Perfect for two or three families to share! Very private. This 3550 sq. ft home that sleeps 10, plus 400 sq ft king studio (that sleeps 4 and is an additional fee) is on 1 acre surrounded by 5 acres of woods and a creek, on a foot trail down to a foot traffic only beach, yet still in town with all of the conveniences! Large, brand new wrap around deck, 4 bedrooms, 2 full baths & 2 half baths, large entertainment room with bar and full pool table, outdoor ping pong table, large separate private studio (additional fee) and beautiful wooded views. Trails throughout the property including some leading to separate decks for privacy. Two master bed...rooms, one with a king and the other with a queen & sleeper sofa with full bed, one other bedroom with a queen bed and another room that has a California King. The separate studio has a king and twin day bed with a trundle twin bed as well. Slight ocean views from property depending on foliage, with most views of majestic woods and creek views. The main house sleeps 10 in beds. The studio, which is a small additional fee, sleeps 4 between the king bed and twin day bed & trundle bed. We're sorry, but events of more than 30 people are not permitted here. Check out the youtube Video.....Paloma Creek Lodge on YouTube
Additional amenities include: ping pong table, wood stove, outdoor shower, floor area, in town, movie theatres, near bay, beach, nearby market, fire pit, cookware, nearby post office, washer & dryer, ironing board, coffee maker, ice maker, near beach, larrupin's restaurant, catch cafe, seascape restaurant, free long distance calling, wood pellet fireplace, eatery restaurant, secluded, wooded, nearby internet cafe, nearby medical services, near marine lab, nearby atm, golf course, nearby grocery.
Overall rating:4.6 / 5.0based on 308 reviews and 50 properties
Paloma Creek Lodge @ the Beach - Secluded, Beach trail, Decks, Pool Room Trinidad, California
Additional Location Information
Surrounded by five acres of woods and a creek, with a trail that goes down to the beach (about a 5 minute walk). Right in town yet still a private retreat for you and your family and friends! Walk to cafes, stores, beach, parks, playgrounds, or jump in your car and you are only 20 minutes to the Prairie Creek Redwood National & State Park - with incredible hikes - many people go there multiple times due to the endless trails - and don't forget Fern Canyon there, Cork Screw Trees, Big Tree, and all of the other trails. Lady Bird Johnson Grove is on the way as well as Tall Trees and, of course - the wonderful Lagoons for swimming, boating, kayak & SUP rentals, fishing, and hiking. You can also head south from Trinidad and you are in Arcata and Humboldt State University within 15 minutes, then a few more minutes to Eureka - Check out the Discovery Museum there if you have young ones and the Sequoia Zoo! Enjoy it all!
More About This Location
Beach or lakeside relaxation
Last updated on September 18, 2014
Not available for your dates? Check availability for 49 other Trinidad rentals
Left on 03/12/2014 for a stay in September 2013 | T5Fam
My husband and I, our three daughters, and their families all stayed here at Paloma Creek Lodge in Sept for my sisters wedding at Moonstone Beach. It was plenty big enough for all and we would have liked to had more time to spend there. We thoroughly enjoyed our little walk on the trail to the beach. Which was quite beautiful and felt very private as we were the only ones there. The location is perfect! Although it feels very secluded you're only a short distance from the little grocery store and great resteraunts. Its also very easy to get to from the main highway.
Fred and Lareen
California here we come!
Left on 03/10/2014 for a stay in October 2013 | Fred and Lareen
Our extended family had the pleasure of staying at Paloma Creek Lodge in October while attending our daughter's wedding. 10 adults(4 couples, 2 adult children plus a baby),stayed quite comfortably. Accommodations were comfortable with plenty of bathroom space and pool table in the game room. Loved taking walks down the trail to the beach and into the restaurants in Trinidad and just relaxing on the deck. The wedding and activities kept us pretty busy, but having this place to come back to and relax in was great. We would highly recommend this vacation get away and hope sometime to come again.
Great Rental House
Left on 03/09/2014 for a stay in October 2014 | Matt
We had a 10 person group stay at the Paloma Creek Lodge this fall. The house was great, exactly as advertised, and lots of fun. Will definitely rent again in the future.
Home away from home in the Redwoods.
Left on 11/25/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | Sherry C
The home is secluded and off the busy the roads but only a 5 minute walk to the local grocery market and freshly brewed coffee to go. The pictures on thw web page do not do it justice. There are 4 bedrooms plus the the guest house for a total of five bedrooms so 5 couples sleep very comfortably. The wrap around decks and private patios with georgeous views are awesome and a great gathering place for all to sit and visit. There is something for everyone to do from pool, foos ball and table tennis and with a game room and a family room. The beach is just a short walk down a tree lined path. We were there for our daughters wedding and was an awesome place for our family and friends to gather.
