to dining table. The table eating mats were dirty and sticky. (yuck, get rid of them..)
4. The VCR did not function. I am an electrical engineer and could not get it to work. Sorry... we watched a movie
on our laptop.
5. There was no way enough kindling, so we bought some at the hardware store. ($10!) There was also no soap
to do dishes, and we were not informed of that. (Dishwash machine soap was provided, but no washer. No prob.)
6. The shower curtain was a bit moldy, and is too large and dark for the small shower stall. A clear or white,
narrower one would be much cheerier. The washable fabric ones are nice, like in a hotel. (It would not cost you
7. One of the neighbors I borrowed an axe from, said that the C.B. "cleaning lady" just flys through there "in the
front and out the back in 5 minutes" and does not spend time cleaning. It shows folks.
8. I cleaned the iron hand rail to the upstairs. It was so grimey that our hands had black grease on them. We also
suggest a SIGN, or some WARNING for how terribly STEEP the MOZD stairs are.. It's ok for adults, but not for
kids or older people without a lot of supervision. (FYI.. a serious liability, no?)
Orange County, CA
take off until fixed up
Left on 01/13/2010 for a stay in December 2009 | skihereeveryyear
He have been happy with our past rentals through Shaver Lake Rentals, but this was not a good one. The place it too run down and needs to have things fixed/replaced before putting back out to rent. Almost all the repairs could be made with the rent we paid: front entry light does not work, broken lamp in loft (replace), four clocks, but only one works (buy new ones at Target), drapes in masterbdrm don't work (buy woodlike blinds at Home depot), paint is scaped off on walls (give it a coat of paint in living room). Water heater wasn't working-make sure it is turned on. Knob missing on stove.
The place could be cute with spending less than $200 at Target and home depot. Take it off market, make quick fixes, and put back on. Read more
Response from Shaver Lake Vacation Rentals - 01/15/2010
I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. After receiving your review, I had our Maintenance Manager as well as our Quality Control Supervisor go into the home and address your complaints. We have also forwarded your review onto the owner of the cabin for their personal review. We apologize that you discovered issues in the home. Shaver Lake Vacation Rentals strives for excellence in our properties, and have a staff in place to ensure our properties are above expectations. We are looking into this matter and guarantee it will be rectified. Again, we thank you for your review and hope to see you again.
Your Shaver Lake Vacation Rentals Staff
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.