- 5 bedrooms
- 6 bathrooms
- Sleeps 12
Description from the manager
Wonderful 5 bedroom, 6 bathroom home in an unbeatable location a short walk to Sunriver's Village Mall and SHARC. This large home boasts a remodeled kitchen (granite counter tops), beautiful hard wood floors, vaulted ceilings and large windows. The "cat walk" to the upstairs bedrooms is fun for kids and young at heart. Up to 12 guests will feel pampered with 4 King master suites and a 5th room with 2 sets of Bunks and its own bath. The loft area has a game table. Enjoy a soak under the stars in the private hot tub or BBQ on the back deck with your closest friends, family and/or co-workers! Minimum stay required certain times of the year ,... please view our Seasonal Pricing Calendar http://www.benningtonproperties.com/Seasonal-Pricing.html for details. If you reserve a home for less than the minimum number of nights - your reservation may need to be moved or cancelled. We may also be able to offer a stay shorter than the posted minimum night requirements. To inquire about a shorter stay, please call us.
Additional amenities include: ping pong table, near mall.Read more
About the manager
Bennington Properties (541) 368-7506 Full profile
Response rate: 5%
Response time: Within a day
Calendar updated: yesterday
Overall rating: 4.4 / 5.0 based on 3,637 reviews and 153 properties
Additional Location Information
Last updated on September 15, 2014
Not available for your dates? Check availability for 759 other Sunriver rentalsCheck Availability for Sunriver
Rates shown in $ USD
|Don't see rates for your trip?|
Phone / Internet
- Internet Access
Pool / Spa
- Hot Tub/Jacuzzi
- Pet friendly - no
- Smoking allowed - no
- Suitable for children - ask
- Suitable for the elderly - ask
- Wheelchair accessible - ask
What Past Guests Are Saying
Have you stayed here? Write a review
35 guest reviews
93% of guests would stay again
Family reunion Retreat
Our family of 14, 6 children from 5 yrs of age down to 6 mo, had a great time at 1 colonial place! Kids loved the bunk beds! It was perfect for those nappers to have a quiet spot in the house and let the rest of us resume our conversation and shenanigans without waking them up. Quiet, great location to SHARC and the village.
I was a little concerned about the previous reviews, but walking into 1 colonial place was a joy to behold. Most of the concerns voiced had been remedied. The gas stove pilot light was crackling and popping all during use, but cooked just fine. You would actually have to cook on the stove to see what others were concerned about. The master bathroom located by the front of house on the lawn side, the slider privacy door did not slide and is unusable because whoever placed the toilet paper dispenser, screwed it into the slider unit and door! It's just not going to slide!
Thank you owners for the use of your house. It's layout is perfect for multiple families or groups, we had so much fun with the ping pong table and bikes! Continue to stay on top of repairs and updates. Many happy memories were made at 1 Colonial Place !
Sherree Read more
Detailed ratings for this rental
Overall customer service
Bedding & mattresses
Other facilities & amenities
Kitchen & utensils
Response from Bennington Properties - 08/03/2014
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback on your stay at 1 Colonial and we are so pleased that the amenities and the layout of this house were perfect for your family. The owners of this property are very conscientious of creating a great guest experience and really appreciate your clarification of previous reviews. This is very valuable to future guests! We hope to see you again soon.
Guest Services Coordinator
- Overall customer service
Great layout for a large group
This house has a great layout for a large group. It has getaway spaces as well as welcoming large group spaces. Unfortunately the house needs some updating. Some of the furniture (dining rom table and stools) are in bad repair and the kitchen lacks some of the basic tools. The location is great - close to Sharc and the village - The rent is high for the quality of the home Read more
Response from Bennington Properties - 04/23/2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at 1 Colonial. I am pleased that the house provided a great location and layout for your group. Your feedback is very important to us and to the owners as well. They have added a new 16 piece cookware set to the kitchen, and will be doing some assessing and repainting shortly. We will check out the dining table and chairs so that you for the heads up on that. This house does have a wonderful location. We hope to see you again soon!
