South of the Light in Surf City has long been the most desired spot on Topsail Island. Â More for families to do, close to shopping, piers, and amusements like golf, miniature golf, marinas and parks. This is further enhanced by less traffic, as South-of-the-Light is almost a destination unto itself. Further, this is the highest part of the island. Sunrise, Sunset, has been built to offer some of, if not the best views on the island. From the fourth floor octagon, accessed by an elevator, one is spoiled for choice of views. From North Topsail, to Figure Eight, and also the magnificent Intra Coastal Waterway, with its constant parade of boat...s plying the North to South water highway. Sunrise to Sunset, ever changing, and thus its name. Newly built in 2006. Begin relaxing when you will be greeted at the glass doors and the travertine floors beyond. The ceiling, adorned with natural pine and a slowly rotating ceiling fan welcome you to slowly enter into a very special place and time away. The elevator awaits you for the trip to the top floors. A great room with travertine wall to wall with huge views of the ocean and beach, North and South, is one of the highlights for all to enjoy. The adjoining kitchen features natural hickory cabinetry, green granite tops and the latest appliances, (Jenn-Air, Bosch, Amana) including an under counter wine/beverage refrigerator. An extra prep sink serves the bar area and accommodates extra pairs of hands in this chefs kitchen. The chef is able to enjoy the views in every direction, as well as still being connected to the great room goings-on. The surround theatre is placed for ideal viewing for the whole great room and dining room areas. There is a handy eating bar for several people to have a beverage or meal while visiting with the cooks. Furnished with leather and real wood furniture, this room will invite long conversations and provide the backdrop for watching theatre style enjoyment of DVD movies, sporting events, and TV. Five generous bedrooms plus very private sleeping in the Octagon tower room. All have Four bedrooms with ocean front sliding doors onto expansive decks. Included in the two master bedrooms are Jacuzzi tubs, travertine floors, and showers. Long views of the beach from the spas and light playing through real glass brick await your enjoyment. (King size beds). An additional ocean front room, offers a queen size bed, and a perfect place for portable crib, (provided). This room also has TV and a very private, covered deck. The "Walk Through Roomâ?, travertine floors and a pyramid bunk bed, TV, book-nook, obscure glass French doors, and a sliding door to the covered deck, and beach stairway. A great youngsters retreat with its own TV with video game ports and places for just "hanging outâ?. This is a quintessential bunk room for enjoying a cool place in the long afternoons. The beach level sports a Spa , tucked under the deck, for a private, alfresco retreat with an outdoor shower and handy powder room . Cool breezes off of the Atlantic make this a place to let go. Large enough for several friends. Â Speaking of friends, we wanted to make Sunrise & Sunset Â available to family dogs who happen to like to take their owners on vacation with them. Bedding: 2 Kings, 1 Queen, pyramid bunk bed, two bunks, one w/trundle,1 sofa sleeper. Â *There is a $70 fee for opening the hot tub in the off and mid season. Bring your pet for a $200 non-refundable pet fee per pet plus a $500 refundable damage deposit. (Fireplace inoperable)Read more
Left on 07/26/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | Ashley
We loved being right on the beach and the view was beautiful. However, there were some downfalls: it was difficult getting out of the driveway (with the bush to the right of the house), the dishwasher door was loose, there were black watermarks on the ceilings in the kitchen and common area, the table and chairs were not in the loft as pictured. We also felt that if the house can sleep 18, there should be adequate seating for meals (that does not include the outside table) even a coffee table near the couches would have been great; as well as larger dressers in the master rooms.
As this was the first year we stayed in a house, we enjoyed our stay, but felt things needed updated.
Left on 11/07/2012 for a stay in September 2012 | Waters Family
This house is so awesome...Having 2 master bedrooms, with one of them having access to the beach was incredible. Every window you look out of has a great view of the beach/ocean. The elevator made it possible for some of my family members to come on vacation with us. The memories we made will last us a life time. The sitting room on the top floor is great if you want some peace and quiet, read a book, or just chill. The only problem was we had to leave once our week was up. We hope to go back next year.
Left on 06/20/2012 for a stay in April 2012 | Becky
This was a lovely place for our extended family to stay. So many rooms and the top area is just the best! Whether it was morning coffee when a bit chilly to sit outside or at nite to see the sunset and stars! Glad we took a chance on the big place and experienced the plush room for all! Would love to go back! Great beach and the hot tub... Worth it as was the master bedrooms!
Left on 05/27/2012 for a stay in June 2010 | Judy Babb
The view was outstanding!
We were able to watch the sea turtle nest being marked.
The water was warm and the beach was clean and roomy.
The convenience of the elevator made moving things in & out easy.
The hot tub helped and was very relaxing. It was wonderful waking to the sound of surf every morning.
There was plenty of space for everyone. The kitchen, living room,,dining area was open which provided for a great meeting place!
My family all wants to go back and we hope to do that again soon! Read more
Thanks so much for your kind review. I am pleased to hear that you all enjoyed what sounds like a very relaxing stay. Thank you for choosing Treasure Realty. It is our pleasure serving you, so please give us a call when you are ready to book your next visit: 800-762-3961.
We always enjoy a week at the beach, but...
