Your castle in the sand awaits! All of your family members, pets included, will enjoy the wonderful amenities this house has to offer. The spacious, open great room has a cozy fireplace, and the kitchen has a breakfast bar that seats six in addition to the large dining room table. Every bedroom has its own bath for your convenience. Entertainment is easy with the game room that has a Pool Table, Foosball, Ping Pong and a TV. From the private pool and hot tub to the rooftop deck with amazing ocean views, this home is sure to please everyone. Event Fee: $2000. Distance to the beach: Approximately 520 yardsAmenities Include: Cen A/H, DW, M...W, 8 CATVs, stereo w/ CD player, fireplace, telephone, Rooftop Sundeck, Screened Porch, Wireless Internet, CFs, 15' x 40' Private Pool, Hot Tub, Pool Table, Foosball, Ping Pong Table, Baby Equipment, Gas Grill, small private officeGround Level: Game Room w/ Pool Table, Foosball, Stereo and Ping Pong, Full Bath, Outside Tiki Bar w/ Fridge, Sink and TV Level 1: MBR w/K, MBR w/K, MBR w/K, MBR w/3 BnkSets, MBR w/PymBnk and Bnk, Den w/ SSLevel 2: Kitchen w/ Breakfast Bar seats 6, Great Room w/ Fireplace, Dining Table, MBR w/King, MBR w/King
Additional amenities include: pool table, partials allowed, event home: 2000, hometown hero discount, tennis, military discount, floor plans available.Read more
Left on 07/26/2014 for a stay in July 2014 | Sharon W
There were two things that made us choose this home - 7 master bedrooms and the pool with bar. It was nice having a second refrigerator on the ground level. It had a very nice open great room on the upper level. The house could use a little TLC but overall it is a good rental.
Left on 04/17/2014 for a stay in March 2014 | DEW
The house was nice and big. Plenty of room. Nota bad walk to the beach. Kitchen pots and pans were not the best. Some were old and some were dirty. We were unhappy about the TVs. Only the one in the den was working. I felt like that should of been taken care of before we go there. Someone should of known that the others needed boxes.
Nice house but needed some upkeep
Left on 08/30/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | Cheryl
Amenities were great but pool table had cue sticks with no tops. Ping pong net was broken. There was a basketball hoop displayed on the website but not at the house. Air conditioner froze and filters needed to be cleaned.
They called me to tell me the house was ready and when I went to check in it wasn't inspected yet. I had to wait an additonal 45 minutes
Televisions were old and most had vhs players instead of dvds and blue-ray capabilities. Location was great and loved the pool and the hot tub.
They did come fix most of the isssues very quickly howeer was slightly disappointed with the way the house was maintained
Left on 08/14/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | Karen
The proximity to the beach is great but noisy due to being right off of Duck Road. The house could use some maintaining such as the kitchen floor and the gas grill. Otherwise the house was plenty large for the 20 of us and the game room is awesome for the teens in our group. Would rent again.
Left on 08/07/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | Steve
The house and pool were dirty, tv's didn't work, lights were flickering, bulbs were burnt out. Couldn't find pots and pans and when we did they weren't usable. Had to purchase our own to use on vacation. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 09/03/2013
Thank you for your review. Communication we receive from our guests is a great way to gauge what we are doing right, be made aware of what we can improve, and in both cases are very much appreciated. We are very sorry you had some concerns and thank you for bringing them to our attention. In looking at our maintenance records, a number of these issues have been resolved. We will certainly bring your suggestions for improvement to the owners. Thank you again for your candor.
Left on 07/25/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | Linda L
Very nice house. Plenty of room.Great location. Would def go there again.
Just made me sad
Left on 07/17/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | lv2
We had stayed at this house before and loved it. When we walked into the home this time, it was obvious that the house had not been maintained well. There were notes from housekeeping stating that a toilet was leaking over the dryer and a note on the dryer stating that the nonexistant start button did not work. The leak had caused a hole in the ceiling over the dryer and the floor was soaking wet. The light fixture in the family room ceiling fan was hanging by wires. In the kitchen, the upper rack of the dish washer was so rusted through that we were all glad that our tetanus shots were up to date. The drawers in the kitchen island were falling apart and in fact, one did fall apart when we tried to open it. We found pretzels and cookies strewn under beds as well as just dirty conditions throughout the house. I left a note in the after hours drop off box and a message on the Duck answering machine Sunday morning about 9am to which I received no reply. I called again around 3PM on Sunday afternoon and reached Fran to tell him that there was a hole in the ceiling. About 20 minutes later, a Resort Realty handman arrived and looked at the damage. He surveyed the damage, removed the broken kitchen drawer, stating that he was going to fix the drawer and return it. When we left 6 days the drawer had yet to be replaced. While some of the problems were fixed, several problems remained despite the fact that 5 people came into the house unannounced to make repairs.
We ended up removing the top rack of the dishwasher and washed most of our dishes by hand. Not necesarily something that I wanted to do on vacation but we kept thinking that something would be done before we left. We were wrong. For the amount of money that we paid for a week, I expected to have things in working order. I shouldn't have to leave a note for the next renters about repairs that have not been made yet. The pool area is still great and the walk to the beach is short. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 08/01/2013
We are sorry that your stay at this home was not as pleasant as you would have hoped because of the various problems you encountered. Whenever a guest informs the Housekeeping or Maintenance Department of issues needing attention during their stay at a Resort Realty home, every effort is made to meet the needs of our guests.