Guest Services Coordinator
Do not rent
My husband and I have stayed at several vacation rentals over the last few years and I felt that this rental was actually the most ill equipped house that we have stayed in. We also had three other couples staying with us that shared in our opinions.
I do not typically write reviews but wanted you to be aware of our stay in hopes that some changes will be made. As a group we love to enjoy good food and wine. This kitchen made that very difficult. The kitchen stove top is broke/sharp on the edge, and it strikes constantly if the left front burner is on. The only skillet in the house is so thin/cheap it pops when the flame is turned on. There were only metal spatulas. The wine opener broke with the first bottle. Majority of the dishes were dirty upon arrival and had to be re-washed. The wood handles on the knives are split and the knives are very dull. The trash closet was overflowing upon arrival and had a very bad smell. Listening to music and watching movies were even a challenge due to the electronic equipment being very outdated( VHS and cassette player). No iPod connection, USB, or pay per view. There is no water hose to fill the very low hot tub. We are a active family and were not able to go on bike rides because one of the bikes were missing, one had a flat, and one had a broke chain. The beds were firm, but the bedding is comfortable. There were plenty of linens, soap, dishwasher soap and laundry soap. Overall the house was clean.
In closing, all of the other houses we have rented in sunriver in this price range are far superior to colonial 1.
I hope you take this email into consideration as no one in our group is the type to complain.
Response from Bennington Properties - 02/21/2014
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Fosdick,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at 1 Colonial over New Years. I am sorry to hear that you had a less than stellar experience in the home. In order to make sure that all of the issues you had listed were addressed, I went to the home myself to inspect. All four burners on the stove are working perfectly. The stove is relatively new. It was purchased in June of 2013. There is a small crack in the frame by the back burner, which we will have repaired. It looks like something heavy was knocked into the side while cooking. It does not in any way affect the function of the stove. The kitchen is well stocked, with frying pans and pots in different sizes, casarole and baking dishes, as well as cookie sheets and all baking and cooking necessities. There are also ample extras, such as a coffee grinder, blender, crock pot and double toaster. The house does have some casette and VHS players in some of the bedrooms. However, the living room as an ample sized flat screen TV with DVD player and there is a second DVD player in the Master Bedroom. While non of our properties have pay per view, we do have over 20 music channels as part of our cable service. The bikes and the hot tub are all working and in good shape. That said, please keep in mind that you can always call us at any time during your stay if you ever find anything remiss inside your rental. We would have been happy to remedy all of your issues on the spot: from calling the hot tub company to bringing extra kitchen supplies and checking the stove. We do really appreciate your feedback and we take it very seriously. I hope that we see you in Sunriver again sometime soon so that we have another chance to give you an excellent rental experience.
Guest Services Coordinator
We have stayed in Sunriver many, many times over the years, and always stay in high end beautiful homes. I felt like this was a nice home, bit it was tired and very over priced. When we arrived we found many things that were in need of repair, stained carpets, etc. (so much so that I called the property managers the first morning with a l ist of items that I wanted them to be aware of) The location was great for our group of kids, close to just about everything they wanted to do. The vacation itself was very fun, as we love Sunriver. House was a little disappointing.
Response from Bennington Properties - 02/21/2014
Thank you for your excellent feedback on your stay at 1 Colonial. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Sunriver and we apologize that you had issues upon arrival. This house is well liked because of it's excellent location and ability to house large groups comfortably. Unfortunately, in the high summer season, a house with high occupancy and back to back bookings for several months can show some wear and tear. We have since had a thorough carpet cleaning done as well as an intense post-season cleaning. We hope that, on your next trip to Sunriver, you will give us another chance to provide you with an excellent rental experience.
Guest Services Coordinator
comfy, well appointed
See you next year..would love to have the same place for our family. Easy to find, near grocers, easy to Bachelor, good parking.
Great location, kitchen lacking.
The service from BP was great! Always available, very responsive, and kind.
The location was perfect! Quiet, not close to a busy road but easily within walking distance of the golf course, the village and the Sharc.
