Description from manager
Description from manager
More Property Details
Book this 2 bedroom house in Big Bear Region today! A total of 5 people can sleep here comfortably.
Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 3/5 thanks to an average of 24 reviews.
The manager responds to 90% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Jul 21, 2017.
Read more Read less
About the manager
About the manager
Big Bear Vacations
Big Bear Vacations
- Response rate:
- Calendar last updated:
- 21 Jul 2017
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Big-bear-reg Attractions
- Satellite TV
- Smoking allowed
– based on 24 reviews
- Very Good
My wife and I stayed at this cabin first part of august. We didnt see the reviews until after our stay, and there have been several improvements. Apparently the cabin is under new ownership. There are new mattresses on the beds, the wireless system is working well, there are 2 new flat screen tvs, the front door has been repaired and no longer sticks, the lights on the stairs are now functioning, the jacuzzi tub is working well and there is a new couch in the living room. There are a lot of steps, but my wife and I are in our 60's and we managed without any difficulty. Its the trade off for an excellent view of the ski slopes, sunsets and the stars. It is located in a perfect place thats away from the downtown traffic, yet close and convenient to restaurants, shopping and ski slopes. Nice and peaceful.
Response from the manager Thank you for leaving this very informative review! It sounds like this cabin was perfect for you and your wife, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope that you come visit us again soon!!
“Bad, real bad”
The keys didn't work. I called and was placed on hold. Even though the message said that I should mention Sierra Pine for waiting so long, nothing happened when I did. I had to go back for new keys. I got the housekeeping keys. The hot tub key wasn't on the first set which should of been obvious, according to the person I picked the new keys from. The parking required climbing a 5 foot, 60 degree incline and there is no way 2 cars could fit when it is icy and the neighbor to the right wants to use his driveway as well. The three flights of stairs from the street level were icy and not shoveled were treacherous in the dark since there is no lighting. The porch wasn't shoveled and had turned to ice as well, requiring us to walk use the front door to get to the hot tub, since that was the only door that would open.
Response from the manager We apologize for the inconvenience you had while stay with us. However we very much appreciate the input about your stay in A Trek to the Stars. The information each of our guests offer us after a stay is very important as it helps us evaluate each review and do out best to use the feedback that our guests give us to improve each guest’s personal experience.
“Besides one issue overall great experience”
The place itself was awesome and although the staff was friendly, they had forgotten to give me the key to the jacuzzi and they said because they were so busy i had to drive myself back down to their office and pick up a copy. When i finally drove down there another customer there had the same situation. So that was a small problem we had to deal with. Also as other reviewers mentioned the jets were not functioning (as of dec 2011) Besides that the place was great, clean, cozy and in a great location (near the ski and not too far from shopping area). Staff very friendly but was not willing to go that extra mile and drop our key off.
Response from the manager Thank you very much for your review of A Trek to the Stars. Your feedback is very useful as it can allow us to determine problems when they arise and help to prevent such issues from occurring for other guests when preventable. We hope to have to the opportunity to help you plan a future vacation in Big Bear Lake.
1. You must have a good heart to haul luggage, food etc. up the many, many,many stairs to the cabin, but the view was great. Would worry about climbing in snow/ice. 2. Loved the hot tub, very big, very clean. 3. Directions sent to us had not been updated approx two years, so we got lost on way to Big Bear. However, at checkin they gave us a $25 gas card for the inconvenience. 4. Cabin was very clean, but very hot in day and fans in closet and we could not get closet door open on. 5. Very clean. 6. Check-in staff were great. 7. Directions to TV and DVD player were wrong, the remotes were different than those in directions. 8. No batteries in flash lights. 9. Great shower.
Great location with a great view, but too many stairs and lackluster furnishings. Spa with view of slopes was great, but the jets weren't working. Place was clean, beds were beat. Place definitely needs some updating and TLC.
“I would not rent this.”
The view from the cabin was nice. But the fact the heater didn't work wasn't a good sign. And the lights going up to stairs didn't work. I had to use a flash light to see where I was going. And half the lights inside the cabin didn't work. The website said there was wifi in the cabin. And there wasn't at all. Couldn't really use the hot tub due to the location of it. It was hard to remove the cover and hard to get in. And I due believe I over paid to stay in this cabin. The only nice part about my stay was waking up in the morning and seeing the view from the balcony.
Response from the manager We are very sorry to hear about the issues you found with this cabin. We informed you at check in that we do have a 24 hour maintenance team that will come to the cabin to fix any problems that should happen during your stay. Your satisfaction during your stay is very important to us and we always want to help you enjoy your time with us any way that we can.
“Excellen Cabin - Could Use Comfier Beds”
The cabin and location were excellent. The personnel at check-in were very helpful and friendly. The only gripe would be that the beds are slightly uncomfortable and seemed a bit shaky, but that isn't something that you can control I don't believe.
“Trek to the stars is not just a clever name”
When they named this trek to the stars they were not joking! The walk up the first time was romantic (we were honeymooning) but every trip up and down became very tiring. We were excited about the hot tub so we took the cover off and it was already hot and ready! We jumped in to find that most of the jets didnt work, I believe only 3 or 4 did work. We turn in for the night and wake up with very stiff backs because of the rock hard bed. Since the cabin had multiple rooms we tried upstairs only to find that the bed frame was broken. The front office was kind and moved us into a much better cabin.
Response from the manager We are very sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with that cabin. We do our best to make your time with us enjoyable and are very glad we were able to move you to a cabin you were able to enjoy for your honeymoon. We aplogize for the inconvenience and hope to see you again.
“could've been better”
This is my fourth rental with Big Bear Vacations and all have been a good if not decent experiences. However, this particular cabin was bad. I knew there was going to be a walk up the stairs hence the name of the cabin, but it was far up and also dark and dangerous if not careful. The parking was horrible especially if you have a low car. Your mufflers will probably break off. Location of the cabin was also hard to find. My group arrived late at night, so it was partly our fault that we couldn't find the cabin. However, the area is extremely dark! it was barely lit and it took us at least 30 minutes to find the cabin. Moving inside, the upstairs loft is scary. The lights were broken when we arrived so I never even went up there. Also it was too late to call for service because we were so tired. The jacuzzi was awesome, but once again, the back patio is extremely dark and poorly lit. The kitchen and living room is fairly small for a group of six because its attached together. There is no wall to separate it and so it was a problem for my group. We needed more space. I forgot if the cabin came with cable tv, but if it didn't, then that's fine because some channels worked and some didn't. If it did come with cable tv, I suggest big bear fix it. Last of all, the telephone did not work so please check that as well. New experience coming to Big Bear during the summer. Bad experience with a small, dark, possibly dangerous cabin. =]
“Pros / Cons”
Overall we loved the cabin so don't let the cons weigh too heavily, we didn't have much trouble working around them. Pros: 1. Wonderful view 2. Plenty of hot water/pressure 3. Hot tub 4. Deck 5. Cozy and quiet Cons: 1. Beds are uncomfortable 2. Long "Trek" up lots of stairs 3. Garage can be difficult to get into / driveway is steep and very short 4.