Welcome Home! Captain's Retreat II is a perfect vacation home for family, friends or both! This fantastic home has beautifully decorated and spacious rooms, including 2 inviting and comfortable family spaces, five large bedrooms, well appointed large kitchen and dining areas, not to mention incredible views from all floors. Get your vacation started off right by walking right out of your back door to the beach for shore fishing, sand castles or hitting the waves. After plenty of beach time, the fun and relaxation are just beginning with a large family pool, hot tub, elevator, fireplace and expansive decks for star gazing and outdoor dinin...g - all waiting for you to enjoy. This quiet and central location is perfect for exploring both North and South OBX. It is close to shopping, restaurants and many activities so you won't miss a thing. In case you would like to fit in a round of golf, this home is a K Club Member offering special golf rates, privileges and access to Kilmarlic Golf Club (the premier Golf Course on the Outer Banks). Guests are encouraged to reserve tee times well in advance of their arrival. For more infoClick Here http://www.kclubobx.comWhether it's sitting on the shaded porch swing, taking an early morning walk on the beach or watching the dolphins splash in the ocean, Captain's Retreat II has everything you need to turn your vacation into a fantastic family memory.Amenities Include: 14x28 Heated Pool (available for $375 per week from 4/18/14 to 10/23/14). Cen A/H, MW, DW, IM, W/D, Gas FP, CATV, VCR, Stereo w/ CD, HC, Crib, Furn. Decks, Enc. O/S, Private Pool, Hot Tub, Elevator, plenty of parking Ground level: Entry, Elevator Level 1: Master Bedroom with King, Master Bedroom with Queen, Entertainment Room, Bedroom with 2 Twins, Hall Bath, Bedroom with 2 Twins, Sleeper Sofa, Laundry Level 2: Living Room, Dining Room, Kitchen, Master Bedroom with King, Half Bath
Additional amenities include: partials allowed, hometown hero discount, floor plans available, heated pool: $375, tennis, resort club, military discount, elevator, golf access home: kc, less than 500 yards.Read more
Left on 08/02/2014 for a stay in July 2014 | Denise A
This has been our 8th summer vacationing at Captain's Retreat 2. We look forward to our week there every year. The house is well-equipped with everything that you will need to make it a memorable vacation. The rooms are spacious and most bedrooms afford you beautiful ocean views. After a day at the beach it is nice to relax in the hot tub or pool, which are a just a few short steps off of the beach. The house has a basketball hoop, lots of videos, board games, and books to keep you entertained after dinner or on a rainy day.
Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend?
Vacation was windy and wet, but great.
Left on 10/17/2013 for a stay in October 2013 | BK
We have now stayed in Captain's Retreat II for four or five years and we love it. One tweak: The TV remote system is far too complicated and needs to be simplified. Even the younger 'techies' in our family had a tough time with this and the stormy weather made it important.
One negative comment: One of the reasons that we use Resort Realty is the early check in. That was 12 noon for years and now is 1 pm. Please make it earlier. I know that cleaning must be finished before check in, but I am just talking about allowing us to simply unload our luggage, etc in the home so that we can go grocery shopping, etc. This can be just a space in the middle of the living room floor, until cleaning is finished and we can then formally 'check in'. Thanks for listening.
Simply Perfect Vacation and Home
Left on 09/02/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | KC
We had such an amazing vacation. We relaxed and played and relaxed some more!
Captain's Retreat II is a comfortable, well maintained, beautifully decorated home. We loved walking out the back door and straight onto the beach. I could write about so many great things but the one I remember most is the view - we actually said "wow" each time we walked in the front door and saw all the way through to the ocean from both floors. We will be back! Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 09/13/2013
Many thanks to you for choosing Resort Realty for your vacation. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoyed this wonderful home. We agree, the views are simply breathtaking! Thank you for taking the time to review Captain's Retreat II, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Beautiful Views in a Beautiful Home
Left on 08/14/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | Joanna C
We thorughly enjoyed our stay at this beach house the first week of aug 2013. The home was very inviting and warm and the views of the ocean and the beach from the deck were beautiful. The location was perfect as is was far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the OBX but close enough for a short care ride there. The house fit our families perfectly and had everything we would have needed. Going through Resort Realty was seamless, which made the renting process a breeze. Would definately recommend to others and would certainly stay there again. Top notch all around!!!
Beautiful oceanfront home
Left on 07/10/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | Mel G.