The layout was great, we could put the kids to bed upstairs and still visit (loudly) downstairs! Loved the hot tub, fireplace, furniture, ping-pong table, bedding, and towels.
The kitchen was not up to par for what we paid for our stay. The stove was bad. We called maintenance within 2 hours of our arrival due to the gas stove sparking and not working properly. The gentleman that came (very quickly!) said that three other guests had complained about the stove (yet it had not been replaced) and that if we kept using it, the kinks would get worked out. Not true. The gas would spark and snap on every element when you turned one element. The oven would not stay on! During the preheat phase you had to turn it on at least three times due to it automatically shutting off. Very frustrating... Especially for around $3k for less than a week! The pans were also lacking. The one large frying pan had a broken handle and was very cheap quality. I understand that a lot of families probably don't go to Sunriver to cook all their meals ( : but that's a big part of our family's way of relaxing and spending time together. We also have rental properties, so I understand that you don't leave your "fine china" at a rental house but I would have appreciated more of an inventory about what was available at the rental property.
The railing that spans the "bridge" is certainly not to code. Both my children, (1 and 3 yrs), could fit their entire bodies through the bars. That was a bit frightening and a challenge to manage their safety!
There was also mouse droppings in the closets and on the kitchen floor when we arrived.
With all that said: Thank you for a wonderful Christmas! Read more
Response from Bennington Properties - 04/09/2013
Thank you so much for your review! I am glad that you had an enjoyable Christmas and hope to host you again and again! As for the kitchen issues that you had, I’m happy to report that we have been working with the owners to make repairs. The stove certainly wasn’t complained about by three other guests - I’m sorry you were told that - but we are actively working to repair/replace the oven and stove top as needed. The owners have been extremely proactive in creating a safe, happy and well working atmosphere in the house and were very concerned to hear about the problems you experienced and are taking immediate actions to remedy the situation. As for mice, I do apologize for that sneak in. We are in the middle of the forest and occasionally the “outdoors” try to come “indoors” and we don’t catch it. We have taken preventative critter measures to keep them out - thank you for letting us know! Sometimes, the only way we find out that we have missed items like these is when you, our guest, stay in the home and point them out to us. We appreciate your comments and thank you for the opportunity to address them.
Fun layout, the catwalk is useful in a variety of ways, great for multiple families or a big party. Read more
Response from Bennington Properties - 08/03/2012
That is absolutely one of my favorite homes!
Beautiful house and a great location.
Glad you were able to enjoy it.
Rick was fantastic to work with! We did a large group retreat and rented 3 houses close together. All were wonderful. The extra help with screen, projector and sound system made the meetings easy. The team already wants to come back next year- will probably need another house! Thank you so much! Read more
Response from Bennington Properties - 05/03/2012
It was a joy to have you folks here. So glad we were able to help folks doing such valuable work. You are a blessing to so many!
Would have been 5 if not for one thing...
The kitchen is lacking in the pans, bake ware, serving and baking utensils. This will be our second year in a row staying at this house, the first year we had to improvise quite a bit as we were expecting the basics to be there, but the second year we knew ahead of time and brought the items that were missing last year so we would have them. It would be nice to have them provided as it is additional items that we have to pack up which isn't very convenient.
The house itself and the space provided is great, and the short walk to the main village is perfect!!! Read more
Response from Bennington Properties - 12/22/2011
Thanks for the head's up Scott, This is one of my very favorite homes in Sunriver. The owners have purchased and installed new items and the kitchen is now fully stocked. Rick
Sunriver summer vacation at Colonial One
Sunriver 2011 Family reunion
We visit annually to Sunriver with several families for our annual reunion. We have stayed in Colonial One for the last 4 years. We love the house especially the layout that gives each bedroom its own bathroom. The house is obviously a full time rental; no family pictures, standard furniture package, nothing fancy but clean and well maintained. The house works well because its large and centrally located. We have standing reservations to rent this house every year and will continue to have our family reunion at Colonial One. Read more
Response from Bennington Properties - 08/25/2011
We love 1 Colonial and love having you every year.
