- 3 bedrooms
- 2 bathrooms
- sleeps 6
Description from the owner
Our Big Island, Hawaii vacation rental houses have all the facilities needed. Whether you’re seeking a romantic getaway, family time, or experiencing volcano adventures, enjoy all the comforts of home. Of course, all of our rentals are on their own private properties, so you don't have to share a house with any other guests.
Pets Not Allowed.
$195.00/Night double occupancy + $20 per Additional Person; One night deposit required to hold reservation.
30+days prior to arrival date will receive a refund less a 15% cancellation fee. 15-29 days prior to arrival date will receive a 50% refund. 7-14 days prior to your arrival dat...Read more
Hale Mauna Loa
Additional Location Information
We are just five minutes from the entrance to Volcanoes National Park. Hike across the floor of Kilauea-Iki crater or to Halema'u ma'u, home of the fire goddess Pele, or take a night hike to see the active lava flows.
Your Volcano Village location puts you 40 minutes from Punalu’u Black Sand Beach, where you may see turtles nesting and swimming, one and a half hours from from the City of Refuge, and only 40 minutes from historic and beautiful downtown Hilo with restaurants, shops, museums and nearby snorkeling beaches.
Amenities in the village include several diverse restaurants, 2 grocery stores, 2 gas stations, launderette, gift shops, art galleries, post office, a nearby local winery, 18-hole golf course and "da" best Sunday morning farmer's market.
Location Type Mountain, Tropical, Village
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: December 07, 2013 ◀▶
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Date||Nightly Rate||Weekly Rate||Monthly Rate|
|All other dates ||$195||$1,170|
|1 night min stay | Any day check-in | $20 per person per night for more than 2 guests|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the owner|
- Tax rate | 13.42% of rent
- Cleaning fee | $75 per stay
- Soap/Shampoo Provided
- Towels Provided
- Linens Provided
- Security System
- 24 Hour On Call Maintenance
- Paper Towels Provided
- Housekeeping Included
- Local Guides/Maps
- High Speed Internet
- Wireless Internet
- Internet Access
- Hot Tub/Jacuzzi [?]
- Mountain Views
- Gas Grill
- Washing Machine
- Clothes Dryer
- Electric Stove
- Charcoal Grill
- High Definition TV
- Satellite TV
- Cable TV
- DVD Player
- Stereo System
- Media Library
- Standard Definition TV
- Outdoor Dining Area
- Beach Chairs
- Beach Towels
- Suitable for children - Yes
- 1750 square feet
What Past Guests Are Saying
Cottage in the woods
About my rating: we really wanted to give this property a 3.5. This house is spacious and clean, and the kitchen well-equipped for cooking meals. The location is excellent for visiting Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and is a short drive from Hilo. Our teenagers enjoyed using the hot tub. Although generally good, there are a few improvements that could be made:
- we were very disappointed to learn upon arrival that the firepit on the lanai was not working, as this was one of the reasons we had chosen this place. As a result we didn't sit out on the lanai in the evenings because it was too chilly and damp.
- The master bathroom is in need of renovation, as the fixtures are getting rather rusty.
- We had been sent an email reminding us to make sure we activated the alarm system. However, there were no alarm instructions anywhere in the house (the relevant page in the binder had been removed).
- The phone in the house was not working.
Other than this, our family did enjoy our stay in the rainforest. We had a short stay (two nights), which we used to explore Hvnp. We also went to the Thai restaurant in Volcano Village for dinner one night and the food was very good.
Serene, beautiful & convenient.
This location was perfect for having access to Volcano Natl. Park & Hilo. The patio was spacious, and well furnished. We did not spend a lot of time out on the patio, as it was raining every day, and although covered, it was cooler to sit outside. The indoors was also very spacious with a well equipped kitchen. Bedding was very comfortable & clean. The one down-side was upon arrival, the house alarm went off (much to the neighbor's dismay...they yelled out "Oh no...not again!") & there were no instructions on how to turn it off, either given to us with driving directions, or in the "tips" book on the kitchen counter. Finally after 2 phone calls & the police calling to check on the place...we received directions to silence it. Quite embarrassing! Then the entire neighborhood knew renters were there...(possibly dimishing security of the place). Also, the website link for payment didn't work...I ended up sending checks in by mail.
Response from Joey Gutierrez - 09/03/2013
Aloha and we are glad you enjoyed your stay in this very secluded home great for people who want adventure and privacy!
And we are sorry you were not able to locate the directions for shutting off the alarm in the binder homeowners have provided for guests. Normally the house cleaner disarms it to avoid issues like these, however this was a very busy season for us, so we are sorry for their failure to do so.
And we have set up guests to pay their deposit directly to our paypal account from our website, which is working fine. Sorry you had problems with it.
Thank you for your review and we hope you stay with us again in the future!
Hawaii Volcano Vacations staff
beautiful house in a beautiful setting
We had a great stay in the house. It is very close to the volcano and surrounded by lovely gardens. The house was in great shape and the kitchen was well equipped. The patio and hot tub were fun for gathering.
