Need more information about booking Property 1935180 ?
Very Good

1 / 43 Welcome to Townsend Cabin #1, also known as Black Bear!

From $109 / night help
Total guests,

Description from manager

Description from manager

Bedrooms 2 / Bathrooms 2 / Sleeps 6 / Log cabin
Bedrooms: 2  Bathrooms: 2   Sleeps: 6  Type: Log cabin

2 Unknown types

Townsend Cabin #1 Black Bear, Next to Heaven Trail Rides & Zip Lines
TripAdvisor property ID 1935180

More Property Details

Book this 2 bedroom log cabin in Townsend today! A total of 6 people can sleep here comfortably.

Travelers are sharing their opinions on this property. It has an overall rating of 4/5 thanks to an average of 8 reviews.

Costs vary, with the average weekly rate as low as $763, depending on travel dates.

The manager responds to 100% of inquiries and last updated the property’s calendar Feb 24, 2018.

Read more Read less

About the manager

About the manager

Prime Time Vacation Rentals, Llc
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
24 Feb 2018
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English



Check in time:16:00, Check out time:10:00
This rental can only be paid for online through FlipKey using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).

Damage deposit: $100.00
No smoking at this property
Cancellation policy
View Policy



Proximity to TripAdvisor's Top Townsend,-tennessee Attractions




  • Air conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Iron
  • Linen provided

Phone / Internet

  • Internet access
  • Wireless Internet

Pool / Spa

  • Jacuzzi or hot tub

Property Features

  • Mountain Views
  • Parking


  • Fridge
  • Microwave


  • DVD player
  • Satellite TV
  • TV


  • Balcony or terrace
  • Deck
  • Grill


  • Children
  • Pets
  • Smoking allowed


  • 2 Unknown types


Reviews (8)

Very Good – based on 8 reviews Very Good
8 reviews

Very Good

“Nice facility, but nothing outstanding - Black Bear cabin”

Reviewed 11 Aug 2014

The cabin was convenient to Townsend, Little River and the Park. I traveled with my son and grandkids. The grandkids enjoyed the setting, but other family members were not as happy. The downstairs bedroom has a hot tub with no partition between the bedroom, toilet and tub. The only walled off bathroom is in the second floor bedroom. There is no "powder room" for everyone to use. The shower is in the second floor bedroom. The rules for leaving said "put all dish in the dishwasher and turn it on before leaving". Only problem is there is no dish washer. My granddaughter took the couch that opens into a bed in the living room. There were no extra linens for the bed. The design is definitely better for 2 couples or a small group than a family of 6.

“Would stay again”

Reviewed 19 Jun 2014

Our kids picked our vacation this year and wanted to go to the mountains. After hours of researching cabins, we settled on this one. We had no problem finding it or getting in it. Its beautiful inside! There were two other cabins close to it but we were lucky enough that we were pretty much the only ones there. It was so much better than trying to stay in a hotel with 4 kids! It was handy being able to fix meals there instead of having to go out to eat all the time.

Response from the manager So glad that you and your family had a great time at our cabin! We hope to have you back with us again soon! Thank you for the review. Sincerely, Summit 54 Properties, iTrip Team

“Very good . . . especially for the price”

Reviewed 28 Oct 2013

The Black Bear Cabin is an affordable and nice rental. It is relatively spacious. The reasons why I gave only 4 stars: 1. The master bedroom has a nice Jacuzzi tub with a flimsy shower attachment. I used the shower attachment once, and the connection to the tub spout was loose and leaked. This was awkward, to say the least. Summit 54 should install a nice European-style shower fixture that functions equally well for baths and showers. 2. The leasing agency knew that there would be 3 males in the cabin, and that one of us would be using the sleeper sofa. The agency provided no linens or pillows for the sofa-bed. Fortunately for us, our buddy who would use the sofa-bed arrived a day after we did. We were able to phone him and ask him to bring a sleeping bad and pillow. 3. Summit 54 has a strict no-refund policy. During the 2 weeks prior to our stay, the us government was shut down, and there was no access to the Park. Luckily, The Governor of Tennessee struck a deal to open the park, and we could fulfill our goal, which was to do some slerious photography in Cades Cove. My advice is to insist on full refund in the contract in the event of government shutdown.

