Need more information about booking Property 1826769 ?
Very Good

1 / 29 Front of Makanui Bungalow

From $189 / night help
Estimated Price for guests,

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedroom 1 / Bathrooms 2 / Sleeps 5 / House
Bedroom: 1  Bathrooms: 2   Sleeps: 5  Type: House

2 Showers

Makanui Bungalow Private with upstairs ocean views. FREE mid-size car.
TripAdvisor property ID 1826769

More Property Details

Book this 1 bedroom house in Poipu today! A total of 5 people can sleep here comfortably.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4.5/5 thanks to an average of 13 reviews.

The manager responds to 95% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Feb 24, 2018.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

Great Vacation Retreats

Tourist License: GE/TA-050-579-8656-01

Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
24 Feb 2018
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English



Check in time:16:00, Check out time:11:00
This owner does not use online booking. Please contact them and they will be able to offer you a secure way to pay for your stay. Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
Please contact the owner



Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Poipu Attractions




  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes dryer
  • Iron
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided
  • Washing machine

Phone / Internet

  • Internet access
  • Wireless Internet

Property Features

  • Parking


  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Fridge
  • Kettle
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Toaster


  • DVD player
  • Satellite TV
  • TV


  • Grill
  • Patio


  • Children - Ask
  • Pets
  • Smoking - Ask


  • 2 Showers


Reviews (13)

Very Good – based on 13 reviews Very Good
13 reviews

Very Good

“Fabulous overflow rental to larger house next door for large gro”

Reviewed 10 Apr 2014

We booked this unit as the sleeping overflow for a large family gathering celebrating my husband's retirement. The unit has a unique sleeping configuration on two floors is clean and well managed by Great Vacations Retreat. However, as a separate rental unit I can't attest to its viability to other single rentals on the island. The kitchen is small for cooking large meals but that wasn't what we used it for since we cooked our family meals in the house next door. It does have two nice bathrooms, plenty of unique sleeping, laundry, and can easily accommodate five people or more on two floors. It is located in a quiet cul-de-sac with limited parking between the larger unit and the owner house of this unit. But it all works especially when combining the rental of the two as we did. However, unless both units are rented together the renters of this unit don't have access to the pool next door. It is just a short walk to the beach and on the upper floor has a nice peak-a-boo ocean view. To answer that I would absolutely recommend to friends I would need to know their desires and needs as far as accommodations in comparison to similarly priced properties for rent in the Poipu Beach area. I will say the Great Vacation Retreats is fabulous to work with and if two couples or a small family wanted a quiet get away centrally located in the Poipu this may be the property for you. There was only one minor complaint of a broken shelf in the refrigerator door rendering it completely unusable. So if you had a lot of refrigerated items you would have to make do. It is an apartment size refrigerator but it worked for us since it too was overflow space when needed. Overall, it is a nice unit and under the right circumstances a great rental. When combining with the house next door we were able to house our family members with small children here along with the guest house of the other rental to help with child safety at night due to the wonderful open and private pool.

Response from the manager Mahalo for your review. It is a great description of the property both with the house next door and on its own. Thanks for taking the time and we hope to see you on your next visit!

“Not a place for 2 people”

Reviewed 17 Mar 2014

Good - Can accompany a family with a lot of kids. But only One bed room has a real bed. Upstair has a very good oceanview. Bad - The furnishing is very outdated. Most dishes are broken. Some dishes are dirty right out of the cabinet. Rooms had a bad smell. We also had trouble to locate the place on our first day, no sign on the property.

“Kauai vacation”

Reviewed 12 Dec 2013

The location was great, the house was great and the vacation was great. The only problem was that the bungalow was right next to the main house, and whether it was the owner or another renter they had extremely loud parties until 4 in the morning.

“Beach Babes Birthday Bash!”

