Gagne Sunnyside Vacation Rental Cabin with Hot Tub
|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
|Living space||1450 square feet|
Suitable for childrenYes
Suitable for the elderlyYes
|Theme||Luxury, Romantic, Ski, Lake, Mountain, Town|
Description from the manager
Located just south of Tahoe City, this Old Tahoe style Sunnyside vacation rental cabin offers a tenant the best of the old and the new. The rental cabin has been extensively remodeled and features Douglas Fir floors, rock fireplace with vaulted wood ceilings, knotty peeled pine accents, 6 person hot tub, and a nicely landscaped parcel complete with aspens and wildflowers. Additionally, the home has tasteful furniture appointments that remind people they are in the mountains.
The location of the vacation cabin is also hard to beat. A tenant can walk to Sunnyside Restaurant, Fire Sign Cafe, the private Tahoe Park Beach & Pier (BBQ's, lawn...Read more
Gagne Sunnyside Vacation Rental Cabin with Hot Tub
Tahoe City, California
Additional Location Information
Location Type Lake, Mountain, Town
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$250 - $425||$250 - $425||$1,250 - $2,800||$0||2 nights|
|Feb. 18 2013 - Feb. 23 2013
|Feb. 24 2013 - Apr. 6 2013
|Apr. 7 2013 - May. 4 2013
|May. 5 2013 - May. 22 2013
|May. 23 2013 - May. 26 2013
Memorial Day Weekend
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|May. 27 2013 - Jun. 13 2013
|Jun. 14 2013 - Jun. 28 2013
|Jun. 29 2013 - Jul. 5 2013
4th of July
|Jul. 6 2013 - Jul. 12 2013
|Jul. 13 2013 - Jul. 26 2013
|Jul. 27 2013 - Aug. 10 2013
|Aug. 11 2013 - Aug. 17 2013
|Aug. 18 2013 - Aug. 29 2013
|Aug. 30 2013 - Sep. 1 2013
Labor Day Weekend
|Sep. 2 2013 - Sep. 28 2013
|Sep. 29 2013 - Nov. 16 2013
|View all 16 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: June 15, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Nice staff. Some improvements possible at house.
We had a mixed experience at the Gagne house. The staff at agate are all very nice and responsive. We were disappointed with the house from a value perspective.
We asked for four consecutive days to have the outside lights fixed so that we could use the BBQ and eat outside. Without light, it was dangerous for my 2 year old son as well as my 75 year old dad to walk outside on the stone stairs. As a result, we were unable to enjoy a family dinner together outside, a major drawing point of the property.
Other points of note include:
The vacuum was broken, so we could not clean the house. There are a couple of closets upstairs. But they are locked, and for owner use only, so there is nowhere to hang your clothes anywhere on the second floor. There is no closet with beach stuff for guest use, though guests are encouraged to buy beach chairs at the local store and leave them for future guests. Based on the fact that there were none there, however, apparently none had ever done so.
The next door neighbor has an electric fence around the house. My little boy ran up the stairs and grabbed the wire before I could stop him. He was not hurt, but I did touch the wire, and the current is fairly strong.
Response from Agate Bay Realty Lake Tahoe - 10/14/2012
Thank you for your review. The wire on the neighboring home is a bear deterrent with a very small current (it is not a fence, it's a wire affixed directly to the neighbor's home). It's labeled well, and not dangerous or even painful. I understand this type of tool is unfamiliar to you and therefore off-putting, and I'm sorry.
I'm sorry you didn't like the outdoor security lights. We responded to your call the same day by sending the handyman out to locate the switch for you and change the settings, but since the lights still went off automatically after some time, next we provided a lantern for you to use. The handyman came out each of the four days, and we did everything possible to help you enjoy your stay. During your stay in August the sunset was late, and it was light outside until almost 9pm so I don't know why there was an issue with having dinner outside. In addition to the flood lights activated by motion that you disliked, there is a light at the front door, there is a light on the corner of the porch, and there are multiple large picture windows facing every angle of the deck so if you turn the lights on inside, it floods the deck with light. Again this would only be necessary closer to 9pm during the time you stayed here. Additionally, in almost 10 years I have never gotten a complaint from someone, even in darker months, about the front deck lighting.
