|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Affordable single family vacation cottage built in 1945 and located only 2 blocks to the beach. Outside amenities include a screened porch, deck overlooking the back yard, and a gas grill. Located in quiet residential neighborhood, walking distance to Memorial Park and the grocery store. One bedroom is furnished with a queen and the other has a twin with a trundle. Additional sleeping available on the futon in the living area. This cottage is pet friendly and includes complimentary WIFI (wireless internet) available for guest use. Parking for 3.
2013 MINIMUM NIGHTS: Any 3 Nights
* Please note that the description above is subject...Read more
Tybee Island, Georgia
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$179||$179||$1,103||$0||2 nights|
|Jun. 9 2013 - Jun. 14 2013
|Jun. 15 2013 - Jun. 21 2013
|Jun. 22 2013 - Jun. 28 2013
|Jun. 29 2013 - Jul. 1 2013
July 4th Holiday
|Jul. 2 2013 - Jul. 5 2013
July 4th Holiday
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Jul. 6 2013 - Jul. 12 2013
|Jul. 13 2013 - Jul. 19 2013
|Jul. 20 2013 - Jul. 26 2013
|Jul. 27 2013 - Aug. 1 2013
|Aug. 2 2013 - Aug. 3 2013
|Aug. 4 2013 - Aug. 8 2013
|Aug. 9 2013 - Aug. 10 2013
|Aug. 11 2013 - Aug. 15 2013
|Aug. 16 2013 - Aug. 17 2013
|Aug. 18 2013 - Aug. 22 2013
|View all 15 Rate Periods|
Additional notes from owner
Rates are subject to change without notice. Pricing excludes taxes, additional options or fees.
2013 MINIMUM NIGHTS: Any 3 Nights MEMORIAL DAY & JULY 4TH: Memorial Day Weekend and July 4th Weekend are rented at a higher nightly rate than those posted on this page. This rate applies only to 6/29-7/5/2013. All online quotes will reflect this rate. Please see our Rental Policies for information regarding terms, minimum nights, additional charges and fees, and rental restrictions. Visit our Rental Seasons page for a breakdown of our rate structure or use the Instant Quote button on this page. Learn more about the benefits of Travel Protection and Trip Cancellation Insurance .
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: June 15, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
A near perfect trip.
I would recommend this house for a couple looking for a low key getaway.
Great location on the Island
I have to say that the location for Tybee Mist is perfect. It is within walking distance to the beach and marsh. There is a grocery store and several restaurants withing a short distance. We walked most of the time we were there. I'd consider the cabin a comfortable size for 4 people. It is an extremely cute little cottage.
A couple of negative things about tybee mist:
There appears to be some sort of electrical issue going on. Lights would flicker and dim randomly. We also had to kill a couple of roaches upon our arrival (Nothing starts off a romantic beach vacation like roaches). I brought this to the attention of the rental company and they said it was normal and they spray once a year. If they have a regular occurrence of bugs I would suggest spraying more often. On the second day of our visit we had a strange encounter with a lady knocking on the doors and windows who apparently was with an insurance company that was wanting to take pictures of the cottage. I still don't know what that was all about as I never got a return call from the rental company explaining why we were being bothered by someone during our stay. I didn't let this affect the rating for the cabin as hopefully these issues were just unfortunate to happen during our stay, but the bugs do concern me.
General thoughts on Tybee Island:
The beaches are great, but unfortunately we didn't discover until our arrival that dogs are banned from the beach. So while our dog got to go with us we didn't get to enjoy his company for morning runs or lounging on the beach. The reason why we choose this cottage is because of it being dog friendly so we most likely won't re visit the area simply because of all the restrictions around dogs.
Tybee Vacation rentals is dog friendly, Tybee Beach is not.
Response from Tybee Vacation Rentals - 02/19/2013
It's great to hear that you found the location of the cottage to be close to most everything. We appreciate your feedback and have our maintenance team looking into the lights dimming so that we can resolve this. As for the bugs, it does happen in our environment, unfortunately. It sounds like the information you received was inaccurate, however, as our properties are on a MONTHLY pest control plan, not a yearly one. We sincerely apologize for the insurance agent taking photos while you were there. The process that should have been followed was not. In the event that anyone needs to come to one of our properties while it's occupied, we like to speak with the guest first to ask if that would be okay and try to coordinate a time that works for all. The person you encountered did not contact us beforehand. I am sure that was a big disappointment to learn that our beaches do not allow dogs. I apologize that wasn't explained more clearly at time of reservation. We do make a point to explain in the rental agreement you signed when you made the reservation and in all of your check in information. We are working on it as we would love to take our furry friends to the beach too!
A perfect winter refuge
Tybee Mist was the ideal spot for my long winter weekend at Tybee. I had to take care of some personal business in Savannah and this quaint cottage was the perfect refuge for me and my dog. The place was clean and well furnished, super comfy and quiet. I am so glad I found it and look forward to returning to visit from New York at least once this winter.