Response from the manager Thank you for the review of our property. We are glad to see that you had an enjoyable visit, and we hope that you were able to get some great pictures while visiting Cades Cove! We would like to address the 3 issues that you mentioned and hope to clear up any confusion. 1. We agree that the faucet in the master bath needs a better connection or to be replaced and appreciate your pointing that out. Our team is on it. 2. Had we of known that there were not any sheets or a blanket for the sleeper sofa we would have been straight over. We store extra covers in the chest in the hall. We are sorry for the miscommunication. 3. We are glad that the government reopened as well. The shutdown created unfortunate circumstances for many folks. We would like to state that we feel that our cancellation policies are fair and in no way strict. We offer our guests options, including the option to reschedule their visit when and if they ever need to consider cancelling their reservation. All of the options are clearly outlined in our booking agreement that each guest must sign before booking one of our properties. Thank you again for taking the time to review our property and your experience with us. We do hope that you will come back soon! We encourage you to call or email with any questions or concerns. Sincerely, Summit 54 Properties, iTrip Team

“Cabin was a Mixed Bag...”

Reviewed 26 Oct 2013

Pros: Location was great - quick drive to Pigeon Forge but out of the traffic. Donnie at the Zipline place was very helpful when we needed him, even though he is not officially responsible for the cabins. Lots of hiking trails. We were there during the government shutdown, so some of the places we intended to visit were closed. We had miles of horse trails right on the property, though, which was convenient. Some great views at the top as well. The main bed downstairs had very comfortable mattresses, firm but not hard as a rock. Cons: main con - the main bathroom has no door. It's right in the bedroom, with a 3 foot wall jutting out to hide the toilet. If you value your privacy at all, you wont' find it there. Also, there is not a shower in the downstairs bathroom, so if you have 6 people, they will all have to share one. Place was not "ready." Fridge was unplugged, clock and most lamps unplugged, and no blankets were left for the pull out couch (they left sheets). The cable TV was disconnected and they had to call Comcast to get it turned back on. No TV in the bedroom (there is a TV there, but they never could get it working). The water is well water and it smelled like mildew and was yellow. We smelled bad when we got out of the hot tub as well. The fireplace was not on yet, even though the mornings and evenings were cool enough for it. They could not turn it on for us because the gas tank was empty. Not much overhead lighting inside, and none over kitchen table. We like to work puzzles, and that was impossible with the lighting.

Response from the manager Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other travelers. We see that you had some mixed feelings about your stay and would like to say that we are sorry for that. It is our desire to have our guests 100% satisfied during their stay. We are addressing the problems you have reported with our team. We will be working out a plan to communicate with our guests more effectively about the fireplace as well as other features of the cabin. We are looking into the lighting, which includes brighter bulbs and even more lighting in the cabin. On the flip side we are glad that you were able to take advantage of the horseback riding and the great views from the ridge line there at the ranch. There a many hiking trails and even though the National Parks were closed during the government shutdown, there were some areas accessible for your enjoyment. We do appreciate your feedback and we take everything you have to say to our team for evaluation. It is only with feedback from our guests, whether good or bad that we can continue to grow and improve as a company. Thank you, Summit 54 Properties, iTrip Team

Review 1-8 of 8

Also consider


44,238 properties


16,411 properties


9,702 properties


8,361 properties


3,326 properties


2,505 properties


2,338 properties


2,195 properties


1,687 properties


1,075 properties


958 properties


840 properties


530 properties


425 properties


302 properties


302 properties


264 properties


190 properties


159 properties


61 properties

Start a new search