A Christian Fellowship Group
We enjoyed cooking and playing and talking with good friends.
The home is perfect for our group of 11--allowing each of us to have our own bedroom/bathroom space while providing us with a large central social space for food, fun and fellowship. Its convenient location is a good launching area for several activities, including walking/riding around the trails, visiting the village mall, shopping at the country store, and enjoying the lodge area and its amenities. We have stayed in this house twice before and have always found it clean and the Bennington staff helpful and responsive. Read more
Response from Bennington Properties - 07/29/2011
We love this home too. The location and the beauty of the home can't be beat.
clean, spacious, beautiful
This was the perfect home for our family reunion related to location, cleanliness, professionalism of the staff, the beauty of the home, private baths for each family plus a guest bathroom for the rest of the family who came to celebrate with us. Bennington Properties had the home stocked with the usual necessities and we wanted for nothing. We all would highly recommend Bennington Properties and this home because we felt at home! Thank you all and in particular, thank you to Lisa who made setting this all up a very simple and pleasurable experience. The Vanarkel/Kusler Family Read more
Response from Bennington Properties - 07/29/2011
Thanks so much Kathy,
That is a great home in a great location. Glad everyone enjoyed.
Great Sun River Home
Great vacation property with great location
This is the 2nd time we've stayed at this house. I recommend it highly to large groups looking to stay in Sun River. Read more
Response from Bennington Properties - 03/14/2011
This is one of my very favorite homes in Sunriver. The hardwood floors, the lighting and the furniture make it a gorgeous home. I'm glad you enjoyed it.
Geoff & Lark Reece
First of all we have worked with Bennington before and because it is a sure thing that we would get courteous, professional assistance we do not even think about going through any other property management company - you guys are awesome, thank you! This year we found the perfect home for our annual (extended) family reunion. We come from Washington, Oregon, California and this year we had 4 generations gather. We will be back to this house as the 4 master bdrms with king size beds and bathroom attached were perfect. We are not overweight folks but on the tall and big side and all couples used to king size beds. Loved the open concept of the kitchen/dining/living room, great location to the Village, well equipped and just very very nice. Price was right as well. A perfect 10! Read more
Response from Bennington Properties - 02/24/2011
Thanks so much Lark,
That's one of my very favorite homes. Location is great and a gorgeous house.
Look forward to having you again.
awesome amount of bathrooms
Grants Pass Oregon
Awesome amount of bathrooms
This was our first family trip that included all our children and grandchildren. Needed enough space for 12 people. The number of master bedrooms with bathrooms was fantastic. The overall layout of the house was great with the kitchen open to the great room and dining room, no one was left out. The ping pong table in the garage was also a bonus. I will have to say the one master bedroom with the handicapped bathroom was not the room to have, there was an upstairs bedroom right over it and the bed made alot of noise. Anytime anyone moved upstairs it was very loud downstairs. The only other negative was several of the DVD players did not work and we had to move them around to watch a movie on the big TV. The TV in the one bedroom didn't work at all. Only a few additional items in the kitchen would help but overall it was a lovely home to stay in and good for a large group. Read more
Response from Bennington Properties - 02/03/2011
That is a great home - one of my favorites. We'll make sure all the DVD players are working properly.
Large, well designed house with nice amenities, great location
Having a bathroom for each bedroom is a very nice feature for a large family. The outside decks were a bit small for this size house.
Large dining table, good kitchen.
Close to the mall.
Great House for large families or extended families
We have stayed every august the last several years at Colonial One. We love the house and continue to book it for future years. It's not a high end house but very comfortable for families. Each bedroom has its own bath which is a real plus, it's close to the mall which is a must for our kids to make it to Goodies in the mall just before the sun goes down. We love the location and the price for what you get.
The Linnman Family
Great house! Great location!
The house was wonderful. It worked well for our family. The only downside was that it has a very small deck for the size of the house. We had 13 people staying in the house, while the deck only had 5 chairs and a small table. Read more
Response from Bennington Properties - 07/29/2010
Thank you for your review, Vicki. Sounds like we need to get more deck chairs out there. We will take care of that right away.