Left on 05/25/2012 for a stay in December 2011 | Anonymous
...there were a few issues with this rental. We rented in December, so we understand that in the off season the rental properties may be showing the wear and tear of a long summer season. But, this property was not in the shape that we have come to expect based on numerous experiences with renting from Treasure Realty. It was not very clean, there were several flies all over the house when we arrived (there are no screens, so it is likely that prior renters had the windows open), the blinds on several windows/doors were damaged or not functioning at all. All that being said, it is a lovely location, good space, great deck and access to the ocean. I just recommend that you check to see if any updating or repairs have been made before you rent. Read more
Thanks for your review from your visit back in 2011. I am sorry to hear that this property was not cleaned as it should have been upon your arrival. Like you, I know these properties do show their wear and tear after a long summer season, but they should be clean and free from flies. Please accept my apology for these inconveniences. Had you notified us about these issues during your stay, we would have been glad to take care of them for you. We appreciate your patience and your patronage. Please give us a call whenever you are ready to come back to Topsail: 800-762-3961.
Left on 05/25/2012 for a stay in October 2009 | Keely Godwin
We have stayed in this house twice. We love the layout, the feel of the house. It's great for a dinner get together or a quiet week. The one issue we had when we were there was that there were a number of lightbulbs that were out, to the point where it seemed a little ludicrous (the lighting is great, when all of them work).
Other than this, the house is relatively new and well kept. Read more
Thanks for your review of this lovely home and your visit back in 2009. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our inspectors do try to replace any blown bulbs, so I'm not sure what was happening with the lights. I apologize for the inconvenience. Typically, owners keep additional light bulbs in a closet somewhere in the home. Just give us a call if we can help with that. Thanks for your patience and your patronage.
Top Sail Stay
Left on 04/22/2012 for a stay in July 2011 | Renee
Minimalistic is the word to describe this home. The negatives: The kitchen was stocked, but barely. The furnishings were a little worse for wear. The house had a couple of skim boards but nothing else for the beach. The hot tub was dirty and not from sand. (We had to call to get it serviced.) The positives: The cupola afforded wonderful views of the bay and ocean. We really liked the location on the beach and proximity to the town. For the money spent, we would not come back. Read more
Thanks for your candid review of your 2011 stay. I am pleased to hear that you liked this location and enjoyed the views of the bay and the ocean. I regret to hear that you felt you did not get your money's worth in this gorgeous home. Had you notified us of your need for additional kitchen items, we would have been glad to take care of that for you. Thanks for calling us about the hot tub; it is scheduled to be serviced prior to every check-in, so I am not sure what happened there. I do apologize for the inconvenience. I will share your feedback with the owners. Please let us know how we can further assist you: 800-762-3961.
THE LOVE OF SUNSHINE
Happy new year to me!!!
Left on 04/17/2012 for a stay in December 2009 | THE LOVE OF SUNSHINE
What can I say , I loved every thing about it, the view, the fireplace, open air windows upstairs , elevator , which our dogs also liked . The only Downside it was cold and windy so we closed off the downstairs with a blanket to block draft ,but it was winter time . Our light over main table did not work but I am sure that is fixed by now .
Left on 04/13/2012 for a stay in July 2010 | lovethebeach
This is a nice home and we had an enjoyable stay with a couple exceptions. The view from the top floor is beautiful and the living area is nice. The elevator is great. We had a few minor appliance issues. Most were resolved, except the wine refrigerator never worked. It's really a 4 bedroom home though. What is described as a 5th bedroom is a walkway from the deck. It has 2 beds, but no closet or dresser. Nothing else can fit in the "room" except the 2 beds. The driveway is also very steep. We were unable to pull our minivan up the driveway without scraping the front. Luckily we had family staying across the street and could use that flat driveway.
I would recommend this home if you don't need 5 bedrooms, can handle the driveway and far check-in location. Read more
Thanks for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed this home and the view. I do apologize for the minor appliance issues you experienced back in 2010. Subsequent to your stay the wine cooler was replaced; I'm sorry we weren't able to make that happen while you were here. It had to be ordered, delivered, etc....
As you mentioned the 5th bedroom is simply 2 twin beds (as pictured on our website). I am so sorry to hear that your van wasn't able to make the climb up the driveway without scraping a bit. To my knowledge, no one else has complained about that, so I'm not sure what the trouble was, but I do apologize. We are working on our check-in location, so please stay tuned for more information about that in the future! :-) Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience with us. Please let us know how we can assist you in planning your next visit to Topsail: 800-762-3961.
beautiful house - needed some TLC
Left on 04/13/2012 for a stay in April 2011 | croth
We stayed there for one week in aprill 2011. The house needed some work. There was a pitiful ottoman - which should have been thrown out. The springs were broken and cushion deeply sunken. All of the dishes and glasses had to replaced by Treasure Realty because they were nasty and unusable. So, I spent a lot of my time running the dishwasher and putting away dishes and glasses. The house was not a clean as I would have liked. The agent offered to have it cleaned for us but I didn't want to have any more of our time spent on cleaning. Other than that, we had a lot of fun. Read more
Thanks for your review. I am so pleased to hear that despite some inconveniences you all had a lot of fun vacationing here. I do apologize for the situation with the dishes. I'm not sure what happened there, but I am glad we were able to get it taken care of quickly for you. I wish you had allowed us to send a crew out to clean to your standards and to manage the new dishes for you. I regret to hear that you spent time doing that. Please accept my apology. We appreciate your patience and your patronage. Let us know how we can assist you in planning future visits to Topsail: 800-762-3961.
Here 3 more rentals located nearby.
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 240,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.