Reminiscent of the classic Southern Shores style flat top homes, Seaside Hideaway bears the charm of yesteryear with modern flair! This single level oceanfront home is friendly to both families and pets with easy beach access just outside your back door! New private wooden boardwalk and stairs lead to the oceanfront dune top deck which offers spectacular ocean views. Sit and watch the waves roll in! The oceanfront screened porch is a great place to relax. Smell the salt air as you curl up with a good book. Or, catch a few rays on the furnished sundeck as the kids splash around in the 12x26 private pool(Available 5/15 – 10/1). The cove...red porch on the front of the house is also a great quiet spot to take a break out of the sun. After a long day at the beach or pool, rinse off in the enclosed outside shower or grill up dinner for a group on the provided gas grill. Updated furnishings and flooring compliment the cozy interior of Seaside Hideaway which features 4 bedrooms including a spacious master suite with Jacuzzi tub in the bath. The open galley-style kitchen allows the family to interact while preparing meals and the dining table has enough seating for 8. The dishwasher makes easy work of cleaning up the dinner dishes. Seaside Hideaway also has a washer and dryer for laundering sandy beach towels and bathing suits. The youngest guests will enjoy the high chair and port a crib provided, and their parents will appreciate not having to pack the car with those bulky items! Central air keeps everyone cool in the summer and the fireplace (available off season only) will keep guests warm in the cooler months. For your entertainment, 3 TVs with DVD players are provided- perfect for family movie night! High Speed Internet Access is also available throughout Seaside Hideaway so guests can check email, play games, or surf the web during their vacation. Guests of Seaside Hideaway have access to the community amenities of Southern Shores.Enjoy the sound side boat ramp and marina, children’s park, and playground. Smoking is not permitted but small dogs (less than 30 lbs) are allowed. No cats. This home has Keyless Entry and offers Express Check In. Partial Week Stays Welcome!Bedding: 1 King, 1 Full and 4 Twins. Bed & Bath Linen Package is available for an additional $105 (plus tax) .Sunday to Sunday Rental One Level:great room, dining area, kitchen, bedroom with full and twin, bedroom with twin and full bath with stand up shower, bedroom with 2 twins, full hall bath, King master bedroom with jacuzzi tub, screen porch, gated pool with patio, dune deck.
Additional amenities include: washer/dryer, laundry, sunday check in, partial week stays allowed, baby equipment, mouse on house tour, king beds, keyless entry.Read more
Left on 09/12/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | H. Jones
The place was great..it had charm. I would recommend this place to anyone! The only down side would be the ants but beside that we will definitely stay there again. The location could not be beat! Read more
Response from Atlantic Realty - Outer Banks - 09/13/2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; we appreciate both your time and the feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your vacation and thank you for choosing Atlantic Realty for your accommodations. (We do regret the ants though!) Please come back to stay with us soon!
Cute House - Bad Customer Service
Left on 08/30/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | Tim
This is the second time we've rented this particular property. We like a lot of things about the house, obviously - or we wouldn't have come back a second time. The house, itself, has a lot of good things going for it - right on the beach, nice pool, wonderful deck overlooking the ocean, perfect location near Kitty Hawk and Duck. It really is in desperate need of a facelift, however - the furniture is very, very tired (and stained in some instances - see the light brown stains on the living room sofa) and the decor is vintage 1960s...the owners need to understand that some money invested toward the improvement of their property could actually result in more money down the road. The landscaping leaves much to be desired, too.
The biggest problem we had this year was not with the house, however - it was with atlantic Realty. We paid for early check-in, but were told two hours before our check in time that we could not check in (we had to call the company, they gave us no notification of the fact that we were not able to check in early). Their "property manager", Brenda, informed us that the house "smelled of urine" and they had to clean the furniture and carpets. I asked to speak to the owner, Myra. I asked Myra if there was any possible way the realty company could switch us to a house that did not "smell of urine". She told me "no" and said they were cleaning the carpets and furniture, which should be sufficient. She escorted us on a walk-through of the house and offered to buy Glade Plug-Ins and candles to mask the damp furniture and urine smells. When she brought the Plug-Ins to the house, she failed to buy the electric adapter that made them operational. A perfect ending to a really unacceptable customer service experience (the only exception was their repairman who was prompt in fixing the television).
