You don't have to be a Miner to strike it rich in Big Bear these days. Priced as the "Most Affordable Cabin" - You've just discovered Gold in Big Bear! When it comes to finding a quality cabin at an affordable price, the Prospectors Pick hits the jack pot every time!
Description in Brief: 2 Bedroom/ 3/4 bath Sleeps 4 - LOCATED On BIG BEAR BLVD. - 2 Story floor plan with AIR CONDITIONING!
Bedroom #1: 1 Queen Bed - lower level
Bedroom #2: 2 Twin Beds (can convert to one King), this bedroom is a loft upstairs
Front & Back Small Decks – BBQ on back deck
Microwave & Wireless Internet
Wireless Internet & 2 TVs (basic cable), VCR’s & DVD's
Prospectors Pick is located on Big Bear Blvd., perfectly situated for easy in & out access to anywhere you want to go in Big Bear
THIS CABIN HAS AIR CONDITIONING! Perfect to cool guests during the occassional summer heat spell. The cabins ambiance is the perfect mix of mountain charm with the modern conveniences of today. The living room is intimate and cozy, perfectly appointed to welcome a couple, 2 couples, or a small family.
The vaulted ceiling as well as the knotty pine tung and groove paneled walls make this a cabin lovers dream which adds to its warm and cozy feeling. Accented with antlers, stone, and a variety of mining artifacts that carry thru the historical features that brought the first settlers to Big Bear. A comfy sofa, an antler coffee table, and a log and leather accent chair make a nice social area or a comfy place to watch the large 32" TV. A DVD & VCR player has been added for extra entertainment.
A log slab separates the kitchen from the dining area. The dining table top is uniquely crafted from a variety of stones and comes with 4 cushioned chairs perfectly comfortable for holiday entertaining, game board playing, or to just sit and socialize.
The kitchen has been carefully remodeled to maintain its original charm by maintaining its knotty pine cupboards while adding modern conveniences such as a larger capacity oven and cook top with an overhead microwave for convenience. Also comes complete with a blender, toaster, and coffee maker as well as cookware, dishes, and utensils. All you need do is come and enjoy! The perfect opportunity to prepare meals in and save even more money!
The main bedroom is located downstairs in the back of the home (street noise is minimal) and offers a Queen bed. Across from the bedroom is the newly remodeled 3/4 bath which makes it convenient anytime day or night.
The upstairs bedroom is a loft and offers 2 Twin beds that can be converted into a King bed if needed and offers an additional TV with VCR & DVD. A love seat for comfort is also here.
The back deck offers a BBQ for those wishing to cook their catch of the day or steaks in the fresh mountain air. There is also a picnic table offering the comforts of outdoor dining, its wagon wheel decor brings back the old mining days of the past.
Pamper yourself by taking a dip in the cement pond (Hot Tub) just off the back deck. This is a relaxing experience anytime day or night.
The Prospectors Pick is located right on Big Bear Blvd. which makes it an easy in and easy out to where ever you wish to go in Big Bear. Just around the corner (walking distance) from Holloways Marina for boat or watercraft rentals. Less than a 1/2 mile and only minutes to the Village with shopping, cinemas, bowling, arcades, restaurants and more! Getting to the Ski Resorts will be a breeze since this cabin is only a brief drive to either resort.
Priced as the "Most Affordable Cabin" - You've just discovered Gold in Big Bear!
Additional amenities include: pets friendly....Read more
Left on 11/17/2013 for a stay in October 2013 | Dusty,right on highway cabinReviewed Nov 17, 2013Stayed Oct 2013
Dusty,dusty little cabin smack on the main highway. Looks like a converted office next to the highway. Bring your earplugs for all the trucks start driving by at 5am. The bathroom has a little mildew here and there. The walls and light switches were dirty. Don't open any windows for the window sills are dirty and dusty. The whole place needs a professional cleaner to come in and dust. The sofa was so dusty and old we had to put down blankets to sit on. The bathroom has no heat so don't look for privacy in the bathroom. You have to keep the door open. Not for families at all too close to highway. Read more
We are sorry to hear of your disappointment. We know you were aware of the blvd. location and accepted it without concern.
However, the greater concern to us is the various comments pertaining to the cleanliness as this is where our team feels we set ourselves apart from the standard.
