Location and Comfort Make Portlandia a Favorite - Yes, the Hot Tub Helps!
Downtown and acreage, sounds amazing because it is. Perched at the base of Awbrey Butte sits the one level home called Portlandia. Mid-century furniture continues the open feel in this big home. The numerous windows flood light in the whole house. A spacious and modern four bedroom home, with a master bedroom ~ a little apartment of it’s own ~ with it’s own bathroom and couch for reading or sleeping. The master bedroom also has it’s own backyard access. On the other side of the home you’ll find three good bedrooms to create separate space for the rest of the group. A skylight in the kitchen keeps the “bright” theme going while you cook in the well-supplied and ample sized space. Just off the kitchen is a large dining table that seats 8 plus the bar to bring a total of 10 seats. The back yard has almost one half acre of a wooded yard that deer jump the fence to visit. The hot tub sits among the Pines and Juniper that make you feel a wilderness experience while you take in the plentiful, Bend stars. A totally fenced yard makes the pup happy too. At night roast marshmallows and tell stories around the fire pit.
Additional amenities include: wood stove, crock pot, close to town, close to the college, a fire pit, summer/fall festival, walk to les schwab, drake park free concerts, nearby grocery, old mill shopping center, 12 blocks from downtown., shopping outlet close by!, starbucks, kanpai sushi restaurant, easy access to mt., washer & dryer, nearby fedex, close by banks-atm, near les schwab amphitheater, pet friendly for dogs, downtown events backpocket, post office at 14th, les schwab amb. 12 blocks, nearby internet cafe, walking trails, float the river fm farewell park, nancy "p"s cafe, fans available if needed, fenced back yard, fox's pool hall, boutiques, boutiques, lots of restaurants, restaurants just down the street, cookware, headlines hairddresser, awburey butte, coffee shop close by, college is close by., alpenglow breakfast, chow's restaurant, coffee maker, liquor store, safeway & rays grocery, nearby medical services, cafe table, the old mill w/so many shops!!, white water rafting up the stree, old mill one mile, nearby atm, boutiques, 40 inch flat screen TV, hd channels, movie theatres, great front porch, desirable westside, rent bicycles-14th st., free summer concerts in drake pa, childrens museum, devores organic market, baseball tournament fields-close, films @ the old mill!, nearby post office, high desert museum, ice maker, 3 ski rental shops - 14th, golf close by, concerts @ it's all good, newport market next door!, nearby bank, great neighborhood, les schwab concerts, established gardens, place settings for many, ironing board, alder creek kayak rentals, baldy's bar- q, restaurants galore!!, smoores at night!, ace hardware, dry cleaners, chows best retaurant, tumalo creek kayaks, bring the pup, anthonys restaurant, bike rentals, by basball tournement fields, fire pit, bike rentals 4 blocks, two turns to the mountain!, riverbend park for floating, les schwab amp. 12 blocks, so close to restaurants, 900 wall street, close to hiking trails, century center concerts, walk to downtown!!, no phone, headlines hairdresser, newport market, baltizars gourmernt mexican, crown coffe pot for espresso, large, large back patio....Read more
Left on 09/01/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | Fran M.Reviewed Sep 1, 2013Stayed Aug 2013
My family LOVED this house. It earned raves from our group of four adults, two teens and two dogs The house is designed to provide cozy private spaces as well as comfy communal spaces. The yard extends the living space; a beautiful place to relax after a long hike. The dogs loved romping in the fully fenced, spacious wooded backyard, while we relaxed with coffee and books on the patio/deck. We were happily surprised by how well stocked the kitchen was with cookware, spices, etc. Plenty of linens, towels and extra blankets to cozy up with on the couch or outdoor hammock. We also appreciated the binder of brochures and info on things to do around Bend. The location is prime, with easy access to groceries, restaurants, riverside park and downtown. Sue and Maria of Bend Dutch Rentals were very responsive to any questions we had and always exceedingly pleasant in communications. Thank you for a lovely vacation experience. We would love to rent from Bend Dutch again!
So pleased you enjoyed you home and stay. The backyard is a special
treat, takes you into the the country! Hope you are able to make it back.
WA, United States
Left on 01/04/2013 for a stay in December 2012 | Beth H.Reviewed Jan 4, 2013Stayed Dec 2012
We had a fabulous time in Bend. We had only a couple of small issues with the rental.
1. The main bathroom was awful. There was no shower curtain liner so the floor would get wet when showering. The water pressure/shower head was miserable and it took 5+ minutes to get warm water to that shower. The toilet was dirty around the base. Gross.