Paloma Creek Lodge is a great place in need of some attention.
Left on 12/30/2010 for a stay in December 2010 | Mary S.
Needs new mattresses on most of the beds. Several things were broken or not working. Lamps, pool and Foos ball tables. (My nephew fixed both). Spa was unusable. Carpet in living room could use a good cleaning. Upstairs bathroom fixtures drain VERY slowly. Great house, great location, but again, it needs some attention. Read more
Response from Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals - 12/19/2011
You are absolutely right and we have since fixed all of those things. New mattresses have been put in where we needed them, including replacing a squeaky box spring, new equipment for pool table and foos ball broken piece replaced. Spa is maintained by a different company and has been great (including replacing filter much more often). We just removed the carpeting from the living room and 2 of the three downstairs bedrooms (the thrid one alrady had new hardwood floors) and we put in beautiful Australian Cypress hardwood floors and they look fantastic! We put down a new area carpet in the living room. On our website you will see all of the great reviews we have been getting.
Santa Monica, CA
Left on 11/30/2010 for a stay in November 2010 |
Overall, the house has a lot of potential. However, the carpets are very dirty and the game room is unusable. The mold smell in their was really bad and there was even some candy wrappers on the floor. The downstairs is much better, but they do need to get a new stove. The house could be amazing, but some much needed TLC is needed. Read more
Response from Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals - 12/19/2011
We just removed the carpeting from the living room and 2 of the three downstairs bedrooms (the thrid one alrady had new hardwood floors) and we put in beautiful Australian Cypress hardwood floors and they look fantastic! We put down a new area carpet in the living room. On our website you will see all of the great reviews we have been getting. And, in the gameroom, we added a dehumidifier and gave it it's own furnace and that has made it really nice and removed the musty smell. People have really been enjoying the entire house
Left on 11/24/2010 for a stay in November 2010 |
This location was a quick walk to town, yet on a beautiful, private peace of property. The home was large, yet a bit awkward layout. Plenty of room for children to roam on the rainy days. Areas of home are slightly rundown.
Truly unique property--met our needs on variety of levels
Left on 11/17/2010 for a stay in November 2010 | Cindy D.
We recently stayed at Paloma Creek Lodge, creating a mini-family reunion around my son's final HSU football games. Delighted to have lots of family and friends join us ranging in age from 3 to 80+ years...a dozen of us comfortably slept at Paloma, while the other 13 were housed at Best Western Arcata Inn. My son and several of his friends join us, too, for a couple dinners.
We were able to gather together at the house for meals, visiting, games and general merriment! The November weather was spotty from pouring rain to patchy sun, so we did not use the outside areas as much as one might in better weather. However, the hot tub was a lovely retreat even when it was sprinkling.
The great thing about this house is the sweet variety of spaces--some of our group could be relaxing by the fireplace watching TV or reading, others surrounded the dining room table for card games, while some were upstairs playing pool or darts, and still more of our group found friendly spaces to just hang out in the kitchen or deck--there was something and somewhere for everyone.
We would highly recommend this rental unit. We mainly worked with Heather and Mike who were friendly and accommodating as we were making our arrangements and while we were on location.
Santa Barbara, CA
A perfect getaway
Left on 11/16/2010 for a stay in November 2010 | Barbara S.
Went there to celebrate my 60th birthday.The combination of the redwoods and the beach were the best. The house was great and loved the firepit, where the sun shone early in the morning, Had my cup of coffee every morning with the cigar smoking statue. Loved it, thanks, Barb Shugart
Family Reunion September 2010
Left on 10/11/2010 for a stay in September 2010 |
We came from Colorado and Oregon to enjoy a seaside family reunion. The house was great- bring a spare set of King size sheets and you'll be able to put two of the twin size beds together to make 3 "couple's beds" in the house. Bring a carafe for coffee too- the pot is slow... The steps to the beach were a little much for all of us- so we went up to the beach by the SeaScape Restaurant. All-in-all nice stay though! Hot tub was great, and kitchen and dining room got plenty of use. Thank you!
Grass Valley, CA
Great for the whole family!!
Left on 10/10/2010 for a stay in October 2010 | Kendra S.
I had my wedding there...we originally were going to wed on the beach..but when we arrived we fell in love with the beautiful walk way through the ferns...we decided to have it there and it turned out perfect..thanks to a local caterer Michelle Miller we had our wedding and reception in one was small and private and just perfect..we loved are stay..our kids did not want to leave and nor did we!!
Family getaway, fishing, eat's, games, and alot of stories
Left on 08/19/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | Larry B.
