Above the River is a brand new vacation rental cabin located in Ashe County, North Carolina, just a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway and the towns of West Jefferson and Jefferson. Located less than 30 minutes from the Boone area, and about 45 minutes south of Grayson Highlands State Park or the Virginia Creeper Trail (biking, hiking and horseback riding) the cabin is ideally located to enjoy a vacation year round. The cabin has river views and is just a 3 minute walk to the New River. The cabin has many walking trails you will feel like you are vacationing in a park. If you enjoy bicycling, hiking, canoeing, tubing, kayaking, fishing,... shopping, dining or just plain relaxation, consider Above the River for your next getaway. Cozy enough for two, but large enough to sleep 8, this cabin has 3 bedrooms (king size bed, double bed, 2 twins), 3 baths, and a sleeper sofa. The cabin is beautifully furnished, and features a complete kitchen, stone gas log fireplace, a gas grill, outdoor dining area, two televisions, a game table (pool, ping pong and air hockey), a family room, a washer and dryer, and assorted games and videos for the family to enjoy. Ashe County is home to many parks, including Mount Jefferson, the New River State Park, and the NC gamelands at Three Top Mountain, to name a few. We are very lucky that the Nature Conservancy has worked to preserve thousands of acres, including many of our peaks. Wireless High Speed Internet NOW available! Sorry, no pets allowed. Max Occupancy: 8.Read more
Left on 05/08/2014 for a stay in February 2014 | Michelle
The cabin and area were beautiful but the location made it very difficult to get to. They recommended having a four wheel drive vehicle, which we do, but we would never drive down the side road or driveway with all the snow and ice. The road and driveway were not plowed when we arrived and after some people got stuck further down the hill and they called, someone did plow the side road but not the driveway. Other than that we loved the cabin and would suggest summer or fall as a time to visit.
Left on 05/06/2014 for a stay in April 2014 | Robynn C.
Staying at above the River was a great experience. The management co were very easy to deal with. The home was amazing. The decor and furnishings were beautiful. The best part was the basement. The kids went down there and loved the pool table and we all enjoyed movies together. I'd say the best part of our stay was that we just felt so at home. It was very very clean and we didn't see one bug! Yay!
Amy and Dewana
Beautiful, modern, everything you need!
Left on 08/16/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | Amy and Dewana
Dewana and I I I tidally checked into "Cabin Fever" another cabin rental managed by CMP. It was not what we expected. The hot tub was nasty, the cabin itself was much smaller than in the photos online, there was a thick layer of dust and dirt on the light over the kitchen table, it was very close to other cabins...we were not happy with it. We called CMP and expressed our concerns. We asked to be moved to "Above the River" and Jeanie quickly accommodated us. She waived the fee to change cabins. and we were in the new cabin within an hour. This cabin is very secluded, clean, with every modern amenity you could need. The decor is tasteful, the views are breathtaking, and the hot tub is perfect. Just a short walk on a marked trail leads to the river, and more beautiful views. The cabin is a little large for just two people, with 3 bedrooms and 3 baths, but we had the time of our lives and plan to return to above the River very soon. The customer service at CMP is excellent. I have stayed with them in the past, and they are consistently polite and quick to respond to any questions or concerns you may have, even after hours. Being able to switch cabin rentals made the difference in our stay, thank you so much Jeanie!
Restful and quality family time
Left on 07/27/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | None
We had a fairly rainy week, but we still enjoyed our vacation immensely. Beautifully furnished, extremely clean house. This house was made for R&R;! We greatly appreciated that the house was pretty much bug free. We have rented several vacation homes over the years at the beach and in the mountains, most of them with substantial bug problems. In this home, I could go to sleep at night and not worry what we would find in the morning. Loved all the outdoor seating and indoor seating. We have two teenage boys and enjoyed great family time together. We grilled, played cards and played several games of ping pong and air hockey. I had anticipated finding current movies and games from the home description and was disappointed there there were really no movies to speak of. I was a little concerned about using the non-stick frying pan because the pans were so damaged on the interior. I realize tenants are not the most considerate and it is likely difficult to keep items in good condition. I would have liked to have a few cleaning products on hand to wipe up behind us, particularly the stove top. Our oldest son will be a senior next year, and I don't know if we will be able to take a vacation next year, but I would love to be able to rent this home again, even if just for a few days. Thank you for sharing your home with us and giving our family some much needed rest and time to enjoy each other's company. Read more
Response from Carolina Mountain Properties - 11/04/2013
Thanks to your review, the owners have replaced several of the pots and pans.
