Westgate-Japanese A-Frame - Ocean Views, Hot Tub, Large Deck, Privacy
|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
An Asian theme inspired the original owners of this home in the 1960â€™s. It was refurbished in the 90â€™s with every detail considered and a Japanese motif. It is an A-frame home with a serene Japanese garden that leads to the front door. Watch the Westgate Video Westgate Paradise on YouTube The living area has a seperate queen sized day bed with curtains and a half bath. There is a fully equipped kitchen, dinning table, bar and mud room. There are two lovely master bedrooms and a large, with open living space. The upstairs master bedroom is a loft, (with doors that can shut off the loft space) and is open to the living room. At night from...Read more
Westgate-Japanese A-Frame - Ocean Views, Hot Tub, Large Deck, Privacy
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$250 - $350||$250 - $350||$1,500 - $2,275||$6,429 - $9,050||2 nights|
|Mar. 1 2013 - May. 31 2013||$350||$350||$2,150 - $2,175||-||2 nights|
|Jun. 1 2013 - Aug. 31 2013||$350||$350||$2,100 - $2,150||$9,000 - $9,050||2 nights|
|Sep. 1 2013 - Nov. 30 2013||$250 - $350||$250 - $350||$1,500 - $1,832||$6,429 - $6,761||2 nights|
|Dec. 1 2013 - Feb. 28 2014||$250 - $350||$250 - $350||$1,500 - $2,275||$6,500 - $8,271||2 nights|
|Mar. 1 2014 - May. 31 2014||$250 - $350||$250 - $350||$1,500 - $2,175||$6,429 - $8,046||2 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 25, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Beautiful grounds, relaxing and unique home
When we talking about our favorite vacations, staying at this home is one of the top on the list. Beautiful grounds with a terraced Japanese garden, expansive deck with hot tub and fire pit, lovely unique home with room to cook & relax. Nothing better than preparing a great meal with local Ca produce and wine, then relaxing on the deck with a fire to listen to the seals calling on the beach below. (Can't see the beach so well from this location, but if you peek through the trees, it's there). Great place for kids as there is plenty of space to explore. Nice location for exploring the redwoods.
Wish I could live here!
This home is an amazing property, with amazing amenaties. Some things you may not see when you check their website. The kitchen is fully stocked! So many times their is something missing in rental homes but this has it all. The beds were very comfortable, the laundry room very spacious, the view was priceless. The location was not in walking distance to town, unless you really like a ling walk, but it is a very short drive. I have rented before from Redwood Coast vacations, as did my niece during the same time we did. We rented Jetsons on the Bay 3 years ago. The location was better and it too was amazing, but I prefer the beauty, and serenity of this home. Some things we loved: The indoor and outdoor fireplaces, the hot tub, the view, the computer that hooks up to the speakers (go to Pandora on the Internet and you will have your own music choices), the yard/garden, the showers, the architecture, the deck, the pillowcases!!! Not to mention the management company gave us a small discount for being returning customers. The only thing different about this visit, is that there was a bottle of wine and fresh flowers waiting for us 3 years ago, not this time, though. Minor detail that would have been nice, but not really that disappointing when we saw the house!
Overall, very nice. However,...
Overall, very nice. However, lots of "cleaning rules/requests" which was surprising since there is a substantial cleaning fee along with the rental. Hot tub's water was clean and clear, but smelled like it needed to have chemicals added (Cl, Br, etc).
Response from Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals - 02/18/2011
Thank you for your input. We had just changed the water in the hot tub before your arrival. Always call us right away so we can head over and check all chemical levels and shock the jacuzzi if needed. In regards to the requests at the house, in general they are not necessary as most folks are extremely respectful of the homes. However, clarifying the specifics can help us with those that may not otherwise meet those expectations.
On Candid Camera????