Plenty of room to getaway to your self or play games,eat,tell storyes, or just take a nap. We brought our own boat so had plenty of fresh fish.[and salt air]. The store is close by that was handy. the fire pit was a big hit with the kids, and all, smor,s hotdogs and all thother good stuff.[ they prefered the fire pit after dark] Alltogether it was a great time like the year befor not enought time to do everything. THANKS
Left on 08/16/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | Mary R.
Property leads to a beautiful beach. Wonderful place to stay for a family, it's a home away from home. Many perks such as multiple decks, gorgeous setting, hot tub, grill, and much more.
WE WILL DEFINATELY BE BACK!!!!
Left on 08/10/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | Sherri B.
HAD A WONDERFUL TIME, BUT NEXT YEAR WE WILL BOOK AT LEAST 1 MORE DAY
Great place for a family reunion!
Left on 07/28/2010 for a stay in July 2010 |
We had a great stay at the lodge. It was the perfect place for our family reunion. There was plenty of room in the house for all 12 people to sleep, and lots of room to lounge around, too. We had fun playing pool, darts, fuzball, and ping pong, and especially hanging out in the hot tub. The lodge is very private (in terms of neighbors) but has very thin curtains (so we had to leave the lights off in the room when we changed clothes at night...otherwise our family members could see right into the room.) I'd recommend thicker curtains to the management, but other than that, everything was terrific. The kitchen was stocked and easy to use, and it was nice to be able to eat inside or on the porch. There's even a campfire circle. All of our family members were pleased with the lodge and the town of Trinidad. So much fun to hike down to the beach, right from the lodge. Thanks so much!!!!! Read more
Response from Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals - 07/29/2010
Thank you. We just installed the darker curtains in all of the bedrooms for privacy and keeping out the sunlight (it took us awhile becaue my wife did it and wanted to be the one to pick out the colors,material, etc). Glad you enjoyed and hope to see you again!
San Leandro, CA
Review of Paloma Creek Lodge @ the Beach
Left on 07/21/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | Brad D.
Just some thoughts to improve the property-
1) Get a new water heater. Our guests complained about the surges of hot water. Or, the delay in getting hot water.
2) The upstairs bathroom's tub was plugged and drained super slow. It needs a snaking.
3) The BBQ needs to be replaced. The grill sags so low making it very hard to cook without burning things. Rusted, too. Need some BBQ tool, too.
4) Need to add more glasses in the kitchen for guests.
5) The downstairs shower door would not close completely. Lucky, the shower is very large or there would be water on the floor.
These are easy fixes (some of them?).
That TV room, game room and deck area were "awesome".
Despite all of the above suggestions, we had a wonderful time. Read more
Response from Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals - 07/22/2010
Will clean out that drain. The BBQ is one year old - we will get a new grill top so that it does not sag as you suggest and get another set of BBQ tools. The water heater is on demand and quite expensive. It take a minute for the hot water to hit because the water has to travel from the on-demand heater to the shower. Glad you really enjoyed the house!
Great house, wonderful property manager
Left on 07/01/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | Jack B.
The property was perfect for our family reunion. Plenty of space to spread out, and great activities indoors and out. The property manager, Mike, was extremely kind and responsive to our needs. The ocean really isn't visible from the house, but the setting is nestled in a tree-lined valley, only a 3-5 minute walk from the beach (which is also amazing - beautiful shoreline, seals, river otters, etc...). The place is a kids paradise. My only complaint, which others have mentioned, is lack of curtains. Everyone was consistently up at the crack of dawn because all the rooms were too bright. Read more
Response from Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals - 07/02/2010
Thank you. We put shear in for privacy but heavy curtains as well make sense. Curtains now in too!
What a fantastic place to stay!
Left on 06/14/2010 for a stay in May 2010 | Joan P.
This was such a great place for our students to stay at for their "Annual Coast Trip"! Since the trip, I have had many adults ask me about how they could rent this beautiful home. I found each room to have its own special charm. When watching T.V in the living room, we were not able to hear those playing pool in the game room. The windows, view and privacy is wonderful. We are looking for ward to next years stay. Thank you, JP
Left on 04/29/2010 for a stay in April 2010 | Denita M.
Maybe need some matches somewhere in the living room to light the wood stove. The couch needs to be cleaned, smells like milk spilled on it. All in all house was great and I would definitely rent again!!
Fun For Big Groups
Left on 01/01/2010 for a stay in December 2009 |
This house has a lot of character and plenty of entertainment. Nine of us were easily accomodated in the various bedrooms, although seating all of us in the dining room was a bit tight. It's hard to find a property that will take a group this size, and we had a great time playing pool, darts, foosball, pingpong, etc. The setting is wonderful, with easy access to the beach and lots of windows to enjoy views of the beautiful secluded area. The market and resaurants are also close by.