We had a fantastic time on Tybee Island as always!!! This was my 5th visit and I'm never disappointed. Tybee Mist was a perfect fit for our needs.
The back deck and fenced yard were perfect for our "four-legged" traveler. He loved being able to run around the yard!
The mid-island location is also perfect for walking in any direction. I will be back again (might not leave next time!) and would not hesitate to rent this same house! I love dealing with Tybee Vacation Rentals - they make everything as simple and relaxing as possible!
Love Tybee! I will be back
Loved Tybee Island, my first visit. I will return. The only negative was the parking. I would have rented bikes but had my 6 yr. granddaughter with me and didn't feel comfortable riding with her in town.
My short stay was enjoyably relaxing in this quaint, picturesque
Tybee Mist is a small cottage but exudes a relaxing atmostphere with its screened in back porch and private backyard with patio. The cottage had everything a person needs while on vacation. It is in a great spot on the island. I would only suggest bringing or renting a bicycle to enjoy cruising along the streets. Thanks so much!
This is a great cottage! Very comfortable and relaxing. It was better than we expected. Very clean, tidy, comfortable bed, everything worked well. The screened in porch was fabulous. We brought a lounge chair and took naps out there. Loved the 2 block walk to the beach!!! Now that is living! Great to have a Washer/Dryer. The hard wood floors are beautiful...We will be back!
Felt like home for a week!
Excellent service, people were very friendly and helpful. The house was just what we wanted, close to the beach but yet quiet neighborhood. Well stocked and easy to care for. We were close enough to the beach to walk but not too far. It was a great vacation!
Great Service, Location, Beautiful Backyard, but Mice / Dirty
The place was fantastic. Beautiful yard for the puppy and cute little kitchen. Location was great - we could walk to the store. However, there were mice droppings all over the kitchen and all the dishes were sticky/dirty. We were only there for 3 days and we were at a wedding, so we didn't have time to call the agency and for them to come clean up or change us to another house. When I told the agency about the cleanliness problems as we were leaving, they were very apologetic and said they would have cleaned or moved us if we had told them before. So... great agency,great house... but bad housekeeping.
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
A rewarding experience. We highly recommend visiting Tybee Isla
Our property was very comfortable, extremely clean and two blocks from the beach. The only thing we weren't crazy about was that at&T; has a building by the back yard and they have flood lights on all during the night which shine into the property's back yard and screened in porch.
Loved Tybee Mist
Great place to stay on Tybee
My family recently stayed at Tybee Mist located 3 blocks from the beach on Tybee Island. The house was the perfect size and we all loved the screened in porch and large back yard. It was perfect for my 2 small dogs that went with us. Also loved having the gas grill as we did alot of our own cooking to say money. The only negative was that I moped the floors on the screen porch and in the kitchen and it looked like there was about a years worth of grime on the floor so Im not sure how long ago the house was given a thorough cleaning.
I love Tybee mist!!
We had an amazing time and absolutely loved the house. When I think of beach house this is exactly what I want! Very cozy!! If you ever want to sell the house we would love to buy it! Have already recommended that my nephew bring his family down. Will definately stay there again!
Vistors from Kentucky
Good, convenient stay!
Enjoyed the stay at Tybee Island. We arrived too early for check-in on the first day with our two-year-old daughter having a high fever and the people working for Tybee Vacation Rentals did their best to get the place ready early in order for us to check in and let her rest (while also putting together a list of places we could go to if things got worse). Fortunately, she felt better by nighttime and we were able to enjoy plenty of walks along the beach and in the neighborhood.
House was very close to the beach in an area that was not too touristy, so you could actually head to the beach and roam around without feeling like you were having to navagate a lot of strangers. House has grill, which made for a nice cook-out here and there, and everything else you would need to get by. Clean rooms as well. Only complaint at all is that the water from the sink tasted off and we ended up drinking bottled water while there, but certianly safe enough for washing and baths. That and there were a few places on the back porch that could use a bit of touch-up, but that was a minor complaint. I would also say that this would be more for a group of four, possibly five at most and that's if you have a couple of kids.
Very good time and would recommend the place to others. Certainly would consider going back again!
Nice and relaxing
House was clean and comfortable nice location for us. Plenty of parking.
Jane and DJ
We had a great time - the cottage was great.
We really enjoyed our stay at Tybee Mist. We actually have a week at Tybrisa, but decided to come earlier in the season. The cottage was very cute and clean and we got to bring our dog - who also enjoyed it. We are thinking about selling our time-share and staying in one of your cottages instead.Probably the best vacation yet. Thanks!!
we really love the little cottage and wish we had more time to v
Everything was so nice and laid out for us. We where so happy at the things available for us at the house.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Aah, Sweet Repose
Cosy, cosy, cosy... Quiet neighborhood, sweet bungalow, and NO
granite countertops - hurray! Just the way it used to be. Peace and
quiet - read a book, take naps, do nothing and come back for more!
