NEW for 2014: TIKI BAR, 42" OUTDOOR TV and dining room chairs/barstools (dinner seating for 28). You are on vacation, why stay indoors, you deserve to stay at one of the rare homes that you can enjoy an OUTDOOR TV. This 42" outdoor TV is a great choice when in the hot tub or just relaxing by or in the pool. This TV is internet ready, so a great option for watching your favorite Netflix show outdoors or catching the big sporting event. Team up the outdoor TV, the new TIKI bar, with the new in 2013 swimming pool heater and you just hit the trifecta. ENJOY the WARM waters of our swimming pool (no charge for pool heat), while you sit at the TIKI... bar enjoying your favorite show on the 42" OUTDOOR TV. This MAGNIFICENT 10 Bedroom, 11 Bath Beach Home is Spectacular from top to bottom. You will Need Only One Word to describe this home and that is WOW!!!! Talk about LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION, "Rum Runner" is conveniently located in Southern Shores so you can start your vacation almost as soon as you cross the bridge. Enjoy the Private Walkway to the Beach with no roads or driveways to navigate or sit back and relax by our Own Private Pool and Hot Tub to make this a VACATION to Remember! Enjoy the Views of the Ocean from the two Decks that also overlook the Private Pool, Hot Tub and grilling area. Once inside "Rum Runner" you will never want to go home! Just wait until you see the STUNNING Kitchen that every chef will LOVE. The Kitchen has Granite Counter Tops, Stainless Steel Appliances and Rachel Ray's cookware and plenty of seating. This Kitchen is well stocked with everything you could possibly need to make dinner time MEMORABLE. The Kitchen has 2 FULL size REFRIGERATORS, 2 DISHWASHERS, MICROWAVE, OVEN, plenty of Pots and Pans, Blender, Coffee Makers. Everyone will LOVE gathering in the Spacious LIVING ROOM, with a Flat Screen TV and DVD, with numerous videos to watch. There is Access to a FRONT DECK and Access to a BACK DECK, making this a Great Spot to Admire the Breath-Taking views of the SUNRISE over the OCEAN. For those cool, off-season nights try the gas fireplace that ignites with a flip of a switch. This home features Gathering Areas on all Levels so you will never feel cramped or crowded. The Mid-Level area has a POKER table for game playing and a separate TV viewing area that has a 50" plasma TV with FREE NETFLIX and a BLUE-RAY player. There is Access to a Covered Deck from This Level, which Overlooks the HEATED PRIVATE POOL area and has views of the ocean. Lower Level has a FULL size POOL TABLE for FRIENDLY Competition! A 40" TV with DVD and VHS player. There is also a KITCHENETTE with a MICROWAVE, sink and FULL Size REFRIGERATOR, Great for Drinks and Snacks for Beach or Pool, as there is a sliding Glass Door to the PRIVATE POOL/HOT TUB/ OUTDOOR TV area from this Level. The outdoor area has a 42” OUTDOOR TV, great for viewing from the HOT TUB or the swimming pool (great for kid’s movie night under the stars). Enjoy the music with the outdoor speakers that are hooked up to a radio/CD player. All Bedrooms are Beautifully Decorated; all have flat screen TV's and Clocks. The ELEVATOR makes Getting Around "Rum Runner" easy for everyone and Groceries to the BEAUTIFUL KITCHEN a snap. "Rum Runner" is Centrally Located near Groceries, Shopping, and Restaurants. This Stunning Home is located on a Cul De Sac shared by two other 10 Bedroom Homes, Great for Large Gatherings and reunions. TOP LEVEL: Large Kitchen with 2 Full Size REFRIGERATORS, 2 DISHWASHERS, MIRCOWAVE, COFFEE MACHINES, wine rack, all stainless steel appliances. Great Room with TV, DVD, Movies, Fireplace, Access to TWO Decks - one with OCEAN VIEWS and overlooking PRIVATE POOL, Dining Area, a Half Bath on Landing, 2 KING MASTERS, each with a TV and Clock, elevator access. MID LEVEL: Gathering Area with poker table, 50" TV, STEREO, BLUE-Ray player, FREE NETFLIX and a Half Bath, Access to COVERED Deck, 2 KING MASTERS and 3 QUEEN MASTERS, each with a TV and Clock, elevator access. LOWER LEVEL: LARGE REC ROOM with FULL SIZE POOL TABLE, KITCHENETTE, with A FULL size REFRIGERATOR, MIRCOWAVE, wet bar, sofa, 40" TV, DVD, VHS. Access to PRIVATE HEATED POOL AREA, HOT TUB, Access to ELEVATOR, 1 KING (shares bath with hallway) with TV and Clock. 1 Room with 2 Beds (one is a full and one is a twin) with TV and Clock, shares bath with Additional Bedroom with QUEEN BED with a TV and Clock (this makes a Great Family Suite). OUTSIDE: Private HEATED Pool (28x11) EXPANDED pool deck, 42" OUTDOOR TV, TIKI BAR, Hot Tub, Outdoor speakers, Solar lighting, two Outside Showers, Gas Grilling area, Plenty of Seating around pool, LARGE YARD, PRIVATE Wooden Walkway to Beach. EXTRAS: ELEVATOR to all Floors, Private Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Outside Shower, gas Grill, Multiple TVs, Blu-ray player, DVDs, VHS/DVD player, Stereo, Many Videos, Books, games and Puzzles, 3 Refrigerators, 2 dishwashers, 2 Microwaves, Blenders, FULL SIZE Pool Table, 7 MASTER SUITES, 2 HALF BATHS, BABY EQUIPMENT, 2 High Chairs, user friendly Gates, Stroller, Pack N Play. Jogging/bike path right across the street, FREE High Speed Internet Access, 2 Covered Parking Areas, DTB 475ft, plenty of parking for 6 cars. NO SMOKING, NO PETS. Outdoor TV available from 3/22/14 - 11/1/14Click here to see a slide show and virtual tour of Rum Runner! Outer Banks Blue homes are equipped with: beds made prior to your arrival linens provided at no extra charge one set of towels per advertised occupant hand towels in each bathroom kitchen linens starter supplies of: toilet paper in every bathroom soap in each bathroom paper towels sample size dishwasher detergent and clothes detergentRead more
