|Minimum Stay||3 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Unique among the vacation homes in Tamarindo, Casa Leo loco achieves a perfect balance of a beautiful, exotic setting with the amenities and comforts of home.
The sights, sounds and scents at Casa Leo Loco deliver all the beauty that nature has to offer in Tamarindo. Wake up in paradise to the panoramic (220 degree) view of the beaches, forests, and harbor. Watch the parrots, mot-mots, orioles, hummingbirds and 50 other species of magnificent birds as they fly by or stop to chat in the expansive terraces and gardens. Surfers and boats bob in the waves below. Observe iguanas sunning in the trees nearby. Track Tamarindoâ€™s howler monkeys...Read more
Casa Leo Loco
Tamarindo, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Additional Location Information
The house is located on a hill overlooking Tamarindo Beach.
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$600||$0||$3,325 - $6,500||$0||3 nights|
|Mar. 4 2012 - Apr. 30 2012
|May. 1 2012 - Dec. 21 2012
|Dec. 22 2012 - Jan. 4 2013
|Jan. 5 2013 - Apr. 30 2013
High Season 2013
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 16, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Winter Park, Florida, United States
Most amazing House & View Ever!!!
Our group of friends stayed in this house for one week. It was so amazing to just relax in the pool all day/night. The beds were comfortable, and the cleaning services were top notch!!! Casa Leo Loco can be a bachelor pad or a quite couples vacations spot. The food and night life just down the hill are wonderful. I will definitely be going back very soon!
If you're looking to experience a relaxing yet eventful vacation in an exotic location then Casa Leo Loco is the way to go. The views from the pool area are breathtaking and the house offers all the amenities you need even in a remote area of Costa Rica.
The house is located atop a hill overlooking the quaint beach town of Tamarindo and the Pacific Ocean. The town is only a short walk or drive down the hill and offers several restaurants, bars, and rental businesses. Also, a supermarket is located only a few mins away so any food or supplies that are needed are very obtainable.
Pura Vida at Casa Leo Loco!
Beautiful home, even better view, sunsets were spectacular. Illda, the housekeeper, added to the value. She was so friendly, smiling everyday, picking fresh flowers for us to have on the tables, she was amazing. Only downfall, was that Christian, who stays on the property asked my dad to borrow our rental car. We obviously refused, as this clearly wouldnt be covered and he asked again. Made it kind of akward after that happened.
Response from RPM Services - 03/13/2013
Hi April -
Thanks for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Leo Loco. It is an amazing house!
We talked to the gardener about this situation and he told us he was trying to ask you to move your car so he could get his out of the garage...Maybe it was a "lost in translation" situation? Either way - we have talked to him and he is aware of how strongly we feel against him asking to do this in the future! The caretakers are there to take care of our guests, not ask for favors!
In addition, a new gardener will be moving to that property in April.
Thanks and we hope to see you again!
Great place to stay
It seems like it would be difficult to find a similar type rental home with a location such as this along with all the amenities this home had. I know there are probably bigger homes, but this home used its space well and the with the endless pool looking over jungle and coast just made it that more special. The owners, Nancy and Ed, live right next door, which may be intimidating for some, but I felt they were very courteous and went out of their way to be non-intrusive. As they mentioned it really helps if there are any questions or problems because they can handle them quickly. They were always very helpful before and during or trip with any questions we had or just recommendations.
The walk to beach probably takes more like 20 minutes and can be a little challenge for some because you do go up hill back to home, but our group had no problem. It was really nice being able to walk to coast area for fresh fish right where local fisherman bring the in. There is on small grocery store about 4 miles away and a larger one about 15 miles, so not too far. All this was very helpful for us because we did a lot of our own cooking and barbecuing, which the house is well suited for.
Charlotte north Carolina
It was amazing at casa Leo loco
We stayed in Tamarindo costa rica 10 days at casa Leo loco it was amazing ,relaxing ,and exciting all together Lola at rpm was so patient and helpful to me and my family, Illda (house keeper) was so nice not only did she clean the house spotless but washed our laundry as well, she became my new friend. Christian the house guard aka gate keeper made us feel safe he never left the property not for one minute don't think anything would have happened but it was nice to have him there, do it rent this house and you will see how a vacation should be never experienced such beautiful sunsets one night it was purple. We are going back with the whole family.
Response from RPM Services - 08/01/2012
Bruce - Leo Loco is great! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for the kind words towards our staff. We will pass them on. See you again next time!
Heredia, Costa Rica
Awesome ocean view!
My family and I enjoy our week in this property. Every member (children, adult and grandparents) had their space into the house.
The pool is located in a great place.
We except more or better equipment into the kitchen.