We enjoyed being next to the village which made it easy to run to the store on the bikes. The house is located on a circle and was a safe place for the kids to ride their bikes. It was nice that each room has a full bath and there was plenty of room for everyone to have their space when needed.
We did have issues with the hot tub. It is at the end of its life and has been well used. There was a leak in the tub required the addition of water on an almost daily. Upon arrival we noted that the tub was in need of service. We called the spa company as instructed and their representative did come to address the issue. The only problem that we encountered was that the spa attendant was suggesting that we had dirtied the water. He stated that he had been out there just the other day and that it was clean then. The only problem was we were not in the house when he last serviced the tub. I understand that there are a lot of folks that come and go in these rental houses just need to keep that fact in mind.
We always use Bennington Properties and have had a great experience each time. They are friendly and attentive to our needs.
Response from Bennington Properties - 07/21/2010
Thank you for your feedback, Jim. Although I don't have direct control over the spa company employees, please accept my apologies for their accusations. That was definitely unprofessional and uncalled for. We will be discussing this with the owner of that company. I am very glad your family was still able to enjoy your visit. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience.
We loved the home at 1 Colonial. It was perfect for a group of our size. Read more
Response from Bennington Properties - 06/15/2010
Thanks, Lana! We are glad 1 Colonial worked so well for your family.
east and west schells
Great for family
We stayed at Colonial 1 with our family for Thanksgiving. The home was a
perfect location because each room had its own bathroom and the large
central living area provided space for everyone. And, with 3 children 3 and
under it was nice to have separate "wings" of the house. Additionally, the
remodeled kit was great for cooking Thanksgiving.
We had a great experience working with Bennington Properties. My niece
entered the snowman coloring contest and some of us attended the breakfast
open house they had on Friday. Everyone time we called with questions, the
staff was very kind and helpful. We would definitely recommend this location
and plan on using Bennington in the future.
Great place and location for large family
We found this property to be very comfortable for our family of ten - five adults and five children ages 8 to 16. The location was convenient for visiting the MALL, renting bikes, and going to the North Pool.
The dining table was big enough for all of us which we consider important. Unforunately, the table outside was not large enough to accommodate more than six or seven people and there was no second table so we could have split our group into two. The deck is fairly narrow. Consequently we had no dinners outside which has always been a favorite thing to do at SunRiver.
Other than that, the home was pretty well equipped with plenty of dishes and silverware for our family and a new refrigerator and stove.
We tried to use the Bennington Properties library of DVDs but our choices were not available. Maybe the lending periods are too long.
Our family had a great vacation during our week in Sunriver.
great location/ great management
One Colonial has 4 en suite bedrooms with king size beds and a great 4 bunk
room with a private bath. It is in a perfect location for accessing the activities
in the south end of Sunriver. We had a wonderful week, having rented a total
of 5 houses for a family reunion in the very near vicinity (off Augusta Lane). It
is not air conditioned, however the temperature drops at night, and with the
ceiling fans and window treatments we were able to keep the entire house cool
all day, even in 100+ weather. The kitchen is very well equipped to handle a
large crowd. The house is very clean and the management company,
Bennington Properties, is excellent. The only shortcoming in this otherwise
fine house is its basic construction. The bathrooms (fiberglass showers),
furnishings, and appliances are all somewhat cheaper than they appear on the
website. And, with the open floor plan, noise travels all over the house.
Great family reunion venue!
Perfect venue for our family reunion. Using a Sunriver map to pinpoint locations, we were able to rent several homes in close proximity. This allowed us to get together for meals and spend evenings together while each family had a separate home for sleeping and basing their other activities from. Service was execellent. Only negative - Garbage from the previous renters was still in the garbage closet rather than being removed when the house was cleaned. (Otherwise it was spotless!) Apparently garbage is only removed according to the trash pick up schedule.........not necessarily in between renters. Thus it was full....and smelly.
