Your family will love everything about this beautiful Outer Banks oceanfront vacation home! Spacious and large and offering 8 bedrooms, a rec room and incredible ocean views, you will return year after year at this home away from home. Centrally located, Sandbox I offers a private location with large yard, expansive parking area and western vistas of the Wright Brothers Memorial and National Park. Sandbox I has three oversized King Masters and baths with double vanities and lots of floor space. Top floor Great Room, all decks and 2 large King Master Suites have ocean views; two other bedrooms have views of the Wright Memorial with fabulous sunsets. Centrally located for family activities, shopping and restaurants. Jogging and biking for miles along the path from the Wright Memorial will keep you fit, if we can tear you away from the beach! Located beside Sandbox II which is flanked by Sandbox III, all three homes have similar floor plans, grand entrances and plenty of room for your family to stretch out, relax and enjoy. Public parking located beside Sandbox I and one house from Sandbox III. FIREPLACES ARE NEVER OPERATIONAL.Top Level: Great Room with Large Flat Screen TV, BlueRay, Stereo, Dining Table (12), Table (4), Bar (7), Kitchen with 2 Wall Ovens, Pantry, Decks with Panoramic Ocean Views, Half bath, Large King Master Suite with TV, open to Bath area with Whirlpool, Shower, Large Vanity area with 2 sinks and Separate Water Closet with Toilet.Mid Level: Large King Master Suite with TV, Deck Access with Ocean View, Large Bath with Whirlpool, Shower and Vanity area with 2 sinks, and Separate Water Closet with Toilet, Large King Master Suite with TV, Deck Access with Ocean View, Large Bath with Whirlpool, Shower, Vanity with 2 Sinks and Separate Water Closet with Toilet, Queen Bedroom, Hall Full Bath with 2 Sinks, King Bedroom with TV, and Views of Wright Memorial has Private Access to Full Hall Bath, Queen Bedroom with TV, and View of the Wright Memorial, Foyer/Main Entrance.Ground Level: Bedroom with Duo Bunk and Bunk set with trundle, Bedroom with Duo Bunk and 2 Twins, Full Hall Bath with 2 Sinks, Rec Room with Full Size Pool Table, Table (4), 6 Bar Chairs, Wet Bar with Full Fridge, Icemaker, TV. Laundry with Washer and DryerExtras: Private Pool (16 x 28) Heated Seasonally, Hot Tub (6), Multiple TVs, DVDS, Stereo, 2 Ovens, 2 Full Size Refrigerators, Icemaker, Wet Bar, WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS, Gas and Charcoal Grills, Full Size Pool Table, Basketball Hoop, No Pets, No Smoking, Parking: 10 cars.
Additional amenities include: heated private pool: 6, hot tub: full, grill: 60, virtual tour on website, basketball goal, pool table: gas, non-smoking home: 1628, keyless entry, special event....Read more
Left on 07/23/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | A FlipKey verified reviewerReviewed Jul 23, 2013Stayed Jul 2013
The pool and hot tub were not cleaned until day 5 after 2 phone calls. The staff person we dealt was in touch with the pool service who say it was. It was not! The pool was full of sand and the water in the pool and hot tub were not clean. The house was not cleaned well. There were crumbs on the kitchen floor and baths had mold. The rugs were dirty. Mirrors were hanging off and a drawer in the kitchen was missing its front. We spent a day of our vacation dealing with these issues. It was not a "blue ribbon" rental. The staff was friendly. However, the manager did not seem to take our problems seriously and disagreed about the pool/hot tub servicing. Read more
Thanks for your comments about Sandbox I. You of course dealt with aour rental manager during your stay and indeed he contacted the pool contractor regarding the issues that were raised. This is the first we've heard of the hot tub being an issue as when you were in the office speaking with our manager you indicated that was not an issue. As you stated in your review the pool vendor provided us information contradictory to your feelings, and we regret that.
In terms of cleaning we would have been happy to rectify those matters during your stay had we been aware of them.
We apologize that you were not completely satisfied with this terrific rental home. As a top level oceanfront home that sleeps 20 people it is one of our most popular homes and we are disappointed to hear of your concerns.
We look forward to serving you better in the future.
All the best from the beach!
"Perfect location and incredible view!"
Left on 05/02/2013 for a stay in March 2013 | windilou2uReviewed May 2, 2013Stayed Mar 2013
We enjoyed our stay at Sandbox 1. The house is decorated nicely and very comfortable. The view is incredible! The location is perfect!
Thanks Outer Banks Blue and the homeowner!!!
Suggestions: The house needs some bigger pots and some large baking pans for a cooking a turkey or ham.
Left on 08/27/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | Ron WorhachReviewed Aug 27, 2012Stayed Aug 2012
Sandbox I was liked by all 11 people who stayed for our week in early august.The thing that made the trip not so great was the total lack of response to our concerns from the staff at Outer Banks Blue. The cleaning staff actually tried to help us with our concerns while the staff did not.
As you know we have called and spoken to you about this review and your experience. You stated that you had filled out the review at a time when you were angry, and that you actually had a good experience at this property and your review was done in the heat of the moment. We appreciate that you said you wish you could retract the review because the property is beautiful. Sometimes we all do things on an impulse. Regardless we do thank you for taking the time to fill out a review on this home. Sandbox I is a very popular property so we were disappointed when you indicated that you did not have an amazing experience.
Based on your review we had already reached out to the property owner and have set up a time for us to review the house together and make any changes or corrections that we can to anything that needs addressing so the property will be in even better condition.
All the best from the beach.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.