Description from manager
Description from manager
More Property Details
Book this 1 bedroom apartment in Kailua-Kona today! A total of 4 people can sleep here comfortably.
Guests can enjoy a air conditioning, parking space, and dishwasher among other amenities offered by this rental.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4/5 thanks to an average of 17 reviews.
The manager last updated the property’s calendar Aug 18, 2017.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
Kona Coast Vacations
Kona Coast Vacations
- Calendar last updated:
- 18 Aug 2017
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Kailua-kona Attractions
- Air conditioning
- Clothes dryer
- Linen provided
- Washing machine
- Smoking allowed
– based on 17 reviews
- Very Good
“Forced out early!”
The condo itself was ok. The furnishings were outdated as well as the kitchen utensils and cookware. Met many wonderful guests who showed us their units, and were amazed how nice they were. Our big complaint is the fact that we had specifically asked for an evening check out and were assured that it was no problem.Our flight was at 10:30 we had scheduled a full day of beach time and snorkeling. Upon returning to the condo at 5:15 to shower and pack our things, we were shocked to our clothes and personal effects setting outside of the unit. A note attached said that they had to clean the unit because the new tenants were arriving at 4:00 P.M. No help was offered to us after many phone calls to the company. We were left to fend for ourselves to find a place to shower and pack our belongings. My advice to potential renters, go to- and deal directly with the owner.
Response from the manager Unfortunately the guest's check-out time was 11:00 am as stated in their rental contract. No late departure was paid nor was a late departure guaranteed to this guest. We had a back to back booking that day and although we tried on several occasions with calls and e-mails to them, they did not respond and we had no choice but to remove their belongings from the unit.
“Kona Reef D37”
Hi travellers In general we were satisfied with our stay at this complex. The complex itself is older but well maintained and clean. It's location is second to none. The location of this unit which is on the water side is stunning. Every evening after returning late from the beach and getting cleaned up we would watch the amazing sunsets and every day that we were at the complex in the afternoon around 1 to 2 the turtles come to feed on the vegetation on the lava rocks out front. The village is conveniently located a very short walk away. Our only concerns for this unit: the bed in the one bedroom is saggy but does have a pillowtop on it; they say its a queen bed but it is not very big seemed like a double! The pullout couch we were told was new but the bed in it is awful-all springs! The phone is awful! it is old and you cannot hear people talk on it at all-be prepared to have to use your cell phone. The internet connection is not great either. The bedroom window is located on the parking lot side of the building. If you sleep with the windows open be prepared for noise in the night even though security is good here. Other than these rather important details the room was great!
“Great location but unit not worth another stay”
great location in the kona reef, and the complex itself is an easy walk to town which can't be said for most of kona real estate. however this unit needs a ton of work compared to identical units in kona reef and Not worth the 20% lower rate. I have visited at least 4 other like units and this by far the least desired. Other than a very comfortable bed, the unit has Dirty carpets, outdated furniture, wifi not working, old tv, one bar of soap, 2 garbage bags, no kitchen towels or dish rags for our 10 night stay.
“Texas 3 time visitor”
Items we needed....either a knife sharpener or a sharp knife and a metal BBQ spatula. The living room carpet; bedding and plastic flowers are starting to show the wear and tear. Personally we prefer fresh flowers. They are so readily available and inexpensive at the farmers market. I borrowed a vase from a resident and purchased enough fresh cut flowers for $3 to make 3 small bouquets that we enjoyed thru our 9 day visit. I gave the flowers to the resident when I returned the vase. A wonderful local Hawaiian experience. The Brita water filter was a plus; however, we didn't discover that the filter hadn't been changed until we took a drink from the 1st pitcher. We wrote on the filter box when we changed the filter and informed property management. In the past this property was equipped with beach mats. This year we used the beach towels. The mats would seem like a small investment to save the wear and tear on the towels. When I look over my review it looks like I'm being nitpicky. We had a wonderful time and the property is great. Thanks for sharing.
The location was ideal the view exceptional the property was well maintained and the condo was very comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay there and the only suggestions I would make is to have new shelf liners in the kitchen cupboards and double check plates and utensils for cleanliness...we came across some items that were less than clean. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay immensely. Close to town for walking for meals, fabulous view and the full time neighbors were great! We would recommend this to other travelers as well. We have stayed in a ground floor unit in the complex previously and didn't think we would like not having that convenience but came to realize this was even better for the view and privacy.
Great room, great price, very easy!
stuff was very proffesional and friendly
“Location, location, location”
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Kona at this condo. Dolphins, turtles and whales along with my morning coffee on the lanai. It doesn't get any better than that. The only feedback we have is, although clean and completely functional, the unit is a bit dated (kitchen, bathroom). That aside, we loved that we could walk to town from there...and did I mention the sunsets on the lanai? How can one person take so many sunset pictures. We would definitely stay at Kona Reef D37 again. Thanks
Kona Reef was an ideal location for us. We had a 9 month old infant with us who did not always want to ride in the car but we could walk to any where we needed to go. One suggestion I would make would be to upgrade the bathroom. It would make staying in this unit even better. The toilet tended to 'sing' or make a high pitched squealing noise when flushed and the overall look of the bathroom was quite dated. Other than that, the unit met all of our needs! We would definitely consider staying here again.
“Location is unbeatable and...”
Location is unbeatable and orientation perfect. The unit needs updating. Similar units in the same building are much nicer.