2. The washing machine smelled of mold (at least that's what I'm assuming it was).
Other than that, we enjoyed the house, location and a good time was had by all.
Hi Beth:Thank you for taking the time for the review. My apologies, water pressure in the guest bathroom has always been slower, yet a missing liner and an unclean anything is not ournorm. A phone call and we are up there and addressing anything that is an oversight. I appreciate guests wanting to not be disturbed; yet if we do not get the call, we are unableunderstand anything is askew, and we feel badly that you did not have the ideal. The washer and dryer are being looked into. Thanks again for your attention to these details.
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Creswell, OR, United States
Left on 08/24/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | A FlipKey verified reviewerReviewed Aug 24, 2012Stayed Aug 2012
I would not recommend this property to anyone. The location was good but for over $400/night I would expect more in a property. The microwave didn't work which put a kink in things as we'd pack microwavalbe food for ease of cooking. There is no A/C which posed discomfort in the 100 degree heat, the kitchen cabinet under the sink didn't stay closed. I rented this house for my younger sister for a girls weekend trip. It turned out that all of the girls bailed on the trip so I was stuck with the $810 bill. My fault I read the cancelation policy and should not have counted on 23 year olds to follow through. I called the management company to see if I could possibly change the date. I was willing to use that house but change the date so that my family could enjoy it. I was told they contacted the owner who said he would not change the date for me. So recommending this property to anyone with an owner so unwilling to work with his paying customres wouldn't be right. All and all it was not a satisfactory stay. When you spend that much money I'd expect better quality.Unfortunately, I will not use this managment company again either. They were kind and professional, however, I wouldn't feel as though I could count on quality.
Hii Christina:It is Sue here and once more I am so sorry we were unable to have adjustment to signed policy for any adjustment to the stay, we tried. You contacting us about the Mircowave was the first of any understanding of malfunction, thank you for letting us know. It was a total replacment of the unit and attached fan per order via our appliance repair man. The 100 degree heat is no one's friend and many of our homes do not have A/C as stated on the web page per home. Fans are in place at each home, as we bring in more fans when requested. Chrisitna , any breakage is addressed asap and if fessbile during one's stay. We are sorry the microwave was not available and the heat made an already strained stay not play out to be what we would have wanted for you. I hope that your next stay can amend for this one. Very sincerely.
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Eugene, OR, United States
“The perfect place for a group weekend retreat!!!!!”
Left on 08/14/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | A FlipKey verified reviewerReviewed Aug 14, 2012Stayed Aug 2012
The listing definately does not do justice for the back yard. Large backyard with hot tub,fire pit and hanging cot. House was clean and comfortable. My only complaint was the lack of air conditioning. If there is one we only found the heat thermostat. We dealt with it and were happy anyway :)
Hi Royalle:Thank you for your review. You are right in that the backyard is hard to commmunictae via photos, it just so big!! I am sorry about the A/C. You know Bend does not have extended hot days like this summer, so it is mute for the need of perhaps a long week of 90 degrees plus. Yet, the times are changing and thank you for being versatile, your suggestion is a good one. Please come see us again, we loved having you.
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Woedenville, WA, United States
“Put Your Feet Up And Relax”
Left on 08/02/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | A FlipKey verified reviewerReviewed Aug 2, 2012Stayed Jul 2012
A great place to come back to at days end. Put your feet up, relax and enjoy the backyard - hot tub, fire pit and hammock. House is comfortable, can accommodate a number of people. Close to a market and restaurants.
Linda, you all were wonderful during your visit. Hope the eventing was successful and we hope to see you next year! Thank you for your review.
IL, United States
“portlandia not up to billing”
Left on 07/19/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | Lynn M.Reviewed Jul 19, 2012Stayed Jun 2012
the property was advertised 4 bathrooms. it has 2!! with our large group that was a problem. window blind in bedroom was bad. bathroom sink had no stopper and i lost a small item down drain. good backyard for the children & pets.
Lynn, for the condition you left this house in, I am surprised you left a 4 for cleanliness, as I question your understanding of it. Stacks of dog hair in every corner, window smudged with dog prints, dog debris everywhere, the couches had to be professionally cleaned because the dogs were allowed to use it the whole visit. I could continue yet, would rather call it good. That four; was four bedrooms. We were very disappointed in your stay.
ID, United States
Left on 07/18/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | Katlyn S.Reviewed Jul 18, 2012Stayed Jul 2012
Our stay at Portlandia was nice, the house was large enough to accommadate our guest. However, it would be nice if there were more fans in the home since it does not have central air. Also, some of the matresses could use to be updated since they were quite soft. Overall, our stay was good and we enjoyed the backyard for our small children.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.