We are sorry that the condition of the cabin did not meet with your approval. We would've gladly made a visit to the property to address your concerns while you were staying in the home. Unfortunately, you had not called which then led to your review as you have expressed here.
Also, the forced air wall furnace usually keeps the entire cabin warm. However, here again, if you needed additional heating we would've gladly extended the use of a stand alone heater. The heating in this home has been more than satisfactory for previous guests but certainly would've accommodated your concern if you had shared it with us.
In closing, we hope that you can reflect on your statements here as well as our explanation.
As we inform all of our guests at check-in, if you have a concern while in any property, we are here to help if guests inform us of concerns during their stay.
Without being made aware of your specific concerns at the time of your stay, we are left to assume that all is well as is the case with past guests' experiences.
In closing we truly are sincere when we say we want to be helpful. We hope you will reflect on our expressions above and realize that things could've worked better by giving us the opportunity to assist you when things were not to your satisfaction.
We hope that you will allow us to assist on your next visit to Big Bear.
Thank you for your review on your stay, no matter what or how a guest feels, we feel it is important for us to know so that we can continue to strive for excellence in our service to our guests and their satisfaction.
For the majority, our guests are more than pleased with the cabins we manage and the service we provide. Although we can not be everything to everyone, we sure want to give it a good try.
The Caring Team at Gold Rush
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Left on 10/24/2013 for a stay in October 2013 | A FlipKey verified reviewerReviewed Oct 24, 2013Stayed Oct 2013
I chose this cabin bc it was on sale. Boy, was I surprised...The inside of the cabin was cute and cozy, but we couldn't get away from the traffic noise. We were forced to have the heater on by the rental property, at times the temp exceeded 80. There was no privacy, as some other renters decided to park in front of our cabin door and their headlights were in our face while we tried to enjoy the outdoor hot tub. Partiers everywhere. Did I mention its 10 feet from the office so you awkwardly see the employees? I wish the pictures online showed the truth. No parking, major highway traffic and no privacy. This is not worth renting.. Read more
Prospectors pick is a cute cabin with lots of mountain decor and amenities and offers easy access to the Village and other locations due to its blvd. location.
Depending upon each individuals expectations, the noise from traffic on the blvd. can be interpreted one way or the other. In most cases, we have found that the majority of guests staying at Prospectors have not felt the traffic to be burdensome or a major disruptive issue.
In your case, we can see by your review that you chose Prospectors because of the promotion offered, maybe overlooking the blvd. location because of such??
However, it is apparent that you felt the traffic noise was more than you had anticipated. For this we do apologize but must clarify that we, as a management company, have no control over such and do not pretend to represent that we do in anyway. Just as we would not "over caution" guests giving an impression that they should expect to have excessive noise due to its location. There have been many guests, returning ones as well, that have enjoyed the comforts and conveniences of the Prospectors Pick cabin.
As one could reasonably expect, due to circumstances beyond anyone's control, there is no way of gauging how light or how heavy traffic will be at any given time day or night, on or off season, etc.
We also cannot assume what amount of traffic is too much for one guest and may not be any big deal to another. It's all individual. Each guest has their own interpretation of the disagreeable the level of noise experienced is.
Interestingly enough, we can share that even streets of homes located within a neighborhood can experience heavier traffic depending upon a variety of issues that one may not necessarily expect.
Of course, with a blvd. location, it is a safe assumption to expect there to be a potential to experience more noise than one would expect to find in a cabin located within a neighborhood.
Understanding that we want to ensure our guests have made an informed decision about many aspects regarding their vacation rental of choice.
The way we feel we have taken responsible measures to enlighten our guests on the blvd. location or any other location that has a potential for heavier traffic noise, or noise in general (cabins located in close proximity to the ski resorts will have the potential of hearing the sounds that made from snow making machines at night or the tendency of loud parties known to be issues at times, etc.) is by our detailed description within our website, which is also copied within your contract, as well as your signature in the contract specifying your acknowledgment that this property is located on big bear blvd.
Addressing some other concerns mentioned in your review.......
You expressed that you were forced to have the heater on? We do not understand the "forcing" heater issue?? Do you mean you turned on the heater trying to make noise in order to lessen the traffic noise??
We confirmed with staff that they were unaware of you having trouble and that they did not tell you to use the heater, nor would they make that suggestion, especially to make it an uncomfortable 80 degrees.