To your other points, I had the handy man check the vacuum upon your departure and it was just full. He emptied it and it worked fine after that. I'm very sorry you couldn't use it. If you had told me during your stay I would have had it emptied for you, or you could've emptied it. We don't encourage guests to buy beach toys and chairs and leave them. That was a suggestion to resolve your individual issue of traveling here by air, which you mentioned just prior to your arrival. If you have special requirements or unique needs, I encourage you to call us prior to booking to discuss those so we can direct you to the perfect home for you. Each home is unique, and we're very good at matching your needs to one of our diverse inventory of homes. The Gagne home is a beautifully remodeled, clean, well appointed home in a great area with access to a fantastic private beach, so this home is a great value if those traits match your needs.
Great Location, Clean and Nice!
Cute cabin with everything you need! The location is ideal for walking to the beach or Fireside Cafe for a great breakfast. Clean and well maintained including the hot tub! We would stay here again!!
Wonderful cabin, fabulous location! Very comfortable. We had a very relaxing time. Loved the deck!
nice and cosy cabin from Christmas Time
the cabin was really comfortable, well located and so cute for the decoration! All the amenities were great and what a pleasure to enjoy the jaccuzi after a dat skiing!
We just had issue with hot water and have to wait a little bit to get more (we were 2 families of 4 people).
But is was a great place and we highly recommend it!
True Tahoe experience
The Gagne Sunnyside Rental was a great place to spend our post Xmas
vacation. The house is cozy, kitchen is great, and the neighborhood was so
convenient--we walked to the market or Sunnyside Lodge several times. PLus
it's close to town and Alpine and Squaw. Would highly recommend it if you
want an authentic, intimate Tahoe experience
Orange County, CA
Exceeded our expectations
The Gagne cabin exceeded our expectations. It was perfectly set up for afamily with two small children. We had a wonderful time. Loved the location and beach access. We look forward to returning.
the most amazing home we have ever rented- and we rent a LOT
This house was more than just a house- it was really a home away from home- in fact- decorated exactly as I myself would have decorated a Lake house in the mountains. the kitchen was totally set up for someone who loves to cook(our whole family) and the bed linens were gorgeous fabric.
The setting was beautiful, and convenient with a gorgeous restaurant diagonally across the street where we had cocktails overlooking the lake one evening. Bike rentals are next door- and beach across the street- about 2 miles to the supermarket and a great little indie book store- we do wish they had provided a few beach chairs- as the beaches at the lake are rocky- not sandy. However we purchased a few and left them there- because we loved the place so much!!! It met all of our expectations and more!!
Can't wait to return..
The Gagne home was amazing and much more that what we expected. It was beautifully furnished, the beds were super comfy, and the home came stocked with anything and everything that you would ever need. Most importantly, the Gagne home was spotless and felt just like home.
We loved the yard and large deck and sat in the hot tub every night with a glass of wine just looking at all of the stars.
Plus, the location was perfect. It was so close to the lake, little restaurants, and a bike rental shop. We rented bikes and rode the beautiful trails almost everyday day.
I could keep going, but I will just finish by saying, "we can't wait to go back!!"
---The Downing Family
Great place. Not as big as it appears in the pictures, but still plenty of room and very clean. Very close to town and within walking distance of a nice restaurant on the lake. Jacuzzi was great after a day of snowboarding. Would definitely stay here again.
Great location, well laid out cozy home
The house is quite nice. Good location right between Homewood and Tahoe City, only 1 or 2 minutes to each. The kitchen is nice and open and has this great Scandanavian looking table with built in benches along the wall that must seat at least 14 people. Furnishings are standard for a Tahoe rental house (i.e. towels and sheets were kind of old and used but clean). there are nice selection of videos and board games for the kids. Hot tub is quite clean and new.
When we arrived, the keycode that we were given didn't work and none of the keys that Agate Bay Realty had worked so we had to wait in the cold for about an hour while the Agate agent got replacement keys made. It was kind of a bummer, but hopefully they fixed the lock boxes afterwards. I would recommend buying some firewood--there are only about 3 or 4 pieces provided on check in and that won't last too long. Also, the air matress at the house is broken--if you are planning on using an air mattress, you will need to bring your own.
Response from Agate Bay Realty Lake Tahoe - 06/19/2009
Thank you for your review. We apologize again with the key mix up. The house had been re-keyed and the housekeeper kept the old key in the lockbox. FYI, the firewood gets restocked when it runs low and the queen aerobed has been replaced with a queen hide-a-bed in the living room.
Great place! Great location!
The Gagne cabin has the warmth of a home, not a typical rental property. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The only problem was it just wasn't long enough.
Great place to stay!
The Gagne home was perfect for us - spacious, well appointed, clean,
and centrally located, yet private. I'd recommend it to anyone who is
looking for a comfortable, convenient place in the Tahoe area.