Reviewed 4 Sep 2013

We are 7 women who rented the property for 9 days. We also rented an adjoining house & studio. This property was used for sleeping only as we gathered at the large house for meals & to use the pool. The upstairs was never used because it was too hot. We appreciated getting the free car with the rental. The quiet location & close distance to shopping and restaurants was a plus.

“Good experience”

Reviewed 5 Jul 2013

The bungalow was very spacious and clean. I loved almost everything about it- location, rental car, lanai,etc. I was upset that the washer didn't work and they could have told us that! Also the grill was really dirty and came with two empty propane tanks- that's tacky. The door to the lanai didn't shut either! But all in all it was an awesome bungalow in the greatest place I have ever been to (Kauai)

Response from the manager Thanks for letting us know about the problems you experienced at the property - we will have them taken care of right away! Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!

“Wonderful bungalow on a beautiful island”

Reviewed 1 Jul 2013

The location of the rental are perfect: great proximity to Poipu and Shipwreck Beaches, and also the Mahaulepu beach chain. The bungalow was very quaint and comfortable. It was nice that there were plenty of large beach towels, and simple amenities like sandwich bags and salt and pepper! That was thoughtful. The only two disappointments were 1) the washing machine was broken and we weren't even given any heads-up about it, such as an email or phone call. We had packed on the premise that we'd be able to wash our clothes, and would have packed more had we known there'd be no washer, so we had to wash them in the sink. We were also forced to reuse towels and wash cloths. 2) There were two propane tanks for the grill, and both were empty. We thought, for the money we paid, maybe at least one would be filled, and if we did run out, we'd go refill it out of pocket, no big deal. But both were empty, and being tourists, we had no idea where to go get the propane refilled, nor did we want to put in the time during our vacation to call around and find out. Other than those two issues the bungalow was cozy and pretty perfect! Also liked that they laid out all of the local restaurants and activities, and that a rental car was included in this rental. Everything was very smooth and easy.

Response from the manager Aloha, So glad you enjoyed the bungalow! Glad to hear that you enjoyed the extra amenities. We try hard to provide everything a guest might so it is nice to hear that they are appreciated. I am sorry that you had two bad experiences. I know the washer was not working during your stay, however, we didn't know that you were having to hand wash your items and towels. That was bad communication on our part - we should have let you know that we would have most definitely washed your items for you and brought extra towels and propane. All in all, it sounds like you had a good trip and we would love to see you again!


Reviewed 3 Dec 2012

It was a really spectatular condo - everyone at Great Vacations was really great in helping us with activities. We came home really relaxed and enjoyed the experience with Great Vacations

“Great Island Times”

Reviewed 11 May 2012

This was our very first trip to Hawaii. We chose Kauai on the recommendation of friends. Of all of our holidays, this was the most relaxed. The pace of the island was exactly what we were looking for. The Makanui bungalow is in a beautiful, private location. The ocean views from the kitchen, the sing song of the birds in the morning, and gentle swaying breezes make you forget all sense of time. Poipu has all the amenities close by: Brenecke's Beach, great restaurants and shopping, and of course beautiful beaches to swim and play.

“The Best Rental Ever,Clean, Well Furnish, Fanatic Stay”

Reviewed 5 May 2012

What a fanatic place to stay in Poipu, Hi, we spend a great deal of time looking for a Non-Resort to spend a week there. Everything about Makanui Bungalow was perfect, We loved the layout, Cooked all of our meals there on the grill as well as the stove, only had a evening Dinner out once. The Staff are unbelievable, friendly, Helped us get in contact with the folks to preform our simple, wonderful Marriage Service on the Beach, as well as rental car,any thing we needed. The Location and easy to find and to travel all over the Island. We had the best ever vacation and we have been a lot of vacations. This was the nicest ever. Bill & Roberta

Review 1-10 of 13

Also consider


3,061 properties


1,875 properties

Island of Hawaii

1,813 properties


1,523 properties


395 properties


333 properties


328 properties


268 properties


90 properties


82 properties


67 properties


13 properties


12 properties


9 properties


8 properties

Start a new search