There were a few gripes. The most serious was a moldy smell in the game room and the separate studio. Also, the lack of window coverings in some bedrooms and bathrooms is unfortunate. We didn't try the spa, as the water was a bit green and smelly.
Overall we enjoyed our stay. It's a remarkable property and a great place for a big group to stay together. Read more
Response from Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals - 01/06/2010
Thank you for the kind words. The rain can make moldy smells tough sometimes, but we have worked hard to reduce them as much as possible in all of our properties. We will recheck this for those rooms and get the dehumidifier going more. Also, we have had mixed interest from people for window coverings as they block the views. We are going to put it up in the bathroom but make it easy enough for people to leave it open if they see fit. Also, we've never had an issue with the hot tub before. I spoke with the professional agency that handles it and they were surprised. IN the future, just call us and we'll head over there right away to drain it and get it going right away for you.Thank you again for your feedback!
Pre Holiday Fun
Left on 12/25/2009 for a stay in December 2009 |
We had a great time, the amount of space was perfect. My only complaints (hence the 3 stars for "property's general condition") were the hot water heater wasn't on when we arrived (we simply had to locate and light the pilot light), and the cabin room had quite the musty smell which lingered. Incense helped. :) Some instructions on the heater in the pool room would have been helpful. But overall we had a great time and those little things didn't take away from a fabulous family visit. Thanks! Read more
Response from Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals - 05/24/2010
We didn't notice the musty smell in the cottage - it may have been the propane. And the hot water propane getting relit should not be required as we've since changed the fitting that casued the issue.
Left on 12/01/2009 for a stay in November 2009 |
We had a great time and the pictures on the web do not do the place justice. The Paloma Creek lodge is a beautiful place. The only suggestion we have is pushing back the check out time and hour or two. I would be nice to have a little more time to get out of there. Read more
Response from Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals - 12/02/2009
Thank you for your nice words about the lodge. Yes, we used to have check out @ 11 but it was a problem getting the houses done in time for the check in @ 3 pm. We will let people know that they can check out later if we have no one coming in on the same day. Hope you come back!
Our family really enjoyed the stay, the Lodge was very comfortab
Left on 11/29/2009 for a stay in November 2009 | Terri B.
The only complaint is a rock grouping at the top of the drive way which made it hard to back up without running into the rocks. Also there are lots of spider webs in the window near the front door. But what a great spot. We appreciate the location and the help getting the heat started. Read more
Response from Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals - 12/02/2009
Will work on the spider webs. They come back very quickly...
Great place for our family reunion!
Left on 09/16/2009 for a stay in September 2009 | Susan T.
The lodge was a fantastic place for the dozen of us who came from all over the US, from ages 8 to 91, from agile to frail. We made great use of the large deck, jacuzzi tub, many trails to the beach and area, large living room with large screen TV (for the BIG GAME), & well-supplied kitchen. Management was very quick and helpful when we needed another bed and more towels, and cleaned the jacuzzi before & while we were there. Everything was clean. Large windows everywhere offered fantastic views of the surrounding redwoods. Paths to beach were great for most except the oldest and less able -- long, somewhat steep, with many steps, although it didn't bother young & healthy. Many private places to go from balconies, to little off-shoot private decks, to near-by fire pit. Two minutes to highway and less to local market - very convenient, but felt secluded. Grandma would have liked curtains for windows in the bathroom as the deck extended outside. We blocked it off. We would have enjoyed a few games or cards supplied in the Entertainment room, but the place is newly remodeled so I guess that will come. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
Mount Shasta, CA
Left on 09/09/2009 for a stay in September 2009 |
This house has tons of character and charm. Our extended family of 9 adults was very comfortable with the arrangements, and the beach trail, floor plan, and privacy were wonderful. The flowers and wine upon arrival was greatly appreciated. I would stay there again...and again.
Great house with lots of character.
Left on 08/05/2009 for a stay in July 2009 |
The pool table upstairs and the fire pit was great to have. There were no window coverings on the bedroom windows so I was not able to sleep in while on vacation. We had a great time and enjoyed this unique house very much. Read more
Response from Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals - 11/30/2009
We have since added tasteful window coverings on all bedrooms and bathrooms for privacy...
Left on 07/22/2009 for a stay in July 2009 |
Michael could not have been more helpful with advice about biking, kayaking and other things to do. He really made a difference in our vacation. The house was great.... too big for us, we'll have to come back with more family members.
Amazing Property in the Redwoods
Left on 07/01/2009 for a stay in June 2009 | Helen W.
This was a great house for a large group. Even with 12 people we were never crowded. There was so much to do that the kids were never bored. They played ping-pong and pool and even learned to throw darts. We were here for my son's wedding and couldn't have picked a better place.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.