SOUNDSIDE Avon - Askin's CreekY’ALL COME INN is the perfect place to unwind from everyday life and experience a change of pace. Enjoy the wonderful unspoiled beach, just a short walk away, or kayak down the winding canals of secluded Askin’s Creek and out to Pamlico Sound. For fun by the water without leaving home, spend an afternoon by the private pool or soaking in the hot tub. Two outdoor showers are nearby. Enjoy the beautiful sunset views from the spacious decks, or chill out in the first level game room with pool table and TV/DVD. Also on this level is a bedroom with queen bed, TV/DVD and semi-private bath. Ride the elevator up to the second level and lounge in the den or one of four bedrooms, two of which are queen masters, one master with pyramid bunk and one has a king bed and semi-private bath, all with deck access and TV/DVDs. On the third level enjoy the sun-filled great room and well-equipped kitchen. The large dining area has plenty of room for everyone and opens up to the top deck where you can even see the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse in the distance. Enjoy music, TV/DVD and the cozy gas log fireplace in the comfortable living area or step up to the sunset room. A convenient half bath and a spacious king master suite with TV/DVD and large master bath with tile shower completes the top level. Y’ALL COME INN and spend a wonderful, relaxing vacation in this beautiful Hatteras Island home.
| |(4 masters) 1 king, 1 king, 1 queen, 1 queen, 1 queen, 1 pyramid bunk, 1 sofa bed |Non-smoking% 8 TVs % 8 DVD players % Game room with 8' pool table % Fireplace - gas log % Grill - charcoal% Basketball goal % Fish cleaning table with water and lights% Lockable under-house storage with 2nd refrigerator% Wireless high speed internet access% Elevator% Linens and towels available for rent at www.beachdetail.com% 14' x 28' Private swimming pool (Heat available)% 6 Person hot tub% Pets not permitted|
Additional amenities include: pool table, game room, saturday, elevator.TripAdvisor property ID 2430729...Read more
Left on 07/10/2014 for a stay in June 2014 | A FlipKey verified reviewerReviewed Jul 10, 2014Stayed Jun 2014
We are 28 days post vacation and I have had some time to truly think about our rental experience with Surf or Sound Realty in Avon, NC.
The past 2 years we rented the same house, Ya’ll Come Inn. A very nice house with several amenities and convenient location. Last year’s vacation was excellent, aside from sparse kitchen supplies and deck furniture you could not ask for a better vacation home.
This year, our rental experience was the complete opposite. I am posting this information here as the website for the rental agency does not accept reviews to be posted.
We arrived in Avon at the rental agency, Surf and Sound, around 5 pm in which they handed us our house keys and said the house would be ready at 6 pm. At 5:30 pm they called and asked us to come to the office as there was a problem with the house.
Upon arriving BACK at the rental agency, we were informed of the following….the prior renter had been in the house for a 2 week rental and the house was a mess. 4 of the 6 beds had been soiled with human waste. Also, they proceeded to tell us that 3 different cleaning crews had been in throughout the day and each crew left refusing to clean the house. So I ask, why did they give us the keys at 5 pm knowing that the house was a disaster? Surf or Sound should have never handed us the keys to the house until they knew that it was check in ready. Now, we were informed that the house was not going to be check-in ready until 8:30-9 pm that evening!! WOW!! We asked if there was another rental that they could put us in. The response from Surf or Sound was, “There was not another rental in our price range.” At this point my mouth hit the floor!! Where is their customer service???
Chris, the agent, attempted to accommodate us in the interim by telling, a family of 10, to go to dinner while we were waiting and they would credit $150.00 dollars towards that dinner purchase. Well, since they have such a late check-in of 6 pm we had already stopped for dinner!
Seeing that we were MILDY agitated with the situation, which they were not willing to accommodate any further, the agent, Chris, allowed us to go to the house to unload our cooler.
Upon arriving at the house, we attempted to unload our cooler, however, we opened the refrigerators to find that none of those were clean either!! We found the 4 beds that need to be STEAM CLEANED, a few that were finished were still extremely wet – who cleans mattresses with a steam cleaner??? Steam cleaning a mattress should be done with extreme care. Using water to clean a mattress is a risky business as getting them too wet can cause mold to form which can be dangerous. Oh, and Surf or Sound bought plastic tarps that WE were told WE could put on the beds to keep the linens from getting wet once the beds were made. I certainly hope they replace the mattresses as I would hate for moldy mattresses to ruin someone else’s vacation with a trip to the hospital.
We were able to finally get into the house around 8:30 pm that evening to a house with dishwashers loaded with dirty dishes and had not been run; floors had not been swept or mopped; and kitchen counters and cabinets had food debris all throughout. So, then we as a family spent the first 1-2 hours in the house cleaning!! And to top it all off, due to the wet beds, covered in tarps, my 4 year old son had respiratory problems throughout the trip!!
I do hope the owner of Ya’ll Come Inn reads this post and looks into changing the rental agency that handles their home; their very valuable investment is definitely not being taken care of by Surf and Sound.
Thank you for reading my rant. I felt that everyone needs to be aware of the horrible customer service my family received from Surf and Sound Realty, Avon, NC.
We are truly sorry for the condition that you found the home in and the fact that you were disappointed in our service. You are correct that we should not have given the keys to you the first time. That was our error. But when we called you back, we were trying to avoid you entering a home that was not in a condition for you to see or unpack your belongings. Although Xris did try, she appears to have been unable to make you feel better about our error. We feel badly about that and also are disappointed to learn that after having our cleaning crews in the home that it still was not clean. We realize that the miscommunication, and checking in 2 1/2 hours late to a home that still required additional cleaning was an inconvenience to you and your family and we ask that you accept our sincere apology.
Recommended for you
Recommended for you
- FlipKey has rentals in over 11,000 destinations around the world:
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 homes and rooms around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.