South of the Light in Surf City has long been the most desired spot on Topsail Island. More for families to do, close to shopping, piers, and amusements like golf, miniature golf, marinas and parks. This is further enhanced by less traffic, as South-of-the-Light is almost a destination unto itself. Further, this is the highest part of the island. 3 by the C has been built to offer some of, if not the best views on the island. The sunrise over the beach is breathtaking from the expansive decks. Built in 2006. Begin relaxing as soon as greeted on the bottom floor with a cozy fun second den with a flat screen TV. The bottom level is a great youn...gsters retreat with its own TV, pull out sofa and bunk bed . There is even a second table for dining as well. The third level opens to a large great room with huge views of the ocean and beach, North and South, is one of the highlights for all to enjoy The adjoining kitchen allows the chef to enjoy the views in every direction, as well as still being connected to the great room goings-on. The fireplace (for off seasons), and large flat screen TV are placed for ideal viewing for the whole great room and dining room areas. There is a handy eating bar for several people to have a beverage or meal while visiting with the cooks. The large dining room table will accommodate everyonel to allow true family time meals and game night fun. Furnished with all new, leather and real wood furniture, this room will invite long conversations and provide the backdrop for watching theatre style enjoyment of DVD movies, sporting events, and TV. Five generous bedrooms all with new flat screen TVs help you relax after a wonderful day at the beach. All 5 bedrooms are ocean front providing beautiful views allowing you to wake to the soothing sounds of the waves rolling in. The 3 Master Suites (2 King, 1 Queen) all have ocean front sliding doors which open onto expansive decks as well as private baths in all 3 master bedrooms. . All the bedrooms are large and provide a perfect place for portable crib, (provided). The beach level sports a Hot Tub Spa, tucked under the deck, for a private, alfresco retreat with an enclosed outdoor shower as well. Cool breezes off of the Atlantic make this a place to let go. Large enough for several friends, 3 by the C is a warm home waiting for wonderful vacation memories to be made. Speaking of friends, we wanted to make 3 by the C, available to family dogs who happen to like to take their owners on vacation with them. A $200 non-refundable pet fee per pet, plus a $500 refundable damage deposit.Read more
The house was nice but some of the furniture was broken which lead to people having to sleep on couches. The check in process was not very smooth. The house was not very clean when we checked in. We paid for the hot tub and couldn't use it because the odor was to strong. Read more
Thanks for your review. I am pleased to hear that you found this to be a nice house despite the shortcomings you experienced. Please accept my apology for the inconveniences. Had you notified us about those things, we would have been glad to address them while you were here. I will share your feedback with the owner and I have forwarded your file on to our customer service manager, Bill, for review regarding hot tub charge. Please let us know how we might assist you in the further: 800-762-3961.
This was a good beach trip.
Left on 08/09/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | vsf3boys
This house was a nice house and we definitely enjoyed our stay. The location was ok. A little further from Surf City from where we wanted to be and the beach was very narrow. Overall, everything was good, but the house was dirty. We loved the access walk to the beach! There needs to be a way to get from the carport/driveway area to the walkway to the beach besides climbing the wall. Read more
Thanks for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed staying in this lovely home, even though it was further from Surf City than you were hoping. Our reservation specialists can help with this in the future. I wish that you had called to let us know that the home was not cleaned in keeping with your expectations. We are always glad to send our cleaning crew back out to clean for you. Sometimes, during high tide, the beach does narrow, but it widens as the tide goes out. It is not necessary to climb the wall from the carport area, since there is direct beach access from both decks. Many homeowners prefer to provide access from upper decks for various reasons. I hope that is helpful as you consider planning your next visit.
Please give us a call when you are ready to book again: 800-762-3961. We look forward to welcoming you back to Topsail!
1710 S. Shore Dr
Left on 07/19/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | Pam
Let me start by saying that we were very pleased with the services of Treasure Realty.
We were not that impressed with this particular rental unit though. While the location was exceptional and the floor plan was very nice, the amenities were a disappointment. The refrigerator was not clean. We removed dishes, cutting boards, and flatware from cabinets and drawers that were dirty. Some of the pots and pans need to be replaced. Additionally the unit has an issue with sugar ants in the kitchen. Some of the mattresses are in dire need of replacement; especially the king bed on the middle level. The pyramid bunk bed in the basement should be removed and trashed. The top bunk is unsafe as the bed is missing two support poles in the front. The bottom bed on the pyramid also had a broken support.
My biggest complaint is the condition of the carpet. We have rented a lot of beach homes over the 30 years we have been married. This is though, the first pet friendly unit we have ever rented. What a disappointment! The carpet was disgusting. There are stains everywhere. I would suggest that pet friendly units be required to not contain any carpeting so that the floors can be properly cleaned for the next tenant.