Response from RPM Services - 08/01/2012
Glad you enjoyed your time! Casa Leo Loco's kitchen is not super large, but many people enjoy using the outdoor kitchen as an alternative space. We will check to make sure it has the equipment that it needs to serve our guests. Thanks, RPM
The house is so beautiful and spacious that it is hard to justify ever leaving the property! The staff is very friendly and makes you feel safe in this remote location.
Great house with a lot of rooms and amazing views. Accommodates large groups and has a beautiful pool and set up on the hill side. Accommodating management and helpful house caretaker. Highly recommended.
I've Got Two Tickets to Paradise
Absolutely Delightful. Casa Leo Loco will always hold a dear place in my heart. For one reason, it is breathtakingly gorgeous. Situated on top of a hill overlooking the ocean cove. The house was fantastic. Infinity swimming pool, grill, natural wood throughout, and a friendly iguana who was a regular visitor out on the patio. The second reason, I got engaged to my college sweetheart. She is from NYC and had never been to a remote beach town before. The perfect setting and a time I will cherish forever. It's great when you picture something in your head and it turns out to be go beyond your expectations. After the proposal. We celebrated by the pool with 10 friends and a local band. Relax, fish, surf, eat, drink, etc. No matter what you like Casa Leo Loco will provide the best setting.
I love this house!
I have visited Casa Leo Loco a number of times with family and friends, most recently in March 2012. I love this house because it is exotic, but comfortable and casual at the same time. The views are amazing! There are large outdoor areas for socializing and relaxing, both in the sun and in the shade. The pool is wonderful for cooling off and for watching the boats in the ocean and the surfers on the beach. It's also fun to watch the numerous types of tropical birds and see the iguanas climbing the trees. The main area of the house is not air conditioned but stays cool because it opens up to the view and the ocean breezes. I enjoy cooking with all the fresh tropical fruits, vegetables and fish and have found the combined indoor and outdoor kitchens to be more than adequate for my cooking needs. The caretaker and housekeeper, Christian and Ilda, are very friendly and helpful. The beach is a short but steep walk down the hill from the house. The walk back up the hill should not be a problem for anyone in reasonable physical condition, although I do have 2 pieces of advice: bring water and, if you plan to climb the hill in mid day, do it in a wet bathing suit. A rental car is not necessary but is helpful for grocery shopping. There are a number of companies on the main street of town which can set up excursions to rain forests and volcanoes for you. Some of these are easy day trips. Casa Leo Loco is a wonderful place to go to completely relax, enjoy the sun and fresh breezes, and forget about all your cares.
Another stay in paradise
Casa Leo Loco is a great place to "unwind". The infinity pool, the endless view of the Pacific and the great people of Costa Rica make this great place to stay. This was my third stay at Casa Leo Loco and I look forward to a fourth. The property is well maintained, secure and the management company is very helpful in arranging shuttles and tours. Tamarindo has great beaches and great food. Plan ahead and have a rental car to make the climb up the road and getting groceries easier. Casa Leo Loco is a casual villa that lets you enjoy life and wish you could stay forever.
Beautiful home in scenic setting
We rented Casa Leo Loco 2 years in a row with friends. It is a very relaxing, beautiful place to unwind. Tamarindo has many good restaurants and there are several nice tours you can sign up for. Car rental is not needed, there are plenty of taxis in town. The house sits up on top of a hill which is difficult to walk up, but taxis will take you. The house staff is very efficient. There is a great grocery store nearby.
Yes- the aC is not great, but you are in Costa Rica. There is plenty of shade and a pool to jump in any time.
The best view in Tamarindo
10 of us arrived at Casa Leo Loco and were completely taken back from the view and pool. The rental company this property uses provided us with everything we needed for the week. They helped us with our rental car, our Zip line adventure, deep sea fishing and our friends engagement dinner we had at Casa Leo Loco.
We cooked almost every meal here from the exception of two dinners out ( The local burrito place and a sushi restaurant off the main path) which were great. The house was well taken care of and cleaned each day by the staff. They were respectful and offered to help in any way they could, they even climbed the tree to get everyone fresh coconuts. The majority of us had grown up together and were able to meet up in Costa Rica. Casa Leo Loco was an ideal place for us and we cannot wait to go back, maybe for NYE this time around!
I would do it again!
I loved our house because it was so open and had the best view ever. Our pool was amazing! The housekeepers were very friendly. My only complaints is not having enough bath towels or air conditioning in the two bedrooms on the lower floor of the house. The ceiling fan helped. There was a bug/scorpian problem, but I think that's to be expected in the climate we were in.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Winter vacation at Casa Leo Loco
We enjoyed our stay at this villa. The view was fantastic, and the patio and pool area was very nice. There were some issues with the property - the refirgerator barely kept the foood cold, the toilet flush mechanism in one of the bathrooms didn't work correctly and the sink was slow to drain. The A/C unit in the same bedroom didn't cool the room enough. There was damaged tiles on the pool and outdoor table. It would be good to perform some overall maintenance to the property, but all in all it was satisfactory. The property management team was extremely helpful in helping us plan our vacation there.