Left on 12/01/2013 for a stay in October 2013 | Terry
This house is so accommodating. Great gathering spaces and great quiet spaces (for when your sibling gets on your last nerve). The outdoor spaces are inclusive; you can feel part of things from the pool, all three decks, the hot tub. Quick stroll to the beach (safe) with no roads to cross. Love it!
Left on 08/31/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | Kristi
Loved the home and the close beach access. Was a little disappointed that it was not shown in pics or stated that it sits right by main road since we had young children that could not ride bikes that we hauled since it is a culdesac but thats all it is on the main road.
Once in a lifetime 4 generation family (unhappy)
4 Gneration Family Vacation
Left on 08/02/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | Once in a lifetime 4 generation family (unhappy)
The house was ok ---nothing like the last house we rented through Outer Banks Blue --which was great (Jones Beach House) --- little disappointed that when we arrived we found broken glass around the pool. The airconditioning on the top level didn't seem to cool off the top floor, the washing machine needed a service call and was still not working properly after service call, the oven was slow to heat and burners not label or working right. No propane to use the dirty grill. The service call we made for the airconditiong, we never received a call back or follow up on the airconditioning--- filters had obvious dirt on them not cleaned recently --- washer - repairman came sunday - glad to say that we received extra towels when the washer wasnt working. The house location was good and the access to the beach was nice. Read more
Thanks for posting your review of "Rum Runner." We are glad that you have had good experiences with Outer Banks Blue in the past, and we are sorry to hear that Rum Runner wasn't up to your expectation.
We are frankly very surprised to hear this, because this is one of our most popular properties.
We have called attention to your comments by the pool and spa vendor. He typically is very good about policing the pool area and ensuring that everything is just right.
Likewise we are sensitive to being sure everything is working as good as it can during a guests stay so we do replace all a/c filters and blubs on a monthly basis. The a/c was actually working properly, and the a/c vendor that was dispatched to the property confirmed that it was cooling properly during your stay. We are sorry it was not to your satisfaction.
As you are aware we actually replaced the washing machine during your stay which we know was disconcerting since you had a sick child staying with you that week. Please know we tried to get the replacement of the machine done as quickly as possible and with as little interruption to your stay as possible.
We do hope your next stay with us will be less eventful, and you enjoyed your week at Rum Runner otherwise.
All the best from Outer Banks Blue!
Left on 05/30/2011 for a stay in May 2011 | wanda
awesome home there was 20 of us from 70 to 6 and there was something for all we had such a great time. all of us are planning a trip again next year.
Left on 07/12/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | JMEYER
Pathway to ocean needs some warped boards replace for safety and over growth cut back. Phone in elevator was replaced and knob on elevator door was replaced. Service was prompt on indoor issues but outdoor pathway had not been attended.
Left on 07/12/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | Barbara K
This home is fabulous! We love the proximity to the beach, shopping and restaurants! The location is perfect in that once you cross the bridge, you drive about another mile and are done fighting traffic! We loved the decks on all levels overlooking the pool! A great home at the perfect location!
Left on 04/09/2010 for a stay in March 2010 | Kelly
Once I decided to rent Rum Runner, the Outer Banks Blue staff were very attentive to my questions about the property and desires to make our rental week the best it could be. Well done! And, I thoroughly appreciated the remote check-in and check-out process. Didn't spend one second of my vacation fetching or returning house keys to the rental agency.