Response from Bennington Properties - 07/31/2009
Garbage is picked up twice a week during the peak season and once a week during the low season by the garbage company.
We love this home!!
This is a wonderful for family and friends to gather in. The bedrooms with bathrooms in each provide privacy. The living space allows our group of 10 to gather, play games, talk and eat together with plenty of room.
Thank you for allowing us to stay at this wonderful home. We love it!
We had 4 couples an children for a 4 day weekend. This house met our needs and exceeded our expectations. It was spacious and comfortable.
Great place to stay in Sun River. The house has everything to include proximity to the village. All you need to bring is changes of clothes. The house has everything else to include bikes. I recommend buying the groceries prior to arrival. The store in the village is a little spendy.
This was a great house for a large group. Very open floor plan with plenty of room and 5 master bedrooms. It is also very close to the Sunriver Village Mall which was a plus. And, it wasn't overly priced. I'd definitely stay here again.
This is the perfect house for multiple families since each bedroom has a full bathroom. The large and very open spaces are perfect for coming together and at meal times. This stay was our second visit to 1 Colonial, and this time the kitchen and flooring had been updated. Kudos to the enhancements! Our only very minor request is a stereo in the living area. I believe it was near the dining area on our first stay and this time it was in a bedroom - again very minor.
We look forward to visiting the resort again and staying at this property!
Lots of room for our entire family of 12 (5 children)to get together for the holidays. Bennington properties was helpful without being intrusive. They plowed our parking spots out as needed and found us a Christmas tree. Perfect weather for skiing and playing in the snow as well as seasonal activities in town and at the lodge made for a busy and enjoyable experience.
Normandy Park, WA
Wonderful Family Vacation
Location, Location, Location!!! This property is terrific. We had 6 adults and 5 children vacationing for a week. There was room for everyone. The extras-bikes, table tennis, board games - were a plus. The home was very clean and extra basic kitchen provisions were there. The only bummer was no hair dryers or shampoo/conditioners. Nobody brought any, but shopping was near. We are looking at renting again for a summer trip.
RN's from RVMC
Grants Pass, Or.
Wonderful ski trip
These people are very accomodating and really bend over backwards to make your stay one to remember. The house was just as they said it would be. Fireplace didn't seem to work, but as soon as we asked for some help, Bennington Properties sent some one over and within 10 minutes from our call!! Fireplace worked great after that. Hot tub was hot and ready for us when we arrived. Great place and Great people.
We have stayed several times with your properties. This house is perfect for our families and we will come again this summer if we can get A DEAL. We are thinking 1 week June 15 forward but we want a "real" deal this time!! Thanks
Sunriver Colonial House Review '08
While we very much enjoyed the home itself, its size and
location at Sunriver, with all the updates that were done,
some of them were not well though through and not the best
of quality. Putting in wood floors throughout the main living
area made the noise level go up tremendously, especially
with the vaulted ceilings. Perhaps area rugs should be placed
around everywhere on the wood floor. Also, there just wasn't
enough sitting space for everyone to sit around the living
area (I believe one chair was taken out?). For a house that
sleeps 12, we couldn't all comfortably sit in the couches and
chairs- there just wasn't enough places to sit. The kitchen
upgrades are beautiful and really nice also. The wood floor
down one of the halls was placed poorly and is warped. Too
bad for the $$ spent on replacing the carpet. One of the
back master bedrooms didn't have a remote for the tv- that
was a little annoying. We did enjoy the large home and it was
good to be in Sunriver again. Read more
Response from Bennington Properties - 11/21/2008
There was some warping on the new wood floors, but that has been fixed. All TV's now have remotes.
Wonderful for a large group/family
Our stay at #l Colonial was so great, that we decided to come back again next year, starting a new family tradition! The home was excellent for a large group/family, and everyone had ample space and privacy. The amenities in the home were superb, including some necessary handicap features.
We have owned vacation rentals at the beach and mountains of California, so we know what to look for in the way of location, comfort, and the service by a vacation management company. Bennington Properties and the home at #1 Colonial surpassed all of our expectations!!