Cottage Profile Escape the heat and come to Balmy Beach in the summertime! The cottage is a 1350 square foot, 3 bedroom cottage with a spectacular view of Georgian Bay. With a wonderful elevated cedar deck and glass panel railing, you have a stunning view out over Owen Sound Bay. Whether dining, enjoying drinks or sunbathing, the deck is a fabulous addition to an already beautiful cottage! Walk across the road to access the water and it’s like being in Muskoka! There is a protected wooden dock with four (4) Muskoka chairs for watching the children learn to dive and swim at the lake. Lay out and dry off in the sun before heading up to the cottage. A plastic, 1-person kayak is provided with your rental too. There is a small ramp to launch your own watercraft if need be. The interior is renovated. There is plenty of space and it is very suitable to 2 families to enjoy a vacation together but each having privacy by virtue of the multiple levels and entrances. The U-shaped, kitchen has a walk-out to the elevated deck - great for entertaining and providing quick access to check the steak on the BBQ! There is fridge, stove, sink basin, microwave and dishwasher. Cupboards are finished in warm maple. Counter space is ample. The dining table (4) enclave overlooks the living area with vaulted ceiling. The upper and middle levels have pine flooring. There are steps down to the main living area, which looks out to the lake, and an interlocking stone patio area. The living room has a sectional couch and leather chair (and ottoman) to relax in, as well as a view of the water. On the upper level (the same level as the kitchen), are 2 bedrooms – the master bedroom (queen bed) and the kids bunk room, a large room having 2 sets of bunkbeds (both single over single). Upstairs, there is one four-piece bathroom, tastefully finished in warm oak, with both tub and shower. The lower level has the feel of a separate ‘grannie flat’, with its own bedroom (Bedroom 3 with queen bed), family room, partial kitchen (with sink and counter) and bathroom (toilet, urinal and tub/shower). It also has a separate back entrance so as not disturb the other guests. Bedroom 3 accesses the driveway via a set of French doors under the deck so you may bring in suitcases with ease. The downstairs family room also provides a cool retreat on hot summer days for reading or watching TV (42" flatscreen with satellite provided). Enjoy the fireplace finished with local limestone ledgerock from either the sofa, leather chair or rocker. The partially grassed backyard is expansive and extends back to a shaded sitting area for those wishing some respite from the sun. Across the road from the cottage is the stoney shoreline of Georgian Bay at which there is a long dock for you to sit at and enjoy the view out over the clear water. You will need water shoes to enjoy it. At night, the dock doubles as your sitting area around the firepit or as ‘star gazing central’! The cottage is conveniently located close enough to all that the City of Owen Sound has to offer yet far enough away to feel like a holiday from the hustle and bustle of city life. Fishing in the bay is good in the spring (rainbow) and fall (salmon), with some mid-summer fishing. Fishermen flock to the area and nearby rivers to catch salmon (remember the September Salmon Spectacular!), rainbow, and lake trout. The cottage is close to many attractions. It is only a five-minute drive to Owen Sound with shopping malls, restaurants (Rocky Raccoon), museums and art galleries (Tom Thomson Gallery). PLEASE NOTE: During the winter of 2014/2015 the large amounts of snow and ice destroyed the 2 lakeside decks and the dock at the cottage and they have since been removed. Now there is the pebble shoreline and a cement pier. New pictures to follow.
Additional amenities include: wood stove, number of baths: two 3 piece bathrooms with showers, 2 sets of single bunkbeds, umbrella, 4 muskoka chairs, drinking water: well water, beds: 2 queens, television ( 42" high def ), number of bedrooms: 3, patio furniture ( patio table, outdoor fire pit, floor area: 1350 square feet, 6 chairs, 2 loungers)....Read more
Left on 08/10/2014 for a stay in August 2014 | Michele JReviewed Aug 10, 2014Stayed Aug 2014
The view and the deck is lovely, the kitchen is well equipped and the beds are comfortable. The cottage has many stairs and is not suitable for anyone with ANY mobility issues. The lower level area is damp and wet and the floors were dirty upon our arrival. There are 2 dehumidifiers running 24-7 in the lower level (had to be emptied DAILY!).
Upon arriving home we received a message that there was 2 bags of garbage left behind and they are charging us $60 ... we absolutely did not leave any garbage! We put garbage out at the curb on garbage day and 2 days later we left ... took everything to the transfer station. Any garbage left would have been pre-existing or non-existent - We are having the credit card company deny the charges of course ... feeling as if this is a scam to get extra money out of people!!
We have rented cottages every year and have NEVER been accused of leaving the property in any condition other than pristine ... leaves a bad taste in my mouth!
It is unfortunate that you were unhappy with our service. It has been an extremely wet summer with unusually large amounts of rain. This has caused a few problems with excess moisture on the lower levels of properties. Unfortunately it is not something that is within our control. I am sorry that you felt the dehumidifier was an inconvenience. With respect to the garbage issue, while we understand that you have rented many cottages previously, we do not have a track record with you. Once we were contacted and informed that the garbage was left behind by previous renters, a refund was applied, the primary renter in your party thanked us and we understood that the issue had been resolved. The garbage penalty is a policy that is fully explained in the cottage information kit and by no means was it meant as a personal insult to you or any member of your party. Hopefully you will give us another opportunity to help you with your future vacation accommodation. Kind regards, The Rentcottage Team
"Wonderful access to water and porch to enjoy the view."
Left on 09/20/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | sunriseReviewed Sep 20, 2013Stayed Aug 2013
The porch is a wonderful place to enjoy a meal or coffee. Owen Sound is a really nice place to stay, lots of nearby places to visit like Wiarton, Sauble Beach or Tobermory. The place was really big, easily fitting two families. My only concern was the cleanliness of the cottage and the upkeep of maintenance. With a little love and care... and the place would have been perfect!
Left on 12/27/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | A FlipKey verified reviewerReviewed Dec 27, 2012Stayed Aug 2012
we enjoyed our stay on the beautiful Owen Sound.. awesome sunrises and crystal clear water...great for boating and fishing which was our main reason for coming ..only issue was that the water level was very low so we were unable to use the boat dock that is included with the cottage...luckily we were able to get a slip at the marina a few miles away...
Left on 09/29/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | SylvainReviewed Sep 29, 2012Stayed Jul 2012
Excellent cottage for family. Could easily travel to Sauble Beach (approx. 30 min). The view is amazing and the environment is calm. The only negative point is the cleanliness. The place wasn't clean properly when we arrive. I had to do it by myself. Anyway, I still recommend the place.
"Great place to spend a week with family and friend"
Left on 10/27/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | A FlipKey verified reviewerReviewed Oct 27, 2011Stayed Jul 2011
Children happy and we are happy, so in this cottage my kids and 2 from another family had everything they want in summer at this stay, camp fire, canoe, boating, beach, sunset, sunrise, foggy morning running dogs. The location is awesome, direct walk to the beach and 10 minite drive to golf course. Sitting room area is big, kitchen has everything (which is excellent). dinning area is a bit small though we have to move to the deck when eating together at some time. The floor need some sanitation prior to we move in. Overall clean and comfort. for sure we will come back next year if time allowed. Only drawback is no air-conditioner (we were there at the hottest week during the season so some days we went to local library to enjoy cool air.)
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.