Rum Runner is such an awesome property. Every bedroom is large and well-appointed, the common living spaces are large and numerous, and the kitchen is to-die-for. The elevator came in very handy for moving in/out and absolutely necessary to one of our guests who'd undergone a recent knee surgery. We simply could not have hoped for a more beautiful home than Rum Runner.
The home's location is extremely convenient to grocery and other types of shopping and restaurants. In many past years, I always stayed in Duck or Corolla, and I dreaded the slow crawl up and down Rt 12 to get any shopping done. That is not an issue with this house's location. Also, the private walk to the beach was a breeze.
My overall impression about my week at Rum Runner was one of relaxation in a beautiful home and setting. My favourite moment was each morning with a steaming cup of tea in hand, seated on the top deck, watching the sun rise over the ocean.
Undoubtedly, the best week at the Outer Banks I've ever had!
Left on 08/29/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | Stacey
We had 14 adults and 6 kids staying at Rum Runner. There was definitely enough room for all those people. The only problem was the elevator wasn't working and the air conditioning on the 2nd floor wasn't as cool as the other floors. The pool and hot tub were great.It was very clean when we got there. I would recommend bringing a few extra wash cloths and a 6-8 qt sauce pan if your planning on cooking for a large group. We took a griddle that we used a lot. They supply one wash cloth and towel per person. The house is in a great spot. It was easy to find and easy to get to the beach. I would definitely stay here again.
Left on 07/29/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | Buckeyes
This was a beautiful house that fit our large group very well. At no point did we feel cramped or run out of room. The pool table on the lower level was hit as well as the large backyard for outdoor games. The two fridges and 2 dishwashers were an absolute must. The kitchen did lack some large cookware and utensils. It was very hard to cook for so many people with limited pots and pans.
The location proved to be beneficial as it is close to the bypass to reach the southern beaches as well as close to Duck. The short walk to the beach was never a real problem, just remember your sandles when the sand gets hot.
The pool was a welcomed change for a break from the beach, however it was on the small side for a house that accomodates so many people. Wireless internet was put to use by multiple people that week. The realty company was very helpful and informative through the entire process. Overall, we would recommend this house.
Left on 07/22/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | joanc
Rum Runner was an easily accessed house with very good amenities. On
the down side, two floors were without AC for 2 1/2 days and we learned
that it had failed before the last party left. The bottom floor failed again on
the last evening, so we called to suggest window units for the next group as
had been done for us on the second floor midweek. The hot tub was not
functioning for the first two days. Compared to other houses that we have
had over the last 10 years, we found this kitchen not to be as well stocked
with cutlery, cooking utensils and containers for leftovers. In most houses,
we have been supplied with two towels per person which makes laundry a
little simpler. We very much liked the two refrigerators in the kitchen but
one was missing shelving which we later found in a cabinet. We did not try
to install them as we assumed they were out for a reason. The upstairs
layout was wonderful with lots of move-about room for our family and most
of the bedrooms were roomy enough. Bunk beds and/or parallels would
make sleeping children easier in one or two bedrooms. When we called
about the difficulties, the staff were very helpful and receptive to our needs
and help came in a timely manner. We have just never had so many issues
in one week. Overall we had a wonderful vacation, despite the difficulties.
Access to the beach was convenient and the house is well located for
marketing, other shopping, nearby attractions and church. We especially
liked not having to take that slow trip on Route 12 as in years past and
leaving for home was much simpler.
Left on 07/04/2009 for a stay in June 2009 | Valentine Getaway
We had a great time. The only thing that I see that could have been better was more skillets and pans in the kitchen. The air condition on the middle floor was not adequately cooling that floor. The design was beautiful and very well decorated.
Left on 06/04/2009 for a stay in May 2009 | Shirley
This house advertises 10 bedrooms and each can be used for an adult. No bunks, no pyramids! My group consists of only professional women who want bedroom/bath privacy and this house affords it all. The keyless entry is perfect, no hassle of visiting the rental agency. Parking is sufficient, and the house is located in a great area, convenient to shops, grocery store, sightseeing. But best of all was the great service provided by Outer Banks Blue. Thank you so much for providing a wonderful experience for the "Ya Ya Club".
Left on 05/08/2009 for a stay in April 2009 | ohiofamily
House was bigger than it seems in the photo. We found it nice and clean with comfy beds. Excellent service from the leasing agent. Felt a bit deceived by the lack of photos and no mention of how close the front of the house is to the main road but it turned out to be fine. Could have used a few more towels we found ourselves stealing towels from each other and hiding the new clean ones. I would rent this place again.
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 240,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.