Chester Springs, PA
The house was tired....
The house was tired. No airconditioning in the main house, only bedrooms. Poor kitchen in terms of pots and pans. Way too hot to cook inside. Refridgerator did not keep things cold enough and food spoiled quickly. Ratty old towels in bathrooms and for beach. Housekeeper and caretaker were great, property management team was good too. Please keep my comment anonymous. Safety is an issue in Tamarindo, two guards in the grocery store parking lot alone, TV chained to the walls of the house.
Response from RPM Services - 01/25/2010
The house is not advertised with A/C in the living area, only the bedrooms. All pots and pans have been replaced and towels as well. They are replaced, at the owner's request, whenever necessary. Unfortunately we were never told there was a problem with the refrigerator or it would have been repaired. There is not a safety issue in Tamarindo, in fact, there is almost no violent crime here. Howeve, like most tourist/resort areas in Central America, there is a fair amount of theft. It's important for visitors to make sure they are careful with their belongings and lock valuables in their safes. But it's extremely rare that personal safety is an issue.
Casa Leo Loco is wonderful place to spend time with the family
The location and view this villa provides is absolutely amazing! We spent countless hours lounging by the pool, eating at the larger table outside, or sitting on the patio as a family. The three main bedrooms and bathrooms were very nice. All in all we had a fantastic time. Here are some of our biggest complaints:
1) Dirt road leading up to the villa is very challenging and provided to be much for some of our family members with bad backs
2) lack of trash cans in the bedrooms
3) The 2 extra bedrooms by the pool had an unusual amount of bugs. Especially the upstairs bedroom. We would come back to the room to find dead insects on our bed sheets.Bathroom shower didn't have hot water.
4) BBQ Grill was terrible. Heat was poorly distributed on the grill. Knob for 2nd burner was missing.
5) Bushes at end of infinity pool need to be trimmed to give the infinity look
6) Gate should be automatic. we did not feel safe because of the gate.
Response from RPM Services - 01/07/2009
Thanks for your suggestions and comments Vala. We'll mkae sure to put trash cans in the bedrooms, get the shower repaired, and fix that grill.
Casa Leo Loco - August 3rd through 10th
We were not told the tower did not have hot water in the showers. This was a surprise to us and those that were sleeping in these rooms.
The house was wonderful. Only issue is the road leading to the house. It would be nice if it had more pavers for safety.
Response from RPM Services - 01/25/2010
The road to the house, like the majority of roads in Tamarindo, is dirt. It is also steep and so is always in various stages of repair - sometimes it's very good, sometimes, it's pretty bumpy. But it's always navigable and not dangerous. Some people find it fun and adventurous - some not so much.The tower is a building separate from the house, with two bedrooms and a half-bath. It does not have a shower, so we're not sure why the Sheila expeceted one. But to be more accurate, we have clearly stated that on our website.
Casa Leo Loco
Kitchen was limited - no disposal, little storage, no ice maker. Pool and view were great. Caretaker and maid were very accomodating. Babysitter, Sol, was outstanding! Bathrooms had foul odors but appeared very clean. Suggest different cleaning solutions. Upgrading mattresses would improve house.
Leo Loco is an absolutely amazing house with unbelievable views, a great pool, and a ton of room. You really can't ask for a better place to stay.
Casa Leo Loco home is well maintained, view is lovely, however s
The home and its setting are lovely. The description of the house is accurate. The accomodations for 9 of us, 4 adults and 5 teenagers, were comfortable. The gatekeeper and housekeeper were accessible. However, on our 6th night, we were robbed. The thieves cut the barbed wire fence surrounding the back of the house, entered the small guest house bedroom, and robbed my teenagers as they were sleeping in their bed. RPM Services accompanied us to the police station to report the incident -- though we were warned nothing would come of it. We sent emails to the owners of the house via RPM Services but NEVER received any acknowledgement of our unfortunate incident from the owners. Sometime prior to our stay,Casa Leo Loco had been robbed. That info had not been foreclosed. Had we been aware, we most likely would have made different sleeping arrangements. Having an on-site gate keeper with a dog didn't prevent a robbery. Fortunately, our teenagers were not physically harmed. Would we recommend Casa Leo Loco to our friends - NO.
New Hope, PA
Beautiful place, very helpful...
Beautiful place, very helpful and pleasant staff, had everything we needed and more.
The house, location, management (RPM), exceeded all expectations
The house, location, management (RPM), exceeded all expectations. The on site resident caretaker was outstanding. In addition to Carlos the daily housekeeping was fabulous. Everything inside and outside was kept in order at all times. Our laundry was washed and folded everyday