In addition, this cabin offers two air conditioners, both the private bedroom as well as the loft upstairs have window air conditioners. They can be seen within the photos on the website. Please review.
Both air conditioners are identified as in proper working order. They cannot be missed as they are in the windows and are uncovered. They work very easily and turning them on is not complicated.
There was no need to experience uncomfortably hot temperatures. Again, we are confused at how you felt you had to experience the discomfort of 80 degrees and above?
When following up on your overall concerns expressed, the staff reported no comments were reported at any time from you regarding any of these issues during your stay or at the time of returning the keys at departure.
As explained to you at check-in, if you had a concern of any kind we would welcome the opportunity to assist in anyway we can, we just need to be aware of a concern in order to help.
Here again, we are at a disadvantage and so are you, when we are not made aware of how you are choosing to deal with something. Requesting you to allow us to help does not mean to imply that we can control every circumstance with a favorable alternative, but, we can certainly try to help within reason. We truly are here for our guests and take pride in striving to do just that.
The no privacy issue of concern as well as wishing the pictures online showed the "truth". Truth, don't know what you mean as they do show the "truth". The photos depict the cabins interior and exterior as it is.
Clearly, there is no fence enclosure around the property, or in the front or in the back, this is accurately depicted within the online photos.
The photos clearly show the open view of the property as well as at the hot tub in the back area. Also, the photos clearly depicts more than enough available parking for the unit.
For your knowledge, there is a specified amount of required parking for each property mandated by the city, inspected, verified, and approved for every vacation rental. Without such parking the property would not be allowed a permit. The available parking at this property exceeds the city requirement.
Just an FYI, when photos are taken of any property, the emphasis is placed on the cabin itself, not the neighborhood or the relationship of distance between one property to another.
Don't know what to say about that, that can happen anywhere but we don't understand how that came about at this location as there are no other cabins within close proximity beside the office which is definitely not an atmosphere of disruption at any time.
Awkwardly seeing the employees?
Don't know how that can be awkward? When guests are staying at a home within a neighborhood you will definitely see other guests who are staying at neighboring homes and they in turn can also see you.
Big Bear is no exception, just as at your home down the hill, chances are you may see your neighbor when you leave for work, pick up your mail, peer out your window, etc. You would not expect that to be awkward, just a common occurrence.
Therefore, you should not find it unreasonable to expect the possibility of seeing other guests at neighboring properties doing a variety of things, such as, walking from the parking area of the home to the entrance of the door, enjoying the hot tub on a deck or other location at the neighboring home, enjoying the balcony of a neighboring home, children playing in the yard (especially in the winter snow), or you may also look out the window of the home you are staying in to see other guests inside the neighboring home. You may even be able to hear what their conversation is if they are speaking loudly.
These occurrences are quite common and proper to be expected, nothing unreasonable about them. So, to be able to see employees, and/or other guests, arriving or departing from the neighboring property should not be considered awkward or unusual.
In closing, while it is disappointing to learn that you did not feel your stay was as enjoyable as you had hoped, we are hoping, through our explanation above, you do recognize that we have not let you down in anyway. The reality is, based on your perception of the traffic noise while also not reaching out to our staff with concerns that put you at a disadvantage.
While you may not choose to stay at the Prospectors Pick cabin again, we do hope you choose to stay with us again as we have many other fine cabins to choose from that are located within neighborhoods.
In any case, we can assure you, if our guest relations team are asked specifics on any concern prior to your reserving a specific cabin or while you are onsite in any of the homes we manage, our staff will attend to any concern, day or night AND we are HAPPY to do so.
Thank you for sharing your experience, we appreciate the time you spent in helping others get an insight to your opinion on the Prospectors Pick cabin.
The Team at Gold Rush
A FlipKey verified reviewer
"Not a quiet mountain get away"
Left on 06/25/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | A FlipKey verified reviewerReviewed Jun 25, 2013Stayed Jun 2013
Listed as a 2 bedroom but actually it has a den with a loft. Not even a true one bedroom. It is right on the 18 so all you hear all day and night are cars driving by. The front door is one that is used for retail stores, its all glass so you can hear everything from the road. There is a spy camera overlooking the jacuzzi so they can watch you while your relaxing. I was completely lied to by Gold Rush Resort Rentals about this place. I would never stay hear or use Gold Rush Resort Rentals again. Read more
The Prospectors Pick cabin has been enjoyed by many. We are so sorry you were obviously displeased.