I have forwarded your review to our property manager, our general manager and housekeeping department, so that they can review and address these issues. I do see that a refund check was mailed to you on July 25th. We do care very much about customer satisfaction. Again, thank you for booking with Resort Realty and hope your next visit to the Outer Banks will be more pleasant.
So close to 5 stars
Left on 06/19/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | M. Hebert
Loved the location, an easy walk to the beach, close to Duck, easy to get on 12 for sites and restuarants further south.
The home had all the amenities we could ask for. With the weather being iffy due to tropical storm andrea it was nice having the pool as an alternative to the beach. Took advantage of the tiki bar and the hot tub too.
The linen service was great.
Overall, a very positive experience.
Traffic noise from Duck Rd was pretty loud when we were hanging out at the pool, although the house was insulated enough to keep out the noise.
Very disappointed in the cleanliness of the house; this is what kept me from giving the property a 5 star rating. We had to wash the dishes before use. We found a stack of plates that had food on them...gross. There was dog poo on the decks; a couple of piles, and a bag some one had cleaned up, but failed to throw away. This was especially disturbing because we had to pay a pet deposit, and took care to clean up after our pets. Cigarette butts and beer caps in the screened in porch, and in the tiki bar. The floor in the main living area did not look as though it had been cleaned. All this was a beg let down, mainly because we were told we could not check in until 4 PM at the earliest. We assumed the house was being cleaned. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 06/27/2013
Thank you for your feedback. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoyed the location and amenities. However, it is disappointing to learn of the lack of cleanliness. We are very sorry you had these issues upon arrival at the house. Had we known, we would have sent someone out to take care of these problems. I have forwarded your review to our housekeeping department. They will address the cleaners that do this house on a weekly basis and be sure this issue does not repeat itself. Again, thank you for your time and we hope that you will vacation with us in the near future.
Left on 09/06/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | MMS
Worked well for a large group but some we had a few issues. Only had 1 grill down by the pool, dryer was damaged, pet hair (and smell) were all over the house. I think we left it cleaner than it was when we arrived. House looks like it has taken some abuse but it could of been worse. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 09/25/2012
Resort Realty offers its sincere apologies to you and your family for the inconvenience the grill, the dryer, and smell may have caused. We want to thank you for mentioning these issues so that we can address and resolve them before the arrival of our next guest.
Again, we appreciate your comments and hope to see you again on the Outer Banks.
Great vacation and beautiful home
Left on 06/21/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | Beach Family
Needed larger fridge upstairs due to amount of people using the home. There was 17 people in our group and even though there's a fridge at the tiki bar a larger one would have helped upstairs. Also, needs a trash can at the tiki bar. All in all it worked for us and we will had a wonderful vacation. thanks!!!
In The Dark
Left on 09/29/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | McDowell
Check in and dealing with Resort Realty personnel was a breeze. However, the house had numerous issues which were disappointing. I don't think there was one bedroom which had all working light bulbs. All of the outside lights (toward the cul de sac) were burnt out. Taking our dogs out at night was an adventure! There was also only one working light by the pool. Using the pool and pool area after dark was dangerous. Also the dishwasher had water lying in the bottom when we arrived. We attempted to use the dishwasher but the dishes did not come clean and the water remained in the bottom, did not drain out. We did not use the dishwasher for the remainder of the week. Also the pool had an algae problem despite numerous trips by the pool guy. The hot tub blower also did not work.
Unsatisfactory & Unacceptable
Left on 09/14/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | Paul C
This was our first year staying in Southern Shores. Typically we like to stay down in Hatteras. Unfortunatly the Hurricane displaced many people of that town and the roads did not allow access to the Island. We were happy to find this house last minute since we could not stay at our other rental. We were happy with the backyard pool area with the bar and outdoor kitchen as we spend most of our time outside near the pool. This was the only part of the house that made our trip half way decent. We tried to make the best of it and not complain as we were just happy to be at the OBX and enjoying our yearly vacation here. The pool area was crawling with giant coclroaches and rats. Rats were scaling the fence and jumping in and out of trees. Rats were also walking around the bar area. This was disgusting as we had 2 small chilren and my pregnant wife in this house. The home was spacious and had more than enough rooms. However this home is in some serious need of some inexpensive upgrades. There was not a pot or pan in the house that was usuable to cook any food on. Skillets were scoured so babdly it could not be used to cook. Pots had burned food on them. We had to go purchase our own cookware set upon arrival at the home. This is not acceptable. You are making this home available to people who plan to spend a week here and spend their hard earned money for borderline deplorable conditions. The couches were something you would find in someones basement or frat house. For the 2 rooms on the top floor it was hard to sleep at night. We heard a constant drip from the attic all night every night. That, along with the loud noise of the cars from the road made it difficult to get sleep. This was a nightmare, not a vacation. We tried to make the best of it and ultimately found a way to have fun which mostly came from venturing outside the home. In the future we will not stay in Southern Shores/Duck. We will not use Resort Realty if these are the type of homes you will manage. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 04/25/2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Castle in the Sand. It is unfortunate that you had these issues during your stay. With regard to the bugs, they were water bugs that appeared after the hurricane and our staff did not find or see any sign of rats on or near the property. The owner does a good job of maintaining this property and if you needed additional cookware we would have brought it to you, as we do keep cookware in our inventory for replacement when necessary.
Again, thank you for your response and we hope you will give Resort Realty another opportunity.
The Elliott Family (ages 9 - 71)
Long Island New York
Fantastic Family Fun
Left on 07/28/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | The Elliott Family (ages 9 - 71)
Everything about Castle in the Sand was as stated in the ad. However, a working TV and some sofas in th gameroom would complete the experience. Location next to main road was quite noisy at times.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.