A fabulous home in Whalehead with every high-end luxury you can imagine is waiting for you at “Four Winds”! Hardwood floors, private dining room, huge kitchen with hundreds of square feet of granite, stainless steel appliances, and 8 Master Suites, 6 with King Beds AND just 950 feet to the beach! You’ve worked hard all year long for your week of seaside indulgence…why not spend it in the lap of luxury with every convenience at your fingertips? Planning that special family get together? The kitchen is superbly outfitted, and large enough for private chefs to operate efficiently and smoothly. The Rec room is huge, with billiards area and separate media area with large, comfy leather sectional will keep the kids happy all week! You will love the large private dining room with a huge table that fits 14 people for family meals. Bedrooms are large and private, with plenty of deck access! You can lounge by the customized pool; while the kids play, keep cool with the little ones in the pool's wading area or enjoy drinks on the decks that offer (limited) ocean views! Whalehead is close to many area attractions, and this home is perfectly located for walking or biking around. Corolla multi-use bike path will take you to the Historic Whalehead Club, Corolla Lighthouse, the Wild Horse Museum, Olde Corolla Village, Surf Shop/Skate Park, Grass Golf Course, or how about some great dining and shopping? It’s all there at “Four Winds”! Top Level: Great Room with Large Flat Screen TV, Stereo, Limited Ocean View, Wet bar with Icemaker, Wine Cooler, Huge Kitchen with Granite Countertops, Stainless Appliances, 2 Full Refrigerators, 2 Dishwashers, 2 Ovens, 6 Burner Gas Stovetop, Center Bar with Second Sink and Work Station, Dining Room with Table seats 14, Kitchen Bar Seats 4, Screened Porch and Open Deck, Half Bath, King Master Suite with TV, Deck Access with Limited Ocean Views, Bath has Garden Soaking Tub, Tile Shower, 2 Sinks in Large Vanity.Mid Level: 5 King Master Suites: King MBR with Flat Screen TV, deck access and tilied shower; King MBR with Flat Screen TV, deck access, tub/shower; King MBR with Flat Screen TV, deck access, tub/shower; King MBR with Flat Screen TV, deck access, tile shower; King MBR with Flat Screen TV, tile shower. All bedrooms have ceiling fans. Hot tub located on the mid level deck with limited ocean views. Laundry room with washer/dryer.Ground Level: Rec Room with Full Size Pool Table, Kitchenette with Granite Countertops, Dishwasher, Microwave, Refrigerator, Bar Seats 3, Media Area with Large Flat Screen TV, Leather Sectional, Rec Room has Access to Patio Area to Pool Gate, Half Bath, Master Suite has 3 Twins for Girls, Master Suite has 2 Bunkbeds for Boys, Bedroom has one Bunk Bed.Extras: Private Pool (12 x 32), Hot Tub (8), ELEVATOR, 8 Master Suites, Flat Screen TVs, DVDs, Surround Sound, Gas Fireplace, 3 Full Size Refrigerators, 2 Dishwashers, 2 Ovens, 5 burner gas stovetop, Center work station with second sink in Kitchen, Dining Table Seats 12, Bar seats 3, Screened Porch with Table and Chairs, Private Half Bath, Garden Soaking Tub, Pool Table, Kitchenette with Full Fridge, Microwave, Dishwasher, High Chair, WIRELESS Internet Access, NO PETS, Parking: 6 Cars, DTB: 950 ft.
Additional amenities include: baby equipment: w, hot tub: full, virtual tour on website, pool table: gas, elevator: 6, keyless entry, non-smoking home: 1634....Read more
About the manager
Outer Banks Blue
4.2 / 5.0based on 1,931 reviews and 235 properties
Left on 07/20/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | Karen
Everyone loved the house - the layout/floor plan, the high-end amenities, well stocked kitchen and bar, closeness to the beach. We watched the July 4th fireworks from the front deck. It was clean upon arrival. Beds were comfy. It was also really nice to see the pool and hot tub serviced/checked during the week.
It rained the first few days of vacation, but we didn't mind. The house was so relaxing to be in.