We want to address your concerns in hopes to help you understand that we have taken the responsible steps to be as informative as possible, hoping to alleviate some of the misguided anger you are sharing.
Yes, the cabin is listed as a 2 bedroom because there isn't any other way to accommodate explaining additional sleeping areas. Listing it as a 1 bedroom would not be accurate when guests are needing to sleep more than 2 guests and want a separate sleeping area. So, within the description we have listed it as a 2 bedroom with the explanation of the one being a private bedroom and the other being a loft upstairs.
Please review your rental agreement, looking specifically above your signature where you are required to sign that you understand and agree to all the terms etc. All our agreements also have the complete description of your accommodation just as it appears on the internet. You will see that the specifics on the bedrooms etc. are all there.
Additionally, the photos on the website clearly show the interior photos of both the private bedroom as well as the loft.
We don't understand what you mean by the property not even being a true one bedroom. We are sorry, we don't know how to explain any further pertaining to your comment.
Cabins located on the blvd. are nothing new or unusual, many of the lodges and resort cabins in Big Bear are located on Big Bear Blvd. As it pertains to the Prospectors Pick cabin its Big Bear Blvd. location has also been stated numerous times within the description of the home on the internet as well as documented in the details pertaining to the home within your contract.
Please review your contract. You will note, on the first page, it describes the property in brief. You will clearly see, there was even a specific sentence requiring your initials confirming that you are aware that the property was located on Big Bear Blvd.
We do this not because its a problem but to ensure that guests are aware that the cabin is not on a private street. We feel this practice ensures that guests have a full and complete understanding of the accommodation they have chosen.
As far as the front door goes, you are correct, the front door is not a traditional door and it is all glass with a privacy drape over it. This too, can be clearly seen in the photos advertised.
We assure you, there is no "spy" camera specifically positioned or installed to be overlooking the jacuzzi, no one watches you while you are relaxing.
As a management company, we take every precaution to ensure that our guests are informed as to what they are renting so that there wouldn't be any misunderstanding as we apparently have here.
It is our hope, that thru our explanation you will re-review your contract details and come to understand that we have not intentionally misled your or lied as you have stated. We pride ourselves in our business practices and very much value our guests and their opinions.
In your case, we are very sorry that you feel the way that you have shared here but hope you will feel differently after reading our response, reviewing the details of which you signed, as well as the photos on our website.
The Gold Rush Team
"A nice little getaway!"
Left on 06/20/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | BrittanyOReviewed Jun 20, 2013Stayed Jun 2013
This cabin wasn't exactly as we expected, but it was definitely cute and cozy. The hot tub was a nice treat for a cool spring night (albeit a little exposed). For anyone looking for a great price/deal this place is a great find! Read more
Thank you for sharing and taking the time to review the Prospectors Pick cabin. Yes, this cabin is one of our cuter mountain style decor cabins with all the amenities to make a couple or small family the perfect getaway in the mountains.
We hope to welcome you to another getaway soon!
The Gold Rush Team
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Left on 03/28/2013 for a stay in January 2013 | A FlipKey verified reviewerReviewed Mar 28, 2013Stayed Jan 2013
We were pleasantly surprised at the size and amenities this property had for the price!! Our only disappointment, was the used condom we found under one of the twin beds in the loft...ewww...but besides that...we were very happy Read more
Yes, the Prospectors Pick cabin is one of the popular choices for many of our guests. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We are embarrassed to learn about your discovery. This will be discussed with the cleaning team as they are supposed to look under beds and clean there as well.
We hope to see you again soon. Thank you for sharing your experience.
The Happy Team at Gold Rush
A FlipKey verified reviewer
"Everything was great."
Left on 03/07/2013 for a stay in February 2013 | A FlipKey verified reviewerReviewed Mar 7, 2013Stayed Feb 2013
We enjoyed getting snowed in for a day. We were outside in the weather having a relaxing time sitting in the spa in the snow. The cabin was in inspiration for us to get busy remodeling our desert home to look as adorable and romantic as this cute little home. I would recommend this place to my friends. Read more
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.