Dealt with 3 phone numbers for the management company because we could not open the key box on the door with code. 3 gardeners working in yard when we arrived. We finally received a phone call back from Mike with instructions. Mike was very helpful in mailing us forgotten items because we were rushing to meet the cleaning instructions for check out eventhough we paid $125.00 for cleaning!!! Did not enjoy the annoying surveilance camera which was at the entrance of every door. This device beeped loudly continuously even through the night when the electricity was out from the windstorm. For as much as we paid our privacy should have been more respected.
Response from Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals - 04/07/2011
You could not figure out the lock box. You called me and I responded within 5 minutes, but in the meantime you had called our reservationist and maintenance man. You were at the wrong door, but when you went to the proper door, it opened immediately. The security camera pointing towards the driveway is for security to make suer no one is there when the house is unoccupied. We have never had a complaint from anyone about it before. Finally, we are very clear about the non-refundable cleaning fee. It is the rental agreement that is online and that you sign. We charge a cleaning fee for our houses and ask you to leave it in decent shape. The electricity went out due to the storm - the beeping was not the camera but the security system. If they would have called us, we would have instructed them how to cancel the beeping. I do ot feel that this person is a good respresentative of how people feel at the house - just see our other reviews...
Omaha, NE, UNITED STATES
With all of the thumbs up from those of us who stayed here it ma
The pictures on the web site did not do this perfectly beautiful santuary justice! It was in a nutshell one of the best vacation homes I've ever had the priviledge to stay at. We thank you and all of your staff for such great customer service. By the grace of God will will be back :). Take care.
Great house, great location!
This is a great home base for touring the Redwoods, which was the purpose of our stay in the area. Great house, great view, great porch. Loved the fire outside. Loved the peacefulness of the property. Loved the Larrupin Cafe nearby! The house "fits" the region with its wood interior, A-frame and nicely wooded property with awesome outdoor path and garden.
Great large property overlooking the Pacific Ocean
The house was in decent shape. The architecture is great. The house had all of the amenities needed (i.e. dishes, utensils, laundry, toiletry). We essentially did not need to trake anything with us except our clothing. North side neighbor was a jerk. Made offensive comments when we arrived because we had the lights on. Other than that, we were pleased with our stay.
Response from Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals - 03/07/2011
Sorry about that neighbor but glad you loved the house! We think we've worked out the "light" issue with the one neighbor (who is only there ocassionally). Other neighbors are great!
The property had incredible...
The property had incredible views of the ocean from the deck and master loft bed. The grounds were immaculate and the location was a two minute drive from town. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the "Ninja Cabin".
Spring Hill, FL
Perfect location, ALMOST perfect house.
The dishwasher was broken upon our arrival and the cleaning crew assured us they would report that as well as the malfunctioning spa controls. These issues were disappointing as we did do most of our meals and cooking at the house and planned on making greater use of the spa. I felt as a courtesy the property management should have contacted us early in the week as to their intentions concerning these matters. But overall it was a very pleasant stay, the home itself is perfect for a multi generational visit and is a very warm, comfortable home in a gorgeous location. We did have a great vacation with many enjoyable memories.
Response from Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals - 07/13/2010
You are right, we should have contacted you to let you know. We have people coming out to fix both issues - it sometimes takes time, especially with appliances, to get them repared. Everything all fixed!
Beats the hotels, hands down.
Just need to trim the trees out front a bit. Open up the view to the ocean.
San Francisco, CA
A gorgeous, peaceful setting in a magical house. One of the best maintained and most comfortable homes in which we've ever stayed.
it was epic
and we loved it
Great location and amenities.......
Great location and amenities.... One exception is that the hot tub needs to be maintained more aggressively. Very musty smell both times we've stayed. Other than that, this is the place to stay!!!!!
Trinidad has a lot going for it, and this location espeeccially.
The property has declined (water needed to be boiled, the electric system was only partially operable; internet is between nonexistent and extremely slow.)
We spent less time at the property this time around. We'll probably try another location for our next visit.
We still have good memories from both visits. We're also looking to rent/lease/buy a similar property in this or a near by location.