We won't be back to this property because of atlantic Realty - which it too bad, since the house is pleasant and has real potential. Read more
Response from Atlantic Realty - Outer Banks - 09/04/2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; we appreciate both your time and the feedback. We do regret the issues that the prior guests caused to delay your early check-in, and as we and most, if not all, of the vacation rental companies were fully booked, we really did not have the option to move you. Obviously refunding the ECI fee and having the carpets and upholstery cleaned was not the perfect solution to you, however, it was our only recourse. We do apologize for these issues! We have passed along your suggestions to the owner and we also encourage all of our owners to give back to their properties, maintaining and upgrading are indeed important to all of us.
We thank you for your patronage and regret the lack of service that you experienced with us. We would welcome the opportunity to provide excellent service on a future OBX vacation…always our goal even though at times we may fall short for one reason or another.
Awesome Home !
Left on 08/15/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | Leslie
My family decided fairly late in the year to find a beach house to accommodate our family and two small dogs. Out of nowhere came this website and this house, and I grabbed it without hesitation. I was definitely not disappointed!! We fell in love with the house, and the location, and have already booked it for next year. It is not a fancy home, as are a lot of the newer rentals, but it is homey, has everything you need, is on the ocean, and met all of requirements for our beach vacation. Thanks for our Seaside Hideaway! Read more
Response from Atlantic Realty - Outer Banks - 08/16/2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; we appreciate both your time and the feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your vacation and thank you for choosing Atlantic Realty for your accommodations. Please stay with us again soon!
It was the best of times, it was the worst of times...
Left on 07/11/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | OBX lover
You cannot beat being right on the beach with a pool where we could bring Fido-finding a small home with those amenities in the Southern Shores/Duck area is difficult,so Seaside Hideway has few rivals in this part of OBX.And we were willing to pay a premium for that.And it is an adorable home,if you like old fashioned charm.Cute decor, really nice bathrooms.For all those reasons,I would probably be tempted to rent it again.However,owner needs to spend a few days in the property to see it from the renters perspective.A gas grill wonderful,except there were no grilling tools.A screened porch,wonderful But it had no lighting and no furniture save a few really old dirty plastic chairs. A beautiful inground pool Wonderful But my husband had to change all the light bulbs around the deck so we could use it at night.Enough pots to open a restaurant, but only two old pans, small and smaller.I couldn't even fry bacon.The pictures of the house hide the cement path/stairs leading up to it-horrible and certainly not up to code-really dangerous and you have to drag your luggage up them.How windy is it right on the beach? So how important is it for the screen doors to be aligned so they actually close? Not.Why did we have to find the breakers to get all the electric working? And if it rains,the front of the house by the garage,floods so badly you need an ark to get in or out. Oh, I forgot to mention-the glass table top was cracked when we got there,someone came to fix it on Tuesday, said he needed someone to help him, and never came back the rest of the week.If I had small children, or really drunk folks, it would have been dangerous. As it was, we were all old, smart and sober enough to avoid the glass that could easily have sliced a finger. All that said, I had a wonderful vacation and I'm glad I chose this house. I guess I just felt that, with paying a premium price, I should not have been able to find sooo many problems with it. If you're picky, don't choose this house. Read more
Response from Atlantic Realty - Outer Banks - 07/12/2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; we value both your time and the feedback. We regret the issues that you experienced with this property while ‘vacationing’ here! I have gathered some information to assist with some sort of explanation for you and us: Most if not all of the issues that you mentioned were addressed with the owners during the property and housekeeping managers’ pre-season walk-through. As
the owners live close by, they prefer to handle the maintenance themselves, making a list of the issues/suggestions. Obviously, some of these items were not taken care of (we have a “required items checklist” on file) in spite of same. So the disconnect here is in the follow up with the follow through. We have had a staff meeting to discuss this and implement/ improve things going forward.