The home was very nicely equipped except for the charcoal grill. Because of this, we had to cook all of our meals inside. That's when we found there were no pot holders. Also, maintenace was to come repair about 5 door locks...they never showed up all week.Other than these couple things, the house was great. Tastefully decorated, plenty of space. It also has an elevator which was very convenient. It sits oceanfront but, not near a beach access. So, it allows for plenty of "elbow room". It is part of their "Resort Club" so we were able to check in by 1:00 instead of 4:00. I would recommend this home. A little pricey but, that's oceanfront for you. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 07/17/2013
Thanks so much for your review of Captain's Retreat II. I have let our property manager know about the grill, and we apologize that you weren't able to use it. We will also mention to the homeowner that they need to provide pot holders. I see in our maintenance system that there is a work order in for the door locks, and we apologize for the inconvenience that it wasn't done while you were here. It is nice to be away from a public beach access and have an early check in. We are glad you enjoyed this and other features of the home. Thanks for choosing Resort Realty and we hope to see you at the beach again soon.
Left on 09/19/2012 for a stay in September 2012 | Bob
Great vacation home. One of the best equipped rentals we've used in the 4 years we've been coming to OBX... including toys for granddaughter. Heated pool was worth extra fee, especially in early fall.
This was one of our best vacations!
Left on 06/21/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | Jessica Snow
The house was a perfect fit for our family, which included 2 grandparents and a great grandmother along with 2 parents and 2 boys ages 11 and 7. The house wasn't too big or too small, it was just right. The location of the house was great. Quiet and not alot of traffic. But still close to everything. All in all is was one of our best vacations. The house was very clean and being able to check in early was one of the best features. Not only was it good to beat traffic but also to beat the rush at the grocery store.
Very Homey, close to the ocen with great views!
Left on 06/05/2012 for a stay in May 2012 | Judith Root
We enjoyed our stay very much. The home was very comfortable. It was the first house we have stayed in that was so close to the beach, and had it's own private walk way to the beach. I know the house was in the process of being sold during our stay, and I hope the new home owners are considering using it still as a rental!
Left on 09/28/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | Paul Mundorff
We found the house to be clean and very nice.
However, there were numerous problems that had to be resolved during our stay.
1) Ants all over the place due to wet carpets in the master bedroom and living room. Your support team placed some ant traps in a few of the rooms that resolved this problem.
2) Water leaks in the master bedroom and the room below. As such, my guests had to move to another room on the 2nd floor due to the wet carpets and water leaks in the 2nd floor room ceiling. De-humidifiers had to be installed on both rooms to remove the water. This was a major intrusion. This was due to a leaky roof from prior storms.
3) The pool heater did not work and thus we could not use the pool for more than 9 days. For this, we were compensated for 1 week's payment for this option. I find this totally unacceptable.
4) Flys everywhere. There has to be an infestation somewhere in the house.
The support staff was super! Our calls to the front office were answered within 12 hours or less!
But we were very dissatisfied with the problems with the pool heater. After several calls to the front office, the vendor finally acknowledged that the unit was broken since the last storm. On the second to last day of our stay, the vendor finally replaced the unit. We had to haggle with the Duck Maintenance Manger and the Resort Realty Manger to get a credit for 1 week. For this we are very dissatisfied with this issue. The Resort Realty Manger (Stuart Pack) offered to give us a $200 credit for our next rental but we agreed to place this credit on my credit card and have not yet seen this credit. The pool vendor stated that the unit was working when we first arrived. However, he told us that he turned the unit off before the big storm. So there is a discrepancy in what he told us and what he reported back to your company.
I have more to comment on but your 2,000 character limit provents me to provide more information.
Paul, thank you for taking the time to repond to Flip Key. As you know Resort Realty communicated with you many times during your stay and regret that this leak occurred while you were on vacation and that your guests had to move to another room. As you know we had to respond your needs and the requests of our owner to protect his property from further damage. We believe you were compensated adequately for this unfortunate situation. Again, thank you for booking with Resort Realty, and we hope your next visit to the Outer Banks will be more pleasant.
great beach house
Left on 07/28/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | Mike
the house was well equipped, very well maintained inside and out. would have been nice to have a gas grill but not a big deal. the pool was a great size for kids and access to the beach was easy. big kitchen/dining area and the bedrooms were a good fit.
'Mr. Hobbs" takes a vacation
St. Charles, Il.
