Location The district Pena is a quiet neighborhood and popular with the advantage of being near areas of nightlife and public transit. One of the oldest areas of town where the neighborhoods are lined up with houses full of personality, often with typical wrought iron balconies and tiled facades so popular from Portuguese architects of the 1900s.
The area around the apartment has all kinds of traditional commerce, and the apartment is within walking distance of Lisbon's historic center and some of the best seafood restaurants in town. If you like nightlife, Bairro Alto is a brief walk or travel in elevator Lavra (the oldest tram in Lisbon).
For those venturing out further afield, there are two public car parks within 3 minutes walk and train stations and subway to take you to the beaches of Cascais and other parts of Portugal.
The apartment is just around the corner of Rossio Square, perhaps the most central of Lisbon, and therefore is the perfect base for your stay, because you can walk from here to all major tourist areas. Apartment Description This apartment is located on the second floor of a renovated 18th century building, with a large balcony overlooking the Convento do Carmo and São Jorge Castle. Its central location makes it perfect for exploring Lisbon during the day and enjoy the city at night. It is perfect for families and large groups of friends.
The apartment has two bedrooms with double beds, one of which is a suite with private bathroom and a third bedroom with two single beds and a small balcony overlooking the city.
The living room has two large windows and a balcony making it particularly bright and cheerful. It has cable TV and free wireless. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need to cook your favorite meals and have access to a small outdoor patio overlooking the Rossio and the ruins of the Carmo Convent. Sleep Arrangement Bedroom 1: 1x 0x 0x Bedroom 2: 1x 0x 0x Bedroom 3: 0x 2x 0x Living Room: 1x Baby Cot: Yes Highlights City Center Balcony Wi-Fi Cable TV Towels Provided Linens Provided [accordion][toggle title="Other Information" state="closed"] Smoking: Yes
Wheelchair access: No
Hourly Restrictions: No
Delivery of the keys: At the apartment[/toggle][/accordion] Apartment Details Room Type Apartment Floor 2º Size (m2) 120 Sleeps 6 Bedrooms 3 Bathrooms 2 Lift No Min. Stay 2 Nights Extra Person 10€ Cleaning Fee No Payment 20% Remaining Payment 80% Damage Deposit No City Lisbon Neighborhood Baixa Check-in Time 4:00 PM Check-out Time 11:00 AM Cancellation Policy Moderate
Additional amenities include: sofabed, walking distance to the city center, night life, single beds, bathroom amenities, dishes, nice furniture, suitable for children, crib, double bed, washer/dryer, full sized refridgerator, cooking utensils, city view, cups, coffeemaker....Read more
Left on 08/08/2014 for a stay in July 2014 | A TripAdvisor MemberReviewed Aug 8, 2014Stayed Jul 2014
charmant petit appartement, le quartier est difficile d'accès en voiture mais plein de petits restos qui paraissent tous sympas..réellement en plein centre de Lisbonne, la propriétaire est très accueillante.
Merci beaucoup de votre simpas commentaire. Je suis ravis que vous avez passé un bon séjour.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
“Beware of double-bookings”
Left on 07/21/2014 for a stay in July 2014 | Marc RReviewed Jul 21, 2014Stayed Jul 2014
We booked this apartment in October 2013 for a trip in July 2014. When we arrived at the apartment, the owners realized that they had double-booked it despite us sending an e-mail to RentExperience (the rental managers) the week prior to our trip. The owners found us another apartment, which they told us was comparable to the apartment we had booked. However, the other apartment was a one-bedroom (we had rented a 3 bedroom) with a sofa (not a sofa bed) that our two kids had to sleep on.
When we were discussing the rental price for the new apartment, one of the owners asked us to pay the full amount that we owed for the 3 bedroom. When we argued that this new apartment was much smaller, he dropped the price by 15 euros a night. Seeing as we had just arrived in the city and were jet-lagged, we accepted the price. However, when we looked into rates for rentals later that night, we realized we had overpaid.
When we contacted RentExperience to express our dissatisfaction with the situation, we learned that RentExperience was aware of what had happened and had suggested other apartments that were comparable to the one we had booked to the owners to resolve the situation. However, we were not told about these other apartments at the time. We asked RentExperience to contact the owners to refund our deposit (seeing as they did not honour our booking) and we were told by email that we would be getting a refund. It is now three weeks since we left Lisbon and we have not seen a refund, despite numerous e-mails inquiring about how we would receive the refund.
Anyone looking to this apartment should seriously reconsider given the very poor experience we had with the owners and RentExperience. Although the apartment is lovely, I suggest you look elsewhere.
Thank you for your feedback. Good or bad it's very important for us to know our guests opinion in order to improve our game and do best for the next time.
I start by apologize in the name of RentExperience. We (rent exeperience) did our best to solve your problem, the owner of the apartment did not honor your booking and we immediately told him that we could propose other apartments with 3bedrooms and we were told that you chose the one the owner gave you so from that point on you had an agreement with the owner.
We in fact contacted the owner to try to give you a bigger discount but he told us you accepted the option and the discount so we cannot give you a refund because you payed the owner.
We feel really bad about the poor experience you had in Lisbon and we try our best for this things not to happen and when they do to solve them immediately and in the best way to our guests.
Once again our sincere apologies and if you ever decide to come back to Lisbon we are more than happy to give you a discount on your next stay, and I do mean that.
A FlipKey verified reviewer
“We had a great stay and would highly recommend based on extreme”
Left on 01/13/2013 for a stay in October 2012 | A FlipKey verified reviewerReviewed Jan 13, 2013Stayed Oct 2012
+ Renovated apartment in mint condition - you can trust the photos here
+ Very impressed by kitchen facilities (they have almost everything needed for short stay, they even have an apron),
+ Very near to Rossio Station (5min downhill, 7min uphill), cafes every where, basic grocery store 1min downhill
+ Friendly hosts - Host dropped by to fix our TV when it had a program error, patiently explained to us facilities of the apartment as well as assured us that Lisbon was primarily a safe place. They were contactable in any event we had questions. Renovation work is going on one floor downstairs but the owner (who is our host) has asked for work to begin later in the day.
- We checked in on Sunday afternoon and that's when many african american people gather at the Northeast corner of Rossio Square. As we walked through Calcada Garcia, buildings looked very old and run down with graffiti all over and this made us nervous. We voiced out concerns to the hosts and they reassured us that these people would not make trouble. Indeed this is true - we did not have any unpleasant encounters while going back to the apartment. Just be street smart and not deck yourself in brands - this is general best practice for travelling.
- Steep hill may not be suitable for old people (this is 30 metres uphill from Rossio station) - My group had two healthy elderly people and we were prepared for the climb but didn't know it would be so steep at times
- Very minor things missing which I'm sure if we had called the hosts, they would have taken care of: hooks in bathroom for towels, floor rugs outside the showers, smaller bathroom doesn't have a soap dish, would be nice to have a foldable drying clothes rack, basic washing machine operating instructions
Hello! Thank you so much for your lovely review. I already passed on your concerns on the things that were missing at the apartment to the host. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Wish you a very nice year to you and your friends and family.
- FlipKey has rentals in over 11,000 destinations around the world:
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.