In regard to the glass top that was broken by the departing guest before your arrival, it is true that the glass company advised us to keep the glass in place (it is very heavy with no sharp edges) as it was safer and better to do so until the replacement was delivered. However, this should have been communicated to you for your understanding.
With all of this being said, we are pleased that you were able to enjoy your vacation and this house in spite of these issues and we hope that you will stay with us again on your next OBX vacation!
North Braddock PA
So many memories.
Left on 06/14/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | JoAnn F
Our first visit to this house, my grandson took his first steps there. We've had two awesome vacations in this house and will be back for more. Read more
Response from Atlantic Realty - Outer Banks - 06/18/2013
Thanks for posting! We are pleased that you have had "two awesome" vacations in this house and have shared some fond memories! Please come again soon..make more memories with your grandson and family!
Home away from home
Left on 06/06/2013 for a stay in May 2013 | A Mitchell
Seaside hideaway was just perfect for our family of 6. Everything was clean and organized. The pool and ocean right out your back door was another plus! Very nice very homey and comfortable! We enjoyed it. Read more
Response from Atlantic Realty - Outer Banks - 06/10/2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; we appreciate both your time and the feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your vacation and thank you for choosing Atlantic Realty for your accommodations. Please come again!
Left on 09/12/2012 for a stay in September 2012 | Nancy
We very much enjoyed our stay in you home. Great gathering room for the family which includes our family dog. It was so nice to be able to go from the beach and then up to the pool area for lunch around the pool. Coffee on the observation deck in the early morning was so nice and peaceful.. The terrace step leading up to the house, one is in desperate need for repair, so slanted it is dangerous...overall this is an older home that has been updated and furnished to give you a very nice and comfortable vacation. Read more
Response from Atlantic Realty - Outer Banks - 09/17/2012
Thank you for posting! We are pleased that you enjoyed your vacation and hope to see you on your next OBX vacation. We have repaired the terrace step issue...thank you for bringing this to our attention!
Pure Relaxation - with a few caveats
Left on 09/06/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | Tim
The house is ideally located on a very nice section of beach - uncrowded and clean. The private pool is great and the house is comfortable.
A few items you should be aware of:
1) The house is old and sorely in need of updating - things as simple as new carpet/flooring, new cabinets in the kitchen, etc. would make this house much more appealing;
2) I found atlantic Realty to be a bit inflexible when it came to early check-in/late check-out. Perhaps the rental company needs to hire additional cleaning staff to cover unexpected requests for early check-in (4:00 pm is pretty late, after all).
3) The grounds around the house are really shabby. While I appreciate rustic landscaping, this was a little ridiculous - the owner and rental company should invest in a few ways in which to spruce up the exterior of the home.
4) For a $105 linen fee, I think the beds should, at the very least, be made when you arrive. Pretty chintzy, in my opinion.
With this said, the location, pool, and beach overrode the negatives of the house. Read more
Response from Atlantic Realty - Outer Banks - 09/07/2012
Thank you for posting...we do appreciate your comments and I have forwarded the issues to the property managers. We do encourage our property owners to keep their houses updated and well maintained. It is regrettable that we can only accommodate a certain number of early check-ins on change-over days. This coupled with late check-outs only allows a small window of time to be 'guest-ready' by 4 p.m....we understand you are ready to get here and not so anxious to leave...as it should be! We are pleased that you were able to relax and enjoy your vacation...please come again!
Very clean and well-maintained
Left on 07/04/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | Jersey grandparents
A very nice vacation home for 4/5 people. Sunday-to-Sunday rental eliminates the Saturday traffic jam. Some of the boards on the walkway to the beach need to be replaced. Plenty of storage space. Read more
Response from Atlantic Realty - Outer Banks - 07/04/2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you on your next OBX vacation. Enjoy the rest of your summer!
older house in a great location
Left on 09/09/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | Mike
all but master bedroom are a little small. But it's an older home well kept. Location makes up for issues.