Will be returning!
Ewa Beach, Oahu, Hawaii
Awesome rainforest getaway!
We stayed at the Hale Moana Loa over the Memorial Weekend 2013 and it was amazing. The best part was the outdoor jacuzzi surrounded by an actual rainforest! The home itself is spacious, beautifully decorated, and completely furnished. It is located right outside Volcano National Park, just South of Hilo, and just North of Kalapana Black Sand Beach. Lots of waterfalls within an hour on the road!
Kailua Kona, Hawaii
Loved our stay!
We stayed with follow family members at Hale Mauna Loa and absolutely loved it! It was perfect for my husband and myself as well as my daughter and her boyfriend. Plenty of room and very peaceful and quiet. I would definitely stay at Hale Mauna Loa again!
Wonderful area, great house, but a couple disappointments.
We had a great time spending time in the Hale Mauna Loa. It is perfectly set up for large families and has plenty of room to sprawl out. The hot tub is great and the Lanai is stellar! A couple of downers were the propane fire pit and the clothes dryer.
The fire pit was shut down due to repairs and we were not informed. Such a bummer because we would have spent more time on the Lanai.
The dryer was malfunctioning and burned holes in some clothing, so we ended up hanging clothing all over the house.
Other than that it was wonderful!
Mahalo for a peaceful, private and comfortable stay.
My husband and and I really enjoyed our stay at Hale Mauna Loa. Merlenna Higby from Hawaii Volcano Vacations is terrific and top-notch, service-oriented, prompt and responsive. Her competency truthfully helped me to gain confidence in renting HM.
The home is lovely, clean and seems to be generally well maintained. However, we do think that certain upgrades and modifications might improve the quality of a guest's stay.
We were not very inspired to use the hot tub, being placed in the carport and having our car's rear as part of the scenery. If it is possible, it would be so much more pleasant having it placed in the side yard just behind the fence and down the stairs from the laundry area. It would also provide much more privacy or at least a sense of it.
Also, after returning to the place from being gone all day with windows and doors closed, we could smell mold. Not surprising with the climate being as wet as it is there, but it may be good to remedy this for allergy sufferers or just people with sensitive noses.
Some other small things like having a supply of paper towels and new dish sponges handy would be nice as well.
We otherwise enjoyed our stay in Volcano very much. Thank you, Merlenna,for the referral to Lomi Lomi practitioner,Beatrice Freitas. What a kind person and wonderful massage therapist she is.
We would definitely consider a future stay at Hale Mauna Loa, especially if the fire pit becmes available.
Mahalo nui loa for your hospitality.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Beautiful, secluded rainforest retreat
This home looked just like the web pictures on the Hawaii Volcano Vacations website. It is nestled among huge trees and ferns that make you feel as if you were alone in the forest in your own well-appointed treehouse. The house and property are well-maintained, although the firepit on the deck was broken during our stay. The dryer also left small rust stains on the linens and some of our clothes and my husband had to turn the electric water heater (outside) off and on again before we got hot water. However, the house was roomy and beautiful, and the hot tub outside was in perfect working order for us to enjoy. Check in and check out was a breeze. I would not hesitate to book this wonderful place for another visit to Kilauea.
A tree house in the rain forest
Staying in Hale Mauna Loa gives one the feeling of being in a luxurious tree house in the rain forest. The bedrooms are large and comfortable, the open floor plan of the living space allows everone to feel connected without being on top of one another. The kids (teens) loved the hot tub. All in all a great property...can't wait to find an excuse to rent it again.
Brantford, Ontario Canada
a typical serene location; a warm welcoming house, cozy all the way in the closets.. we felt right at home amid all that beautiful natural wood every where.
Unfortunately, we did not stay long enough to enjoy the many amenities it has to offer. There is sufficient cozy heating for the cooler nights. We loved it. I whole heartedly recommend this to any one. Stay a week at least or you will regret it too..
Like waking up in a pre-historic rainforest!
I stayed at the Hale Mauna Loa for four days with seven other members of my family. The house is well built and well maintained with a fantastic deck. We arrived late at night and in the morning I expected T. rex to step out and peer in the window. The house is very private, kitchen is very well stocked with utensils and cooking implements and we were 5 minutes away from Volcanoes, which made it easy to zip to the house for lunch or for a break. Bathrooms were very adequate and the home was well cleaned. I would stay there again or recommend it to a friend.
Anniversary trip in Volcano
If you're looking for a quiet out of the way location for a family or group of friends near Volcano national park, look no further.
The house is in great condition, with big rooms and plenty of living and storage place. You will definitely make use of the lenai with the outdoor grill and seating area with firepit.
Whether you are inside relaxing by the fireplace, or lounging on the lenai, you feel like you are sitting in the middle of rain forest.
The property managers provide a list of area attractions and menus for local eateries, If you have any questions, the manager was always available (at reasonable hours) and issues were addressed quickly.
Last, but not least, the price was great!
All 7 in our group loved this place. The deck is awesone. No complaints