The last item to mention, which is minor, is the advertisement. It needs to be updated to include the 1/2 bath. We rented linens and were supposed to receive a roll of toilet paper per bathroom in addition to the appropriate amount of towels. We only received 4 instead of 5 rolls of TP, and 4 hand towels instead of 5. I can only assume because the half bath is not included in the ad.
I had not intended to complain which is why no phone call was made during our stay, but since you asked, here it is. It is a shame because what could have been an exceptional home, ended up a disappointment due to issues that can easily be fixed.
Thanks so much for your candid review. I appreciate your kind words about Treasure Realty, and I am so sorry to hear that this home was not the best fit for you all. I do wish that you had called us while you were here, so that we could have addressed these issues during your stay. We are always happy to send out a cleaning crew if the home is not cleaned to your standards. In addition we could have sent out an exterminator and/or traps for those pesky sugar ants. I am so sorry about that.
I will definitely share your feedback—especially about the beds and the carpets with the owner. Thanks for alerting us about the discrepancy regarding the number of bathrooms advertised being 4, when the house actually has 4.5. This is another issue that we and/or the linen company could have taken care of for you had you let us know while you were here. We have adjusted the description of the property to reflect the correct number of bathrooms.
Thanks again for choosing Treasure Realty. Our goal is to make your stay as pleasant as possible, so in the future, please don’t hesitate to contact us and let us know how we might do just that. Please give us a call if we can assist you further: 800-762-3961.
The most ultimate vacation with family and friends
Left on 06/07/2012 for a stay in May 2012 | Beach Bums
This was our first time renting a house on the beach. Upon arriving to the house, it was as beautiful as the pictures online. The home was gorgeous with everything you needed, I recommend using the linen service. It felt like we were staying at a friends house. The beds were comfortable, and the house was very clean. We did have a broken dryer and called the maintenance #, they said they would send someone right out, but it was the next morning before he showed up (had to rewash the clothes).
Getting up early and sitting on the upper deck with a cup of coffee watching the sunrise was spectacular. The pelicans flying over was a sight to see.
Can't wait for next year, already reserved for the same week. The only thing we wish they had was a good grill.
Left on 05/25/2012 for a stay in October 2011 | Janine hurst
Our family goes to a beach house on topsail every year for 4yrs now and we just loved 3by the sea. There was plenty of room and 3 master suites which is so un usual. The deck ares were great since that is where we spend a lot of time , and the hot tub was great , on the deck and overlooking the ocean. The family /kitchen area was great plenty of room and comfy couches, even a deck to watch the sunset in the front, we will be going back this oct and would recommend 3by the sea. The house was also nice and clean.
Thanks for your review. I am pleased to hear that you had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay back in 2010. I do apologize that our vendor wasn't able to get one of the showers working during your stay. I'm sorry about the carpets being dirty as well. We always appreciate it when guests allow us to clean the carpets during their stay since there is such a brief window between guests during the summer months. Thanks for your patience and your patronage. Please let us know when you are ready to book your next visit to Topsail: 800-762-3961.
Great Stay, Great Price
Left on 05/24/2012 for a stay in May 2012 | Mark
House was very clean and organized, and had everything provided. Kitchen on the third floor made carrying groceries difficult, but go shopping once at the beginning of the week and this won't be an issue. Right on the beach, spacious parking, and beautiful views of the beach, both north and south. House can accomodate many, many guests while maintaining comfort and privacy. 1710 S. Shore Drive makes for a great vacation.
Left on 04/10/2012 for a stay in July 2011 | Linda
This is one of our families favorite beaches on the east coast. I live 1 hour from the outer banks and prefer topsail island over that any day. I highly recommend it as a vacation destination. Especially if your looking for a more laid back and not so crowded beach!!!
The location is great. This house was a little disappointing, th
Left on 04/10/2012 for a stay in September 2011 | Lori
The location of this property is great. We were not so pleased with the cleanliness. We chose this property because it was pet friendly, but did expect it to be clean. I arrived ahead of the rest of my family and had to vacuum the carpets and purchased Febreeze and some candles so it did not smell so bad. We enjoyed the week - the deck was great. Read more
Thanks for your kind and candid review of your stay back in 2011. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the location. I do apologize that you didn't find this property cleaned to your standards. I wish you had informed the cleaners and/or us about this; we are always glad to send a crew back out to take care of anything that was missed. We certainly don't want you having to clean before you can enjoy your vacation! Thanks for your patience there, but please don't hesitate to contact us if you need something during your stay. We appreciate your patronage. Please give us a call when you are ready to book your next Topsail Island vacation: 800-762-3961.
Here 3 more rentals located nearby.
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 240,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.