Well-designed two level apartment in an authentic Amsterdam house in a lively street in the city centre.
Cheery and modern, the Flower Market Suite two bedroom apartment is set at the top floor of a historic building. Authentic gabled ceilings, wooden floors and big windows are reminiscent of the past, yet the modern unfussy interior design fuses wonderfully creating a charming and practical urban space.
This spacious duplex boasts a stylish living room fitted out with a comfortable sofa bed, armchair, coffee table, a lot of natural light coming in through the large windows and for your leisure time there is a flat screen television, DVD and Wi-Fi Internet service. The dining table is next to the fully equipped milky white kitchen: refrigerator, stove, oven, microwave, toaster coffee machine, kettle and cupboards filled with utensils; plus a most convenient dishwasher.
On the second floor you will find the bedrooms, serene white and very cosy. One of them has a double bed while the other has two single ones. The bathroom, minty fresh is all about relax and recharge â€“ wonderful bathtub!
The Flower Market Suite is a lovely home in a privileged location and it can house up to six guests.
There are steep stairs to the apartment, therefore it is less suitable for small children, the elderly, or disabled people.
As this apartment is located in a vibrant street in the center of Amsterdam, home to several restaurants and bars, there can be an increased level of sound from the surrounding area.
Services and facilities:
Bed linen and towels are provided
Bed linen is anti-allergic
Fair-trade Max Havelaar towels
The bath linen we use is made of Fair-trade cotton. Fair-trade cotton is cotton that is produced durable without any insecticides in developing countries. By paying an honest price to local farmers the environment of those who are directly involved is improved step by step.
We always keep looking for new ways to contribute to a better environment.
Additional amenities include: iron & ironing board, allowed to smoke, bath with shower, sofa / couch, coffee machine, fans, single shower, hairdryer, bed linen and towels included.TripAdvisor property ID 2030397...Read more
Flower Market Suite Amsterdam, North Holland, Holland (Netherlands)
Additional Location Information
The apartment is located in the centre of Amsterdam, right at the Canal Belt, a UNESCO World Heritage. Probably the image most associated with the city of Amsterdam is that of elegant gabled mansions richly decorated and beautifully laid out, facing water canals lined with trees. The crescent-shaped rings of man made waterways, Singel, Herengracht, Keizersgracht, and Prinsengracht, called the Grachtengordel in Dutch, were built around the old heart of town during the 17th century's Dutch Golden Age.
The Flower Market Suite at Reguliersdwarsstraat has excellent restaurants and lively bars nearby which attracts a mixed bunch of both hip straights and gays. It is close to the the only floating flower market in the world so it's one of the sweetest smelling places of Amsterdam. The flower stalls stand on houseboats and whatever your favourite flower, you are bound to find it here.
Rembrandtplein is also around the corner as well as the famous Art Deco Tuschinski theatre. It is easy to find many means of public transport, specially trams, there are also buses and taxis, but then again, you are in a privilege position to access the endless display of hot spots around town. Art museums, theatre and architecture are all part of the Amsterdam scene and simply walking through the colourful neighbourhoods offers an exceptional cultural experience.
Left on 04/18/2011 for a stay in March 2011 | A FlipKey verified reviewerReviewed Apr 18, 2011Stayed Mar 2011
Stayed here over Paddy's weekend. The apartment is great, very central to Dam Square, very clean and spacious. The stairs were a bit of a nightmare and since it is above a bar the Friday and Saturday nights were quite noisy. I would recommend this apartment and would stay there again.
Left on 01/07/2011 for a stay in December 2010 | A FlipKey verified reviewerReviewed Jan 7, 2011Stayed Dec 2010
Like every year my family and I spend Christmas in a capital city. Amsterdam us cheerful with its calm and all its amenities. Frozen canals and its multitude of bridges. The area of the flower market and very central. This lively neighborhood but we felt calm may be due to a Christmas party, and the apartment spacious, well heated and well furnished it is important to feel at ease in a rental, good taste is important and c 'is what we found in this apartment
Left on 12/01/2010 for a stay in October 2010 | A FlipKey verified reviewerReviewed Dec 1, 2010Stayed Oct 2010
We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in Flower Market Suite, ascending the stairs with luggage was a challenge but once inside it could not have been better. The apartment was large, spacious and tastefully decorated..no laundry though! The location was magic, everything the city has to offer was within walking distance, the street was colourful but not too noisy, plenty of good eating houses around the flower market next door.
Left on 12/01/2010 for a stay in November 2010 | A FlipKey verified reviewerReviewed Dec 1, 2010Stayed Nov 2010
The checkin at ShortStay was fast, professional and customer friendly. When I had any glitches, i.e. difficulty with the door lock, functionality of the dvd player, you were very responsive and I appreciate that--especially the gentleman that rode his bike over to help and assist. I thought the apartment was great--good location, well appointed, and will definately plan to stay there again. Thank you for making a hassle-free experience. The only minor glitch was that the shower drain seemed a bit slow, and the towels could be more generous--minor stuff that can be easily remedied.
Left on 10/13/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | A FlipKey verified reviewerReviewed Oct 13, 2010Stayed Aug 2010
We stayed here in august for three nights, and wish it was longer. Spacious, plenty of room for the four of us, a free bottle of wine upon our arrival, perfect location. Easy access to all amenities (Bars, clubs, restaurants, supermarket, and tourist district.) Clean and tidy, nicely decorated, and well furnished. If we had anything to complain about, we had a little difficulty opening the door, and it was a little noisy until the early hours, but small sacrifice for the location.
Left on 08/19/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | A FlipKey verified reviewerReviewed Aug 19, 2010Stayed Jul 2010
I cannot recommend your service as when we, 4 of us, booked this appartment you misled us about the toilet being accessable to the bedrooms, it was not. The advertising said there was a washing machine and fans, there was none. You later sent 2 fans for 3 rooms. There is no handrail on the stairs leading to the bedrooms and bathroom with no toilet. It didnot state that this appartment was unsuitable for older people or people with mobility problems which meant 2 of the group had to sleep on the floor in the living room as the bedroom was inaccessable for them. Your internet ad changed after these matters were brought to your notice. Very unscrupulous. For us, this was very upsetting and spoiled our much needed vacation. For sleeping on the floor and misleading advertising we are entitled to a refund and cannot in all honesty recommend your company.
We are sorry to hear that we have disappointed you in your expectations. We recognise that some of the issues you mention in your feedback, was incorrect or incomplete, but we do not recognise all the issues you mention.
We have indeed adjusted and completed some of the information on our website, based on the feedback we get from our guests. We are sorry to hear that you perceive this as being unscrupulous and deceiving, as we only intend to improve our service to our guests.
Flower Market Suite is a very popular apartment and we have not yet heard many (big) complaints about it. To get a better understanding on what went wrong, our city manager will contact you in the next couple of days.
Short Stay Group Amsterdam
A FlipKey verified reviewer
“In need of an upgrade!”
Left on 08/02/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | A FlipKey verified reviewerReviewed Aug 2, 2010Stayed Jun 2010
All in all my stay in the Flower Market Suite was more then ok. The only thing was that the apartment is in desperate need of an upgrade. For the amount of money spent for a night I did expect more class within the apartment. There were big waterstains on the ceiling, peeling paint in the stairwell, smudges on the white walls. The double bed was not of real good quality, in the morning the two single beds had moved apart leaving you lying in a "ditch".
The next question asked is of I would recommend this rental to my friends. Yes to my friends, but with the warning what to expect. No to us or other business contacts. Business contact will expect more for their dollar.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 homes and rooms around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.