Always a nice breeze - great cross ventilation. Some considerations,
however: Sleeps six? Two adults and four kids maybe - sounds like
bedlam to me, Dog friendly? There is no fenced enclosure. The
screened porch could suffice for small dog(s), perhaps. All in all, a
Response from Tybee Vacation Rentals - 05/20/2009
Tybee Vaction Rentals really appreciates guest's feedback. We will pass on to the owner your suggestion about fencing in the back yard. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Tybee Mist. It's nice to read comments from guests who remember the way we used to enjoy our beach vacations. We hope you come back soon for your Tybee experience.
Island Dream World :)
Tybee is an amazing place to stay... truly an island getaway. Great location and so much to do. The house was PERFECT for just the two of us - but I wouldn't try to fit much more than two to four people in the house :) The area around the house was quiet, close nice walk to the beach, and just a great experience all around. The rental company staff was very helpful and friendly... but the extra fees they tack on REALLY add up! Almost half of my total expenses renting here were in fees - some of which SHOULD be refundable and seem dubious... But I doubt that situation is unique to this rental company! Great vacation. Wonderful stay. LOVE that it was so pet friendly. Can't wait to go back again :)
A wonderful escape
Tybee Mist is a wonderful home away from home. In a quiet
neighborhood and a short walk to the beach. Away from the
activity/party/noise of the spring break community.
Great place for casual beach stay
We enjoyed staying at Tybee Mist, and we've stayed there once previously. Our only reservation about it was that the house is a little smaller than we would prefer. It is comfortable, however, and well maintained. The decor is casual -- "shabby chic" -- so it isn't the place for anyone who wants to stay in fancy digs while at the beach. It suited us quite well, aside from its being small, and we may stay there again in the future.
Precious vintage house!!
I absolutely loved this property. It felt so welcoming the minute my family arrived. I felt as if I were staying at my Grandmother's beach home- vintage house but very well kept up, comfortable and convenient. I will definitely stay here again so I do recommend Tybee Mist to anyone not wanting to pay the prices beachfront properties ask.
This was a very nice house. I stayed there with my husband, two young children and my mother. We all enjoyed it greatly. We especially liked the screened in porch and spent a lot of time there when we weren't at the beach or eating. It was also nice to have a washer and dryer and be able to go home from vacation with clean clothes. It was centrally located with all the amenities we needed close by. The store was very close and there was a park within walking distance for the kids. I jogged at night and felt very safe. Even though it was across the street, the beach was within walking distance so we didn't have to pay to park. The house was very clean and had everything we needed. I would highly recommend this house and this rental company. Everyone was very friendly and professional. As soon as we can afford it, we will be back. My kids have already asked.
Not so great
Yes, it is affordable and close to the beach but...
The "backyard" was only a sand desert.The kitchen is very small and was not equipped for four people. One of our two kids had to sleep on a trundle bed which didn't show on the picture and made the tiny room not walkable anymore. And in our 5 day stay we had four roaches! We actually wanted to stay 7 days but we left earlier.
Response from Tybee Vacation Rentals - 04/22/2009
We're sorry this rental did not meet your expectations. Tybee Mist is one of our price conscience units. It is a quaint, older bungalow in a residential section of the island. The kitchen is small and do to its limited space has few "modern" amenities. The roaches you found are an unfortunate aspect of living in the deep south so close to water. TVR requires all our owners to be on a regular pest control program. Perhaps for your next vacation we can suggest a rental unit that is larger and more updated.
A week at Tybee Mist.
This home had a very nice deck; however, the screened porch area
tended to gather a fair amount of rain water . The outdoor shower
was handy and welcome. The best room in the whole house was
the bathroom--nicely decorated. The owner said she had new
furniture arriving the week after we left. As it was the dinning room
wall looked so bare that I bought a picture at a yard sale and left it
there. Things may have changed in two years but the one thing
that may not have changed is the fact that there is a commercial
building next door --something like a phone company. Part of the
building can be seen in the picture. There was an electrical hum
that came from that building and the propane or gas tanks on the
property were a little unnerving. I slept on the living room couch
the first night because of the sound. But then I couldn't sleep
because of a banging nose caused by the decorative life raft on the
front of the house was knocking about in the wind. Gas stove at
that time (2 plus yrs. ago) and limited kitchen counter space. It
was rather a challenge trying to arrange things so the dishes could
be easily washed. None of the beds had bed skirts on them, but we
found one in a storage box. The windows in the large bedroom did
not have a full set of curtains--instead one panel was stretched
across each window. I began to get used to the house by the end
of the week and some things may have changed in two years, but I
imagine the commercial building is still there.
Decided to Buy My Own
Very comfortable, clean, close access to beach, shopping, restraunts. Enjoyed it so much that I bought a nearby cottage several months later.