Left on 04/11/2013 for a stay in March 2013 | Melmc
Me and 7 of my friends rented this cabin for our spring break. The place was great! Beautiful interior and a great location. Nice and secluded, and the river and trails nearby are wonderful. I would certainly reccommend this cabin. Its a great value. Also, the help desk was very friendly.
The only thing I would warn against is make sure you bring an SUV or a durable car because getting to the cabin itself can be a little tricky. The roads aren't bumpy - they're just very winding and hilly.
Left on 01/21/2013 for a stay in October 2012 | whitney
Our stay was wonderful we would recommend this house to anyone who likes the amazing new river!!!
Above The River
Left on 01/21/2013 for a stay in January 2013 | Alora
Beautiful, very clean cabin, with lots of room! Great trip and highly recommend this place!
Left on 12/17/2011 for a stay in October 2011 | Lou Adkins
Went to stay a weekend here at the end of October, was wonderful, very clean and spacious. Looking forward to staying again. No complaints here give it a five star rating. Definitely not roughing here!!! All included wonderful!!
Driveway not a problem
Left on 10/07/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | David
We have stayed at this cabin for two years in a row, and will probably go again next year. I think a previous reviewer may have overstated the problem with the driveway. When we were there it was smooth and hard-packed, and not a problem at all with our 2-wheel drive sedan. The driveway is wide with plenty of turnaround room at the bottom. If you want a flat driveway, go to the beach - this cabin is great.
Left on 09/28/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | M. Cord
Although the cabin was very nice, the steep, unpaved, rutted driveway was terrible. The listing should recommend 4-wheel drive for all seasons. This driveway is not for the handicap! See separate letter that was mailed to Carolina Mountain Realtors, dated august 25, 2011. Read more
Response from Carolina Mountain Properties - 10/07/2011
The driveway issue has been corrected. We tried to arrange for someone to correct the issue while the renters were at the cabin, but time constraints prohibited the company responsible for the driveway to get there before these renters left. Every effort was made by the owner and Carolina Mountain Properties to correct this issue during the renter's stay. A refund was issued to these renters for the problems they encountered with the driveway. The driveway has been regraded and ruts removed. It is recommended if you visit this cabin in the winter a 4 wheel drive be driven due to snowfall in our area.
Left on 02/17/2011 for a stay in December 2010 | julio
the beautiful place every thing ok , super i want to go back
Beautiful mountain house
Left on 02/17/2011 for a stay in May 2010 | Leader1
Spacious, airy house is well-stocked. Private quiet setting with wooded view, short walk to river. Great trails for walking near the river as well as good river access and an already established place for campfire. Need to be aware that loft bedroom can hear noises from great room and even basement recreation room if door open. Also very steep gravel drive down to house from unpaved access road - in rainy or snowy weather will need 4 wheel drive. I highly recommend the house for a family or small group. Would definitely go back.
This is one of the best memories of our year -- we'll be back!
Left on 02/08/2011 for a stay in December 2010 | Samantha Abt-Bumgarner
My husband and I are very particular, and what struck us right away was the cleanliness of the house. Our stay was fantastic -- everything about the house was perfect and our children loved it. We plan to come back next year and perhaps even begin making this stay a tradition. Thanks so much!
free and easy
Left on 02/08/2011 for a stay in August 2010 | Badlesmere
We had a great great time. Hours spent exploring the river and loads of beautiful walks nearby.
Perfect family vcation
Left on 02/07/2011 for a stay in July 2010 | Anne Smith
Having older children..I decided to plan a FFF (forced family fun!) vacation. I chose a somewhat "remote" spot where cell phones would not rule! We had a perfect week of hiking..canoeing..and horseback riding. Every night--after a late dinner--we played board games and cards til the am! The house we rented was wonderful and totally comfortable and secluded. A good time was had by all and the memories will be cherished.
Left on 01/10/2011 for a stay in February 2010 | Susan
We come back to "Above the River" year after year for a relaxing family get away. We enjoy the walks down the the water and some years we have enjoyed sledding near the property. The nearby town is cute and there are some nice hiking trails nearby.
Be careful with parking we have had a tough time exiting the parking area if the weather is bad.
Above the River
Left on 03/25/2010 for a stay in February 2008 | cuind
Had a nice stay
Left on 03/25/2010 for a stay in March 2007 | Donceldon
We enjoyed our stay in the cabin above the river.The cabin was everything they said it was and more.It was beautiful.We had lots of room,very clean.The amenities were very good pool table and hot tub.The walk down to the river while not far at all was very steep.Would not be a problem for a lot of people as there was a good path but my husband is in his sixties and it was too much for him.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.