Maw and Pop Pop
Left on 08/17/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | Maw and Pop Pop
Our family had a wonderful time. We had great weather, the pool was a wonderful plus. The house had lots of beach toys for the kids. We had to make a call to atlantic Realty for a drain clog, service was there in 15 minutes literally. Internet problem also and the owner showed up to fix. Wonderful experience we will rent there again next year.
Silver Spring, MD
A wonderful beach vacation
Left on 10/07/2010 for a stay in September 2010 | Phillips Clan
Years ago when i used to come to Southern Shores with the Parents we stayed in this house under a different owner/management company and this stay brought back wonderful memories. The house was clean and comfortable and we loved the pool. There was nothing we needed in the house or kitchen that was not supplied, it was well equiped. Can't wait for next year!
2nd year and love it and plaining to stay in the future! Great!!
Left on 07/29/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | kenny Lovern
ths was our 2nd year to stay and it got better! 1st year problem with no beach steps! this year you fixed steps and was able to injoy the beach more! thanks and will tell others about it and your company to great to deal with! hope to see and planning to stay in 2011 in this house! thanks Lovern family from Chrtainsburg Va.
Left on 06/09/2010 for a stay in May 2010 | Beach Lover
The house was beauifully decorated and was very comfortable. The pool was wonderful. There was plenty of room fo all 8 of us. The master suite was larger then I expected. The view of the ocean from the deck was great. The only downfall was the access to the beach. If you have a small child or are carying your beach chairs it is hard to get back up the dune. Steps would be a great addition.
Left on 10/21/2009 for a stay in October 2009 | Beach Lover
The location is great,oceanfront,although because it is a ranch so you cannot see the ocean from the cottage. They have an elevated deck that you can walk out to,but no views from the house.The steps leading up to the house, a series of terraced steps, are in great need on repair due to sloping,an accident waiting to happen. Also at night the worst area of the steps has no lighting.The access to the beach is not user friendly.Really need steps leading down to the beach. Walking down to the beach down the steep dune difficult,much less carrying chairs,children,etc.Kitchen small.Yard makes it look abandoned with lots of weeds and cactus.
Lovern's the outer bank lover's
Good and Very Nice Place
Left on 08/05/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | Lovern's the outer bank lover's
We had a good time and was nice house and pool! had little problem! going and coming from beach! no ocean beach steps! hard for older people and childern and could turn akle or fall! get that fixed and it will be great! thanks and hope to be back, lovern family
Cozy Get Away
Left on 07/09/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | NHT Gang
It was nice having everything on one floor, it made loading and unloading everything easier. More outlets would have been nice and the washer/dryer in a more central location. Loved the Family Fun Package and Atlantic Realty was very helpful.
Left on 06/25/2009 for a stay in June 2009 | ron
Ants in Kitchen, no counter space doors did not close well to one bedroom.
Pool was great, beach furniture lacking in quality.
the beach area was not very well maintained, dead sea gull been there for some time.
Thank you for your review for "Seaside Hideaway". Unfortunately, ants were a big problem this year on the Outer Banks. This property is on a quarterly treament plan for insects, but in some cases the properties do have to be treated in between this time period. We are more than happy to service when there is an active problem.
Left on 04/01/2009 for a stay in June 2007 | cherip
House was in good condition, good oceanfront, however location great but close to highway.
Would consider renting again, as it was convenient to our preferred shopping areas.
Owner lived next door and was very nice person, checked to see if we were OK with everything.
A comfortable vacaation
Left on 03/31/2009 for a stay in July 2008 | Nicole
The house was smaller than i thought it would be. But the pool and the short walk to the beach made this vacation home very convenient and comfortable.
The young people like the stair well balcony, especially inthe evening they enjoyed just relaxing and watching the ocean.
A short drive and we were where ever we wanted to go.
A great vacation home!
FlipKey has rentals in over 11,000 destinations around the world:
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.