Left on 09/06/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | Dwello Family
We had a great time. There were 21 of our family. We did have several problems with broken or not working things with the house. We had no TV for almost 3 days. Electric in 1 BR.out. Cupbord door off. Micro wave off for 2 days. Hot tub broke. These things were all fixed in time. We did not let these things did not stop us from having a great time. weather was great. Beautiful house.We were all happy with the house except all the problems we had.
Left on 08/27/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | A FlipKey verified reviewer
Great house. Very well-kept for the number of people using it all summer. Loved the bedrooms and bathrooms. Suited our extended family very well. Well-stocked kitchen - had everything we needed. The wide beach is wonderful - great sand bar to swim out to. Want to rent this house again!
Left on 06/20/2012 for a stay in May 2012 | A FlipKey verified reviewer
Alot of stuff did not work, and after reported was never fixed. So I think we paid to much considering the things we were paying for we didnt have! Also a bed was left used and just made up to appear clean! Read more
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on this property. We are sorry that you didn't feel things worked at the property. In reviewing our records we actually can not find any contact from you to report any problems during your stay. Again we apologize for whatever you found that you feel did not work, but at this time we are still somewhat in the dark about what you are referring to. You arrived at the property immediately following a two week stay by the owner of the property. They take impeccable care of this home, and it was certainly not anyone's intention to deliver less than expected. As you know this is one of our premiere "Blue Ribbon Service" properties and we've found it to be one of the most popular among our guests. We hope you enjoyed the beautiful week you had while here, and we look forward to serving you again soon.
All the best from the beach!
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Left on 06/18/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | A FlipKey verified reviewer
we love this house we feel very comfortable in it. It is great for a large family. The views of the ocean are great, there is plenty to do in this house to keep everyone busy. Makes us feel very much at home. we have a son in a wheelchair and it is nice that he is able to get around quite easily. The services we received at outer banks blue were just fantastic, they are all so very nice. Thank you!
Left on 08/10/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | A FlipKey verified reviewer
I usually do not write reviews, this is the first one. But after writing a long detailed letter to Outer Banks Blue, and having it ignored, I felt the need to write it. We have been vacationing in OBX for 8 years now, and have used a few different rental companies. We have always been satisfied, this year however, that was not the case. The house, which was beautiful, and had all the amenities we wanted, was absolutely filthy.
We arrived around 7pm on our arrival day, due to heavier than usual traffic, and found the house in a terrible state. The kitchen floor was sandy and sticky, the laundry room had a pile of sand in front of the dryer. There were empty beer cans and cigarette butts scattered around, along with other trash. The outside tables were covered with grime, and trash was stuck between the cracks of the picnic tables. There were pistachio shells everywhere, and the outside decks looked like they hadn't been swept in months. We found the underwear of prior tenants in a dresser, and a handbag in another. Two of the king sized beds had sand in the sheets, and most of the showers were disgusting. There was black slime in all the corners of the tile showers. One of the showers even had a huge clump of hair in the drain, and loose hairs stuck to the walls of the shower. Most people felt the need to wear flip flops while showering. Some of the toilets even had urine spots on the seat.
Like I stated before, this house was gorgeous, it was decorated beautifully, and had many amenities, it would have been a house we rented again and again, but will not because of the housekeeping issues. We did call about a few things, (the elevator not working, items found in dressers) and they were taken care of, but we didn't call about the filth because we did not want to make our 21 person group vacate the property, to have them re-clean it, it would have been a whole day lost. We had already lost a day due to our late arrival. It was disappointing. Read more
Thank you for your review on "Four Winds." As you know this is one of our Blue Ribbon Service properties so your comments are very disappointing. You may not be aware, but because this was a Blue Ribbon service property some of your party was allowed access to the property at 1 PM a full 6 hours prior to your personal arrival. We work very hard to ensure that our houses are cleaned thoroughly, and this house is one of our flagship properties that frankly we are not used to getting complaints about. This is simply a fabulous property and we've never fielded any sort of similar complaints as this. We also would have been able to rectify any of these issues within minues had the peoole in your party that were there let our clearners or our follow up inspector who came by the house at 5 PM to check on things.
Your letter was not ignored we just simply disagree with your assessment, and think that some of the items outlined simply are overstated.
We are sorry that you were disappointed in your stay with us.
All the best from the beach!
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.