Our long awaited Outer Banks Vacation
Left on 07/27/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | 'Mr. Hobbs" takes a vacation
A very nice week. House was very well maintained, including the pool and hottub. Inside, everything worked well. The views were better than advertised. With this particular house, outside of going out to eat and buying groceries, you do not need to go anywhere to thoroughly enjoy your stay. We caught lots of fish, shorefishing. The kids hit the waves, and we cooked out quite a bit. Evenings we spent on the decks and the poolside. Started with 9 people, and ended up with 14. Had been 20 years since my last Outer Banks trip. Won't be that long next time.
Fairfax Station, VA
Beautiful home on the beach
Left on 07/08/2011 for a stay in June 2011 | Susan
The house was perfect!!! We were pleasantly surprised to find everything we needed already in the home. Very spacious with plenty of room for everyone. Beautiful ocean views from almost every room in the house. We thoroughly enjoyed the home. The only disappointing experience was making an appointment with the photographer that was recommended by resort realty! We were all dressed and ready to go and the photographer never showed. I'd had extensive email and phone messages with him and after the no show we never heard from him until I complained to the realtor. Then he called and said he thought we were at a different address even though I had the email showing I sent him the correct address and he replied to that email. I was very disappointed that he didn't even call to apologize.
Left on 05/12/2011 for a stay in April 2011 | Jen Lacasse
This house was fantastic! We had a great time! We were two families, so there were 5 kids in the house and we had plenty of room! We hope to go back!!!
Left on 02/02/2011 for a stay in January 2011 | Brenda H
The home was lovely, with perfect views. Having rented from Resort Realty prior with my husband; I chose to rent from you again.
Although, we were unable to start the gas fireplace; a call brought an immediate response; even though we expected the gentleman from the gas company to show up the next day. He came after hours and took care of the situation promptly and courteously!
The only suggestion I might male os that with this lovely home having a gourmet size kitchen; we would have liked to have had more equipment with which to cook. Perhaps a roll of paper towels.a sample bottle of dishsoap and dishwasher liquid would be a nice addition to the home. We left ours for the next renters; to get them started!
Despite that one tiny item; we managed very well and had a wonderful stay! Thank you, so much!
Best house we have ever rented in OBX
Left on 10/07/2010 for a stay in September 2010 | Barb
We have been renting at the Outer Banks for 14 years, and Captain's Retreat II was the best house we have ever stayed in. Staying at Captain's Retreat II was like staying at someone's home, not at a rental, this house was that nice. The quality of this house and its furnishings was unbelieveable. I would definitely stay here again if I had the opportunity.
Overall a very nice house with tons of space.
Left on 09/27/2010 for a stay in September 2010 | Lia B
Let me start by saying that we had a great vacation. We were able to get in early which is always a plus. The house is very large and well decorated. A couple of bigger issues we had was slow shower drains across the board. We were there at the end of the season, so I am sure this was an issue that had just built up, but a bit disappointing to be showering in another persons water. In addition, we had a huge fly problem. We couldn't bring drinks or eat outside because they would swarm. I heard that other people in the area had a fly problem also, so maybe it was something that couldn't be avoided. Those were the worst of the problems. Overall, the house is great, beach is wonderful, we had a great time, and I would stay there again.
Wayne, New Jersey
Spacious, comfortable home with fantastic pool area and beach.
Left on 07/15/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | jenni
We have been coming to the Outer Banks for the last 8 years. We love it so very much for its tranquility, cleanliness, friendly people and the overall feel of the type of family vacation we look forward to each year. We travel with our to daughters, their husbands, and our 3 grand children. They have grown up knowing the Outer Banks as their family vacation as the spent the week their unborn and then the following year there they were!. We love the Southern Shores area best out of all we have stayed at. It is close to the wonders of Duck and Corolla and everything else is so convenient. We love having a home on the oceanfront and that is something we will not compromise on. This particular home has been our favorite. It is so spacious and there is a place for everyone to go should they desire to read a book, be quiet and gaze, take a nap, whatever. The pool was fantastic in size and the surround around it. We will definitely go back again. Thanks so much. Rich, Jenn, Jenine, Lee, Olivia, Isabella, Emma, Jackie & Tyson.
We all had a wonderful time
Left on 07/10/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | James G
Everything was great.The property, the weather, Captain Georges Seafood Buffet. We would definetly stay here again.
Captains retreat II
West Chester, Pennsylvania 19380
Left on 06/16/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | Captains retreat II
Our rental was from June 5 - 12 2010 and the house, the weather the people everything was just spectacular. The only drawback for us was that the house was prohibitive for my husband to go on the beach as he is recovering from a stroke. I was told that beach access for a beach wheelchair would be no problem however this was not the case. Even with this the vacation was wonderful and the house and all acroutrements were gorgeous. Vacation was a memorable one for everyone.