2 Days is not Long Enough
What little time we had was very enjoyable. The only complaint was there is an "odor" in the laundry room that was unpleasant. However, we just closed that door and didn't worry about it. And the "wall of windows" needed to be cleaned. I will admit this is difficult because of the size of it. Plus it's in the Redwoods that has lots of spiders and such that are always making webs. If you want a house in this location then you have to deal with the cobwebs.
This home would be perfect for a romantic getaway or a family vacation. The property is very private, but the house is open, so there is little privacy within the house. This is not a bad thing though. It is what is so appealing about the house. The view is fantastic from anywhere in the house. If you are vacationing with the family, then there is little romantic privacy inside the house.
I had very little contact with the manager of the property. But I have rented properties before so I know what to expect. I never once physically met anyone during my entire stay that had anything to do with the property.
I was however given the information needed to get the key. I could walk right up to the door, unlock the home and treat it like I've been living there. This is what I like about renting properties. I get a home like my own with a yard and many times with all the extras you can't get at a motel. Like a kitchen, hot tub, BBQ, fire pit, an actual yard and deck you can use for entertainment, etc.
I was happy enough with this house that I plan to come back again for a longer stay. 2 days is just not enough time to really enjoy the home. It takes us a day to get settled into a home, and when leaving at least a half a day to clean and pack. I think 4 days to a week to really enjoy a home like this. I look forward to my next stay.
Great location! Great vacation home!
We really enjoyed our stay. This is one of our favorite homes we have stayed at in Trinidad. The house was clean and very comfortable for our family of 5. The grounds around the house were incredible. If you are looking for a private well kept vacation rental in a great location this is the rental for you. We will stay here again!
P.S. Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals was fast and easy to work with THANK YOU!
Vacatiioning in a work of art
Even though the house was not huge in square footage, it afforded our party privacy for each visitor and sense of convenience and deep quiet and comfort. Experiencing the architecture one can fully appreciate the personal touches of a professional architect-designer whose thoughts were all executed simply and perfectly. The materials and craftsmanship exuded a sense of richness and peace. The openness of the house made it a perfect place to have a socially rewarding experience. The beds were really comfortable and I didn't have to use my own pillows and comforter. Very cozy!
The atmosphere of the home and property calms your heart and mind. We dropped our plans and just hung around this place. It was healthy.
We had a great stay at Westgate paradise. The pictures dont do the house justice. There is a very tranquil feeling throughout the whole house. It was perfect for our family of 4, very spacious. The bathrooms were amazing. Unfortunately it was overcast for our stay so we were not able to see much of the ocean, but knowing it was right there and being able to smell it was just as well. The hot tub was great at the end of the day and the deck was huge and perfect for entertaining with the fire pit. The only problem we had was finding the key to the hot tub cover so make sure to discuss this before your arrival. Also, a lot of the standard supplies for the house (TP,Paper towels, dish soap, and hand soap)all ran out during our stay so we had to purchase these. Overall a great experience!
This place was amazing. Just what we needed for a nice family vacation. We hope to come back again next year!
Great place would be better if. . .
Amazingly beautiful property with lovely views. I really missed hearing the ocean though. Lack of washer/dryer and cable/dish for TV and computer are big drawbacks to this beautiful home in a gorgeous setting in a fabulously beautiful area. Thanks for Mike and Reid for being responsive.
The house and gardens are absolutely beautiful! Everything about the house is gorgeous. And then to walk outside see the expansive gardens with mature rhododendrons and trees--breathtaking. It was truly a relaxing environment. The only negative comments I have are regarding the hot tub and the lack of towels. The hot tub was not usable for 2 out of the 3 nights we were there--it was dirty upon check in and not cleaned/drained until the next day, so it wasn't even hot until the 3rd day. The other (-) was the lack of towels. Perhaps we were to bring our own? If so, I missed that point! All in all, it was a wonderful vacation for our family and we will surely stay here again.
Great Family Retreat
We loved this gorgeous home. It fit our needs to accommodate six people wonderfully. We greatly enjoyed the deck, the spa, and the kitchen was great for cooking.