Hilton Head SC
Left on 06/05/2010 for a stay in May 2010 | Charlene Rabb
This is a wonderful home, all amenities that you would ever want or need..
We had an awesome time
Left on 11/08/2009 for a stay in October 2009 | Lori
The home was fabulous. The "for sale" sign has us concerned about the possibility of renting this home in the future, because we are hooked. Nice amenities, including wireless internet, a water cooler, elevator, access to gorgeous tennis courts, and lovely views. Resort Realty personnel were helpful in getting someone out quickly to get the fireplace working again. Also, they quickly provided the combination lock to the tennis courts, which we were grateful for. We found out a well-kept secret...October is an awesome time to visit.
Left on 10/23/2009 for a stay in October 2009 | HB family
Captains Retreat is a wonderful cottage. Resort Realty is the best realty company on the Outer Banks. Their Resort Properties are the best! This cottage has superb oceanfront views, excellent amenities and a great location close to shopping, restaurants and activities. A few more bedrooms would make it perfect.
OBX Trip Fall 2009
Left on 10/10/2009 for a stay in September 2009 | B Kuzma
The house was beautiful and the sevice was fine. I did not like being asked for the new tax increase although I know that it was not the fault of Resort Realty. I was a bit annoyed that when I called to inquire about the new tax I was given an amount that I had to pay (around $27 or so) but after I sent the check I was then told that the first number quoted was wrong and I would have to send an additional 70 cents (on a $3200 rental!). I sent the check. When we checked in there was a note that the quoted rate was wrong and that I needed to drive to Resort Realty and pay an additional $1.69 (again, on a $3200 rental!) I called and the person that I spoke with waived the $1.69. I know that things happen, but I suggest that you empower your staff to waive trivial amounts like that. Otherwise, an excellent vacation.
captain's retreat II
Left on 09/03/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | lanc5
This was our first rental with Resort Realty and we couldn't have been happier. This property is a "premium property" which allowed us to check in at the house at 12pm. Effectively this gave us an extra day of vacation. The house was well appointed and we had a fabulous time.
Perfect vacation home
Left on 08/04/2009 for a stay in October 2008 | Louise
This home has everything you could ask for - most perfect oceanfront views from most bedrooms and shared spaces; comfortable and beautifully decorated; location perfect for exploring north or south outer banks; absolutely loved walking out your back door to the ocean. Thanks for a wonderful stay, none of us wanted to leave!
Newtown Square Pa
Never go back inland once we have stayed Oceanfront!
Left on 07/20/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | Eileen
Had a wonderful family vacation from age 72 down to 6 years old. The house
is perfectly equipped, big and comfortable for three families and a few
additional guests. The idea of 'running down to the beach' without lugging
coolers, toys and additional equipment is perfect. If you forget something, no
big deal, just run up to the house and get it. Also, having a pool and hot tub
was just so much fun for both the adults and the kids. Everyone had a
wonderful time and we would definitely consider returning next year-but the
house is for sale- so we have to keep track of where it goes!
great,!weather,house and service all terrific!
Left on 07/19/2009 for a stay in June 2009 | Laura Jirsa
Everything was good. We had a problem with the pool not being heated, so I was given a credit. I guess that couldnt be helped. The refigerator was really loud. I think on its last legs. But all in all a really good trip. We would consider coming back to that same house.
Best O-front home in Southern Shores with Elevator
Left on 07/16/2009 for a stay in October 2008 | beachwalks
As a Resort Club property, we could check in by noon and enjoy most of our Saturday. Upon checkout, a Resort Realty representative arrived at the house to assist us with check out - that was wonderful. The home was decorated with top of the line furnishings and amenities. The elevator was a must for us since members of our party have mobility issues. It was in proper working order and we never had an issue with it, unlike other homes. The O-front location is perfect with just a few steps to the beach. The heated pool was fabulous, as was the huge hot tub. Ocean views all around. Great uncovered decks for sunning that face the ocean and a wonderful deck off the dining room to enjoy sunsets. This is the perfect house for a small group (5 bedrooms). Very quiet neighborhood and centrally located between Duck and the Big Road. Very close to Food Lion and Wal Mart. We have rented this home for 3 years in a row. Great kitchen and 2 family rooms. Excellent shelling too. Resort Realty was very responsive to all our needs - best realtor on the beach, and we have been vacationing here for 20 years, so we have used them all.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.